We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
88-96 Walmgate, York YO1 9TL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$137
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 21 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1320)
360
Panoramas (43)
Room & Suite (160)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#19 of 51 in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
2462Reviews95Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 596
  • 629
  • 159
  • 40
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tanya P wrote a review Yesterday
Cambridge, United Kingdom86 contributions53 helpful votes
Stayed for 2 nights at the end of April. Quite small for an Indigo but nicely furnished. Room was good, and had lovely free snacks. Good shower ( rainfall) comfy kingsize bed. We had booked room only and were invited to book breakfast- but it was £20 each!!! The restaurant was tiny so we decided to opt out. There are lots of local cafes serving lovely breakfast, we went to Spring and had an amazing fresh breakfast ( I had pancakes) with drinks for less than £20 for both of us, so save your money. We walked past breakfast in the morning and it looked very average. Staff were friendly. We did manage to get a permit for the car park which is £12.50 per night, the car park itself is tiny and filled with potholes, I was worried about the car but it was ok when we went back to it
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
LilMiss15 wrote a review 16 May
Durham, United Kingdom81 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
This hotel and its decor is right up our street as a couple. We got there slightly early hoping to drop our bags in but were offered early check in which was great. Our room was on the first floor and it was decorated fantastically. Complimentary diet coke, snacks, tea, coffee and biscuits. Iron, ironing board and hairdryer aswell as a speaker to hook up to. Bathrobes and toiletries are great added touches. I'm really disappointed that we were woken up about 1 in the morning by loud guests next door, shouting quite loudly, the walls must actually be quite thin as we were kept awake for over an hour with noise including slamming doors. I considered ringing down to reception or banging on the wall but I didn't want confrontation especially at that time of the morning. I was grateful to finally fall back to sleep. I do find the rooms quite noisey so for that reason we probably won't come back and I'm so gutted about that. Beautiful hotel however. TOP TIP.. IF YOU ARE GETTING THE TRAIN THE NUMBER 7 BUS GOES RIGHT DOWN THE STREET PAST THE HOTEL
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear LilMiss15, Thank you for taking the time to complete our satisfaction survey and for choosing Hotel indigo for your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are continuously striving to deliver the highest levels of service to our guests, and we are proud that you have enjoyed your stay. I find your feedback highly motivating and will not miss sharing it with the rest of my team. I would also like to apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. Please rest assured that all your comments have been taken into consideration and reviewed to take necessary action and correct any shortcomings. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Indigo in the near future. Kind regards, Oana I. Front of House Manager
Read more
Buzzybee61 wrote a review 08 May
Manchester, United Kingdom545 contributions169 helpful votes
£14 parking 100 yards away if space available. Close to hop on bus stop. 15 minutes stroll to shambles and up to the minster. Several restaurants within walking distance. Welcoming staff on reception. Clean room with nice toiletries. Electric socket at both sides of bed for charging phones etc. Bottle water in fridge, still an sparkling. Continental and full english breakfast available. At present you need to book a slot - social distancing. Friendly knowledgable bar staff - plenty local gins to choose from. Would visit again if in area and happily recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Buzzybee61, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read of your overall satisfaction regarding your experience in our hotel. We are continuously striving to deliver the highest levels of service and to ensure our guests feel genuinely cared for. I find your feedback highly motivating and will not miss sharing it with the rest of my team. Thank you once again for staying with us and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Oana I. Front of House Manager
Read more
Sarah wrote a review 03 May
5 contributions
This was a last minute getaway and was delighted with our choice. Will most certainly return in the future. Clean tidy and great value for money. The rooms are spacious and very welcoming. We also had a beautiful view from the window.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear T6142ZJsarahr, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read of your overall satisfaction regarding your experience in our hotel. We are continuously striving to deliver the highest levels of service and to ensure our guests feel genuinely cared for. Thank you once again for staying with us, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon for a return visit! Kind regards, Amy C Front of House Supervisor
Read more
Mel W wrote a review 03 May
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom26 contributions55 helpful votes
Hotel is located on the edge of the City and is about a 20 minute walk from the station. Ideally situated to visit the main attractions in the City. Everywhere in York is abundant with places to eat so there is no need to be hungry. The hotel was very quaint. It currently does not have any restaurant facilities only for breakfast. At Breakfast there is a vast variety on offer. Ranging from a selection of hot courses or Continental depending upon what you have paid for. The service at breakfast was impeccable. Special mention must go to one of the staff - Hev. Hev’s attitude to her work was amazing. She was so friendly and helpful that she left a lasting impression. The hotel should be very proud of her. An A* Employee ! The room was Ok although we did have some issues with the cleaning of the room and changing of towels. We pointed this out to management - Oana Ion ( Front of House Maager ) who assured us that the problems that we encountered would be rectified for future guests. Well done to everyone at the hotel remembering that it is a Team Effort that makes thing work.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from hotel indigoyork, Owner at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 188melw, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for choosing Hotel Indigo for your recent stay. It was a pleasure to read of your overall satisfaction regarding your experience in our hotel, particularly with regards to Hev - she will be very pleased to hear of your kind comments! We are continuously striving to deliver the highest levels of service and to ensure our guests feel genuinely cared for. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with our housekeeping service. As Oana confirmed for you, we do consider and review all feedback given to us so that we can ensure our high standards are met going forwards. Thank you once again for staying with us, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Amy C Front of House Supervisor
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.5 km), The Shop That Must Not Be Named (0.5 km), and The York Army Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cresci Pizzeria, Pairings Wine Bar, and Corner Grill House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Indigo York, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.8 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.3 km).