Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel

Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel

Soup
Traveller (822)
Panorama of the Double Full Standard Room at the Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (607)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#184 of 1 138 hotels in London
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 3 more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Hotel links
Special Offer:Summer Sale

Location

Western Gateway Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1AL England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
London City Airport
Heathrow Airport
33.3 km
See all flights
Royal Victoria
3 minDLR
2,544Reviews66Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,170
  • 794
  • 307
  • 157
  • 117
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
zobsz wrote a review Jun 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom68 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the hotel for my husbands birthday and from the minute we checked in everything was exceptional. They greeted us with a birthday card and chocolates for my husand. All the staff was friendly and professional. This hotel goes above and beyond to ensure your stay is enjoyable, nothing is to much trouble. 5 star customer service and I will 100% return. The hotel staff truly understand the meaning of hospitality
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Jul 2023
Dear zobsz, We’re so grateful for your 5-star review. We strive to offer the best experience possible, and your review tells us that we’re on the right path!. Come back soon! Kind regards, Mohammed Thousif Hussain K H Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane and Colin wrote a review Feb 2020
Somerset, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose to stay at the Docklands Crowne Plaza as we have stayed at the brand before and were visiting family who live in an apartment in that location. We selected a corner suite which was really very good with plenty of space and great views of the O2 arena and the city. It had a large lounge space which allowed our family to relax and have a drink before we headed out.
We only used the dining room for breakfast, which was well presented with a good choice. The hotel allowed our family to join us at breakfast for a fairly reasonable charge. We also took advantage of the pool with steam room and jacuzzi.
The journey into the west end is fairly straightforward with options of using the cable car and Jubilee Line or Docklands Light Railway. We tried both.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CPDocklands, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 04 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza London Docklands. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to share this kind review with us and other valuable guests. We make every effort to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and feedback like yours makes it all worthwhile. We are already looking forward to your next visit, so that we can take care of you again. Best Regards, Alexandra Stefan Guest Services Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ahmed A wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom96 contributions85 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean hotel with good staff check in was quick but car parking a bit pricey and no discount for IHG members where some hotels offer a discount if you’re a certain level with IHG. No room service due to COVID restrictions. Decent views and smallish rooms even though I was told I was upgraded to an exec suite. Good enough for a nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marek Mrowczynski, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 03 Oct 2020
Dear 519ahmeda, I want to thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Docklands. I am very glad you found the hotel cleanliness of the highest standards and efficient check-in. Indeed our services are more restricted now but we are being as helpful as we can to accommodate requests. I am glad overall you had a good experience. I trust we will see you again for a chance to experience even better service on your return. I wish you all the best. Mari Irazusta Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caren2018 wrote a review Aug 2021
Leatherhead, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were lucky enough to get 4 tickets to Liam Gallagher's concert for the NHS (thanks Liam you did us NHS"ers proud). We booked 2 rooms 2 weeks before our stay and they were helpful when we asked for the rooms to be next to each other as we wanted to be close to our sons.

We arrived early and used the hotels parking, which was very reasonable for London prices, we decided to eat the hotels restaurant and wait for our rooms to be ready. The food was very nice and the staff were really friendly, and we all enjoyed a few nice beers together.

Our rooms didn't disappoint they were clean and fresh, the bed was very comfortable and room was spacious, we didn't have a view room but we didn't ask for one and we never had any intention of being in it long. After we sorted out our rooms we left the hotel and within literally a 5 minute walk we were at the Emirates Cable Car.

Our only disappointment was that the bar closed at 10;30 and we hoped to have a late drink at the hotel after the concert but given the situation the hospitality business is in I guess we should be grateful they open. As it happens we were too exhausted to have a drink after so a late bar would have been lost on us.

This this a great 4 star hotel, great value for money in a perfect location for the o2 - if you enjoy cable car heights!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manchester786 wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom6 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. Walk into the hotel and you are hit with a strong stench of chlorine from the swimming pool. Kids running all over the place very large families everywhere. Room was nice, towels badly stained, several receptionists at reception but looked like they spent more time standing there looking pretty. Rang down for a toothbrush got told havent got any go buy from tesco. Asked to have bins refreshed as per welcome letter as not cleaning rooms daily and cleaner point blank refused to empty bins, had to complain to reception so bins emptied. Nice toiletries, nice size room. Steam/sauna out of order and jacuzzi hogged by several kids and pool surrounded by many spectators (families of the kids sat around). Breakfast manic but well managed by the staff there who where very helpful and never said no, especially polish lady Bogulmina (i think that was the spelling) and a nice helpful asian girl.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2021
Dear Manchester786, thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us. I am very happy that the size of our room, the toiletries and the service at breakfast met your expectations. We strive to provide the best possible service as well as experience, and it is always great to hear from our valued guests on how we are doing. I also take note regarding your comments that our towels were stained and that the room was not serviced daily. Please be assured that I will forward your comments to our team in order to provide a better experience in the future. I apologize if this might have caused you inconvenience. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We would be delighted if you visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cmd53 wrote a review Sept 2021
Bath, United Kingdom31 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor service. Breakfast is £8 if you commit to it the night before and £17 if you buy it in the morning. I understand there is a price to be paid for flexibility. But twice the price! Also no room cleaning if you stay more than one.night and you can’t get a drink at the bar after 11pm and there is no room service. They aren’t thinking about customers. Only about costs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marek Mrowczynski, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Sept 2021
Dear cmd53, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that this time around we couldn't live up to your expectations. You are correct to say that there is no room service and on the day of breakfast the cost is £16.99, however, the price for a breakfast voucher, the night before is £11.99. Nevertheless, we hope you will consider giving Crowne Plaza a second chance to renew your confidence. Kind Regards, Fatima
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim A wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Advertised as weekend break with use of spa. We were unable get a slot the day we arrived due to smaller numbers allowed in pool and to ensure cleaning made a priority. The next day we got in, 30 people in the pool including a sectioned off piece where private swimming lessons were being. Changing areas were dirty, no soap on dispensers. Wood rotting on yhe skirting board.
Shocking state. Ate in the bar and grill, ordered the lamb shank. The meat on the outside was ok but quickly reached cold meat with ice crystals. Had to send it. Uncomfortable beds.
For a 4 star hotel was a complete disappointment. Cable car was good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, I'm genuinely sorry to hear about the disappointing experience during your stay. It sounds like there were several aspects that fell short of expectations, from the spa's limited availability to the condition of the changing areas and the quality of the food. Your feedback regarding the cleanliness and amenities of the spa and dining experience is valuable, and we'll address these concerns internally to ensure improvements are made. It's regrettable that the comfort of the beds didn't meet your expectations either. We take guest feedback seriously and will investigate these issues further to prevent similar occurrences in the future. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the nearby cable car. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience faced during your stay. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and hope that we can make significant improvements to provide a better experience should you consider staying with us again. Kind Regards, Fatima Laskar
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RPM wrote a review Sept 2022
Manchester, England, United Kingdom162 contributions180 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From check in to check out I had issues.
Check in , no parking was told a car park at the Excel could be used 2-3 minutes walk away. This 2-3 minutes walk is actually 0.83 of a mile 24 minutes carrying 3 heavy bags, when i arrived back at the desk I had to wait for a family to check in & complaining about having to walk this distance with children & bags. Surely the hotel should have a shuttle or provide courtesy taxis as the don’t have sufficient parking.

At check in I was advised no room service as the hotel is short staffed.
Almost every time I left the room I had to get my door key recoded due to a faulty door.

Breakfast was advertised to start at 06:30 however it was late each day. Breakfast was average hotel standard however the black pudding was mixed with onion & garlic, what on earth possesses someone to do that???

The bar & restaurant add a service charge to each item without making you aware of this & were reluctant to remove this.

I managed to park in the car park twice in my stay at a cost of £25 per night, my nice clean car now covered in debris & dust from the building site next door costing me to have it valeted.

I am an IHG platinum elite member & still chasing the hotel for my points for this stay, despite a phone call & an email the hotel haven’t had the decency to respond or resolve this.

In short this hotel should be a Holiday Inn Express NOT a Crowne Plaza
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Dear robertmW7860PD, I would like firstly to thank you for choosing to stay in Crowne Plaza Docklands. I appreciate your status as a Platinum Elite member and we value your loyalty. In regards to your points, these are added within 7 days after departure but I cannot be sure when your stay was from your review. We currently have some issues with the portal and there might be a further delay across all IHG properties. Your points however will be added at the first available opportunity. I am truly sorry that this is further impacting your experience with us. Our car park, I am happy to say, will be back to the usual capacity from the beginning of October with many more spaces available. We hope to be able to accommodate all our guests. We are also changing our key system next week and looking forward to a more updated system. I will pass your feedback on to our Head Chef in regards to the breakfast opening being delayed. This should not be the case indeed and I am sorry that this happened to you. In regards to room service, we do hope to be back to the usual service very soon. I am truly sorry that this was an inconvenience to you at this time. All in all, we do have many changes coming our way and we are excited to share these with our guests. I do hope you will choose to return to try these out. I appreciate your honest feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are ready. Best wishes, Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice Clarke wrote a review Dec 2022
Wisbech, United Kingdom38 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we first arrived it looked fantastic and we got there early so our bags needed to be stored in a luggage room. The staff were lovely, friendly and very attentive. When our room was ready for us to go in, at first glance it looked quite nice but as you looked closer it got worse and worse. I found a couple of hairs in the bed, dirty ceiling, fingerprints on the bathroom mirror but worst of all was the PANTS (boxer short underwear) in the corner of the room behind the curtains. Not our property. The cleaners need to be more thorough to the small spaces. When I opened to curtains to look at the view I just noticed them in the corner of the room. A horrible thing to look at and a horrible thing to think about. They could have accidentally been left there or they could be clean or they could be dirty. I don’t know. But please try to clean better. However the rooms were actually quite nice overall. The bathroom was exceptionally nice but I find that the floor gets really cold when barefoot. The next morning we went downstairs for breakfast at around 9:30, there was plenty on offer and even some vegetarian options. It was very nice but I feel that some food could have been cooked for a bit longer. The trip as a whole was good at the hotel. Would recommend for a couple of nights but not too long. We wasn’t able to go in the swimming pool as it was too cold and didn’t really have enough time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Remember to bring slippers or warm socks if visiting in winter as the floors do get rather cold.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Dec 2022
Dear gabrielladxoxo, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am truly sorry that we let you down with the room's cleanliness. We take this very seriously and I trust the right steps were taken to ensure your satisfaction once this was noted. I agree that this is not the standard for our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast thoroughly, this is the most important meal of the day and a good start. The pool heating is being repaired this week and this will make it much more welcoming. I do hope you will choose to return for a much-improved experience next time. Best wishes, Mari
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TreeIL wrote a review Aug 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom193 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited in august as a family of 4, booked 2 double rooms. Rooms are a lovely size as is the bathroom. USB port plug at the desk and bedside which is useful.

Swimming must be prebooked and different times for children, good system meaning it wasn’t overcrowded. Lift enters right into the swimming reception.

Location is fantastic, just opposite the emirate’s cable cars, DLR only 2 minutes down the road and plenty of places to buy food nearby. Parking inside or in public multi storey, both easily found and same rates.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,587 - R 5,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza london - docklands hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonEast End / East London
NUMBER OF ROOMS
210
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROWNE PLAZA LONDON DOCKLANDS, AN IHG HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include City Hall (0.3 km), City Hall (0.3 km), and Royal Victoria Dock and Bridge (0.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tapa Tapa, Heroica Lounge, and La Barrique Wine Bar & Pizzeria.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tower of London (6.6 km), The London Bridge Experience (7.4 km), and Old Royal Naval College (3.4 km).
Does Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Crowne Plaza London Docklands, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire