Mama Shelter Marseille

Mama Shelter Marseille

la deco du bar
Traveller (511)
Room & Suite (204)
Dining (78)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#13 of 137 hotels in Marseille
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Mama Shelter Marseille is much more than just a place to sleep. It is a vibrant hub, where people gather around a meal elaborated by Guy Savoy and that is meant to be shared. This Mama has a 125 rooms, each fitted with 5-star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets), across 6 floors, each decorated with different colors. They are both cool during the summertime and warm refuges during the cold winter. The rooms are equipped with connected TVs that centralise internet, television, free movies on demand and a photo/video booth function. This Mama is situated only 25km from the Marseille Provence Airport and only 10 minutes by car from the train station Gare Saint Charles. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy the live concerts, shows, DJs, ping pong and if you have a car, rely on Mama's parking lot. The bank card used to guarantee the booking or make the prepayment will be requested at check-in.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille France
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 84 out of 100
84
Marseille Airport
21.5 km
See all flights
Hyeres Airport
65.3 km
See all flights
1,429Review11Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 711
  • 492
  • 137
  • 47
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Raul S wrote a review Mar 2020
Santiago, Chile7 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited Marseille twice for vacation in February 2020. Both times at stayed at Mama Shelter. The second one because I enjoyed the first one. The hotel has very good rooms with good natural light. Clean bathrooms with strong water pressure in the shower. Breakfast with a large variety of options in a great setting. The room is alñso a bar at night where you can have a light meal or just cocktails. The hotel is close to Cours Julien which has nice restaurants with tables on the square. To go to the Vieux Port you can either walk (about half an hour at regular pace) or take the metro at Notre Dame du Mont. I recommend the hotel if you want a Marseille experience outside the regular tourist spots, but close to them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AXEL DE MEGILLE, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Hello Raul, Thank you so much for your reviews and thank you for coming back ! It’s a pleasure to have you here ! Mama Shelter’s priority is the comfort of the guest. We want you to have the best stay even if you stay one night 😉 About the food, everything is home made, Mama loves to cook ! If you come to Mama Shelter, it’s to get off the beaten track and we love that ! Don’t hesitate to comeback or try an another Mama. Paris, London, Prague ? We are all over the world !!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shay C wrote a review Aug 2022
Victoria, Canada2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the hotel room and the free movies we could stream. We found it a really long walk into the center of the city and it was up a pretty steep hill. It was also loud in the morning (it seemed like the housekeepers open and close lots of closets in the halls or something to get their items as there was constant opening and closing of doors from about 9 am onwards.) We liked the bar at night but we paid for the breakfast (which is not cheap) and half of the breakfast room is the ‘smoking room’ but it’s not even separated from the rest of the room. I hate cigarette smoke so it totally ruined breakfast for me so I wouldn’t recommend breakfast if you are also not a fan of cigarette smoke.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Hi Shaylenec, Thanks for your feedback, I'm delighted that you enjoyed our rooms. I'm really sorry you were bothered by cigarettes, I will immediately raise awareness among our teams. Nevertheless, I hope to see you again very soon among us. Kinds regards Loic/General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily Z wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the vibe of the hotel and found it had the basics of everything we needed. We upgraded for a "large" room, which while still not actually large, was comfortable. Bathroom was tight. Loved the in-room move selection. We did not, however, like the location, which was in a quiet part of town away from the main tourist attractions. Mask-wearing was a bit so-so among other people staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 25 Nov 2021
Hi Elzeig, Thanks a lot for your kind feedback. I'm sorry you didn't like the location of our Mama, despite the fact we are in the typical district of marseille. Hoping to welcome you back, I wish you a very pleasant journey. Loic/General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana W wrote a review Jul 2023
Saint-Tropez, France1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start by saying that the hotel inside is very nice. The room was spacious and comfortable, but once you walk outside, it’s another story. Streets littered with garbage, rundown buildings, lots of shady characters. It does not feel safe after dark. Some of the hotel staff were incredibly rude, especially the kitchen staff. There is hardly any parking, so be prepared to find a place in the street to park your car. Hopefully your car will survive the night without any dings, scratches or broken windows.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Dear Anna, I'm really sorry that you didn't like the environnement of our hotel but nevertheless glad that you liked the hotel. It's hard for our team to receive a bad grade for the neighborhood.... We have 2 floors of parking, usually we have enough place for all our guests. I remain at your disposal for any informations you may have. Iwish you a lovely day. Kinds regards Loic/ General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna T wrote a review Aug 2021
La Roque-d'Antheron, France28 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this hotel with my husband (and sometimes with friends) several times but not in the last few years

I realise that this hotel has changed hands & now belongs to the Accor group and of course they are dealing with Covid and all the problems associated with it. However,sadly, what had previously been an exciting and fun experience has now become pretty drab.On the plus side the breakfast was good and the staff on duty in the dining room were helpful and pleasant

Several negatives though…. The rooms are now tired and need a revamp. I think we were given a room for handicapped guests- grab rails and the shower without any surround ( which created a dangerously flooded floor) . Additionally the bed was too small, dirty marks on the walls, paucity of bathroom accessories, no water in fridge.

Check-in is 1500. At 1720 our grandsons room was still not available. We were offered a coffee to make up for this!

I think this will be our last stay at Mama Shelter Marseille.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Hi Anna, Thanks for your feedback, I regret we coudn't speack together before you left. Unfortunatly due to the covid we have to apply more rules and for sure it's less friendly than usual. I'm glad you found breakfast of the Mama like your memory. I'm really sorry for the delay of your grandsons room. I immedially intervened with my housekeeping manager. I hope you will give a new chance to Mama shelter and I will be very happy to welcome you personally. I wish you a lovely week end. Loic / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnAir11008676106 wrote a review May 2022
13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night in Marseille and had a really great time at Mama shelter. Hotel was very fun and quirky! Room was a good size and fit for purpose and very clean. We left the hotel for dinner but on return went to the bar where we had a great time. There was a DJ and good drinks selection and ended up dancing! We are now keen to stay at other mama shelter hotels in other cities
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Secure underground car park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wildlifebrothers wrote a review Apr 2023
Puurs, Belgium156 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably one of the best hotels when you look at price vs quality! Nice and refreshing interior of both common areas and rooms. Very friendly staff that make you smile regularly with their witty remarks. Very good breakfast! If you stay here, you will also enjoy the surprising evening events they organize. We stayed at the hotel for a teambuilding trip with 15 colleagues. Everyone really enjoyed the stay! I will defenitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NATALIA GARCIA, Guest Services / Front Office at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 26 Apr 2023
Hello Wildlifebrothers, Greetins from Mama Marseille: We are really excited to read that you and your colleagues enjoy your stay with us. We will share your comments with the entire team. We hope to see you soon at Mama Marseille, we will be delighted to host you with us again. Mama Loves You!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rupak M wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very modern, cozy, welcoming hotel. The hotel had a really cool and funky bar downstairs where our kids could hang out. The hotel breakfast was excellent and we highly recommend it. The room was clean and we appreciated that the windows opened for airiness. The only factor preventing me from giving it 5 stars was that our room was cramped, a surprise considering the hotel was newly built. The hotel is off the beaten path, and not near the central port, so expect to walk a lot (which suited us fine).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 05 Aug 2022
hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback, Mama is very happy to know that everything went well :-) We hope to see you back very soon. We wish you a lovely summer. Loic/ General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Job_Adam wrote a review Jul 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands136 contributions101 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed this hotel although you see that they didn't put much love in the hotel. The bathroom was wrongly design because the closet where the sink is was standing next to the toilet so you could not sit on it on normal way. In room 315 one of the powerlets switch of with the light. And in the interior design you saw many quick solutions and the floor are really intense and our design style. So it felt as a IBIS quality with experience of a nice bar/restaurant. And a friendly and hip staff. The area is great. So we would come back but you should accept this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 31 Jul 2021
Hi Job Adam, Thanks a lot for your feedback, I'm disappointed you didn't like the design of our hotel. Nevertheless, I'm happy you enjoyed the area and the staff of the Mama. We hope to see you back very soon with us. Mama wish you a beautifull summer. Loic / General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JavierBar wrote a review Oct 2022
Buenos Aires, Argentina153 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Boheme and almost centrally located, the hotel has everything you need to enjoy your stay. Nice rooms with big windows (the big rooms not the smaller ones), Lobby bar serving buffet B fast and drinks at night. (some nights live music too). The hotel has a parking lot in the subsoil also. (free parking).
Young croud everywhere and free porn films at you TV (wtf) ..
Get into the groove .....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
suma_harding_2004 asked a question Apr 2017
Nottingham, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
How much is parking or can I park on the street
Answer from
Nancy
Hey! Sorry don't know since we came by train. 😉The only thing I noticed is that the area though not in the city centre is not ideal to park cars, plus narrow streets and probably many locals. 🤔Ask the hotel for parking.
Answer from Helen M
Norwich, United Kingdom24 contributions17 helpful votes
The neighbourhood has some nice restaurants. It's 25 minutes walk to the port and the beach is a bus-ride or bike ride (good bike hire scheme) away. Not sure about the price of breakfast but it is great.
Guillaume L asked a question Jul 2020
15 contributions24 helpful votes
Bonsoir, Quel est le prix d’un petit déjeuner? Cordialement
Answer from LOIC LASTAPIS
Marseille, France
18€ a demain ? matin ?
Answer from Stephane30000
Nimes, France52 contributions48 helpful votes
Je suis navré pour vous mais je ne suis qu’un client du Mama qui a eu une expérience positive de son séjour et que j’ai partagé sur TripAdvisor Bon courage à vous
Serkan Ö asked a question Mar 2019
Maltepe, Türkiye1 contribution
Hello, What is the price for parking one day?
Answer from Lina D
Marseille, France
Hello Dracoolaa, The price for the parking for the whole day is 19euros Hope to see you soon at our Mama Mama loves Dracoolaa
Richard B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can be easy to get lost around the city and hotel phone essential "
Read full review
OnAir11008676106 wrote a tip May 2022
13 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Secure underground car park"
Read full review
R W wrote a tip Aug 2018
New York City, New York36 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is worth paying up for a larger room."
Read full review
accidentallynomads wrote a tip Aug 2018
Sydney, Australia14 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be cool – Mama might upgrade you if she has the space"
Read full review
Storm72 wrote a tip Jul 2018
Liss, United Kingdom192 contributions119 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"4th floor rooms were good"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Marseille area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,367 - R 3,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneMarseille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAMA SHELTER MARSEILLE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mama Shelter Marseille
Which popular attractions are close to Mama Shelter Marseille?
Nearby attractions include Real Escape Room - Escape Game Marseille (0.4 km), Escape Terre Ludique (0.2 km), and Terre Ludique (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mama Shelter Marseille?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chez Nous, Chez Ida, and Aux Demoiselles Du Mont.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mama Shelter Marseille offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mama Shelter Marseille?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mama Shelter Marseille?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palais du Pharo (2.5 km), Château d'If (5.3 km), and Palais Longchamp (1.6 km).
Does Mama Shelter Marseille have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Marseille HotelsMarseille Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MarseilleHotels near Mama Shelter Marseille
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire