Travelodge London Woolwich

Travelodge London Woolwich

125-157 Powis Street Woolwich, London SE18 6LQ England
Traveller (68)
Madge on her first stay at a Travelodge!
Room & Suite (14)
Paid Breakfast (9 pounds) includes sausage, eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, variety of drinks, boiled mushroom, veggie soup, yogurt, bread, jam, butter and others
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#574 of 1 139 hotels in London
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Travelodge London Woolwich their hotel of choice when visiting London. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Nearby landmarks such as Severndroog Castle (1.8 mi) and The Crystal (2.3 mi) make Travelodge London Woolwich a great place to stay when visiting London.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with paid wifi offered by the hotel.

The property also boasts an on-site restaurant, to help make your stay more enjoyable.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular London shrimp restaurant such as TGI Fridays, which is a short distance from Travelodge London Woolwich.

If you are interested in exploring London, check out one of the art museums, such as The British Museum, National Gallery, and Tate Modern.

At Travelodge London Woolwich, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to London.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

125-157 Powis Street Woolwich, London SE18 6LQ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
London City Airport
Heathrow Airport
36.1 km
See all flights
Woolwich Arsenal
7 minDLR
1,077Review16Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 475
  • 269
  • 137
  • 67
  • 130
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
S-Cambs wrote a review Feb 2020
Godmanchester, United Kingdom95 contributions90 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The team were extremely friendly throughout my stay (one night). There were gluten free and vegetarian options available and reasonably priced.

The hotel is close to Sainsbury's (a five minute walk) and also very close to Arsenal Woolwich DLR station, which has easy links to ExCeL London (approx. 30 - 40 minutes).

There are some local places to eat close to the hotel if you fancy venturing out of the hotel.

The hotel room was basic but comfortable. The shower was awful - barely a dribble. Hairdryers aren't in the room as standard but can be borrowed from the main reception desk.

Besides the shower, for the cost of the hotel, I think this is a fairly reasonable hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Zack from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Woolwich
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn you were pleased with the Hotels location and that you felt the hotel was comfortable, however we are sorry to hear of the issues with the water pressure that impacted your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we can confirm this will be used to improve the service we offer. We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JA wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel with great staff. The location is close to public transport, restaurants and shops. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Hand sanitisers are available in the public area. I will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bananallama182 wrote a review Sept 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom72 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Even though this is a budget hotel it was very clean and had comfy beds. My room overlooked the lovely car park but I did not hear much noise from outside the hotel. The Wi-Fi worked fast and there was good water pressure in the shower. The only thing spoiling it was the man on reception who was quite grumpy (but I guess that's London). There are hand sanitising stations all over the hotel and guests are required to wear face masks in common areas.

Overall good value for money - it's close to Woolwich Arsenal DLR which is handy and there are some nice restaurants and cafes nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emb8987 wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The only reason this gets even one star is because it was a bed to sleep in. The staff were rude to my husband and very unhelpful. My husband had a sleep machine and there were no plugs by the bed so when I enquired about moving to a different room the staff were dismissive and told me to buy an extension cable. When my husband checked in to meet me the woman greeting him was rude and didn't trust him even though I had given them instructions he was coming. The cleaning staff didn't empty bins or clean the room the whole week we were there. They just about made the bed but no clean bedding.
On the last night my husband went to get us dessert and was told we would have to wait an hour for ice cream. So he paid and came back an hour later and they had forgotten our order and sold out. They offered us left over custard and a stale muffin. We should of at least got a refund for it but the staff was currently arguing very loudly with a customer and being very rude so we did not approach them as we were uncomfortable.
The staff did not feel as feel welcome or comfortable are whole stay. We seemed like an inconvenience to them and it was a very disappointing service.
Overall terrible stay and will not be staying in future or recommending to anyone.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Woolwich
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with a copy of your review to look into this more thoroughly. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave P wrote a review Aug 2020
Folkestone, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean although we ended up buying an air freshener for the bathroom because there was an unpleasant odour.
There are no sockets near the bed for charging phones or for people who need Cpap during the night.
The staff were unhelpful as we requested an extension lead which never appeared. We had to buy our own. We also asked for extra pillows due to my health problems and they said they didn't have any, which I find hard to believe.
There is no aircon which means the room is stuffy, especially as the windows only open about 4 inches. There is a working fan but it doesn't really cut it when the room has no air going through it.

The bed was very uncomfortable, so much so that my wife slept mostly on the floor the last night.

This is the 3rd Travelodge we have stayed in and it will be the last, they have all been substandard. Next time I will pay just a little bit more and stay at Premier Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gjohnston4371 wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed here before and it’s always the same great staff clean rooms
Big shout to Lisa on the front desk she’s always so helpful and polite....
Location is perfect for my needs there’s a nice bar in the hotel and they offer a lovely breakfast and evening meals if you so wish ....
I will be back again
Keep up the great work
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a like minded traveller, I travel for business 65% of the year and stay in a lot of different types of hotels and establishments, after 5 years of this, I can honestly say this is my first review and the first time I have felt the need to write a review of this standard. Knowing what i know now, i would never stay here again.
first issue, i made a booking error and was given zero tolerence or compassion for it, even though i put £800+ business thier way the following week. The food on site was terrible, when i made a complaint that the breakfast tasted off, I was told to change my "mouthwash" .. i pre-paid for the weeks breakfast but after the second day i could'nt eat it due to the poor quality and got a refund off the one person on site who seemed to actually understand 'customer service'.
This has got to be the cheapest possible food that money can buy then sold at a very good mark up
The receptionist was very rude and was unfriendly, but to be fair she seemed to be the only person around trying to deal with customers,everytime i went out for a ciggerette' it stank of what can only be explained as marijuana. While outside you can see rubbish strewn accross the carpark ,in all in the hedges and bushes and surrounding areas. This could be why there are freshly dug rat holes in the flower beds and bait boxes all over the place, basic hygiene standards not followed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Woolwich
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Woolwich Hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. As your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here many times. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms warm and comfortable the breakfast very good. It is a great location and I find it more comfortable than the posher hotel in Greenwich.

However ... and it is a big however ... lock your doors. Twice now I have had other customers trying my door at night. Nothing sinister - they were staying two nights, and had been moved for the second night without being informed. So I ended up on both occasions having to ring security - not terribly nice when you are travelling alone, upsetting for me and annoying for the other guy too..

I informed the management about this and they couldn’t have been nicer; I got my room for free; but to be honest for this to happen twice is no joke. The first time was a computer based problem, I do not know the reason for the second.

I am sorry that I won’t be choosing this particular Travelodge again as I don’t feel safe there. There are some things that need to be right.

The Bakehouse building at the back opens onto a car park and is freely accessible from the road. The lock on this door doesn’t always work and at times is left wide open. Yet another reason to feel that security isn’t right here. Travelodge need to invest more in this aspect of this otherwise quite rightly highly popular branch.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Woolwich
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Thanks for reviewing our Travelodge London Woolwich Hotel. We're happy to hear you were pleased with the service from the hotel's team during this stay with us as well as with the comfort of your room, the location of the hotel and the quality of the food but we're very sorry to hear of the issues experienced with other guests trying to enter your room. Please rest assured the hotel managers check Tripadvisor reviews of their hotels so your comments will be reviewed by the hotel's team. Thank you again for leaving this review and we do hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
judithgrimwood wrote a review Apr 2023
Petworth, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My 2 friends and i needed accommodation in Woolwich as part of an outing to London and were very pleased with our choice of the Travelodge , Powis St. Woolwich. Our Family Room was very reasonably priced, it was clean and very comfortable, the location was ideal for strolling out for an evening meal and parking to the rear of the Travelodge was easy and convenient. There was a good choice for breakfast which was wholesome and plentiful. Staff were all pleasant especially Kerry on Reception who could not have been more friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay her again for trips to London.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nik962022 wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately we had an event to get to very soon after arriving and didn’t get back until late so didn’t have chance to ask for a different room. The room itself wasn’t too bad apart from the dirty curtains (actual DIRT). The bathroom however… stains all over the shower curtain, ledge, and product on the walls (assuming it was body wash/shampoo from the previous person?) that could’ve easily been wiped away but wasn’t. Floor was coming up near the shower exposing dirt underneath and no body wash in the broken dispenser (which we actually forgot to bring and needed). The door handle on the bathroom was also falling off and the door wouldn’t stay closed at all, which made it pretty uncomfortable sharing a room.
Breakfast was definitely not worth it, could’ve gotten something nicer at a cafe/restaurant for a couple of pounds more. Everything was dry and staff seemed a bit rude when we asked how long the wait was for some more baked beans (we were told 5 minutes but they didn’t come out until after we’d finished and were leaving :/).
The cherry on top was when we were checking out and I asked the receptionist if I was okay to go and fill my water bottle up from the water dispenser in the breakfast area as we had a 4hr drive ahead of us, to which I was told to go ahead. I started to fill it up and was stopped by a member of the kitchen staff (the same one that seemed rude when we asked about the beans) who told me I wasn’t allowed. I told her that the person at reception said it was okay and I had already payed for breakfast but she told me that the ‘kitchen staff don’t allow it’…. it was a 500ml bottle of water….
This meant we had extra time added onto our journey because we had to make a stop on our way
All in all poor standards in terms of cleanliness and would much rather stay in another hotel chain like Holiday Inn or Premier Inn again (which I’ve always had positive experiences in)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ezaz asked a question Mar 2022
Burnley, United Kingdom
How much is parking per day?
London, United Kingdom
Hi, Yes there are good links to Central London, the station is about 10 mins walk away,O2 accessible on direct bus or DLR/Tube, about 30 mins travelling time. Hop e that is helpful
Answer from Sally S
Kent, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
You will need to pay for parking outside these hours.
Answer from Diane S
1 contribution
Hi. As far as I know they don't have air conditioning and yes the windows only open a little because of fire regulations. I stayed there for 3 weeks and some days were really hot but I was still comfortable. I don't think they have rooms in the basement. I hope this helps and I hope you enjoy your stay. Diane.
John H wrote a tip 09 Jun
39 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi is not free"
Read full review
Connector801352 wrote a tip 07 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you update the beds i think everything would be PERFECTION!!"
Read full review
Christopher W wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is free from 5.0.clock"
Read full review
Himal P wrote a tip May 2024
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything is good"
Read full review
Derrick o wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try it out for yourself "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,340 - R 2,863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE LONDON WOOLWICH | UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge London Woolwich
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge London Woolwich?
Nearby attractions include Woolwich Foot Tunnel (0.2 km), Royal Arsenal Farmers' Market (0.5 km), and Greenwich Town Hall (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge London Woolwich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge London Woolwich?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge London Woolwich?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge London Woolwich?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dial Arch, The Guard House, and Beefeater.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge London Woolwich?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Royal Naval College (5.1 km), Cutty Sark (5.1 km), and Royal Observatory Greenwich (4.7 km).
Is Travelodge London Woolwich accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Travelodge London Woolwich
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire