We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nanteos Mansion

Save
Share
Rhydyfelin, Aberystwyth SY23 4LU Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (385)
Dining (66)
Room & Suite (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21/04/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Nanteos Mansion
Updated 21/04/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 14 hotels in Aberystwyth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Nanteos Mansion is a grade 1 listed Georgian Property built in 1739 by the Powell Family, and lived in by the same family until 1951. Now restored to its former glory, offering a range of deluxe bedrooms, combined with sumptuous public spaces and providing fine dining using the finest of local Welsh produce.The ethos of the house is 'A country House that happens to be a hotel rather than a Country House Hotel' professional, yet friendly unobtrusive service, where our guests can feel pampered yet relaxed. Nanteos is proud to reestablish the tradition of welcoming guests to this fine Country House.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Billiards
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
587Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 404
  • 81
  • 50
  • 25
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Slaj162 wrote a review 06 Jun
West Midlands, United Kingdom51 contributions19 helpful votes
Just back from a wonderful stay at Nanteos Mansion. We had 2 lovely rooms, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our cooked breakfast in our room, really pleased to be able to have a vegan option. The hotel has amazing grounds which we explored after breakfast. We enjoyed learning about the hidtory and ghost stories of the mansion. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Gail S wrote a review 06 Jun
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom35 contributions22 helpful votes
I booked this to celebrate my husbands birthday, asked for a btl of prosecco in the room, booked on booking.com but spoke to them two days before staying, I asked if we could have dinner but they were full and due to covid and social distancing both nights were not available. We arrived thinking we could have a drink in the bar but because the people having dinner in the restaurant had their coffee in there we couldn't sit anywhere, we were offered the chairs by the stairs, we felt a bit discarded. No prosecco in the room on arrival and we were also told as we were the last to arrive we couldn't eat breakfast in the restaurant the following morning so had to eat it in our room. I was expecting a bit more opulence but sadly the room we were in ( disabled access room) was very ordinary, it was clean and large but under other bedrooms so noise from above was annoying. The vegan breakfast was awful and had a long blond hair attached. I told the hotel about noise and breakfast and they were apologetic. I think if you book here do so by phone or make it very clear on which room you want, you want breakfast in the restaurant and if you want an evening meal, book early. The staff are lovely and the setting is beautiful hence the 3 stars. The breakfast this morning was good but I did go and buy some sausages I use at home and they cooked these! Lovely weekend, if you check in early enough and book dinner in advance it would have been even better so maybe the hotel should advise you of this on booking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sunshine443147 wrote a review 03 Jun
1 contribution
I knew this hotel was dog friendly, so I booked a family room for the Spring bank holiday week end. As part of my comments when booking, I clearly stated that I was travelling with a small dog. Then 2 days before we were due to arrive, I used their online portal to do the check in, and realized there were some specific "dog friendly rooms", which was never mentioned when I booked the room. So I emailed the hotel to check that all was OK, and I immediately got a reply back stating that the room I had booked could not accommodate a dog. To make matters worse, instead of accepting the fact that they had made a mistake, since I had clearly stated that I was coming with a dog; they pretended that I had never mentioned a dog during the booking session. Unfortunately for them, the portal had all the information and my comment about a dog was clearly there. So not only did they spoil our weekend because of their misleading booking system, but they blatantly lied about the information I had provided. Really poor customer management, a place to avoid if you have specific requirements !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RL3579 wrote a review Jan 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Visited at the first weekend of December with my dog. I’d been given a dog friendly suite and wasn’t sure what to expect but I was very impressed. The suite had both a bath and stand-alone shower and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was very clean and the bed comfy. There was a good selection on offer for breakfast and both days the food was exceptional. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially on checking in and out and the grounds and hotel are beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded 04 Jan 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your break during these challenging times, and hope to welcome you once more when we are all returned to some normality. The Nanteos team
Read more
Ann R wrote a review Oct 2020
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We were disappointed with the quality of the "luxury" room after paying £170 for the night. The lack of a mirror in the bedroom was a real issue. Two roman blinds were broken, one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. There was a makeshift arrangement with the broken blind in the bathroom but the blind needed to be lowered as we saw occupants looking out of windows in neighbouring rooms and the bath was right in front of the window. It was too dark even with the lights on for shaving, contact lenses and makeup. The bathroom door didn't close. The bed was really hard, creaky and uncomfortable. Emailing Nanteos on our return home, the answer was .......... silence! This isn't luxury accommodation and if the room needs repairs really shouldn't be available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All a bit shabby, if you want a bit of luxury go elsewhere
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Dear AnnvrV9049SG, Thank you for your recent review, I am disappointed to read your comments with regard to your recent stay and do not recognize many of observations you have made. Yes we are aware of the roman blinds, which have been measured for repair, however the existing ones remain functional. The lighting in the bathroom has always suited the needs of many of our clients whom specifically request that particular room, however as you have now raised it we will review the current provision. We would also take issue with regard to your comments about the bed as our beds are complimented on with regard to their comfort. It would appear from the above that the room itself was just not to your liking, it is a shame that you could not have raised this at the time of your stay and we could have moved you to a room more to your liking, and similarly had you requested an extra mirror for the bedroom we would have been more than happy to provide one. Finally, unfortunately we have not seen any email from yourselves with regard to the above, we strive to ensure that we reply to all correspondence in a timely fashion, but in this digital age we live in it is not unknown for the odd email to go astray. We would be delighted to see you again at the Mansion in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly to assure you of our personal attention. Yours Nanteos Mansion
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionAberystwyth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nanteos Mansion
Which popular attractions are close to Nanteos Mansion?
Nearby attractions include Amgueddfa Ceredigion Museum (4.8 km), Hafod Uchtryd (2.3 km), and Aberystwyth Castle (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nanteos Mansion?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Nanteos Mansion?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nanteos Mansion?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nanteos Mansion?
Conveniently located restaurants include Y Ffarmers, Casablanca, and Backyard BBQ.
Are pets allowed at Nanteos Mansion?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Nanteos Mansion offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Nanteos Mansion?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cofiwch Dryweryn Wall (7.0 km), Queen Victoria - Merchant Ship's Figurehead (4.8 km), and Statue of King Edward VII (4.9 km).
Is Nanteos Mansion accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.