BIG MAMA Berlin

BIG MAMA Berlin

Hotel Big Mama
Traveller (57)
Room & Suite (42)
Hotel Big Mama
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
R 1 723
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 136 hostels in Berlin
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
BIG MAMA Berlin is located in the heart of the city. Berlin-Mitte is one of the most exciting districts with a variety of possibilities such as shopping, dining, sightseeing and a vibrant nightlife. Because of its central location BIG MAMA Berlin is an ideal basis for excursions to all the different parts of Berlin. At our house you can feel the pulse of the multicultural city!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more

Location

Koloniestrasse 24, 13359 Berlin Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Berlin Brandenburg Airport
23.3 km
See all flights
Osloer Straße
7 minBerlin U-Bahn
Pankstraße
8 minBerlin U-Bahn
267Reviews4Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 116
  • 30
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cymru_on_tour wrote a review Aug 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom77 contributions152 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfortable and conveniently located hotel in a quiet street in Wedding. The rooms are spacious, but be prepared to use the stairs as the elevator is useless. The breakfast buffet is fine and reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LauraB wrote a review Nov 2021
5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel Big Mama is an incredible value in terms of its rooms and in a really cool area with beautiful places to walk by a lovely canal. They have a Hour Hour and full bar, have breakfast and delicious coffee. But, without exception, they have the kindest most helpful staff I have encountered anywhere in the world.

As a single woman, non-German speaker my first time in Berlin during the times of COVID, I had a lot of anxiety about everything from where to get my Covid test to fly home, to safety about walking. Every staff member made me feel welcome, was incredibly helpful, and was a unique and interesting person to get to meet and connect with.

There is nothing more important when you are staying somewhere you don't know than feeling you are valued and can make connections with people. I am deeply grateful to the staff at Hotel Big Mama for making me feel at home.

A huge shout out in particular to Marlen, Mila, Joanne and Walid-- THANK YOU for making my stay in Germany a welcome one and taking such good care of me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sophie wrote a review Jul 2022
14 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The first thing I'll say is that I do not think this hostel is in a very nice area. I arrived very late at night due to delays with my train and I felt very uneasy and unsafe walking from the train station to the hostel. It's fine in the daytime but if you intend on going out a bit in Berlin then might be better to stay a bit closer to the city. The hostel was also not very clean but to be fair they did have signs making us aware that they were short staffed in terms of cleaners at the time. The rooms are very simple and not as nice as they look in the pictures but they're not bad, just perhaps not as advertised in the pictures. I will say however that the bed was very comfortable for a hostel bed and I slept very well there as it was quiet every night.
Another thing to be aware of is that you have to get two trams/trains to get to the city which takes about 30 minutes altogether.

Aside from the area, the hostel did the job and I would recommend if you're looking for a cheap and cheerful option in Berlin.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tobbe wrote a review Oct 2022
Stockholm County, Sweden2,670 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here three days when i started a new job in Berlin. The room was quite big and cozy. I Will stay here again if i come back .it was really close to town center as well. I give it 3 star for location and good price. The bed was big and the toilet clean
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tobbe wrote a review Apr 2021
Stockholm County, Sweden2,670 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here three days and that was a nice hotel for that price. I gladly comeback. Nice bed and great breakfast. Nice staff as well. It wasnt that far from town center as well. I can gladly recomend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PIPALIYA J wrote a review May 2019
Surat, India499 contributions619 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is hotel is nice 👌👍👍 😊 and beautiful ilike this hotel. This hotel in nice area near big garden.that food provide services is very best and nice . I like this hotel 👌 .

Thank you for the review.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David-Friedeman... H, Manager at BIG MAMA Berlin
Responded 22 May 2019
Hey there ;) thank your very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! If you ever want to come back, BIG MAMA is waiting for you Kind Regards David Henning
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dizzie G wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
All the pictures show a nice double bed but what you get is a bunk in a shared room. It is not in the centre of the city. They do not give refunds when you get your confirmation email it then shows the bunks. They offer to unallocate your bed with no refund so they can make more money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Henning777, Manager at BIG MAMA Berlin
Responded 04 Dec 2019
Hey there, first of all, we are still sorry, that you were unhappy with your stay. Like we told you already, you did not book directly with us, some OTA´s like booking oder Hotusa etc. are changing the pictures of the rooms, we are not responsible for it. Here at BIG MAMA we offer our guest dormitory rooms and private rooms, all under one roof! So we are a Hotel AND a Hostel. Once again, I am sorry, that you think you were tricked, we are very clear on our website about our rooms. We already complained on your behalf at the OTA´s customer support, and we hope to solve the problem as soon as possible. Kind Regards David-F: Henning General Manger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JamiKlisaris wrote a review Jul 2014
Melbourne, Australia51 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, having paid so little we were worried about what our sleeping situation would be like, but were pleasantly surprised. Large room and bathroom, brand new, clean and amazing Thai restaurant near reception (definitely eat there!!). Staff were friendly and overall I would stay here again, especially as the location was pretty good. Couldn't give it a 5/5 as the buffet breakfast was crap (don't pay to include it when you book, it's expensive for what it is), there is no aircon in the room, we had 28 degrees everyday so it got hot in the room, and you can hear the planes flying into the airport (not terrible though).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
heshamrateb wrote a review Feb 2020
Geneva, Switzerland133 contributions81 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception was so much welcome with fast and easy chick in. People there were so helpful. The room was very clean and the toilet was very clean. The breakfast was good. The WiFi was excellent and everywhere. The only disadvantage of the hotel was it 10 minutes from the metro station. And 10 stations far from the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wilgrom wrote a review Dec 2019
Maastricht, The Netherlands1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very sympathic hotel. Not the best corner of Berlin. But service and correctness is perfect. It is the right value for money, with a nice loose atmosphere. When you do business in this part of Berlin, this is outstanding. When you go on holidays, take the U-bahn, and you had a decent hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Henning777, Manager at BIG MAMA Berlin
Responded 10 Dec 2019
Hey there, thank you for your 5 star rating =) We always try to do our best and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay this much! We are looking forward to welcoming you any time soon again in Berlin or Leipzig. Kind Regards David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Yes, just a 4 minute walk! =)
Berlin, Germany
Hey there, it always depends on what kind of room you chose. We offer Dorm rooms, where you share the bathroom with other people, but we also offer privat singe and double rooms and even Loft and Businessapartment, where you have your own bathroom.
Answer from salomepetriashvili
из тегеле можно с бан 41,патом перессадка гезембрунен u8 до ословер штраса и уже пешком или трампе 2 минут надо толко, и там ниету руски гавариаше
51SushiBear wrote a tip Aug 2019
Jerusalem, Israel2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"with kids, a Family Apartment is perfect"
Read full review
SRYellop wrote a tip Oct 2018
Hadleigh, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't be afraid to ask for sight-seeing tips etc. from the staff"
Read full review
Karolinaki wrote a tip Nov 2017
122 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms seemed nice and comfortable."
Read full review
michelle3011 wrote a tip Jul 2017
Manchester, United Kingdom57 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book the four beds bedroom if you're over 25"
Read full review
Lprice123 wrote a tip Jul 2017
London, United Kingdom24 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cheap for travellers and not bad for families"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Berlin area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,433 - R 3,554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinGesundbrunnen / Mitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG MAMA BERLIN - Now R 1 456 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶6̶7̶2̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Germany) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG MAMA Berlin
Which popular attractions are close to BIG MAMA Berlin?
Nearby attractions include Labyrinth Kinder Museum (0.5 km), Haci Bayram Mosque (0.1 km), and Oldies Sportsbar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG MAMA Berlin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at BIG MAMA Berlin?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at BIG MAMA Berlin?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at BIG MAMA Berlin?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to BIG MAMA Berlin?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Pepe, Curry & Chilli, and O-slow.
Are pets allowed at BIG MAMA Berlin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does BIG MAMA Berlin offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at BIG MAMA Berlin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to BIG MAMA Berlin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (2.7 km), East Side Gallery (7.1 km), and Charlottenburg Palace (7.0 km).
Is BIG MAMA Berlin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Berlin HotelsBerlin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BerlinHotels near BIG MAMA Berlin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire