We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chainbridge Hotel

Traveller (404)
Room & Suite (135)
Dining (17)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
River View
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 394
  • 295
  • 116
  • 56
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Quirky, unique location, lovely food, excellent service. Beautiful setting with fantastic walks in this beautiful valley. Ask for a top floor room riverside & relax with a drink on your personal balcony. Rooms are clean & tidy, bathrooms are spacious.
Read more
Response from Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel
Responded 04 Oct 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review - we are glad that you found the charms of the hotel and its location enjoyable, and hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in the UK. Kind regards Seamus
Read more
We dropped in here on the off chance they'd have a room for a little 2 night honeymoon without our daughter! We were offered a junior suite, room 37 & it was lovely. I'll mention the minor bad points first to get them out of the way.....the WiFi is not great, only connects in
Read more
Response from Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel
Responded 28 Sep 2018
Many thanks for your lovely review - I am delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your break with us. Both Molly and Gemma are very grateful for your comments, and they do a wonderful job of looking after our guests. WIFI and phone signals are both poor - and sadly out of our control despite our best efforts to get a better service from local providers - but sometimes it's pleasant to get a break from modern technology! We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Seamus
Read more
Just spent 2 nights here, we were both looking forward to the break as we had stayed 18 months ago and couldn't fault the hotel. This time was definitely different. We were taken to room 10, a dark, small room on the 1st floor with only space for 1 chair. We noticed that the
Read more
Response from Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel
Responded 22 Sep 2018
I am sorry for your disappointment and that there were issues with elements of your stay. The severe weather we had during your stay affected our TV signal - which is never brillaint at the best of times, only managing four stations. The bulbs for the light fitting are now obselete, so we will be installing a new light, and rectifying the other issues you have mentioned. As the season draws to a close, the large number of visitors we have had to the hotel over the year can create some minor maintenance issues, and we will now have the chance as the hotel goes into the quieter winter period to resolve these issues, and make further improvements to the hotel. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, views, and flowers! Kind regards Seamus
Read more
Had dinner here on Friday night. Wow. The food was excellent and was to die for. Going again in about 4 weeks. Smashing waitresses and reasonable priced. The views are amazing from when you pull up to when you leave in darkness. The whole place is covered in lights
Read more
Response from Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Many thanks! I am delighted that you so thoroughly enjoyed your meal with us - and that the excellent food, service and setting made it a special night. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Seamus
Read more
Great location. We had evening meal and breakfast both were very good with friendly service. The room however was a different matter. As we were travelling with our dog the only rooms allowed are the cheaper rooms outside.I would have been more than happy to pay for one of the
Read more
Response from Chainbridge1, Owner at Chainbridge Hotel
Responded 18 Sep 2018
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that there were elements of your stay with us that you found to be less than satisfactory. Our 'dog-friendly' rooms are very popular, located on the canal towpath, allowing easy access for walks and exercise for the dogs along the World Heritage Site we are located on. All of the rooms are designed to be as comfortable as possible while accommodating dogs, however dogs are not permitted in the main hotel wing, where the balconies are located. There are several reasons for this, and generally, our dog-friendly rooms are well received by guests. There was a temporary fault with the boiler - which was immediately resolved - and the reason we could not move you to another room is that all of the rooms were occupied, which is very often the case at this time of year. I am glad that you enjoyed your meals with us, and that the service you received was of a good standard. Kind regards Seamus
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Our room
Room 23 with Riverside Balcony
Do rooms have a fridge
No fridge
1 vote
Do the rooms have in a fridge
No fridge
1 vote
Show all answers
you can request a hairdryer from reception
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, From what I can gather they have a disabled car space near their entrance gate, you may have to notify them to keep it clear as it is close to where they unload supplies so may need to be cordoned off prior to arrival and I think with warning they have ramps that can be laid to access the hotel but from memory it was fairly flat anyway. They have canal facing rooms at ground level also but clarify things with hotel before booking.
0 votes
Show all answers
I'm sure they would cater for your needs..there are rooms on the ground floor....give them a ring... definitely worth a stay at the hotel....
0 votes
Show all answers
"The rooms overlooking the river are well worth paying the extra for."
"Go for a river view room with balcony"
"River view rooms are superior to canal ones"
"If travelling with your dog ensure you are aware that the rooms available are not of the same quality of the majority of the hotel."
"Noisy from river when on balcony, but found it serene, and when you close doors you can't hear a thing, so had a fab sleep :-)"
chain bridge llangollenhotel chain bridge
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesLlangollen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing