We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Conrad London St. James

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2436)
Room & Suite (1002)
Dining (294)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#41 of 1 170 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Rooted in the heart of the British capital, the 5-star luxury Conrad London St. James is only a five minute walk from the most iconic landmarks such as Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace and Big Ben. Light and stylish bedrooms with bespoke luxury bedding, are complimented by marble bathrooms. While Nespresso coffee machines, and extensive free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel are essential additions for the modern traveller. Indulge in a Traditional Afternoon Tea with seasonal treats. Dine in the finest hotel’s destination restaurant offering a locally sourced British menu with an innovative take on the traditional English 'comfort food' or enjoy your evening in Blue Boar Pub, with locally brewed craft beers and ales, and classic British pub food. A 24-hour fitness centre with gym allows you to exercise at your convenience or enjoy the perfect jogging routes in the Royal Parks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
5905Reviews157Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,749
  • 813
  • 206
  • 83
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kris W wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
I travel often with work, I liked the central location, there are so many bars and off the beaten track eateries in Westminster. The staff couldn't do more for you and the service and canapes in the lounge were excellent. One small thing which won't apply to everyone, I prefer a coffee machine at breakfast then you are less at the whims of the staff to serve you which on more than one occasion was slow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wingwin wrote a review Jul 2023
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania13 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel (5 nights) for the first part of our trip to London. Margarita at the front desk is incredible - she made us feel like we were the most special guests at this hotel. She has infinite patience and worked tirelessly with us to find the room we liked. As Hilton Diamond members, we were upgraded to the junior suite, which was nice. Margarita even escorted us to our room and gave us an overview of the hotel and our room. Wow, what a start! Breakfast buffet was really good, I thoroughly enjoy my omelets, fresh berries and freshly baked pastries. All servers were excellent and attentive. Executive lounge was disappointing in our view, not much choice at all. We had way, way better. (In fact, for easy comparison, Hilton Southside (where we stayed for the 2nd part of our trip) had an outstanding Executive lounge with excellent plentiful hot and cold appetizers and passion fruit juice). I hope Conrad improves food at their Executive lounge; as much as we were impressed by the food at breakfast buffet, we were totally disappointed by the quality of food at the Executive lounge. The location of the hotel is excellent - kind of in between Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. It is a walking distance to so many great attractions; those attractions that are further out can easily be reached by tube - tube station is literally across from the hotel, which we found is extremely important if you are actively exploring all different parts of the city and beyond. I celebrated my birthday while staying at the hotel and they brought me a bottle of prosecco, pastries and a hand written card - very nice gesture, which I appreciated. Tip regarding English Traditional Afternoon tea (which is a must do experience in London) - do your research, choose your venues and book ahead, as some of the best ones are booked months(!) in advance. We selected and visited 5, which we determined were the best for us - at Savoy Hotel, at the Promenade of Dorchester hotel, at The Drawing Room of the Brown's Hotel, at the Lanesborough hotel and of course The Claridge. All with outstanding food and service, breathtakingly beautiful, opulent, cost tons of money, but so worth it - unforgettable memories. This was our first visit to London and will not be last. I can honestly say that London has totally exceeded our expectations and amazed us in many ways and on so many levels. Go and enjoy; we definitely did!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernadette Gilligan, General Manager at Conrad London St. James
Responded 19 Jul 2023
Dear Wingwin, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent 5 night stay with us at Conrad St James. Thank you for your comments on Margarita I will sahre these with her, she will bo pleased she was able to ensure a memoriable stay. We take on board all comments so you executive lounge comments are helpful, we are currently undergoing a kitchen renovation so we hope for your next visit we will be back to our normal service qnd can improve out executive lounge offerings for you. Thank you for all your comments it will be very helpful for other readers and we do hope to welcome you back, hopefully soon . Kind regards, Bernadette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul M wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Very nice hotel. Friendly service. Well decorated and very clean rooms with large bathrooms, ours included shower and bath. Location right next to subway a big plus. Will stay here again for sure. Nice pub with good food, also Michelin rated restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Joanne H wrote a review 20 Feb
Folkestone, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Check in was friendly and welcoming, they acknowledged my diamond member status, and we received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite and an amenity which was very much appreciated. The luggage was taken to the room. The executive lounge had a good selection of afternoon treats and sandwiches. Breakfast selection was very good which also included omelettes and pancakes made to order. Thank you for another great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
billmann13 wrote a review 19 Feb
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom22 contributions24 helpful votes
Lovely hotel this is my 6th visit here, check in always so quick arrive 11am I could of got upgraded but had to wait until 3am , so just took my room because it was ready and we was going to the wolves game It's such a clean hotel all staff are lovely and friendly , I love the rain shower in bathroom, house keeping always do a great job room is always so clean Breakfast restaurant downstairs is beautiful and the food is amazing Executive lounge is nice 2pm is tea sandwich's and scones Happy hour 5.15 - 7.15 Gym is nice and clean Location is fantastic Thank you Mr Mann Room 123
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hallie C wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution
My boyfriend surprised me with a stay with the king deluxe room and champagne afternoon tea, our room was lovely nothing to complain about but our afternoon tea was awful. We waited 15 minutes for our tea, then about 50 minutes for our sandwiches. Our waiter then said it is bottomless so we asked for more sandwiches but was told it would be a 20 minute wait. There was also no Champaign and was told we would be charged extra for alcohol as it was not included. We had been there for around 2 hours and had to skip the scones as we didn’t have time to wait for even longer. Not to mention there was nobody else in the room so it wasn’t like there was a big wait, there wasn’t any music in the room either and was just staff walking through every few minutes. Most of the staff weren't very welcoming and made us feel uncomfortable. Breakfast was okay, the lady who seated us was very blunt and just pointed us towards a table we ordered a tea and coffee together but the coffee came way after the tea meaning we had already finished our food. We were really looking forward to a nice get away but a little disappointed. However the lady at reception when checking out was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernadette Gilligan, General Manager at Conrad London St. James
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 865halliec, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your experience with the Afternoon Tea at Conrad London St. James. It is deeply saddening to me to hear how disappointed you were and I can assure you this is absolutely not the standard our team strive to deliver. I have taken your feedback very seriously and will be reviewing all points raised with our Food and Beverage Director to ensure these matters are addressed immediately. I would like to offer you the chance to return to Conrad London St. James to enjoy a complimentary Afternoon Tea to give us a chance to demonstrate the high level we usually provide, and strongly encourage you to reach out to me directly at LONCO.GM@conradhotels.com so I can provide you with a voucher as a way of apology for your poor experience. Warm Regards, Bernadette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ann Z wrote a review 15 Feb
1 contribution
My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Conrad London St. James and had a lovely time! The hotel service was warm, friendly, professional and responsive to our needs. The included breakfast was delicious! Our room was immaculate and we loved the rain shower. We had some minor issues with our international adapters not working properly in our room, but it was quickly resolved. We loved the location as it was central enough to make getting to what we wanted to do quite easy. And, there was a terrific pub next door! We'd happily stay here again on our next visit to London!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernadette Gilligan, General Manager at Conrad London St. James
Responded 3 days ago
Dear annz716, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Conrad London St. James. I am thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and found the service to be so exceptional and friendly! I am equally delighted that the team were able to solve the minor issue you had with the international adapters not working. The hotel is indeed brilliantly located, just opposite St. James Park, where you can take the tube effortlessly to many interesting areas in London. Additionally we are only a short walk from Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, and Houses of Parliament, making us perfectly situated for many hours exploration! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, Warm Regards, Bernadette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Raylene S wrote a review 12 Feb
2 contributions
