Gardiner House Hostel

Gardiner House Hostel

76 Gardiner Street Upper, Dublin D01 E4E3 Ireland
Free breakfast.
Traveller (44)
"Chapel experience."
Room & Suite (26)
Living Room with Free Coffee Station, Board Games, Snooker and Vending Machine.
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#17 of 53 hostels in Dublin
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Gardiner House is 15 min walk from City Center and features shared dorms (4, 6, 8, 12, 16 and 18 people) and private rooms (twin or double). Reception is 24h (check-in starts 3 PM and check-out is maximum 11 AM) and there's no curfew. Continental breakfast is included, plus free coffee station 24h and free luggage room. Cosy TV room with Netflix, DVD and books. Shared kitchen's available. We are the largest of our Dublin city tourist hostels, situated in Georgian Dublin to the north of the city centre. Discover a historic city centre location, lively social nights, and plenty of cool areas to relax and explore. Plenty restaurants around and located just 15 min walking from City Centre. Backyard with tables, benches, ping-pong, BBQ, jacuzzi, bike racks and car parking available (pre-booking needed). There are many common areas, such as the dinning and living room where you can hang out, meet other travellers, enjoy your meals, play snooker, football table and board games, listen to music and have a few drinks. International staff, available 24/7, knows the best things to do and see within and around Dublin and will be always happy to offer you practical advice or to share our own experiences. Since we are partnered with several tour companies and restaurants, we can offer you some free or budget options to explore the city and the rest of Ireland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Badminton
Darts
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Heated pool
Private pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Oven
Cable / satellite TV
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese

Location

76 Gardiner Street Upper, Dublin D01 E4E3 Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Dublin Airport
Busáras
13 minDublin Luas
Abbey St
13 minDublin Luas
111Reviews5Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 31
  • 16
  • 8
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
romanan2013 wrote a review Jan 2020
Louny, Czech Republic36 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose to take the 12-bed Chapel experience and was delighted. The staff were very helpful and kind, there was a lot of food for breakfast (plus hot drinks night & day!) and the place was clean. You need to count with the fact that there will always be some people coming or leaving the place late at night or early in the morning if you book a room this big but that wasn't a problem for me as the advantages outweighed that (when somebody wakes you up, just go and sip a cup of hot chocolate while talking to someone else who's up as well.. you'll definitely enjoy that!). I will surely come back when in Dublin, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GardinerHouse1, Receptionist at Gardiner House Hostel
Responded 06 Jan 2020
We would like to thank you for all the positive comments about Gardiner House. We put a lot of hard work into keeping our property up to standard. Our team is made of dedicated people and having wonderful guests like you make it easier. Looking forward to hosting you back Best regards from the hostel team :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelling wrote a review Oct 2023
12 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Surprisingly very good. The hostel is about a 25min walk to Ha’penny Bridge. Reception is open 24hrs, and the staff are very friendly. They provide free continental breakfast. It costs €3 to use the washer, €3 to use the dryer, and €1 for the liquid. There is no body wash/shampoo but they do provide hand washing liquid. On my floor, there were four bathrooms and about six rooms (unsure of how many beds in each room), but there was always a bathroom available when I needed it. Also, my room was an ensuite so it had its own bathroom anyway. The only issue I had was that the shower never had hot water when I used it (between 8-9am and from 7pm), and I was there for several days (perhaps because so many people use it between those times it ran out).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Canbe Hospitality, Owner at Gardiner House Hostel
Responded 08 Nov 2023
Hi, thanks for such a lovely comment! In fact, the hostel is located just 15 15-minute walk from Dublin's main avenue, and getting to Ha'penny Bridge is super easy. Also, thanks for complimenting our staff, we are always trying to treat our guests as family. In regards to our water, I apologize for the inconvenience it is something we are currently working, on so we can offer all our guests warm water during the whole day. Once it is ready, you are invited to visit us once again. Kind regards - Luis GH team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tommen wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom227 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I chose this place simply for the peace and the location because when compared to others, turned out as the best deal. However, the room is packed with double beds with little space and the beds are super uncomfortable. It's very stiff, with little to no pillow, warm and noisy outside. But I could have expected that partly. The staff was nice, breakfast was included which was great too and the bathrooms were clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightseer753168 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hostel based on reviews and enjoying previous hostel experiences.
Unfortunately, one in our party got sick last minute and we had concerns about getting over a dozen other people sick, as we were sharing a 16 person dorm. This on the tail end of another Covid 19 spike....
We contacted the property about waiving charges or even a reduced charge as we had booked 2 nights. Our request was denied for both as it was "against policy" and that they were "sorry we had to cancel"....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giggidy Goo wrote a review Feb 2022
41 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very loud, even the doors make huge amounts of noise. Not fun loud, like the drunk dudes who came in singing at 3AM, they were cool. Staff did little to accommodate any sort of help or events, and few seemed interested in even being nice when speaking. Very entitled, like the customer owes them something. Pretty expensive certain nights of my stay which really made a lot of the issues more glaring. Lots of non travellers, giving it less travel/more vagrant feel at times. Luggage storage was a packed room full of half looked like trash. Common areas 24/7 with loud people so even quietly doing a little reading or something was impossible. The kitchen is closed for 1.5 hours 3 times during lunch and dinner time, and with the amount of guests, good luck making food. The wifi and hot water worked off and on. Overall, just not my kind of place, I would not rebook.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gardiner House, General Manager at Gardiner House Hostel
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experience! We're sorry to hear about your disappointment, we do work hard to provide every guest with the best time possible. We'll take all your comments into consideration in hopes to do better next time. We hope you'll give us another chance in the future and we wish you all the best!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lili L wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
NIGHTMARE hostel. I DO NOT recommend! Horrible, arrogant staff with no basic manners. Most staff don’t speak English and shout at you in Romanian, Portuguese, Argentinian. I’ve never seen staff on their phones and sitting watching you while telling you to wash your breakfast plates. Shocking environment. Marlene,Leo,the kitchen small hysterical skinny woman have 0 hygiene and nasty attitude to guests. It’s a pity that this nice building is ruined by these people. A really BAD vibes place. I gave my feedback on a few platforms and the “management” responded with treats to me on the Internet for saying what I experienced! Clearly not Irish management. AVOID if you don’t want to ruin your time in Ireland!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Canbe Hospitality, Owner at Gardiner House Hostel
Responded 19 Sept 2023
Hello! How are you? It's a shame you don't put your name in the review, so we know who you are! Regarding the bathrooms, we have more than 20 where you can take a shower if one is busy and so you don't have to wait. Regarding whether you had problems with the staff, you can report it at reception or ask to speak to the manager. Both men and women can stay in the mixed rooms, if you don't want to share with men you can reserve a women-only room, or request a room change if you feel uncomfortable. The reception staff is always willing to help, and if we like to sing in Spanish and Portuguese, it is a hostel with a relaxed atmosphere and good vibes :) Most of the workers are Latinos, Ireland has given us this opportunity and we are very happy to work here, it is also the vibe of the hostel where people from all over the world come. In the hostel you can hear many languages from the workers and guests. We send you the best vibes, best regards from GH Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brady T wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had planned on stay here for 2 night and was only able to stay one. They have a odd reservation policy be careful or else you loose your bed (like me). Since I lost my bed I went all around Dublin last minute trying to find a place to sleep. I ended up finding the Generator and it’s SO much better! The Staff at the Gardiner Hostel was not very helpful, worste hostel I’ve been to
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gardiner House, General Manager at Gardiner House Hostel
Responded 14 Oct 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We're sorry you couldn't complete your stay, but our policies are stated on all booking channels so guests know what is required before even confirming a reservation. If the name of the booking is not matching with the cardholder, we cannot be sure the card provided belongs to the guest, so for security reasons we always get in contact to try and sort it out. As we hadn't heard from you within the deadline given, the reservation was released in accordance with our procedures. All the best from the GH team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura M wrote a review Nov 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom37 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Easy to check in and out. Able to leave bags if you arrive pre check in.
Rooms cleaned daily. Stayed in an 8 bed with one toilet/shower attached, but a couple more down the corridor.
Lots of common areas.
Very loud all the time - the lift sounds like a pressure washer going off, people being loud in the corridors at all hours, can hear everything in the adjoining rooms as well. Near a school so from around 8.45 on a weekday there’s lots of loud screaming outside.
Location is ok, feels safe but a bit further out from the main city. Main people staying seems to be long term looking for work rather than people on holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is parking round the back for €10 a day. Locker under the bed needs a padlock and is very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gardiner House, General Manager at Gardiner House Hostel
Responded 08 Dec 2021
Hi there! We do appreciate your comments about your stay with us, they will help us to improve our service. We are glad to know that cleaning was remarkable for your stay :) On the other hand, we understand that sometimes the hostel can get noisy and in case it gets out of permissible volume, the issue can be reported to our front desk to take actions; it operates 24/7 so we are always available :) We hope despite that, you could enjoy your visit to Dublin. All the best from the GH team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miguel Kolanowski wrote a review May 2024
Racine, Wisconsin144 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a room with 12 beds (ensuite bathroom), the "chapel experience." The room had a neat design. The bedding was good, but the pillow was poor. The first night there was only one other person in the room, so it was heavenly. However, in subsequent nights it filled up and there were disturbances throughout the night. I guess you should expect that considering its Dublin and people are going out and partying. On my last day somebody stole my toiletries. They have small lockers in the room but it's not like I would've prioritized locking that stuff up anyway. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the center of the city so for me that right on the edge of a doable distance. Towel rent was 4 Euros which seems a bit steep. There is a free breakfast, but it is rather meager. There were people of all ages staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James T wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the hostel is nice but cold with no heat. and they leave the windows open and doors open for the rooms to be colder. there are no locks on some of the windows. a bad place to catch a cold. the rooms shouldnt be unisex. It should mens only rooms or womens only rooms. they say the heat will turn on automatically but it doesnt turn on at all. bring long john undewear and extra layer clothing to sleep if you stay here. also bring your own mini heater. bring your own room heater. bring a travel heater everywhere where they dont have heated rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from GardinerHouse1
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions
To get to the Aviva Stadium from Gardiner House, you can take a bus or walk. Have you decided which option you prefer? If you're walking, it's about a 25-minute walk southwest along the River Liffey and then south along Ringsend Road. If you prefer the bus, you can take the number 151 or 1 from Busáras, which is about a 10-minute walk from Gardiner House. - Luis/GH Team
Jessica W asked a question Feb 2019
Llandudno, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Can I get to 3Arena from here?
Answer from Grayll
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma29 contributions13 helpful votes
My daughter lives in Dublin and chooses to walk almost exclusively. By the time you wait on a bus or taxi, its sometimes faster to walk.
Answer from GardinerHouse1
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions
Hi there, The cheapest way would be for you to take the bus numer 16 coming to town, and that stops at Dorset St, North Circular Road. It will only cost you 3.10 euros. Kind regards, GH Team
Rose J asked a question Mar 2022
Hi ! Do you have a car Park ? Thanks for pour answer.
Answer from GardinerHouse1
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions
We do have a car park on the premises and spots are offered for €10 per day. Pre-booking is required to guarantee availability.
viajerax asked a question Aug 2018
Queretaro City, Mexico6 contributions5 helpful votes
Hola! pueden alojar a un menor que viaja solo? 14 años, solo una noche...
Answer from GardinerHouse1
Dublin, Ireland14 contributions
Hola! Thank you for the email! Unfortunately we cannot accommodate minors travelling on their own, thank you for asking. Kind Regards, The GH Team
Relax60698391565 wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a fan if your coming in June. "
Read full review
Laura M wrote a tip Nov 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom37 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is parking round the back for €10 a day. Locker under the bed needs a padlock and is very small. Towels available for €1"
Read full review
Maria Anna M wrote a tip May 2019
Hveragerdi, Iceland107 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a hostel, some noise is unavoidable. But nothing to be really bothered by."
Read full review
rexgerardr wrote a tip Apr 2019
Dublin, Ireland8 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else!!"
Read full review
2231Nils wrote a tip Sept 2018
Welle, Germany8 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room far away of the hall-toilet"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dublin area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,527 - R 3,147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of LeinsterCounty DublinDublin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GARDINER HOUSE HOSTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Dublin, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gardiner House Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Gardiner House Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Belvedere Irish Night (0.3 km), Garden of Remembrance (0.5 km), and The Epic Tours (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gardiner House Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Gardiner House Hostel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Gardiner House Hostel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gardiner House Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lovinspoon, Chapter One by Mickael Viljanen, and One Society.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gardiner House Hostel?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gardiner House Hostel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gardiner House Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Gardiner House Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kilmainham Gaol Museum (3.7 km), 14 Henrietta Street (0.9 km), and Guinness Storehouse (2.5 km).
Does Gardiner House Hostel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Dublin HotelsDublin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DublinHotels near Gardiner House Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire