We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4 Fishergate, York YO10 4FH England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$97
View deal
NovotelUS$97
TripadvisorUS$97
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.comUS$97
HurbUS$117
View all 19 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (564)
Room & Suite (219)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/11/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Novotel York Centre Hotel
Updated 20/11/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 51 in York
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Experience modern comfort in our newly refurbished rooms! Situated close to the celebrated historical city walls just a short riverside stroll from the centre, the hotel is perfectly located for exploring the historic and cultural delights of the city. The Gourmet Bar serves a range of dishes as well as light snacks and a sumptuous afternoon tea. There is a spacious outdoor terrace area and 24-hour room service for guests to enjoy. Kids can have fun in the play area, use the Nintendo Wii and Xbox in the hotel reception or enjoy our indoor pool! The hotel is less than 1 mile from both York Minster and the Railway Station and is a short walk from the shops, business centres and the University of York, York Racecourse is 10 minutes away by car. If you are planning to see a show at the Barbican or Shakespeare’s Rose Theatre, we are ideally located a short walk away from these venues.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Highchairs available
Strollers
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more
3480Reviews58Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 104
  • 1 320
  • 645
  • 248
  • 164
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brent P wrote a review Today
1 contribution
The very many stains on the floor stunk of sewerage and sick. The floor was sticky with filth. The bath was so dirty I would not use it. Utter disgrace, certainly dont say you are disabled. Room 124. I will be taking this further. Horrible dirty hotel
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid 124 never say you are disabled.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
matth2715 wrote a review 16 May
Durham, United Kingdom348 contributions78 helpful votes
We chose Novotel for a birthday weekend and even before we had arrived, the staff had offered to help with putting up banners and balloons once we arrived. The location is a short walk from the city centre which was no real issue and is handy for all the sights of York. On site parking Is available and is reasonably priced for a city centre hotel. We arrived before lunchtime and one of the two rooms we had booked was actually available which was ideal however, disappointingly, the other room did not become ready until almost 4pm. The hotel itself appeared to have had a recent renovation and the bar/reception area was very modern and spacious. The bar has an outdoor area too which was perfect on a sunny afternoon. The rooms too were clean and up to date and had all we needed for a night's stay. What really made this hotel were the staff members who were extremely helpful and appeared passionate about working there. A particular bar tender, Ricardo, did an amazing job throughout our stay but credit should go to all of the team. I'd highly recommend Novotel for anyone considering a stay in York.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Parking costs £14 overnight.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Cliff W wrote a review 09 May
8 contributions
Stayed Saturday night at the Novotel, arrived early at 1.45, room was ready which was a bonus, check in was quick and efficient, had a superior double on 4th floor, room was adequate, a little tired in the bathroom area but reasonably clean, Hotel is a nice 10 mins walk by the river into York, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, after going out in York we returned and had a drink in the bar area which is decent with nice seating, was quiet overnight with a good nights sleep, breakfast was fabulous with lots of choice, would recommend a stay here, one tip is to book with Accor hotels when signing up as a member, will save a few pounds compared to booking.com etc
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Stay off peak for a cheaper rate
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from M D, General Manager at Novotel York Centre Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had a good nights sleep with us and that you found the reception staff to be quick and efficient on check-in. We do hope you choose to return again in the future and thank you again for the feedback. Sincerely,
Read more
Dan wrote a review 08 May
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
I’ve stayed in Novotels before and this was a pleasant trip. My deluxe queen room was fantastic. Very modern and comfortable room with all the amenities. The bar and restaurant area was great, and friendly staff. Location is a bit outside the centre but not too long to walk in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from M D, General Manager at Novotel York Centre Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you found our rooms to be comfortable for the duration of our stay and that you found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful. We do hope you choose to return again in the future and thank you again for the feedback. Sincerely,
Read more
Liam M wrote a review 08 May
39 contributions25 helpful votes
Just returned from a four night stay here. Silly covid vestiges like having to book a time for breakfast and only being allowed into the pool by staff and being asked if you want your room serviced!! Breakfast average and not included in our rate which was £703 for 4 nights yet on checkout this morning Booking.com advertises the rate as £74 per night - half the price we paid.Has been suggested that the prices were doubled because of graduation week.Rip off. Will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from M D, General Manager at Novotel York Centre Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thanks for reviewing our hotel Liam M, Really sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay. The protocols you mentioned are in fact to make life easier for guests. Pre-booked breakfast time slots means you do not end up having to wait ages because everyone has decided to come down at the same time; and managing the swimming pool entry prevents overcrowding. Prices fluctuate daily in hotels and Sunday (the day you checked out) normally being the quietest day of the week, will naturally have the lowest rates, this is no different to airline bookings or peak/off-peak train travel. I can only assume that when you made your booking on bookig.com, you had done a price check and our hotel was in the same price range as similar ones in the area. Thank you again for staying with us and I am sorry our processes and prices caused you unhappiness.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel york centre hotel york, accor york centre, hotel novotel york, york novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireYork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel York Centre Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mindlock Escape Rooms (0.4 km), The York Army Museum (0.4 km), and York Castle Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Robinsons Cafe, Penny's Bespoke Foodhouse, and Toto's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Novotel York Centre Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of York.
Are any cleaning services offered at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Novotel York Centre Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel York Centre Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.