The London EDITION

The London EDITION

Traveller (774)
Corner king room
Room & Suite (279)
The London EDITION
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#250 of 1 138 hotels in London
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The London EDITION brings together the integrity and character of a historic building with a simple, sophisticated design sensibility, creating a seamless blend of charisma and ease. With 173 rooms, a restaurant, two bars, meeting rooms and a buzzing lobby, the hotel offers a dynamic social hub where guests and visitors can work, relax, socialise and dine all under one roof.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

10 Berners Street, London W1T 3NP England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
Heathrow Airport
22.8 km
See all flights
Tottenham Court Road
5 minUnderground
1,668Review16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,201
  • 286
  • 92
  • 47
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andreas L wrote a review Jan 2020
Tampa, Florida6 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
EDITION as a brand stands on its own, but the quality, attention to detail and customer service at this London location is also in a class of its own. You know what you are getting when you stay with this property, but the focus in London is on the little things (i.e. remembering your name and greeting you as you walk in and out of the lobby, following up with you to see if there is anything you need to improve your stay, etc.).

I wanted to call out specifically the customer service/care from Andrea. She went out of her way several times to accomodate and follow up on service requests all the way through checkout. The genuine concern for making a good first impression the primary reason I will be choosing this property again. Thank you Andrea and team!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David C wrote a review Feb 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom118 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment you arrive at the hotel the staff couldn’t do enough for you. You are escorted from the door with a member of the door staff to reception to check in. Staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
We were shown to our room by a member of staff who took care of our cases. He went though all the features of the room.

The rooms are small but all you do is sleep the bed was extra comfy and OMG the shower was amazing a full on rain shower. The rooms are not bright for ladies applying makeup and there is nowhere to sit while my friend was applying her makeup.

So close to Oxford Street and theatre land everything is on the hotels door stop. I would stay here again very quite hotel and the staff are all 5 *
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reverend Reviewer wrote a review Dec 2021
Worthing, United Kingdom362 contributions212 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nestled in a brilliant location a stones throw from Oxford street and soho. A walk welcome as always from staff associated with Marriot and their partners. You really pay for the customer service and attentiveness and for this reason alone I’m happy for this as it separates the wheat from the chaff.

The room was fine, comfortable, amazing bed, linens and shampoos etc - even had a bath as it looked too welcoming not too enjoy !

The only thing I would say, is if you’re spending £500 a night for the luxuries then a breakfast could be considered complementary. And lack of facility in the room for making a tea was disappointing! Normally in hotels I help myself to the mini bar, but £130 for a bottle of bubbles is a bit much. (Do not fear there are many local places to buy food and drink and bring to the room for a pre drink whilst getting ready)

Overall thank you for a very lovely stay - happy Christmas to all. Xx
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Stanton, General Manager at The London EDITION
Responded 23 Dec 2021
Dear Hannah F, It really is wonderful knowing that what I am most proud of, has a lasting impact on our guests stay; the staff. They really are a fantastic group of passionate people who are definitely the main reason behind the hotel's success. I am glad to know you enjoyed the bathroom amenities, the bath is definitely too tempting to not experience at least once when with us. In regards to our room rates, they are in line within the current London market and we do offer special rate packages where breakfast and additional benefits are added. With our unique and simplistic approach to our bedrooms, there are limited essential amenities in the rooms. I am sorry that we did not reach your expectation to these points and truly appreciate your feedback. We absolutely loved hosting you as a guest while in London and truly hope that we may welcome you back again in the future. I hope you and your loved ones have a wonderful Christmas and New Year! Best Regards, David Stanton
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HLE223 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I brought a group of guests to The London Edition last September for what was a long awaited stay at a property I was very excited about. I booked 8 rooms for 3 nights with my card holding them and after correspondence with the hotels team, arranged to have a wire sent in advance to cover the full charges for accommodations and valet. About two weeks in advance of our arrival my credit card was charged for thousands of dollars with no explanation. During our stay, three of my guests (who were not supposed to pay for anything other than their minibar) were charged incorrectly for their rooms even though we'd already paid via wire. I also had two charges to my card during our stay which weren't accounted for and noone could give me an explanation. I spoke to the manager about all the confusion before I left and she assured me that all amounts would be refunded in 5-10 business days. Well, it took FAR longer than that. Weeks longer in fact for one of them to be reversed despite my numerous follow up emails. Not only that but after we checked out, I received yet another charge to my card. When I asked what it was for I was told they couldn't remember how many cars I'd paid for via wire - it was all in email and noone reached out to check before charging me for what I'd already paid... Unacceptable. I am planning a return trip to London again this year and would love to stay at the property however, they are completely disorganized in their finances and it seems noone takes accountability or has any record of what they're charging. Shame the customer service isn't better as it is truly a beautiful location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DavidStantonLONEB, Manager at The London EDITION
Responded 07 Jan 2020
Dear HeatherE973, I am very glad you like the hotel and would consider returning. I completely understand your frustrations regarding billing and the subsequent follow-up required - especially after a long-anticipated trip where you were making arrangements for others too. I am sorry you were let down in this unusual fashion and I am glad it has reached my attention. It would be a pleasure to have you back and for you to leave enchanted in every way with a seamless experience that allows you to enjoy London to its fullest. I would be more than happy to offer my personal assistance if it would give you peace of mind. Please do contact me if I can help in anyway. Sincerely, David S Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan J wrote a review Feb 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania93 contributions73 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
As a Marriott Platinum I spend a considerable amount of time in hotel lobby bars. With Marriott's nicer urban properties I consistently find them comfortable, welcoming, relaxing and often slightly glamorous places to grab a cocktail and people watch while getting some work done. So, while in London with family, even though we were staying at a separate property in a different neighborhood, the London Edition was an obvious choice when looking for a touchdown space before a dinner down the street. Well, boy was this a bad idea.

I'm not going to lie, it was busy, and I wasn't expecting instant service. However, what we got was no service, and basically ushered towards the door. At a property that has three separate bars on the ground floor, I was astonished. First we tried to go to Bernard's Tavern, but all the stools were taken and we were informed that patrons weren't allowed to stand. No big deal at all, we would grab a couch and get drinks from the lobby bar right? Wrong! An employee instead insisted that he would show us to the back bar where they might have seats. At this point I was impressed, but that quickly changed when he introduced us to the server at that bar who informed us "No you can not come in here, all the tables are reserved and we don't have room," and then shut the door on us...and her colleague.

At this point we were ushered back through the main lobby bar to the door. I'm not sure if the first employee was embarrassed or we were so shocked, we just kind of drifted out into the street and left to ponder if we just didn't measure up to the dress code or something. The fact that later we were welcomed into the Ritz and the Duke with more vigor and acceptance proved to me it was instead just a lack of service. Happy we didn't stay here as it had been on our shortlist originally.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DavidStantonLONEB, Hotel Manager at The London EDITION
Responded 01 Mar 2020
Dear Ryan J, Thank you for bringing this experience from your visit to my attention. We highly value our loyal Bonvoy Platinum Elite members, and are sorry if we weren’t able to accommodate you and your family on that night and not being able to offer you the true EDITION experience we always aim to. We do not have any dress code in our hotel, and will definitely be following-up with the team as your experience falls short of the service delivery our guests have come to expect. It would be my pleasure to be of personal assistance in any way in regards to this or any future visits you may be planning. Sincerely David Stanton Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin H wrote a review Dec 2020
London70 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
To be clear I enjoyed the stay here. The room was very nice with quirky decor, an incredibly comfy bed and probably the darkest and quietest room I have ever slept in. The problem
is that for the supposed price of the room
(the list price of the room we stayed in after we were upgraded was £650) I was underwhelmed because;

-The room wasn’t particularly large and facilities in it didn’t compare to cheaper rooms we have stayed in at other 5 star hotels in London
-I realise that hotels are more restricted due to Covid but was very surprised that at 10:02pm I asked for a cocktail to be brought to the room
but was told that other than spirits, they didn’t serve anything to rooms after 10pm. That isn’t a rule and other hotels are doing this and given room price would expect this as an option. I went to the Tesco’s down the road and bought a bottle of wine instead
-when arriving back at the hotel after dinner, we were told by the doorman that it was closed and we couldn’t come in. I explained we were residents and he looked a little confused and asked us to prove it. It didn’t feel particularly welcoming!

If the room was a £200 a night room I’d probably give it 4 or maybe 5 stars but for the additional price you pay it doesn’t feel worth it vs a hotel
at a lower price point given the service wasn’t above and beyond
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Stanton, General Manager at The London EDITION
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Dear MartinH889, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am very pleased to read you that you enjoyed the quirky décor, peace and comfort of your bedroom. However, I am very sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed by the bedroom size and facilities in comparison to the rate. It is true indeed that the hotel rates in London are relatively high due to this particular time of the year. I appreciate your comment in regards to your Room Service cocktails order and I am sorry that our new service guidelines at the hotel has let you down. After our restaurants and bars are closed to the public, only hotel guests are allowed to access the hotel premises by confirming their identity. Please do accept my apologies, as I do understand from your feedback that this was not handled gracefully. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team in order to avoid reoccurrence. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to reflect on our service delivery and we genuinely hope that you will give us another chance to welcoming you back at The London EDITION , at which time we will spare no effort in providing you with a seamless experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt wrote a review Aug 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing stay my wife and I had at the London Edition. I'm writing this review as a token of our appreciation to the phenomenal staff that made our stay so special.

The service at the London Edition was truly exception. From the personalized check-in, to the special touches for the multiple celebrations we were celebrating, the hard work and attention to detail from the staff sets it apart from others.

I would return back to the London Edition based upon the service itself, but the grounds were also quite picturesque as well. From the greeting of the doormen, to the beautiful entry, to the overall upscale luxury styling (which is both contemporary and traditionally timeless), the hard product was also quite exceptional. The bed was large and comfortable, the outlets were already internationally compatible, bedside table had a bluetooth Bang and Olufsen speaker, shower had a waterfall shower head.

I have nothing but great things to say about the London Edition, and would encourage others to put it on the short list of places to stay while in London.

We hope to be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Londoner2304 wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom1,094 contribution536 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a one night stay shortly after the hotel had reopened from their Covid-induced closure. We booked a Loft King room, but were upgraded to a 1-Bedroom Suite. The suite was well appointed with a long entrance hallway and separate living room. The bathroom was on the small side. Noise insulation was very good.

The hotel has a nice design to it, in particular the lobby and the restaurant (Berners Tavern) are quite impressive spaces. Staff we encountered were super friendly, and keen to engage with our young kids. The location of the hotel is excellent, being on the edge of Soho, with heaps of good restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

We did have some minor hiccups – a dinner reservation at Berners Tavern was confirmed by the front desk prior to our stay, but there was no record of this at the restaurant. Luckily, they managed to accommodate us, despite being very busy. My rate included a £50 property credit, but at check-out they were not aware and I had to forward them the reservation email before it was applied. Overall however, it was an enjoyable stay. Within the Marriott family, it seems one of the better located options in London.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luxuryhound wrote a review Feb 2022
West Sussex162 contributions208 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There is a real 'vibe' about the lobby at the London Edition, especially in the evening. Thankfully the rest of the hotel is quiet and calm. The staff at check in were friendly and helpful and checked us in quickly and efficiently. We had a loft room which was quite small and dark. We arrived in the daylight and it was just about light enough. A search for additional lighting was fruitless and so as it got darker outside so did our room. We arrived after lunch and wanted a simple plate of sandwiches but this defeated room service and we were forced out onto the street to a nearby pret a manger.
Although a turn down service is advertised it didn't happen. Breakfast in Berner Tavern the next morning was bad. The bacon, mushrooms and tomato tasted of what they had been cooked in with no other flavours at all. Although we were fairly early to eat it seemed that the cooked food had been prepared the night before and kept warm. We couldn't eat it and, to be fair, we were not charged.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Stanton, General Manager at The London EDITION
Responded 01 Mar 2022
Dear Luxuryhound, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback in regards to your most recent stay with us, your time is highly appreciated. I was happy to read how much you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere in the lobby, it really is quite sensational and to know that you appreciated the team’s service upon arrival truly means a lot, as I am very proud of the team we have built up since re-opening. It was certainly both concerning and disappointing to read the full content of your feedback from your stay, as it’s clear that we have fallen short of your expectations. I would like to apologise for making you feel let down by the overall room and service received through our restaurant and room service. I can only truly apologise for this and assure you, that this does not at all reflect on the highest standards we hold so dearly. Please rest assured that I have personally shared your experience with our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager who join me in offering not only our sincere apologies for the team’s shortcomings, but our commitment to resolving these issues in order to improve the dining experience in the future. Luxuryhound, I truly hope this experience has not tarnished your overall sentiment towards the EDITION brand and our hotel. Please do feel free to personally reach out to me, should you wish to return to the hotel in the future as we would love to look after you and ensure you experience the hotel in all its wonder! Best Regards, David Stanton General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dream22020879967 wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you have children do not stay at this hotel, we just wanted a drink before we go out for dinner, at one bar there are no children allowed, the other two options we were told that they only have stools at the bar because it’s busy!!! They do not accommodate for hotel guests at all. The tv in the room was very intermittent and very frustrating to try and watch anything on it. I’m an experienced traveler and spend a lot of times at hotels, Overall, very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Stanton, General Manager at The London EDITION
Responded 09 Dec 2022
Dear Dream22020879967, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your most recent stay with us. It was certainly both concerning and disappointing to read the full content of the feedback from your stay, as it is clear that we have fallen short of your expectations. I would like to apologise for making you feel let down by the service received, especially considering that we always do our utmost to accommodate all guest requests. I can assure you that this does not reflect the highest standards which we hold so dearly. We always try to accommodate our residents when possible, but due to our limited capacity, we may occasionally have to provide alternative options. I would love the opportunity to showcase the hotel in its true light and I do hope you will feel able to contact us directly with further information regarding your recent stay. Best Regards, Panagiota Tychalaki, Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 9,486 - R 15,607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonFitzrovia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LONDON EDITION - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The London EDITION
Which popular attractions are close to The London EDITION?
Nearby attractions include Kings Arms - Fitzrovia (0.4 km), Whistle Punks (0.2 km), and Escape Hunt London Oxford Street (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The London EDITION?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The London EDITION?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The London EDITION?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The London EDITION?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The London EDITION?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Tottenham Court Road, Scarlett Green, and Hibox.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The London EDITION?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The London EDITION?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The London EDITION offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The London EDITION?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (2.1 km), Tower of London (4.3 km), and Churchill War Rooms (1.7 km).
Does The London EDITION have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near The London EDITION
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire