We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11 boulevard Frederic Mistral, 83120 Sainte-Maxime France
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$83
View deal
Expedia.com
US$83
View deal
Hotels.com
US$83
View deal
PricelineUS$83
Agoda.comUS$83
getaroom.comUS$88
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (52)
Pool & Beach (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/02/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/02/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 27 hotels in Sainte-Maxime
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Matisse Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Sainte-Maxime, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

While staying at Hotellerie De La Poste Hotel, visitors can check out Eglise Sainte-Maxime (0.2 mi) and Pont du Préconil (0.3 mi), some of Sainte-Maxime's top attractions.

Hotellerie De La Poste Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including air conditioning and a minibar, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers a concierge and room service, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a pool and breakfast.

While in Sainte-Maxime, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Matisse Hotel, including L'Amiral (0.2 mi), L'Academy (0.2 mi), and La Maison Bleue (0.2 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Musée de la Tour Carrée.

Enjoy your stay in Sainte-Maxime!

Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
380Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 149
  • 30
  • 9
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
HelleBM wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is very standard, but the room we stayed in looked like an old lady you have tried to put too much make up on. The smell in the room was the worst. The first we just thought it was something outside. But when it kept being there the next day, we found out that it was the room. It smelled of something between sweat and curry. We tried to have the window open to remove the smell. But it did not work. So when I mentioned it when we checked out the only reply I got was - okay. Not the reply I was looking for, but I did not wish to spend more time on it and I just left.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominique Vandevyver, Autre at Hotel Matisse
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Dear madam, I remember welcoming you last monday when you checked-in.and I am really sad to see we did not meet your expactations during your stay. I can only suppose the last guest just before you had an indian take away on his last night., but nonetheless, I apologize for the cleaning lady not putting enough effort at getting rid of the smell. Equally I apologize for my collegue's lack of compassion on your departure on Thursday..It is a shame you did not let me know on Monday, once you had installed yourselves in the room. I do hope at least you enjoyed your time in town and appreciated Sainte-Maxime. I wish you a very nice end of Summer. Best regards
Read more
Zaid D wrote a review Sep 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates91 contributions60 helpful votes
Hello Travelers, I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to St Maxim or St Tropez very affordable with an amazing location + view. The rooms are super clean as well as the bathrooms but the shower is tiny. If you weight more than 90 KGs you might have an issue taking a shower. Check for the bigger rooms. Enjoy your trip!!!! Regards, Zaid
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominique V, Responsable réception at Hotel Matisse
Responded 05 Oct 2019
Thank you Zaid for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed the showers of classic rooms are rather small but you can book a superior room and require a bathtub rather than a shower. We hope to see you again soon at hotel Matisse. Best regards
Read more
Ricardo R wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Based on the pictures of the hotel website I was excited to stay here. When we got their everything seem to be going according to plan as the lobby looked good and recently remodeled. Once you go into the elevator and to the bedroom the experience changes completely. It's old and lacks proper maintenance.The AC didn't work and the room was hot. They couldn't fix it and the other room they offered us had the same AC problem. We ultimately opened the windows to get some fresh and then woke up with bug bites. The hotel manager offered us 1000 point for our inconvenience which is worth 5 euros! You can't even buy a cocktail with that. I can't recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DominiqueVandevyver, Responsable réception at Hotel Matisse
Responded 02 Aug 2019
Dear Sir, As we have had quite a few exchanges on the matter directly per mail, indirectly via our survey questionnaire and no doubt probably tomorrow on expedia's website too. Once again, we apologise for having a breakdown of our air-conditioning system during one night. Unfortunately, regardless of how well you maintain your equipment, you can always have an air-co, a fridge or a washing machine breaking down. It took place in the evening, the part to be replaced was ordered on the spot and the problem fixed the next morning. For other guests who know or don't know about the Best Western rewards program, it takes a 100€ spent in a hotel room to gain 1000 points. The more points you get the best prices you get when booking a hotel room as you very quickly get discounts rates in any Best Western hotel in the world. It is therefore valuable to a lot more than 5€. You have also forgotten to mention the discount on a future stay I believe. Once again (third time but probably not the last one) we apologise for the inconvenience and wish you a good end of the summer.
Read more
Angela S wrote a review Jul 2019
Hounslow, United Kingdom29 contributions11 helpful votes
This hotel almost deserves more than its 3 stars. It's a delightful place which is truly in the heart of the town. Restaurants and the harbour and beach are within minutes walk. The hotel itself is fairly small, comfortable and though the superior rooms aren't huge they are big enough. The tv is good quality but the only English programme was BBC World News. We overlooked the pool which I think is the preferred side of the hotel to be on because the other side overlooks a road, and currently a building site, which will eventually be a park area with a car park underneath. The decor is not my personal favourite, but I understand they are colours favoured by the artist Matisse! There are two things in the rooms that could be improved on. A shower you can stand under (they only have hand held shower heads) and the installation of a full length mirror. There is a safe in the room. The breakfast is continental style and offers a very wide range of choices. They have a Tropicana juice machine and is the best orange juice I've ever had in a hotel as a result. The coffee could be improved. In some hotels they have Nespresso machines and perhaps this could be an idea to assist that. They have a cocktail hour in the early evening when I believe they serve free drinks, but we didn't end up taking advantage of that. We didn't take advantage of the pool but it looked nice. It was small with only a few sunbeds but there was never a time when it was over busy when we were there. This is a quiet, friendly hotel with good air conditioning and you'll get a good rest while being in the heart of the action. Be aware, though, that there are a few steps up to the Reception from the street. I was not aware of a ramp to make access easier, especially with suitcases. If you come by car, you can take advantage of their breakfast/car park 3 night package available for double rooms. We did. The car park is up the road (if you look on Google you may see a car park opposite but at the time we visited this was being made into an underground car park with a park on top so was essentially a building site). The car park they use is an underground car park under some flats, with fairly tight corners that you may find a little tricky to negotiate, but I managed to park a VW Touran in there fairly easily. Just take it slow!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Request a room facing the pool (these may all be superior rooms)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DominiqueVandevyver, Responsable réception at Hotel Matisse
Responded 01 Aug 2019
Dear Madam, The entire team and myself are really pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay at Hôtel Matisse. We profiously thank you for taking the trouble of writing such a huge article which no doubt will be really helpful to other future guests. We hope you'll be visiting us again in the future and wish you a very good second part of summer.
Read more
Kate B wrote a review Jul 2019
Le Bois-d'Oingt, France30 contributions27 helpful votes
This is the third review I've submitted for the Matisse following it's evolution from the Hôtellerie de la Poste with Didier, the Matisse with Didier and Dominique and now the Matisse with Dominique. With my sister we always spend the Pentecost weekend at Ste Maxime and we have done so for many years. The Poste was our Hotel of choice so when it changed it's name and then it's manager we were a little concerned. We need not have been as the standards and level of service are still as high. The welcome from Dominique and her team is warm and friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. The decor is fresh, the beds are super comfortable and we know the bathroom will be refurbished 😉 The new sunloungers are great and, as always, the rosé is delicious!! 😁 The Hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of town so convenient for everything and the buffet breakfast is fab and sets you up for the day. For me this is the perfect place to stay and it won't be long before we'll be reserving next years break.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DominiqueVandevyver, Responsable réception at Hotel Matisse
Responded 09 Jul 2019
Dear Kate, Thank you so much for always promoting our hotel! It is always such a pleasure to welcome you back at Matisse and to enjoy a few laughs together. My best regards to you, Emma and your parents.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotellerie de la poste hotel ste-maxime
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurSainte-Maxime
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Matisse
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Matisse?
Nearby attractions include Port de Sainte-Maxime (0.3 km), Promenade Aymeric Simon Lorière (0.2 km), and Eglise Sainte-Maxime (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Matisse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Matisse?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Matisse?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Matisse?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Matisse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Brooklyn, Entrepotes, and Le RDV.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Matisse?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Matisse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Sainte-Maxime.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Matisse?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Matisse?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Matisse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.