We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Terry Avenue, York YO23 1JQ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 20/06/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Roomzzz York City
Updated 20/06/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 51 in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Canoeing offsite
Children's television networks
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Internet
Coffee shop
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
295Reviews17Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 30
  • 16
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
les51 wrote a review 21 Jun
Birmingham, United Kingdom54 contributions29 helpful votes
clean, yes! Very!, comfortable , yes!, friendly helpful staff, yes!, stylish, yes!, would I come again...Absolutely!....we have stayed at Roomzzz in Nottingham which is great and York Roomzzz is even bigger and better...I would love to know who trains the staff because everytime we have stayed at a Roomzzz hotel the staff have been exceptionally pleasant....and it really is not that far to walk to the town centre. If you go the right way!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, WOW! we are thrilled to receive such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. I will pass your comments to the team. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance with your future booking as our 24 hours Reception team is always available to accommodate our guests' needs and is willing to go the extra mile to ensure all of our guests are pampered well looked after. We are looking forward to having you back with your friends and family. Kind regards Roomzzz York
Read more
Yufei H wrote a review 10 Jun
1 contribution
staff are very helpful room is very comfy with all cooking tools the location is tricky at the moment but hotel offers free taxi throughout the day so no complaints i love to have some getaways in this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for the lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our Hospitality. The current work underway has resulted in the changes to pedestrian and vehicle access along Terry Avenue. While this is not in our control, there is a local diversion in place and more details on alternative access to Roomzzz can be found here: www. roomzzz.com / travel-guides /york /fas This work is extremely important to the future of York and we are in support of the project to benefit the local area and our neighbors. We have worked closely with the council to provide alternative access for our guests during this period. We have taken steps to ensure that information on the scheme and the alternative access was available in as many places as possible. The diversion outside the hotel does not detract from the high standards of guest experience we have always achieved at Roomzzz Aparthotels. We’re encouraged by your otherwise positive experience of staying with us and sympathize with any frustration the diversion may have caused. We look forward to welcoming you back to a Roomzzz aparthotel in the near future. Please note, We are hoping to get this project finished and have complete road access approximately by the end of July 2022. We are looking forward to having you back. Kind regards Roomzzz York
Read more
shaunhull wrote a review 04 Jun
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom26 contributions13 helpful votes
wonderful hotel...rooms really modern and clean. Staff super friendly and helpful... Grab bag in a morning a nice touch..free coffees and other hot drinks all day.. Unfortunate flood works going on but its not that bad.and nothing to do with the hotel.15 mins walk to the town centre through park so not a issue as others have made out. Stayed in York many times like a second home and this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in...would definitely return again..
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, WoW! We are thrilled to receive such great feedback regarding your stray. We are delighted to know that you love our hotel, its location, and all the available facilities on site and you will choose our hotel for your future stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require any assistance with your booking. Our 24 hours reception team is always here to assist our guests. Looking forward to having you back soon! Regards Roomzzz York
Read more
Annie M wrote a review 02 Jun
19 contributions21 helpful votes
I stayed one night whilst visiting friends in the city. I stayed in room 109, which was listed as a studio apartroom. And I was surprised at just how big it was! It had a desk area, two sets of chairs and tables. So plenty of room for just one person. It also had a lovely view of the river. The hotel was nice and quiet at night. Had a great nights sleep. Will definitely be staying again when I'm next in York!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your amazing feedback regarding your recent stay in York. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and loved our hotel, its location, and all the available facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance with your future booking as our 24 hours reception team is always keen to assist our guests. Alternatively, please visit our website and sign up for our free membership cards to receive all the excited discounted room rates and offers. We are looking forward to having you back soon. Regards Roomzzz York
Read more
Uamhair wrote a review May 2022
Europe46 contributions38 helpful votes
Enjoyed our stay, loving the apartment style meaning that we could go to-and-fro as we pleased without the need to eat every single meal out. Particularly liked the ability to raid breakfast materials to take back to our room, meaning we could cook/eat it even after a long lie-in. Very friendly and helpful staff from beginning to end, and won't hesitate to rebook if I find myself back in York again. Only downside just now, which is no fault of the hotel's, is the access from the city centre which is blocked off for flood works, requiring a detour through the local park and neighbourhood. An extra 15-20 walk is added as soon as the park is locked up at 10pm, and as we discovered, the council can lock it up slightly earlier than that.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for taking the time to give us such lovely feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay and loved our hospitality. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance with your future booking as our 24 hours reception team is always keen to assist our guests. We are looking forward to having you back soon. Regards Roomzzz York
Read more
colWales wrote a review May 2022
wales8 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a lovely hotel and we were looking forward to a short break. As its advertised as a short 15 minute walk into York City, this was ideal for us. We walked from the railway station which was fine as we were getting our bearings. However, we then had a 40 minute walk from the bridge to the hotel. We could see it, but it was a huge circular walk to actually get to it. Both my husband and myself rang the hotel separately as it does say on their website that there are flood defence works going on and the walk was about 5-10 minutes longer. This is totally untrue and a misrepresentation of the hotel being a 'city hotel'. We had to take taxis which were a minimum of £7.30 and took 10 minutes, so this added about £40 onto our expenses over the two days we were there. which we weren't expecting. We had no problem with any of the staff who were welcoming and helpful at all times. They organised two free taxis for us and also always phoned for them as well. I do think that they are on the front line for complaints as the management just leave them to take the flak. The company have known about these works for almost a year, so why not organise a mini bus service or even a boat from one side of the river to the other??
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and loved our customer service provided by all members of staff along with providing Complimentary Taxi Service to the town. As a brand, we always aim to deliver the utmost customer service across the brand and will go the extra mile to look after our beloved guests. We understand your comments regarding the alternative access necessary for the aparthotel in York. The York flood alleviation scheme (FAS) is a partnership project between the City of York Council and the Environment Agency to carry out major flood defense upgrades within the city. The current work underway has resulted in the changes to pedestrian and vehicle access along Terry Avenue. While this is not in our control, there is a local diversion in place and more details on alternative access to Roomzzz can be found here: roomzzz.com/travel-guides/york/fas along with Map and walking distance time to the city center from our Hotel. This work is extremely important to the future of York and we are in support of the project to benefit the local area and our neighbors. We have worked closely with the council to provide alternative access for our guests during this period. We have taken steps to ensure that information on the scheme and the alternative access was available in as many places as possible. The diversion outside the hotel does not detract from the high standards of guest experience we have consistently achieved at Roomzzz Aparthotels. We’re encouraged by your otherwise positive experience of staying with us and sympathize with any frustration the diversion may have caused. We look forward to welcoming you back to a Roomzzz aparthotel in the near future. Kind Regards Roomzzz York
Read more
Travel1 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was a long stay guest at Roomzzz in York including during Covid lockdowns. The studio room was clean, comfortable, well equipped and quiet and the modern and nicely presented property has a great location. The standout point for me was the attitude and conduct of all staff from reception, to housekeeping to facilities, who were, without exception warm, friendly and helpful. A special mention must be made of the manager, Ehatshum Chowdhury, who was a true gentleman and went out of his way to assist me on more than one occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 13 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to give us your amazing feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. As a brand we always aim to please our guests and go beyond and above to achieve that. I will pass your lovely comments to the team. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you need any assistance with future bookings. Hope to see you soon. Thanks Regards Roomzzz Aparthotels
Read more
Hinton123166 wrote a review May 2022
Christchurch, United Kingdom38 contributions51 helpful votes
Friendly reception staff. Very spacious clean room & bathroom, kitchenette with fridge etc a real bonus! Comfortable huge bed & pillows. Lovely White Company toiletries. Pleasant view over river. Car parking outside & basement parking. Good help yourself continental breakfast in the morning. Nice garden to sit out in. Would definitely stay again - nothing not to like!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear guest. thankyou for your lovely review. we here at Roomzzz pride ourselves on great quality and we're glad that you have experienced just that. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. if you need any assistance with booking again please do not hesitate to contact us, one of our friendly receptionists will be available 24-hours to help you. also please feel free to visit our website and see our Perkzzz (membership card) for amazing exclusive offers and deals. Thnaks Regards Roomzzz York
Read more
Lolly S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Had such a great stay here, large room In loft suite with stairs leading to the bed. All necessities available to purchase at front desk. Very friendly and helpful staff! Great cooking utensils in our room including pots and pans, hob, microwave, toaster, kettle and a dishwasher! Will highly recommend to anyone visiting York, only 10 minute walk away from main town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 10 May 2022
Dear guest we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 24-hour reception team always aims to look after our guests. please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you would like any help with future bookings. visit our website where you will find our perkzzz (membership card) for exciting offers and deals We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Craig G wrote a review Apr 2022
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
Absolutely stunning rooms, super comfortable beds, we stayed in the loft room and had amazing views of the river. Best hotel ive stayed at in many many years. Extremely quiet and a wonderful nights sleep..........Staff were very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Flood defences are been built and there is a diversion to the hotel so bare that in mind, however...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ehatshum Chowdhury, Other at Roomzzz York City
Responded 25 Apr 2022
WoW! Thanks a lot for your amazing feedback. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay with us. Our 24 hours reception team is always available to assist our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance with your future booking. Hope to see you soon. Regards Roomzzz York
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Roomzzz York City
Which popular attractions are close to Roomzzz York City?
Nearby attractions include York Castle Museum (0.5 km), Rowntree Park (0.4 km), and York Barbican (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Roomzzz York City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Roomzzz York City?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Roomzzz York City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Roomzzz York City?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Roomzzz York City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Melton's, Robinsons Cafe, and Pig & Pastry.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Roomzzz York City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Roomzzz York City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Roomzzz York City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Roomzzz York City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (2.5 km), Holy Trinity Church (1.1 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (0.7 km).
Does Roomzzz York City have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.