We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ England
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$147
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Marriott Hotels
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 20 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (684)
Room & Suite (304)
Dining (58)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from York Marriott Hotel
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#46 of 51 in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howards, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel in York, United Kingdom. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms, the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style. Secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Cast Iron Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2583Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 787
  • 873
  • 526
  • 242
  • 155
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Simon W wrote a review 15 May
Manchester, United Kingdom9 contributions
I’ve stayed at the Marriott several times over the last two years when visiting family in York. It’s situated in a good location, a good middle ground between the busy city centre and the more remote countryside. The hotel can be busy when the races are on and most recently was fully booked, but despite this I’ve always enjoyed a good nights sleep and there’s always ample free parking. I normally stay in the Racecourse Suite which is large, has a separate seating area and a balcony offering an impressive view of the York Racecourse. The fixtures and fittings are a little old but more then adequate, but strangely there were no plug sockets anywhere near the bed. I suppose it at least limits time spent on my phone! Sadly over my last few visits the service has deteriorated slightly possibly because of staff shortages due to Covid. Most recently my room had a noticeable musty smell perhaps indicating the need for refurbishment. I also couldn’t get through to room service for over an hour so had to trek down to the bar to order food for my room. Most disappointingly the check in was a little rushed and somewhat cold compared to previous visits. I wasn’t offered the option to pre-charge to my room which in turn meant I had no Wi-Fi access in my room and had to pay for food and drink separately every time. I also couldn’t log on to the free Wi-Fi available to Marriott members despite being a member. I should add however that the bar, restaurant and room service staff were excellent and friendly, and breakfast when ordered to your room arrives on time and was excellent as always. I would certainly stay here again for a good nights sleep and comfortable stay, but it’s slipped down my list of hotels when visiting York. Malmaison in the city centre or Sandburn Hall in the country depending on location preference offer similar rates with better service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Manager York Marriott Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear simonwK799GW, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I would like to apologies for the issues that you encountered during your stay. Please let me assure you that this is not our usual high standards that we expect our guests to experience. All feedback (even the negative) helps us identify issues to look to rectify them in an effort to improve our service. I appreciate you bringing your experience to my attention, and I will be sharing your feedback with the relevant management to look further into the specific problem areas with what you have mentioned. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back and show you a guest experience that you deserve. Should your travels bring you back to York, please contact me directly and I will personally manage your booking for you. Kind regards, Margo
Read more
Emily U wrote a review 15 May
Norwich, United Kingdom1 contribution
It was our first stay at a Marriott and due to the price being so high we expected a high standard! Very disappointed with our stay. The room was very out-dated and there was mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The grout on the bathroom tiles had an turned black/brown and needed redoing. There was panels of wood on the ceiling by the door which had water pipes behind them. These were very loud and kept waking us up throughout the night. There was also a wedding held on one of the nights that we stayed and our room was directly above it. It remained loud until about 12/1am. Very disappointed that we were given a room directly above a pre-planned event knowing that it would be loud until late. I feel like the price per night is unreasonable for the state of this hotel. Hopefully with some work and restorations it can be bought back to the lovely hotel I’m sure it originally was.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Was very busy during the bank holiday weekend. Definitely would recommend booking for lunch and...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Manager York Marriott Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you have provided some very valid feedback that I will be taking up with the relevant departments. I can only apologies at this stage for those issues you encountered. We strive to ensure all the needs of our guests are met, and I can see by your comments that this was not the case. Please let me assure you that you have provided me with valuable feedback and I assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and everything in our control will be addressed. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Kind regards, Margo
Read more
Jane F wrote a review 08 May
Mobberley, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
Great location with plenty parking. Visited family in that area so it was ideal. Fantastic breakfast, best one I've had for a long time. Estaurant food was good. Deluxe room was very big which was great but lacked nice comfortable armchairs. Very friendly well trained staff. Definitely will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Manager York Marriott Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 976janef, Thank you for your fantastic review. Your feedback is integral to continue to motivate and inspire our staff to provide exceptional customer service. I have shared your comments with the team to provide a good example. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Margo
Read more
Mea37 wrote a review 05 May
Provo, Utah599 contributions280 helpful votes
The Marriott is located right by the horse race track and that made for a fun walk. The hotel is older but they have updated the rooms, making it comfortable. Their breakfast was really good and the service was nice. Our room got a bit warm at night and the air conditioner wasn't working right. Since we were only staying one night, it didn't make sense to call the hotel staff, but besides that, everything went well. I do wish they had another entrance to the hotel besides the front. We parked around the side and had to walk to the front to enter. It would have been nice to have a separate entrance around back. There are good restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Manager York Marriott Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mea37, We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in York. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your business and value your honest feedback. Your comments have been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to improve our service to guests like you. Thank you for staying at the York Marriott Hotel and we hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to York. Kind regards, Margo
Read more
YorkshireManinblack wrote a review 02 May
United Kingdom577 contributions269 helpful votes
We had one of the top floor suites overlooking the racecourse, enjoyed a nice drink sitting on our balcony. Didn't eat in the restaurant or use the pool so can't comment on that. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. All the staff were very nice, plenty of car parking. About a 35 min walk to centre of town. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Manager York Marriott Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at York Marriott Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear YorkshireManinblack, Thank you for your fantastic review. Your feedback is integral to continue to motivate and inspire our staff to provide exceptional customer service. I have shared your comments with the team to provide a good example. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Margo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
marriott york, york marriott
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marriott York Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
151
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about York Marriott Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to York Marriott Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Goddards (0.1 km), York Racecourse (0.8 km), and St Edward The Confessor Church (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at York Marriott Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at York Marriott Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to York Marriott Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fox and Roman, Cross Keys, and The Blue Fin Fish & Chip Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at York Marriott Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does York Marriott Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to York Marriott Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Cold War Bunker (1.9 km), Holy Trinity Church (2.6 km), and Merchant Adventurers' Hall (2.5 km).
Does York Marriott Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is York Marriott Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.