We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Scores Hotel

Save
Share
76 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9BB Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#14 of 18 hotels in St Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
835Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 374
  • 276
  • 105
  • 45
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MartynC77 wrote a review 20 Jul
Chorley, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
Be very careful when booking this hotel in the coming months. All is not as it seems. The hotel "allegedly....as told by many staff to guests all the time" has been sold and is closing in October for a full refurbishment. Very much the topic of conversation around the hotel !! Temporary staff in most areas who are trying their best, pictures taken from bedrooms and most areas of the hotel. Stale and musky odours around the hotel and especially in our Junior suite. Staff are trying their very best but are no where near reaching what's acceptable for such a price you're paying ...ie DB&B £200 a night. During Dinner & Breakfast experiences what you don't want to hear time after time after time is "So sorry for your wait" on most if not every visit to the 10 tables set up in the dining room for each item being delivered !! BW should be explaining the current situation before bookings are taken but that wont matter after mid October.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
kevin W wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Unfortunately the hotel reception was low lighting and very faded, not welcoming at all. Room 311 - very small, Telephone didn't work, no towels or toiletries in bathroom, found empty water bottle down side of bed, room very dusty, only one bedside table for double bed, flat sheet on mattress was a single, didn't fit, pillows old and lumpy, curtains were hanging off rail. We never saw any housekeeping staff during our stay. Breakfast like Fawlty Towers, we were told to find a table for ourselves, unfortunately all empty tables were full of dirty dishes. Staff don't seem to be trained. We paid £200 per night for room, breakfast was £13.95 each extra, feel cheated on what should have been a pleasant stay. A let-down for the lovely town of St Andrews
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: No a/c in room 311, room with garden view quieter.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel
Responded 10 Jun 2021
Dear Mr Williams As i replied to you on another review site I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are always disappointed when our service has not reached it's usual standards and we will most certainly be taking your comments seriously with the aim of improving where we went wrong. regards Molly
Read more
Expedition487380 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Our first post COVID weekend - hotel was excellent staff were very helpful friendly and cheerful room was very nice couldn’t fault the whole experience to be honest - previous comments about dated decor were a bit unfair
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel
Responded 08 Jun 2021
So glad you enjoyed your weekend, it has been really hard not being able to plan anything and it's great that we can now all enjoy a much needed break. Even better if we helped you both to enjoy that break!. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. take care kind regards Molly
Read more
cathm040 wrote a review May 2021
United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past and been satisfied. It is now NOT as advertised. The rooms and common areas have been plundered of decorative items such as pictures, ornaments etc and it looks abandoned. The room we were allocated was very shabby and the roof leaked. The amenities were below (covid required) basics. It appears to remain popular with corporate bookings who are unlikely to be paying the inflated price of £245 per night B&B (reduced by £32 on complaint). The hotel is understaffed, the quality of produce poor. Independent travellers beware, you will be stung if you book here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel
Responded 28 May 2021
I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay though puzzled by the criticism of being 'stung' The price was agreed at time of booking made by yourself and although we were unable to provide the free upgrade or free sea view you requested, something we would have tried to accommodate if the hotel had not been busy during your stay, you did know the rate prior to booking. There are also quite a few assumptions made, corporate bookings, understaffed, amenities below Covid 19 regulations, I don't know how you can assess whether our other guests were 'corporate' and without knowing the room occupancy levels cannot judge if an hotel was understaffed , we also follow the Quality Care guidelines strictly in all matters regarding Covid 19 regulations and make no apologies for this, we equip our rooms to their recommendations for the safety of all our guests. All items are still available and we are more than happy to provide them on request. if you had made your request for tissues known we would have been happy to provide them. . Our local suppliers will be disappointed to hear your opinions on their produce which is sourced locally for freshness and quality. However it still remains disappointing to all our team that you did not enjoy your stay. We always want our guests to have the best possible visit and are sorry this did not happen on this occasion. kind regards Molly
Read more
alancunningham2021 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel hasn’t aged well, needs fully upgraded and brought back to life. It’s like jumping back into the 1980’s. Heating was on full blast 24/7. Such a shame as it’s prime location for St Andrew’s. Staff were all very welcoming and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at Best Western Scores Hotel
Responded 10 May 2021
Dear Mr Cunningham I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we want everyone who stays to enjoy their time at the Scores and are disappointed when our guests fail to do so. I have taken your comments on board and will take steps to ensure problems like the heating being on all night- it was very cold!- is checked by our plumbers Hopefully we will see you in the future, meantime please accept my apologies for the problems encountered during your stay kind regards Molly
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$139 - US$318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western st andrews, scores hotel st andrews, st. andrews best western
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Scores Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Scores Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Swilcan Bridge (0.3 km), The Himalayas Putting Course (0.4 km), and St Andrews West Sands Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Scores Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Scores Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Scores Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Scores Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haar Restaurant, The Keys Bar, and The Seafood Ristorante.
Is Best Western Scores Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of St Andrews.
Does Best Western Scores Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Scores Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Andrews Links (1.2 km), St Andrews Cathedral (1.0 km), and Martyrs' Monument (0.5 km).
Does Best Western Scores Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
Is Best Western Scores Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.