If you haven't stayed here you are really missing out. I have never been treated so well at a hotel in my life. Great service right from stepping out of the taxi. Bellman,front desk,lounge person,woman turning down your bed-all have been fantastic! Every person has been so kind and helpful.I asked the person turning down our bed if she had any bath salts-she didn't and I didn't think anything about it.Next thing I know the front desk Ed called me and someone brought some up to me. Now that is service! Location is so fun.so close to Buckingham Palace that tomorrow we are going to the changing of the guards.Tons of pubs and restaurants just steps away from hotel.You will love it here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernadette Gilligan, General Manager at Conrad London St. James
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Raylenes2024, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Conrad London St. James. It brings me great joy to hear how you were treated so luxuriously at our hotel! My team are truly exceptional and I am very lucky to be working alongside them. It is heartwarming to read that the team went above and beyond to provide you with bath salts! They will be delighted to know this little extra touch made your stay truly memorable. The location of the hotel is indeed excellent, being only an 8 minute walk to Buckingham Palace. I hope you enjoyed the spectacular changing of the guard, definitely a unique British event and not be missed! We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon, Warm Regards, Bernadette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MrMrsPot wrote a review 11 Feb
Nottingham3 contributions3 helpful votes
Fabulous stylish hotel in a great location, very luxurious and all the staff were welcoming, polite, friendly and professional. The door man was so helpful with assisting us in car parking advice. Lovely comfortable room, with super attention to detail. We’ll definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernadette Gilligan, General Manager at Conrad London St. James
Responded 6 days ago
Dear MrMrsPot. Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay at Conrad London St. James. I am thrilled to hear the team made your stay so exceptional! Their dedication to delivery memorable stays truly makes our hotel special and we will be delighted to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Bernadette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah W wrote a review 10 Feb
Cardiff, United Kingdom95 contributions23 helpful votes
I have to agree with many other reviewers. The staff really are an asset to the hotel. Every member of staff we interacted with were polite, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We arrived at the hotel at 10:30am with the intention of dropping our bags off until the 3pm check-in time but our room was ready for us (maybe that's because we'd upgraded to an Executive room?). The room was well appointed with tasteful decor. There was a 'proper' hair dryer in the room (2000w but no nozzle on ours!). The location is great, close to everything but on a quieter street so none of the incessant beeping of horns etc. keeping you awake at night. The Executive Lounge had a nice ambience but, as a few people have said, not the best when it came to the nibbles. The hotel kindly let us use the Executive Lounge until later in the day on our last day so that we could use the shower facilities. Breakfast was a good selection (hot and cold buffet and a menu for freshly cooked) but I was disappointed that the buffet didn't have warm plates because the food was starting to go cold by the time you sat down and I didn't like that the tables were so close together but those are my only little niggles I could mention. All in all, a lovely hotel with fabulous staff in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bernadette Gilligan, General Manager at Conrad London St. James
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Sarah W, I am delighted to hear how wonderful your stay was with us at Conrad London St. James. It is truly heartwarming to read how the team went above and beyond to make your stay so memorable! Additionally I am thrilled you found our location, just opposite St. James Park tube station, to be so conveniently placed being in the center of London but in a quiet enough street that you feel hidden away from the hustle and bustle of city life! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Warm Regards, Bernadette
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 6,293 - R 10,412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonWestminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
256
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CONRAD LONDON ST. JAMES - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Conrad London St. James
Which popular attractions are close to Conrad London St. James?
Nearby attractions include Churchill War Rooms (0.4 km), Westminster Abbey (0.4 km), and The UK Supreme Court (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Conrad London St. James?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Conrad London St. James?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Conrad London St. James?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Conrad London St. James?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Conrad London St. James?
Conveniently located restaurants include House of Ming, Th@51, and Mio Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Conrad London St. James?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Conrad London St. James?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Conrad London St. James offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Conrad London St. James?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Conrad London St. James?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (0.6 km), Churchill War Rooms (0.4 km), and Tower of London (4.0 km).