We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Toft Green, York YO1 6JT England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Trip.com
US$102
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (515)
Room & Suite (142)
Dining (41)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 21/12/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hampton by Hilton York
Updated 21/12/10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 52 hotels in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes' walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed(C), staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton's inclusive hot breakfast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
3459Reviews65Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 868
  • 1 169
  • 310
  • 65
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
The Baileys wrote a review 13 Aug
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
After a straight forward check in, we found our room to be spotlessly clean with lovely big beds, delicious air con, lots of fluffy towels, all expected facilities (hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc.) and without a sound to disturb us at night. (we were on the 4th floor) The room was cleaned once during our 3 night stay, plus towels were renewed, but that was plenty for the time we were there & cleaning staff were always around to empty our bins, etc. All staff were friendly, helpful and informative. Breakfast facilities were excellent, lots of choice, even for my husband, who is gluten intolerant, My youngest son was much taken with the waffle maker, which you MUST try! Trays were refilled regularly, staff were friendly, always present to clear & clean tables and smile at aforementioned son trying to finish off the waffle! The hotel is close to the railway station (superb railway museum nearby, don't miss!) and very easily accessible from the A64/A1036 from the South. The NCP carpark is almost opposite; you get a discount if you stay at the hotel but do try and find a cheaper option via JustPark. Everything is within walking distance (Jorvik, railway museum, Clifford's Tower, Minster, etc) altho' I returned to the hotel each day like a wilted lettuce because of the heatwave, hence delight at air conditioned room! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to York and our stay at the Hampton by Hilton; already planning a return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, following on from your recent stay at our hotel. We loved your compliments on the hotel, team and the city! Thank you for the 5 stars as well. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
Jennifer R wrote a review 12 Aug
8 contributions
Great location and walking distance to most local sites and restaurants. Bed was awful. Even with mattress cover, I could feel and hear the springs. Very poor sleep because of it. Hotel and room was clean. Most staff were not friendly and it seemed to be torture to be working. Breakfast had a lot of options and good quantities, but no one was regularly refilling the trays and coffee maker and they ran out of several things every morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is paid parking just down the block and the hotel will validate for sizable discount
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for your experience on this occasion. Please be rest assured that we will investigate your feedback and take the necessary actions. We hope that you return in the future. Best Wishes
Read more
Emily A wrote a review 10 Aug
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Clean room with plenty of room. Shower powerful and big. Really peaceful hotel with no more than a 10 min (we did it quicker) walk to the centre and a 5 min walk from the station. Breakfast really good - loads of choice and all staff really friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank You for your review following on from your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to have exceed expectations and love your compliments and the 5 stars. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Best Wishes
Read more
Helen B wrote a review 10 Aug
South Shields, United Kingdom8 contributions
We stayed for 3 nights. Friendly and efficient staff who couldn't do enough to help. Room was spacious and very comfortable and air con was a blessing in the current heat. Breakfast was varied and lots of seating available. Would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay and the 5 stars! We are happy to your compliments on the team, hotel and our offerings. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
Denise E wrote a review 05 Aug
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed for 2 nights with my mum and teenage daughter. Cannot fault this hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful, room spotless. Really nice bathroom with a walk in shower. Superb breakfast with lots of choice. The best features for me though were the location and the very quiet room we had, all in all a lovely short break at the Hampton and we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and 5 stars following on from y our recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to read your compliments! We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
Flop45 wrote a review 03 Aug
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom51 contributions57 helpful votes
Booked this last minute as my husband is a Hilton Honors member - funnily enough I could book it cheaper on another website. We were allocated a room on the ground floor which was noisy as an outside door was being opened a lot, also people outside the window. We did report this the next morning but we could see this information landed on deaf ears. Breakfast was a bun fight - not enough seating for everyone staying. Don’t expect a relaxing breakfast! Location was fine and room clean. Would not recommend a room on ground floor.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not ground floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback! Our Hampton breakfast is very popular and gets busy from 8.30 am onwards. I am sorry on this occasion you did not enjoy your experience. We are so sorry for the noise you encountered during your stay. We hope that you return in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
242dalej wrote a review Jul 2022
Newcastle, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
This hotel is superbly situated, 5mins walk from the train station and 5mins walk into York centre. The hotel is clean and very welcoming staff made us feel at home. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with the added bonus of a good breakfast included.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and 5 stars following on from your recent stay! We are happy to have exceed your expectations at our hotel and delighted that you enjoyed your visit to York! We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
Beverlee S wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada52 contributions40 helpful votes
We were very pleased with this hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly, and the location is terrific, right by the train station. The breakfast was a nice way to start the day, and they even packed us a little breakfast for our early morning train. Recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank You for your review and 5 stars! we loved your compliments and delighted that you had a great experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
happybunny5 wrote a review Jul 2022
40 contributions27 helpful votes
Positives: Location is excellent. Staff were faultless at reception and breakfast. You can order in food from just eat or deliveroo. Rooms was a good size. Negatives: The beds are awful! Not one of us had a good night's sleep. You can literally feel the springs. The pillows are not hypoallergenic. The rooms are not cleaned correctly, loads of hairs and dust in the bathroom, dust in the A/C too. Had to ask a few times for bins to be emptied.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go to breakfast before 8.30am. Bring antihistamines.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, following on from your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment on this occasion. Please be rest assured that we take feedback very seriously and will take the necessary corrective action. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
scotaussie wrote a review Jul 2022
Melbourne, Australia277 contributions187 helpful votes
There are two Hamptons in York. This one is by far the best located. Only 5 minutes walk from the train station, 10 minutes into the town centre and on the old city wall. The hotel is typical Hampton but the rooms were a good size. Breakfast again typical Hampton but being included in the price is a nice bonus for a hotel. Very quiet surrounds of mostly council offices and apartments.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for an end room , you get windows on 2 sides. Some rooms have views of the wall.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Parry Rathod, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to receive the 4 stars and your compliments. We hope to welcome you in the near future. Best Wishes
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hampton by Hilton York
Which popular attractions are close to Hampton by Hilton York?
Nearby attractions include Can You Escape? York (0.3 km), The Bar Convent Living Heritage Centre (0.2 km), and York Railway Station (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hampton by Hilton York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hampton by Hilton York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hampton by Hilton York?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hampton by Hilton York?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hampton by Hilton York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karoo Bar & Kitchen, skosh, and The Rattle Owl.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hampton by Hilton York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hampton by Hilton York located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hampton by Hilton York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hampton by Hilton York offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hampton by Hilton York?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.7 km), Holy Trinity Church (0.8 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.8 km).