Hotel ZOE by AMANO

Hotel ZOE by AMANO

Traveller (407)
Comfort Room
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (37)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#88 of 603 hotels in Berlin
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Hotel ZOE is the face of a new era. Urban, sexy and approachable. Not far from Hackescher Markt and within walking distance of Monbijou Park, the hotel has taken on the geographical heritage of what was formerly the summer palace at Monbijou. Where else could you experience Berlin with greater desire and passion?
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Laptop safe
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Grosse Praesidentenstrasse 6 - 7, 10178 Berlin Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Berlin Brandenburg Airport
19.1 km
See all flights
Hackescher Markt
2 minBerlin S-Bahn
Weinmeisterstraße
6 minBerlin U-Bahn
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,556 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel ZOE by AMANO garners appreciation for its stylish and modern vibe, with guests frequently commending the hotel's cleanliness and prime location, which offers convenient access to local attractions and public transport. While the rooms are celebrated for their tranquility and contemporary design, some guests find them to be on the smaller side with insufficient lighting. The service is generally lauded for its professionalism, though occasional lapses, particularly at the bar, have been noted. Amenities like the breakfast options add to the hotel's appeal, but issues with rooftop bar access and additional costs may affect the overall value for some visitors.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Modern
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,556Review25Q+A99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 819
  • 527
  • 142
  • 33
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
boybanker wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Zoe was just as great as I remembered it when I stayed there three years ago, the week it opened. Rooms are comfortable and compact, if a bit hard to navigate in the dark, all in chic black and gray. Beds are comfortable, but be sure to ask for an inside room away from the tram layover area in front of the hotel. Spend the small surcharge for a slightly larger—but still compact— “comfort” room. Ours had a small terrace with a table and two chairs, which would be delightful were it not winter.

WiFi is reliable and there’s a variety of German and international cable channels.

Staff are multilingual and couldn’t be more helpful.

The buffet breakfast is ample and quickly refilled. Some room rates include one breakfast but at 12.50€ it’s a great deal. Enjoy the greenhouse breakfast area or the cosy tables near the fireplace.

There’s lots nearby to walk to, including the superb Museum Island, Humboldt University, and Alexanderplatz, the New Synagogue, the interesting heart of former East Berlin. Access by the nearby Hackescher Markt S-Bahn station (2 minute walk), trams and buses is wonderful, including to Tegel (30 minutes by public transit) and Berlin Haufbahnhof. Restaurants of every cuisine and price range are nearby.

We’d stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ZOEbyAMANO, Manager at Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Boybanker, wow - thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay. Its also a pleasure to read kind words like yours. We will share it with our whole team. We are delighted to hear, that you were satisfied with the convenient location and we appreciate your compliments for our breakfast and also the cozy area of the breakfast. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel ZOE very soon again. Best regards from Berlin, Philipp Blaffert Operations Ass. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MarySonica wrote a review Aug 2022
Turin, Italy
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a beautiful mini-apartment on the 7th floor of the hotel: a living room / kitchen, a master bedroom and a big modern bathroom.
We found very helpful having a small but complete kitchen, as we were staying with our 2 years old daughter and we cooked several meals (only cutlery was for 2 people, instead of 3, but this has been easily solved).
Baby could also watch some cartoons to spend time while we were cooking (the accommodation had 2 TVs).

Furniture in general was very good, the bed was particularly comfortable.

As mentioned, the bathroom was big and, in my opinion, pretty new.

We had with us also our little dog, the hotel is pet friendly.

The wide windows provided a great view over Berlin rooftops and skyline (especially at sunset).
The hotel also offers underground parking lots (which is very convenient if you are traveling by car and staying in the city center).

S-Bahn Station at 3 minutes walking distance.

Staff was nice and friendly. Although we hang the "do not disturb" card outside our door, because the dog was inside alone in the morning, the cleaning people never skipped leaving a bag with fresh clean towels outside our room.

Price perfectly in line with the service and Berlin accommodations in general.

Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
SiobhanBreslin wrote a review Jan 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Hotel Zoe over New Year. It's a stylish boutique hotel with a lovely roof terrace where we watched the New Year fireworks. The room we stayed in had an unusual layout but despite being compact had decent storage. The lighting as a number of people have mentioned is more suited for a bar or club, not massively practical. There is no fridge or coffee facilities which would have been nice. We didn't get to use the generously sized balcony much with it being winter but there was an amazing view of the TV tower from it. The hotel is in a great location with Hackescher Markt S-Bahn minutes away and trams just outside plus the beautiful Hackesche Hofe just across the road. There are numerous hipster coffee shops, restaurants and bars nearby and it is an easy walk to Alexander Platz and Prenzlauer Berg. Would not hesitate to recommend and would stay again. Special mention for the Hotel Zoe G&T bar where they make a mean Negroni!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ChristopherB5154, Manager at Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Slobhan Breslin, Thank you so much for sharing yournice impressions with us. We are delighted to hear, that you were satisfied with the convenient location and we appreciate your compliments. The light in the rooms can be dimmed or brightened individually by using the light switch. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel ZOE very soon again. Best regards from Berlin, Philipp Blaffert Operations Ass. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
calppurnia wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was absolutely fantastic being really close to a station (really simple to find from the airport for a Berlin first timer like myself) Berliner Dom and the walking tours meeting point. Breakfast was good if a little basic and staff all really nice (especially the staff at breakfast, unfortunately didn’t get their names)

Had some issues with the WiFi as it was constantly disconnecting so pointless advertising that as It barely worked. would have liked some tea and coffee facilities in the room. Room was quite dark too and could benefit from some bigger main lights. The hotel is situated right by the tram tracks so impossible to have the door open for very long due to noise.

Overall would recommend for the location alone if you can cope without tea and coffee and it being a little dark in there!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ZOEbyAMANO, Manager at Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Responded 08 Mar 2020
Dear calppurnia, thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us. We are delighted to hear, that you were satisfied with the convenient location and we appreciate your compliments regarding our breakfast team. Unfortunately, we do not know of any problems with WiFi and too much advertising. We will check that with our technical support. In our superior rooms there is the possibility to prepare tea and coffee. We also have quiet rooms facing the inner courtyard. The next time you come to us, just ask for such a room. Wish you all the best and hope to see you soon. Best regards from Berlin, Philipp Blaffert Operations Ass. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danny V wrote a review Jun 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I expected more from this hotel, seeing the roomprice and reviews. However, I was dissapointed. During my stay the room wasnt cleaned (according to the staff, I asked them not to clean the room on the ipad in the room.. the thing we never touched, so it must be a magical costcutting Ipad). there was no parking (although the offered to reserve it for us, it turned out not available. Public parking is much more expensive and far away) there is no aircon and opening the windows is not an option with a busy tram stop in front of the hotel), no fridge, no products or ventilation in the bathroom, the pillows are absolutely horrible, and the staff just doesnt care, Upon asking if the rooftop bar would be open, her response was: Yes, I think,... I dont know. Turns out it wasn't due to "bad weather".
Staff's smoking lounge is in front of the hotel which is disgusting and off putting. Upon check out, there was no "how was your stay". Only "come here for check out" and "ok bye"

All in all, there just isnt anything special about this hotel. Next time I'll pick another hotel. I feel like I paid a 4 star price for 1 star service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eyleen Gruendel, General Manager at Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Responded 06 Oct 2020
Dear Danny V, We are pleased that you are taking the time to comment on your last stay with us. We very much regret that you were anything but satisfied with your stay with us. We take your criticism seriously and use it to continuously improve the service for our guests. You can be sure that we would like to welcome you again as our guest to show you what it is like to stay with us. We wish you all the best and stay healthy. Best regards from Berlin, Philipp Blaffert Assistant hotel manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Belinda C wrote a review Dec 2022
Worthing, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel Zoe is well situated in Mitte. Close to Alexander Platz and a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants. Berlin is a really big city and Hotel Zoe is not a bad base for exploring. We were invited to upgrade our room (to a quiet garden room) on arrival for an extra €10 per night. We were also given a bottle of water at Reception because we upgraded. We were on a Room Only basis.
Our room was clean and spacious, next to the lift, but there was no noise. The floors are laminate (not carpet). The wet room shower was spacious and the shower was excellent. Our friends stayed in a different room on the same floor and were provided with generous pouches of shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. We were not provided toiletries during our three night stay. We did not complain as we had brought our own.
The rooms are decorated in a contemporary minimalist style, but everything is very dark. There is very low lighting and the only mirror with bright light is in the bathroom, which is very steamy after 2 showers. The room doesn’t seem to have been designed for guests who need light to do hair and make-up and power plugs for straighteners, etc.
The bed is very comfortable but the pillows are not so good.
There are no Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room and when we asked Reception for more bottled water they wanted to charge us as it was only one bottle per stay. When we asked REALLY?!?!?! they gave it to us free. The hotel bar didn’t open until 8pm on Saturday night, so when we went down for a pre dinner drink at 19:15, we were disappointed and went elsewhere.
This hotel wasn’t bargain-bucket cheap, but it wasn’t as expensive as some other hotels we shortlisted. Our lesson is to appreciate that you get what you pay for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take your own pillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
natasja28 wrote a review Aug 2020
Berlin, Germany
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms in the Amano hotel are new, nice and clean. The closetspace in our (comfort) rooms was unpractical and small for 2 people staying 2 weeks, but fine for a short stay. The TV has only almost german channels and no internet or streaming possibility. The wifi in the hotel is not very strong. The rooftop is nice and actually the reason we chose this hotel but due to Corona it was either full or closed. The breakfast is medior at best, you can have much better (and cheaper) breakfasts at one of the many restaurants in the neighbourhood.
The main thing about this hotel and the reason we will not come back here is the airconditioning. It is very, very weak. We rented 3 rooms for 2 weeks with our kids and everybody had trouble falling asleep and sleeping through the night because of this. It wasn't even very hot outside during our stay, but it wasn't an option to open the windows at night because they open above a noisy tram station.
The neighbourhood is nice, there are many shops and bars around.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 2 nights here over the weekend, firstly the location is great, just 2 minutes walk from Hackescher Markt and the station.

The place it’s self looks new and modern both inside and out.

Inside no matter what time of day it’s very very dark in the reception. In the room if you have the curtains open in the day it’s fine but I’m the evening or with the curtains closed to change it’s very very dark.

The room itself was good, I liked the unusual layout but my partner didn’t, we had paid an extra €20 to get a bigger room so I hate to think how small our original room was as this one was tiny and a squeeze to walk around the sides of the bed.

The bed must’ve had plastic sheets underneath as even though we had the air con on and windows open we were sweating in the night, the sheets are uncomfortable for this reason.

On the plus side the bathroom was nice and clean and the free WiFi reliable.

Overall I wouldn’t stay here again but it was ok for 2 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simontees wrote a review Apr 2022
Ingleby Barwick, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has a great location, close to Hechescher Markt, Museum Island and not far from Alexanderplatz. Many nearby bar and restaurant options.

The road outside is a Tram terminal but the soundproofing is so good that you wouldn’t know it.

On the downside:

No tea or coffee in the room, tried to order Nespresso from a pretty pointless tablet in the room but nothing happened. There is an excellent little bakery just round the corner which does very good coffee, sandwiches and cakes though.

There is no fridge in the room, this was an issue as we had bought some truffle which needed to be kept cold.

The room was very dingy, with insufficient lighting and the design of the room doesn’t provide much surface area.

The room was also mostly too hot.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MissDior76 wrote a review Feb 2020
East Leake, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a superior room and I can honestly say it was fabulous, we were in 702 right under the rooftop bar so that may be an issue in summer for noise.
The kitchenette was a pleasant surprise, I had a friend stay over too and they converted the sofa bed, she said it was so comfy and the pillows were amazing.
The bathtub was v welcome, most hotels dont have them and as our trip was a week it was great.
The location is fabulous, the square right behind the hotel has many great restaurants and a Starbucks.
Special mention to the hotels very own G&T bar, its a must.

Enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ZOEbyAMANO, Manager at Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Responded 08 Mar 2020
Dear MissDior76, thank you so much for your great review regarding your stay with us. It's always a pleasure to read kind words like yours. We will share your feedback with our team as well. Hope to see you again soon, maybe at the summer season also to welcoming you at our rooftop bar. Then we will take care for a quiet superior room for you ;) Best regards from Berlin, Philipp Blaffert Operations Ass. Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Michael
Devon, United Kingdom84 contributions58 helpful votes
We had a superior apartment and it had a bath
Answer from MarySonica
Turin, Italy88 contributions49 helpful votes
Hi, the superior rooms with kitchen are provided with a fridge, I don't remember if there was also a mini freezer.
Answer from Journey54079140481
1 contribution
Not sure if there’s onsite parking as we used public transport- suggest you call the hotel as the staff speak excellent English!
Victoria M asked a question Oct 2018
When is breakfast served?
Answer from wayn0
Radlett, United Kingdom499 contributions161 helpful votes
From 6:30 weekdays and 7am Sunday’s
Cecelia M wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is fabulous!"
Read full review
daveys1313 wrote a tip Mar 2024
London, United Kingdom29 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Given the choice choose a garden facing room"
Read full review
Rebecca wrote a tip Feb 2024
Dover, United Kingdom167 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"VBB Bus and Bahn travel app was useful, it gave live train information and you could buy passes for your stay on there too."
Read full review
Ray Prati wrote a tip Feb 2024
Zurich, Switzerland15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"get an apartment room with view to the TV tower"
Read full review
gary186298 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Portsmouth, United Kingdom108 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited sockets for charging phone. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Berlin area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,580 - R 3,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ZOE BY AMANO | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Berlin, Germany) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Nearby attractions include Pergamonmuseum (0.3 km), Berlin Icebar (0.3 km), and Museum Blindenwerkstatt Otto Weidt (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quy Nguyen Vegan Living, Dae Mon, and YOSOY Tapas Bar.
Is Hotel ZOE by AMANO located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Berlin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel ZOE by AMANO?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (1.5 km), East Side Gallery (3.3 km), and Berlin-Hohenschonhausen Memorial (7.0 km).
Is Hotel ZOE by AMANO accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Berlin HotelsBerlin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BerlinHotels near Hotel ZOE by AMANO
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire