Safestay London Elephant & Castle

Safestay London Elephant & Castle

144-152 Walworth Road Elephant & Castle, London SE17 1JL England
Traveller (319)
Panorama of the 6-Bed Ensuite Dorm at the Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
360
Panoramas (14)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (113)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#21 of 204 hostels in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Safestay London Elephant & Castle is located in the former 18th century labour headquarters, just a few minutes' walk from Elephant & Castle tube station and close to the River Thames and Southbank. You'll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin and triple en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4, 6 and 8 people there's a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay's own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There's a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The beautiful social spaces include a large licensed lounge bar where continental breakfast is served and a variety of snacks and drinks are on offer throughout the day, there's also a games area with pool table, computer room with comfortable seating and a courtyard garden. The hostel has a laundry, ATM, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The first Safestay hostel, the building has been extensively renovated and thanks to the striking interior design you'll love relaxing here after a day's sightseeing. Great for groups and individuals Safestay Elephant & Castle is the ideal base for exploring London's famous attractions. Stay at Safestay London Elephant & Castle and you'll find Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, Oxford Street and Leicester Square all less than 15-minutes away by tube. Tate Modern, the National Theatre, The Imperial War Museum, London Aquarium, London Dungeon, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, the Kia Oval and the famous Ministry of Sound are all within 1.5 miles of the property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Game room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Room features
Blackout curtains
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more

Location

144-152 Walworth Road Elephant & Castle, London SE17 1JL England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
London City Airport
10.3 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
Southwark
20 minUnderground
1,743Review33Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 686
  • 630
  • 217
  • 88
  • 122
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Leah wrote a review May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
You have to pay for every little things so in the end it's not that cheap. Towels are not included in the price and you have to pay to eat your own food in the common area. I thus pitifully ate my breakfast in the rain before going back to wash my teeths
I booked an ensuite bathroom but they were always quite dirty so in the end I only used the public one that are cleaned every morning. The common space is quite cosy otherwise
The room are also quite dirty. Not outwardly disgusting but there is a thick layer of dust on the bed frame and in the corners of the rooms. The bins are not being emptied everyday and I don't think they are being vacuumed everyday either.
Beds are okay at first but after several days my back started to hurt but it could also be because of the intensively walking around London.
The staff is quite nice though
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay EC, General Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 06 May 2022
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear we have not meet your expectations. We have passed your feedback to the pertinent department. kind regards, Manuel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah W wrote a review Aug 2022
Newport, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We traveled up to London to do some sightseeing and explore some of the family attractions with our children. Rather than travel the nearly 3 hours there and back in a day with over tired small children we decided to book this hotel last minute and make the most of the break with an overnight stay - so glad we did! Room, although basic, was more than adequate. Plenty of space and bunk beds were surprisingly comfy. There was also a separate shower room and toilet which again was more than adequate. We paid the additional £6 for breakfast which had a good continental style selection and we all started out our day of sightseeing and activities with full stomachs (and plenty of caffeine for mum and dad from the help yourself coffee machine!)
The location was also great, just over a mile from all the main attractions and less than £10 in cab fair.
There’s a Co-op shop right next door so easy to grab any last minute snacks or toiletries etc for the kids should you need to.
This is nothing fancy but was ideal for us as a pit stop in between sightseeing, it had everything we needed and I must say was excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay EC, General Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 03 Aug 2022
Thank you for leaving a great review for us, and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to possibly having you stay again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
astro kidd wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel has potential, but there are too many miscommunications among the employees, as well as slow check-ins and a slow cleaning service, which are causing Safestay issues. Some of these problems can be readily resolved by better organizational skills on the part of the managers. Breakfast should be included in the price, or at the very least offered free for customers staying for several days.

With all of this said, management is progressively making changes.

Della, who is not only incredibly helpful during breakfast but is also always cheerful, is the highlight of the hostel. She is an integral element of the team, and her departure would be a major setback for Safestay. She is well-organized and offers excellent ideas that the managers should consider.

Della is the reason why the mornings at Safestay are worth it, and I can't emphasize it enough. She is sincere, focused, and constantly cheerful, and she is the primary reason for paying for breakfast. She is an amazing person, and I hope the Safedstay managers realize how important she is to the team.

Dalian is also the kind of employee that any hostel would be glad to have on staff. He is composed, courteous, and quite helpful. He never gets into a fight with the guests. He doesn't make excuses; instead, he goes out of his way to solve the situation. He excels at his profession and deserves to be appreciated for it.

iLo has a calm, collected demeanor. He can seem a little too calm and collected at times, but he is always willing to lend a helping hand. Although he is still a new member of the team, his presence has increased the respect that guests have for him. He is far more qualified than he needs to be at the reception, and management should take notice and find a way to promote him above that position. In reality, every one of the individuals I've named has the potential to be more than their current positions. When assistance, relaxation, and understanding are required, iLo excels. He's a high-ranking team player.

Thank you, Della, Dalian, and ilo for being kind and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The 6 and 8-bed rooms are the best. Avoid the 4-bed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay EC, General Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Thank you for leaving such a great and extensive review, i will ensure you to pass on the suggestions you've made in regards to changes within Safestay. Additionally, i will share the review with Della, Ilo, and Dalian as they will be very grateful for the kind and encouraging review you have written for them,.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hailey wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
There were spiderwebs at the ceiling and Heating was not working so we asked to change the room but receptionist reply “as they were fully booked the same sort of room we were not able to change the room till next day that we should check out 10am and check in 2pm again” which means we need to store our luggage for £2 each which was inconvenient and worthless help so we did not change and got a portable electronic heater after request.

And TV in the room was an European plug so if we would like to watch it we had to buy an adapter at the reception.

Next day when we come back to our room Housekeeping did not make a room even we put clean room sign at the door so should have request a towel at the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from socialelephantcastle, Front Office Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 18 Mar 2020
On behalf of our entire staff we apologies about what happened with you during your stay with us. I certainly empathize regarding the point your mention in your review with regards to the lack of service received. We forwarded your case to the relevant department to take further investigation. Sincerely, safestay team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kian wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horrible stay. I took a private room and my experience here is just terrible.

I believe I speak for everyone that an accomodation needs to be equipped with the modern day necessaties such as internet connection, a clean room and a warm roof to settle down.

However, the wifi was not connectable, the toilet was not properly cleaned, the wc isn't functioning and the heater is not working.

Aside from that, when my room shampoo finished, instinctly I asked for a refill, however the receptionist told me to buy my own from a convenient store nearby.

P.s as an additional note, the breakfast was decent but the dinner was bad. I would recommend that you eat out instead. With the same amount of £8 one can get a decent fast food meal or even express food like wasabi etc
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from socialelephantcastle, Front Office Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Hello Guest, On behalf of our entire staff we apologise about what happened with you during your stay with us. I certainly empathize regarding the point your mention in your review with regards to the lack of service received. We forwarded your case to the relevant department to take further investigation. Sincerely, Sultan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M.S wrote a review Oct 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, this site does not respect or promote any control of the covid, they are reserving entirety their rooms and putting the business on top of the safety of their guests, when most hostels offer 50% occupancy to try to control the social distance and the interaction of many people in the same environment, This is not the case here, in fact the customer is not required to wear a mask, and the common areas were quite dirty. Then when I received the room, the sheets smelled of sweat and I'm sure the duvet cover was unchanged.
They changed me to another room and I found they didn't have plugs for top beds, and the ones for bottom beds were taken, so I had to go to charge my phone in common areas.
I finally decided to leave and no even sleep there, but from my experience as a backpacker,I would say this place it does not worth the money.

Positive: the staff was very friendly both at the bar and at the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helia Rodrigues, Owner at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 27 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, with feedback like this we learn from and use this information to improve our performance. Please know that we are taking your points on board and will rectify the situation in the future. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. Either way, your comments, and feedback have been passed on to the relevant teams. Sincerely, Safestay Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HH1 wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well located for the tube into London. I had a fabulous stay which surpassed my expectations. A warm welcome on arrival - I was early so took advantage of the luggage storage very reasonably priced at £2 which freed me up until 3pm check in. Ample storage in the room for luggage and locks can be purchased at reception as can towels.
The room was clean with a good sized bathroom and I slept like a log! Breakfast ticks all the boxes as does the garden where you can chill out with a beer and a bite to eat.
Enjoyed my time here and will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay EC, General Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 02 Aug 2023
thanks for the awesome review its great to hear you enjoyed your stay we hope to see you again :) Philip
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark H wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be warned.
We stayed as a group of young people. I was party leader. We checked in. They told the group we could only stay if we took their food also. The food was tin wrapped lasagne that looked like it was from aldi or lidl. Our group refused to eat it. They also told us we had to split into 2 for the meal we said no they agreed to serve in one go.lo and behold they reneged on this when we arrived. The food is NOT hotel quality and quite frankly apalling. We went as a group to the theatre. On our return they had put a single woman into a room with 3 17 year old males from our group. An over sight they said. She was in bed when our lads came back. When the night manager was informed instead of immediately removing her he was more bothered about checking a spreadsheet. He had to be forcibly told to have the situation remedied. There was no female working there he had to go to a single woman in a room that was for 17 year olds and ask her to leave. His attitude was to immediately rell her in an agressive way she was in the wrong room. She wasnt and had the key card to prove it. She was woken up by him speaking in a manner that was not passive but agressive. She was quite flustered understandably and was given a different room. When he came down i took him to task about why and how it happened and why it was more important to check his spreadsheet than deal with it. He then tried to have me thrown out of the hotel for complaining. The next morning in a meeting with the manager he told me to shut up and learn manners. I pointed out quite forcably he was wrong to check the spreadsheet and should have been acting on a solution not reading and that him being forced to act and kot doingbit himself was totally inappropriate. It is very clear that this hotel has no clue about safeguarding, lacks any form of customer care and is not a safe place to stay. When leaving the meeting with the manager at 0712 am the food that the previous night at 5pm that was put out that our group refused to eat was still there congealed in the same place as it was left on the hot plate that had been turned off the night before. Not only do they ignore health and safety but also basic food hygiene rules as well. This hotel is not fit for purpose.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay EC, General Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 04 Feb 2023
Hello Mark, Firstly I would like to start of by apologising for the treatment you had at our hostel thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our general manager with any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Klara L wrote a review Apr 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My bunk mate was a homeless person, which was not what I expected. This is not the place if you are looking to get to know other backpackers or students travelling.

Common places are poor and you have no place to eat your own foods expect your bed.

The neighbourhood is far away from the center and the people who hang around the hostel are sketchy. Would not recommend it.

The hostel is supposed to have a 24h reception, but in reality there is no one there sometimes during the night.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Safestay EC, General Manager at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Dear Klara, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are really sorry to hear about some issues during your stay. I can understand you feel disappointed about your experience in general. We do not accept homeless in our hostel for safety reasons. Next time please report this to reception and we are going to fix it for you immediately. Kind regards, Manuel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martina K wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a "family-like" hostel, or people who go to work, not for socialising. Or if you're all day out and you come back only for sleeping, is perfect.
When I stayed there was a big group of people, and definitively they're not ready for that, since breakfast wasn't enough; everyday I arrive to have breakfast, there was no more food anymore (and they charge 6 pounds for it, so I don't think it's worth it).

The staff is great, they were really helpful and kind with me.
If you need to eat there, there's the bar, only with 2 or 3 options of meals a day, but good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to choose a low room, since elevators don't work all the time, or they're really busy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from socialelephantcastle, The Safestay Team at Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Responded 03 Feb 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm glad you enjoyed our staff and our meals at the bar. As a team, we work hard to improve our customer service and learn from reviews like yours. For this, I'm disappointed we failed you at breakfast hours. We're sorry our breakfast service didn't meet your expectations. Be assured this will be reviewed. Our bar area is well-known to be the ideal place to socialize and meet fellow travelers. I hope that if you visit us in the future you could enjoy our bar area and so enjoy the diversity of other travelers. Kind regards, Safestay E&C Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Quinn Marie
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes the private rooms have locks, I stayed in a private with my schoolmates when we visited on a class trip and we were able to lock our door whenever we wanted to. We left our luggage in our room during the day and we kept our door locked. I hope this helped :)
Charlie O asked a question Dec 2015
Warwickshire15 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi, Does anyone know the menu/alcoholic drinks' prices at the bar? Thanks
Answer from Laura Galley
5 contributions
There is a happy hour on an evening therefore selected spirits and beers are £2
Marc__Norway asked a question Oct 2015
Trondheim Municipality, Norway19 contributions3 helpful votes
We arrive Gatwick around 8pm. What's the best way to get to the hostel?
Answer from Adrian F
Nottingham, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Bus is cheapest but prone to delays. We would get the Gatwick Express Connection to the underground which ends at Victoria then use the tube to Elephant & Castle, then it's a 10 minute walk from the station to the hostel. However, as you are Norweigan then it might be more within your budget to charter a private helecoptor or Learjet. Spend some of that Oil money! :)
Dukula J wrote a tip 08 Jul
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do NOT book"
Read full review
Mike M wrote a tip Jan 2024
London, United Kingdom14 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother with the food."
Read full review
Robertas R wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very nice warm friendly atmosphere and very helpfull staff members"
Read full review
Juan Carlos G wrote a tip Aug 2023
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose this one because its on Zone 1 and 2 and with the bus rates and contactless limit you wont spend much. Also the place is 24\7"
Read full review
Jason J wrote a tip Jul 2023
Florida21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If I can do it. You can do it! It was all very simple & a streamlined process"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,688 - R 3,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAFESTAY LONDON ELEPHANT & CASTLE - Now R 2 182 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶0̶4̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
Nearby attractions include Moroccan Original Carpet (0.4 km), Metropolitan Tabernacle Baptist Church at Elephant and Castle (0.4 km), and Drawing Room (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kachori, Toulouse Lautrec, and Pizzeria Pappagone Sud.
Are any cleaning services offered at Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Safestay London Elephant & Castle?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (2.1 km), Tower of London (2.4 km), and Churchill War Rooms (2.5 km).
Is Safestay London Elephant & Castle accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Safestay London Elephant & Castle
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire