We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hideaway Experience

Save
Share
Balkello Farm Auchterhouse, Dundee, Dundee DD3 0RA Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (659)
Room & Suite (280)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 19 Speciality lodging in Dundee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Hideaway Experience is Scotland's "couples only" 5 star exclusive accommodation. No children, no groups, no stag parties just 5 star luxury lodges located at the foot of the Sidlaw Hills in Angus, just north of Dundee. Four luxury lodges in total on a 650 acre farm, these Hideaway are set well apart from each other in beautiful rolling countryside and enjoy panoramic, south facing views. Designed for complete privacy, rest, relaxation and fun the luxury Hideaways have a layout and facilities of a luxury hotel suite. Guests can enjoy a dedicated spa room, outside hot tub, sauna, modern kitchen with a range of gadgets and SMEG appliances, double sided fire, cocktail bar. Guest can enjoy romantic walks or take a short journey into the City of Dundee for great restaurants, shops and nightlife. We specialise in honeymoons, minimoons, wedding nights, marriage proposals, anniversaries and birthday celebrations.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Sauna
Breakfast available
Hiking
Massage
Adults only
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Dining area
Fireplace
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Modern
615Reviews4Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 586
  • 22
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Iain H wrote a review 21 Sep
Erskine, United Kingdom30 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We visited The Hideaway Experience just outside Dundee at the weekend and had a great time. The Romantics Cottage was lovely, the kitchen had everything we needed and more with a lovely dining table for two set at a window with a view. We had a nice sized living area with a log fire pit which was perfect for in the evening and was kitted out with Sky tv, WiFi and a Sonos sound system throughout the cottage. There was a big sized shower room/ toilet which had a sauna in it too which was great. The bedroom was massive with a king sized bed and a double bathtub. Patio doors led out to the decked area outside where there was a hot tub, two loungers, a table and chairs and also a hammock, we lucked out with the weather and spent the majority of our time out on the decking, sitting relaxing in the sun and in the hot tub. We couldn’t have asked for it to be any better. We would thoroughly recommend The Hideaway Experience and hopefully will be back again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from victoria prentice, General Manager at The Hideaway Experience
Responded 3 days ago
Hello Iain & Linzi, Thank you very much for your review of our Romantics Hideaway. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we are delighted to hear you both had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the future. Kind Regards,
Read more
Lauren S wrote a review 06 Sep
Aberdeen, United Kingdom275 contributions115 helpful votes
+1
Just home from a three night stay at The Dreamers and it was amazing. We absolutely loved it. The lodge has everything you need for a relaxing break. The location is great, very peaceful yet not far from Dundee if you fancy something a bit busier. A short walk from the lodge takes you to Balkello Woodland where there are loads of trails through the woods and up the hills. The bread, butter and jam waiting for us was delicious. Thank you to Victoria for helping my husband arrange a few surprises for me. We would both absolutely recommend a stay at The Hideaway Experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from victoria prentice, General Manager at The Hideaway Experience
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you Lauren for your lovely review of our Dreamers Hideaway. I am so pleased to hear that you and Stuart had a relaxing time to celebrate both your anniversary and birthday. I thoroughly enjoyed welcoming you and getting to know you. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards,
Read more
EM wrote a review 01 Sep
2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Amazing stay - from the welcome homemade bread, the hot tub ready to use on arrival, the stunning views and so very peaceful. We stayed in the honeymooners and could not fault a single thing. Thank you so much!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from victoria prentice, General Manager at The Hideaway Experience
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Eilidh, Many thanks for your lovely review of our Honeymooners Hideaway. I am delighted to hear you found it amazing for your honeymoon. We wish you a bright future together and hope to welcome you back one day. Kind Regards,
Read more
Scottish Travellers wrote a review Aug 2021
39 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Wonderful stay in The Lovers and can’t wait to book again! Would most definitely recommend. Beautiful surroundings, calm, peaceful and even spotted some deer, buzzards and other birds. Great instructions/welcome information sent beforehand. Welcome visit from Victoria was appreciated too. We had an issue with the hot tub temperature but this was sorted straightaway. Beautiful flowers in the garden and absolutely loved the hammock. Homemade bread, butter and jam a lovely touch and we loved the ice dispenser for our drinks! Fire was lovely, we put it on briefly as we stayed on a really warm weekend, great to have it all set up ready for us. Loved the double shower and the amazing outdoor shower. Whole place was decorated in a beautiful way. Beds and couch really comfortable. There are a few small things that I think could be included for the money and would have made our stay truly excel; -Milk -Bubble bath -Additional towels for the hot tub (stayed in other places where they have larger towels in another colour for outdoor use) -On demand TV service like Sky Plus or Netflix. Of course we were not there for TV but late at night it would have been good to choose something to watch on demand. -some kind of outdoor heater or blankets for the cool summer nights Thanks for a lovely, relaxing break in a wonderful setting! We have told everyone about our stay and can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Lovers is amazing
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline Millar, Owner at The Hideaway Experience
Responded 08 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Lovers Hideaway. We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay and you managed to see so much wildlife from your garden. Thank you also for the suggestions to improve, we are always keen to listen to guests and to improve the experience for guests. Just to note that both TVS in the Lovers are suitable for Netflix, you just need to log into your own account, we also have Sky Movies and Sports in both TVs. Many thanks again for the feedback and your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Caroline
Read more
Shona L wrote a review Aug 2021
8 contributions
+1
Me and my husband stayed here for my 30th birthday view's were stunning and so was the highaway. We had been looking forward to this relaxing getaway for a while now and it did not disappoint. We stayed in the dreamers as we also took our 2 dogs with us and they had a great time too. If you haven't stayed here before I would highly recommend, we are already looking at planning our next trip. Thank you for making my birthday so special and one to remember 😀
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline Millar, Owner at The Hideaway Experience
Responded 08 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both and your two dogs. Delighted you enjoyed celebrating your 30th birthday. Look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Caroline
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$363 - US$456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hideaway Experience
Which popular attractions are close to The Hideaway Experience?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Dundee (6.5 km), Balnuith Alpacas (2.9 km), and The Dundee Law (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hideaway Experience?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at The Hideaway Experience?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hideaway Experience?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hideaway Experience?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hideaway Experience?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Post House Coffee Co, The Camperdown Elm, and The Birkhill Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hideaway Experience?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hideaway Experience?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hideaway Experience?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cox's Stack (6.4 km) and Balgarthno Stone Circle (Farm of Corn) (6.5 km).
Is The Hideaway Experience accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.