We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guy Fawkes Inn

Traveller (585)
Room & Suite (348)
Dining (81)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Standing next to York Minster, the Guy Fawkes Inn was the birthplace of the notorious plotter, Guido Fawkes. The Inn offers en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV’s and AA Rosette Food. Each of the thirteen rooms have been decorated individually, feature antique feature, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. Many of the rooms also enjoy a landmark view. The inn retains many of its original features including gas lighting, real log fires and the timber staircase. You can also dine by candlelight in the restaurant, which serves classic pub-food from locally sourced ingredients and the bar stocks a range of real ales. The York Ghost Walk Experience leaves from York Minster each Saturday at 19:00 and both York Theatre Royal and the National Railway Museum are just a 5-minute walk away.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
339Restaurantswithin 0,5 km
136Attractionswithin 0,5 km
1 620Reviews
771Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 725
  • 483
  • 234
  • 115
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Went to the restaurant for my birthday meal and wasn’t disappointed. We all enjoyed our meal and the raspberry and sorrel sorbet was lovely. The waitresses were both very friendly and made it a pleasant experience. The gentleman at the bar who seated us was quite brusque but
Read more
Now me and my husband are far from fussy but this place is the worst hotel we have stayed in I wouldntbeven call it a hotel it's just a basic room with a bed we stayed in room 12 we never had an hours sleep all night ..shower room was the size of a broom cupboard ..we had to
Read more
Response from Adam H, Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn
Responded today
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate all feedback so we can improve the business, however seeing this is deeply saddening.At no point during your stay with us did you express your disappointment, if you had made the team aware of your concerns at any point during you stay we could have tried to move you into an alternative room which would have been more suitable to your requirements. We not advertise our self as a hotel. We are a inn which is a pub with rooms. Our Courtyard area does close at no later than 10.30 every night and we do close bar to the public at 11pm during the week and 12pm on a weekend. Im sorry if you heard other guests on the stairs but these would have been guests of the inn who we do ask to be quiet when returning from a night out. The majority of our guests are British tourists not overseas like you said and we believe we deserve the great feedback we receive from both. I'm sorry we wasn't the place for you. Regards The Guy Fawkes
Read more
Lovely food all homemade and quality produce. Well priced. Good portions. Friendly staff in a lovely quaint setting. Homemade chips. The chocolate chilli pudding is amazing as was the sticky toffee pudding. We will visit again. Would recommend.
Read more
This was our second stay at the Guy Fawkes Inn. It's ideally located to visit all the attractions. This was a special occasion for us. The last time we stayed we got engaged and this was the anniversary of that time. When we arrived we found we'd been given a different room to
Read more
Response from LauDann, Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review Apologies there had been a mix up with your room but i'm very sorry to hear that Dan sorted this out for you We pride ourself on our staff going above and beyond for our customers We look forward to seeing you again in the future Thanks again Laura D
Read more
Staff great, food good, street next to Minster, easy access to bars shops, good parking discount (off site) this is a pub with rooms so expect pub type noise, room a bit tired, but okay. Overall enjoyed and would return
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from LauDann, Manager at Guy Fawkes Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your brilliant review Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay We are currently in the process of replacing curtains etc in rooms that we agree are starting to look a little tired but as we have these made to order they take a few weeks We hope you'll stay again with us in the future Thanks Laura D
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGuy Fawkes Inn
The Belfrey Suite at the Guy Fawkes Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGuy Fawkes Inn
The Four Poster Room at the Guy Fawkes Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGuy Fawkes Inn
The Executive Double Room at the Guy Fawkes Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGuy Fawkes Inn
The Belfrey Suite at the Guy Fawkes Inn
Small and smelly room, £200 per night including breakfast.
PreviousNext
12345670
It’s not far about 15 min walk I’d say. Just under 2 miles
0 votes
Show all answers
I used a website called JustPark and found a privately owned parking space just round the corner from The Guy Fawkes - might be worth a look?
3 votes
Show all answers
Don't know answer to this question sorry ! Don't go in that much as not from York, but I personally found it really nice...😀
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"If you choose a room in the main street it will be noisy with the bells and people going by, but also very interesting."
"The view of the Minster is great but you have to put up with lots of street noise."
"Lovely view of the Minster from our four poster!"
"1st floor rooms at the back have a lack of privacy and noise from bar and beer garden, especially room 2."
"rear rooms quiet after 10.30 as they overlook outdoor dining area"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
guy fawkes yorkguy fawkes hotel york
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing