We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
17 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AQ England
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
FindHotel
Destinia.com
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 21/09/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Updated 21/09/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#43 of 202 in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Bar Convent is England's oldest living convent, established in 1686 as a school for girls. Today, the Grade I Listed building is one of York's most unique places to stay, promising peace, quiet and friendly service in a heritage setting. Our rooms are largely en-suite, with a few lower-priced rooms on the top floor with shared bathroom facilities. There is an award-winning café on site, as well as an state-of-the-art Exhibition on the convent's fascinating history. Just around the corner from York Rail Station, and only minutes into the centre of town, The Bar Convent's location is second-to-none and provides easy access to the city's famous walls. A large number of restaurants, pubs and bars are nearby. The Bar Convent is proud to provide York's warmest welcome, to those of all faiths and none.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
456Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 142
  • 41
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark J wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
The Bar Convent is in a fantastic location for visiting York City and is very reasonably priced!! I was staying in room 305, which is in the attic. The room was very nice, but on two nights I heard a noice, which sounded like someone pacing the room. The noice could have been from the room next door or a sister from the past looking over me? After informing the sisters, they moved me to a larger room on the second floor with a double bed and on suite, with no extra charge. My full breakfast was amazing!! I asked how they kept it so hot, they said it was from an old tradition that was top secret!! The sisters can’t do enough to make your stay as perfect as they are!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Walter T wrote a review May 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania144 contributions145 helpful votes
If you can roll your bags up a hill, it is a short six minute walk from the train (turn right when leaving the York station). It is right outside the Mickelgate Bar. For us, it made the trip liberating to store your bags while exploring this only walk town. The reception was straightforward with a friendly staff. It is still a living convent off Nunnery Street. Room is not for everyone though. The third floor rooms are only accessible via a narrow spiral staircase and you have to drag up your luggage. There is a shared toilet and shower, but frankly we never found it occupied. The clean room itself is simple with bed, armoire, sink and TV. Breakfast includes fruit and pastries as well as a complimentary full breakfast made to order! They have a second floor kitchen and pay washer and dryer for guest use. No swimming pool, fitness room, business centre. What it does have is historical charm having been in existence since 1638, bombed during WW2, a lovely garden area, and a chapel with the hand of Sister Marguerite. It is a memorable place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Fiona W wrote a review Apr 2022
Bonnybridge, Scotland, United Kingdom77 contributions13 helpful votes
I found The Bar Convent on Booking.com and didn’t realise at first what kind of building it was originally. The building is lovely, the interior even better. This was such a short walk from the train station and is also just a short walk into town. My room was exactly as I expected and the toilet was directly opposite the room, bathroom was just down the hall. Breakfast was amazing, one of the best breakfasts I’ve had while away from home. The staff were all really friendly. My room was at the top of the building and as such it retained the heat all day, meaning it was still really hot at night. However the addition of a fan attached to the wall right beside the bed meant I was able to sleep and stay cool at the same time. Normally I can’t sleep with noise, but the fan was so quiet I had 2 nights of great sleep while I was there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Criz M wrote a review Apr 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom228 contributions92 helpful votes
+1
It’s not so easy to find look for blossom street. Huge garden great range in choice, charming gift shop too. Wonderful hidden wee gem if you more than just another Wetherspoons! Happy staff present and well informed. Local history and near royal gate.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Huge range of teas!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Charlotte wrote a review Apr 2022
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Really nice building in a good location not far away from the train station. Staff were very friendly and helpful on check in and check out. Twin room (102) very clean, spacious and comfortable. Really lovely overnight stay and breakfast was delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Our Life So Far wrote a review Apr 2022
89 contributions39 helpful votes
A couple of two stayed in the Superior Room for one night. Room was spacious and comfortable with a private bath. Beds were comfortable. The full english breakfast the following morning was terrific and made to order. York Walls and Gate are across the street, easy to access. Check-in and breakfast service were well staffed, people were extremely nice and helpful. One tip, make sure you find the parking lot referenced on The Bar Convent site first, will make it much easier getting luggage and belongings in. It's close by with plenty of spaces.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
David S wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom54 contributions40 helpful votes
Trying to book is a nightmare,poorest website I have ever used.Go straight to a booking site.Absolute joke,very poorly written,clumsy.Dont know why it hasn’t been slated before,must loose lots of potential bookings.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Lawrie, Marketing at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Responded 05 Apr 2022
Hi David – thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear you’ve had trouble with the website. We’re in the process of redeveloping it at the moment, with an eye to making it more accessible and convenient to use. We’re also sorry to see you’ve given us a low rating for value and service – it isn’t clear from your review whether you eventually stayed with us or not, but we hope you didn’t have any problems while you were here. As shown by our many positive reviews, we pride ourselves on our service. We also review our prices often, to keep them in line with other guest houses in York. If you’d like to give us more details about your experience, our email address is reception@bar-convent.org.uk and we’ll be happy to help. All the best from the Bar Convent.
Read more
Christina P wrote a review Mar 2022
Winchester, United Kingdom2 contributions
We stayed for 2 nights. Accommodation was very clean and fresh. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. The added bonus was all the history linked to the guest house. I can’t recommend it enough.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Susan M wrote a review Mar 2022
Swansea County, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights here as part of a trip to the north of England. We had a lovely stay. The room was very nice, very clean and comfortable and very quiet. The building itself is very interesting and very well located for vsiitng York. Staff were extremly friendly and the breakfast was good. Would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
pickpick wrote a review Mar 2022
50 contributions27 helpful votes
I really can't fault this place in at all. First impressions was just the warmest welcome and staff are so helpful and friendly and a beautiful reception area. The room was perfect, we had a shared bathroom room and had no problems. The room itself was very comfy, clean and had everything you need plus tea and coffee and a biccy! The breakfast was simply the best I have ever had. Five star breakfast and included in the price, which was a bargain. We will definitely be staying here again. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bar convent hotel york, bar convent b&b
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Can You Escape? York (0.4 km), The Bar Convent Living Heritage Centre (0.00 km), and York Railway Station (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karoo Bar & Kitchen, skosh, and The Rattle Owl.
Is The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of York.
Does The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.7 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.9 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.9 km).