We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Regent House Hotel

Traveller (5)
360
Panoramas (35)
Dining (26)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
127Restaurantswithin 0,5 km
64Attractionswithin 0,5 km
Neighbourhood
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
49Reviews
232Photos
5Q+A
4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 19
  • 11
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My experience has unfortunately not been a good one. Booked here for 2 nights ahead of the Quarter Final Rugby planned for March 2019. I contacted them immediately upon receipt of the confirmation email as it showed that the room would be on 3rd floor and there is no lift; my
Read more
Response from Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Helena, We understand your frustration, but we tried to explain to you several times our cancellation pollicies , which is as follows (also available at the time of your booking with ALL the room information) ''7 day cancellation policy applies. Cancellations made within 7 days of arrival or no shows will be charged 100% of the total reservation. Cancellation made before 7 days upon arrival will be charged with 1 night. In case of 1 night reservations the full amount will be charged''. Also it is a lie that we offer a ''pay at the hotel'' In NONE of the websites that advertises us. We only take the first night deposit and any balance due should be paid at the property. It is a shame that after explaining this to you in a couple of times you are still threatening all of our staff via E-mail, but of course, you wont mention that in your review. Hotels.com is completely aware of the threats that you did to us when we were nothing but respectful and kind to you. They also understand our cancellation policy and room information as they are all displayed on their website. We did not offer or did any refund neither offered a free cancellation at any time which was also explained to Hotels.com and to you. We consider that we have handled this in a professional manner, but it is really hard when guests like you just focus in screaming at us via Phone and after that threatening us via E-mail. We suggest you to communicate with Hotels.com and they will explain to you, once again, what is displayed on their website (Room information, cancellation policy etc.) With nothing else to communicate. Regards. Regent House Hotel.
Read more
Me and my girlfriend were absolutely satisfied. We had small cozy room on top floor, view to the street. No noise at all. Comfy bed. Was a bit chillin but had a extra heator in closet so no problem. Shared shower and toilet is not what everyone is looking for but at least clean.
Read more
The staff member at check- in was not very friendly, however the ones at breakfast were lovely. The room was spcious and clean. There's free wifi available. The hotel is centrally located and just a short walking from Waverly station. Great value for money.
Read more
Response from Zahid R, Manager at Regent House Hotel
Responded 07 Jan 2019
Dear Martina, We apologize and will directly address the issue you had during the check-in time with our hotel staff. We are glad to hear that besides the inconvinience you enjoyed your stay with us. Warmest regards from Edinburgh. Regent House Hotel.
Read more
The staff was really nice, professional and always ready to help you for anything. The room was very nice with a warm atmosphere and always cleaned. You have also the popportunity to prepare some thea or coffee in the room. The breakfast was very nice. The position is amazing
Read more
we stayed for 2 nights we turned up before check in time but was able to leave our cases whilke we went off to explore edinburgh , its very convienient to get from the airport to hotel by tram its a few minutes walk from tram stop ,very good location to walk to city centre and
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRegent House Hotel
The Twin Room at the Regent House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRegent House Hotel
The Twin Room at the Regent House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRegent House Hotel
The Single Room at the Regent House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRegent House Hotel
The Family Room Two at the Regent House Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRegent House Hotel
The Family Room at the Regent House Hotel
PreviousNext
12345633
The family room was upstairs but was comfortable and had excellent wifi; ensuite facilities were good too.
1 vote
Dear Kristin, yes we provide baby cot free of charge. Please mention your request in your booking. Best regards Zahid
0 votes
Show all answers
Our check in time is 14:00h, but if you arrive before 14;00h and the room is ready, we can check you in. We have free luggage storage to leave your luggage if arriving before 14:00h and the room is not ready to check in.
1 vote
Show all answers
Il conto va pagato all'arrivo in albergo?
Dear Customer, The first night will be charged to secure your booking. The remainder is due upon arrival. The Check in time is at 2pm, if you arrive earlier we have luggage storage facilities free of charge. Best Regards Alice
0 votes
"we had room 21 and had no noise at all"
"Family room was comfortable"
"Higher floors are the nicest!"
"We were on the second floor ,next time I would ask for a first floor since there is no lift"
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
regent hotel edinburghedinburgh regentregent edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing