YHA London Earl's Court

YHA London Earl's Court

das Hostel
Traveller (140)
Panorama of the 4-Person Garden Dorm at the YHA London Earl's Court
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (74)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#5 of 204 hostels in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
A great backpackers hostel, the modern facilities in this lovely Victorian building make a convenient base for a cheap city break. Whether you’re in London to explore the attractions or just attending a gig at the nearby Olympia or Earls Court exhibition centres, the location is perfect. This west London Youth Hostel offers cheap accommodation near to the vibrant city centre. The area has a cosmopolitan feel and is close to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and the Royal Albert Hall - great for a weekend break
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

38 Bolton Gardens, London SW5 0AQ England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
London City Airport
16.6 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
18.6 km
See all flights
Earl's Court
5 minUnderground
654Reviews16Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 221
  • 258
  • 118
  • 34
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
B-GJosie wrote a review Feb 2020
Totnes, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family in a private 4 bedded bunk room for 2 nights for a weekend break. The hostel & room were very clean; the room was basically furnished with 2 x bunk beds and 2 x shower rooms, but was warm and functional in a good spot over looking a patio /outside area with benches (nice I imagine in good weather). There are self catering facilities on site although we didn’t use those. We took advantage of the inexpensive breakfast options for convenience. The staff were very warm & friendly and helpful for advice.

The bunk beds were comfortable although personally I found it a challenge to sleep in such a narrow bed.

Additionally whilst smoking is only permitted outside the front of the hostel, some guests used the internal garden/patio area outside our room as a place for chatting & smoking late at night. It was quite noisy at times (and we had kids with us) so if you get a garden room, be prepared to ask folk to be more quiet. Perhaps the staff could monitor this more?

I would recommend this hostel particularly to travellers wanting clean shared accommodation in a central
Location for a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from yhaearlscourt, Team Member at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Hello! Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review, we really appreciate the effort! We are so happy to hear you loved our hostel. We apologise for the noise you experienced at late hours in the night. We do try our best to monitor this, however it is hard to be on top of it all. We will make sure to check all around the hostel more often so we can discover things like noisy guests in the garden. Overall we are happy you had a pleasant stay with us! Hopefully we will see you next time you're in London, All the best YHA Earl's Court
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FCSFisken wrote a review Aug 2022
Vienna, Austria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a party hostel. Instead it's strangely peaceful, pleasant, clean, comfortable, spacious, with a big dining self catering kitchen, a large sitting room with sofas, and a large outdoor courtyard. My bed was comfortable. I'm enjoying the fact that the facilities are so good for three nights at less than £70 when it's only five minutes walk away from Earl's Court Underground station.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our services and location. We hope to welcome you again in future. All the best - YHA Earl's Court.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
O Tucholska wrote a review Mar 2022
Lancaster, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here twice this month and quite happy with the property and location. I work in Southwark and it's quite convenient to travel since the property is still considered Zone 1. Showers and toilets are clean by default, if some guests don't know how to keep them clean after using it I guess it can't be helped. Pretty common occurence when you share facilities.
Wifi is OK though some spots don't get coverage so it really depends where you are at.
Kitchen has all cookware you need and looks clean though I only used the microwave when I was there.
Bed is a bit too soft but for an overnight stay it's fine, considering value for money as well.
Happy to recommend the property to those who are visiting London.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Hi, thanks for leaving us this lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel and found our facilities to a good standard :) We hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, YHA Earls Court
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marius M wrote a review Apr 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was great ! First time staying but definitely will come back. I was rather reluctant in booking a place with shared toilets but they were kept spotless through the day and night . Staff is lovely and always willing to help.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 24 Apr 2023
Hi Marius, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review! We appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to see you next time you visit London . Many thanks,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rutho119 wrote a review Feb 2023
Long Ashton, England, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great budget accommodation within easy access of the tube station and local high street (cafes/restaurants/small supermarkets). We had a private room for family of 4. It was spacious, clean and secure. Despite close proximity to the high street the area is very quiet at night and allowed us to have a very restful night which I was not expecting. The bathrooms were very clean and showers worked well. The self catering kitchen is small given the size of the hostel and was crowded at peak times but it was fine for what we needed and was well equipped. We used the left luggage room which was much appreciated.

What would make it better? A few more recycling bins around the hostel and water filling station upstairs (we only found these on our last day!).

Overall it was a very positive experience and great value for money. We would definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The kitchen can get crowded so avoid peak eating times.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 16 Feb 2023
Hello Rutho119, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Our street is very quiet at night. It's hard to believe that we're only a few minutes' walk from Earl's Court Station. Thank you for leaving the constructive feedback. I will mention both of your suggestions to our team to see whether we can get more recycling bins put in. Best wishes and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leanne B wrote a review Apr 2022
Lancashire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed here monday to friday with my son. Excellent value for such a great location, great transport links, supermarkets, restaurants nearby.

Hostel was very clean and tidy. The staff are super friendly, my son was celebrating his birthday and they put balloons and a card in our room, very thoughtful and really made my son's day!! drinks and snacks available to buy at reception are well priced. Good wifi in communal areas, signal even stretched to our room which was an added bonus!!

well organised self catering kitchen. large garden space with picnic tables.

Highly reccommend! We can't wait to stay again!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: basement level rooms are great as have direct access to self catering kitchen and garden area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 14 Apr 2022
Hi Leanne, thank you for leaving us this lovely review! We are so delighted to hear that your stay went so well and that your son enjoyed his birthday. We cannot wait to welcome you again :) All the best, YHA Earls Court
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael B wrote a review Jun 2022
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was a reasonably priced place for me to stay for a weekend. I attended for the jubilee weekend. Prebooked.
It was fit for purpose in the sense it was a place for me to rest my head & store my things. I personally feel that considering how many were in the building in didn’t have much soul Some may appreciate this peace but being in London I expected more life.
The building was clean, the reception area and communal areas easy to find. ALL staff friendly, approachable, easy to get on with. Some make better cups of tea than others but that’s just life.
I didn’t anticipate how overwhelming I would find a 10 bed dorm and felt this was too much.
I wouldn’t share a dorm again unless absolutely necessary, no upgrades were available I did ask. Other guests loud snoring, comings and goings at all hours isn’t the fault of the YHA but whilst I got the rest I needed I didn’t wake up on both mornings feeling like I’d slept well, one bathroom was Out Of order so one landing appeared to be using one bathroom and had to go hunting round the building to find a shower so I could leave on time.
Clean, fit for purpose bathrooms. Lovely showers.
Staff obviously do a great job keeping this building going it must be some work, I thank them for their hospitality and for teaching me that hostel dormitories are not for me; otherwise thank you for a lush stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Hi Michael, Thank you for leaving us this review, we are glad to hear that you felt welcomed into our hostel and found the building was to a good, clean standard. Apologies for any inconvenience the bathroom closure caused you and also for the noise you experienced in your dorm room, we do have a 24 hour reception team that will do their best to help you when made aware of any issues as well as providing free ear plugs. We really hope we can welcome you back to our hostel again one day where you will have a much better experience. All the best, YHA Earls Court
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
i-reve wrote a review Jul 2022
Brussels, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very comfortable stay in a private room. Impeccably clean room, common spaces and bathrooms. It was very nice to have a fan in the room as it was a very hot day. Very comfortable beds and an excellent quality of sleep. Just a 5-min walk to the nearest tube station, lots of cafés/shops around the corner, including a nice Café du Coin just a few meters away and M&S for food shopping. The staff was very nice and helpful, and it's lovely that they offer free luggage storage before check-in.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Pleased to hear you had a very good stay, found the facilities clean and staff helpful. We hope you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, YHA Earl's Court
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
whitbyabi wrote a review Mar 2024
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When in London I always try to book a YHA hostel first as they are better than the other chains. I had not stayed at this hostel before but it was as expected; nice old building in a quiet residential area, near to the tube and clean and comfortable room & common areas. I had the continental style breakfast which was plentiful & filling. There was a big school group staying and I didn't hear any noise from them and they had their own room for breakfast so no need to get up early to avoid them! Friendly staff too. The only let down is the same one I have with all hostels & that's only 1 pillow (I now bring an inflatable one!) 2 pillows wouldn't break the bank at any hostel but it would make sleep so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 01 Apr 2024
Good morning, and thank you for the superb review following your recent stay with us at YHA London Earl's Court. We are always very happy to see such high ratings across the board for all our facilities, service and the overall comfort and quality you experienced during your stay. We're glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast on offer here at the hostel, and we agree that our historic building is excellently located in peaceful immediate surroundings, whilst being so well located for so many central sights, amenities and transport links. Regarding pillows, we entirely understand that there's a lot of variance in individual preference when it comes to this. We're aware of the sustainability impact of excess washing/deliveries, so we set beds with one pillow as standard but our team are on duty 24/7 and a second pillow can be requested without any charge - please let us know next time and we'll be sure to provide this. Many thanks again and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, YHA Earl's Court
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam B wrote a review Dec 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in many backpacking hostels, including YHA Earls Court on several occasions, Its a great hostel, clean, beautiful old building, great location, superb, generous breakfast, lovely staff, nearby the Tube, shops and eateries. However, a hostel at a basic level is a place to sleep, and I had 3 of the worst nights sleep I've ever paid for in 25 years of solo traveling, first night the odd gentleman above me was up and down seemingly every hour, all night. I was moved the next day, into an upstairs room, it was even worse. A gentleman woke about 3, turned his light on, and started rearranging his many belongings. The last night, there were three men snoring so loudly it was quite impossible to sleep. I might have just been unlucky, but jeez.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring earplugs, rooms are very noisy! Breakfast is generous, and good value, a plus is that they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from YHA Earls Court, General Manager at YHA London Earl's Court
Responded 10 Jan 2023
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and your feedback. We would like to apologize for this stay that was obviously not on par with the standards you are used to when staying at YHA Earl's Court. Though we are relieved to hear you have felt comfortable enough to let our staff know about the situation and that it appears we have tried to solve it by changing your rooms, we are really saddened to hear of this incredible 'bout of bad luck that rendered our attempts useless. We hope this does not dissuade you from staying with us again, as surely, such bad luck can not repeat. Glad you enjoy the location, cleanliness, services and facilities of the hostel and hoping to see you soon for a better, more relaxing stay. Best, The YHA London Earl's Court Staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan B asked a question Nov 2022
Are towels provided?
Answer from YHA Earls Court
London, United Kingdom
Hi there! Towels are available to hire from reception for £2.00. Hope this helps! Best, The YHA Earl's Court Team.
Susan B asked a question Nov 2022
are towels provided?
asifashraf7 asked a question Jun 2019
Rochdale14 contributions22 helpful votes
Do you have ironing facilities?
Answer from MountainFrancis
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom107 contributions47 helpful votes
Ring +44 345 371 9114 or look up the YHA website (which is an 'org' and a 'uk') to ask, they have a laundry room so there is a good chance they have an iron and ironing board.
Answer from h c
84 contributions27 helpful votes
As Vikram says, you can check in before 2pm but get the key card only at 2pm. You can borrow the hair dryer from the reception. You give 10 pounds as deposit and get the money back when you return the hair dryer.
Sarah C wrote a tip 16 Jul
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring ear plugs. The room was comfortable but the YHA can't do much about other people snoring!! "
Read full review
Natalie R wrote a tip Sept 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom43 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Towel rentals were great - soft big clean towels so we didn’t need to bring our own"
Read full review
James T wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please check out the gardens in Holland Park. Hyde Park is a 10 minute walk away. "
Read full review
Angela D wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booze from outside not allowed but plenty of pubs in the area. They also have a bar. "
Read full review
Stuart M wrote a tip Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Absolutely perfect…. Just avoid rush hour on the tubes"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,132 - R 2,575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
london earl`s court yha hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouth Kensington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YHA LONDON EARL'S COURT - Now R 1 399 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶5̶4̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about YHA London Earl's Court
Which popular attractions are close to YHA London Earl's Court?
Nearby attractions include Tardis Police Box (0.3 km), Evans and Peel Detective Agency (0.09 km), and The Blackbird (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at YHA London Earl's Court?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at YHA London Earl's Court?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to YHA London Earl's Court?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flora Indica, Orjowan, and Over Under Earl's Court.
Are any cleaning services offered at YHA London Earl's Court?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at YHA London Earl's Court?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to YHA London Earl's Court?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (4.6 km), Churchill War Rooms (4.3 km), and Westminster Abbey (4.4 km).
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near YHA London Earl's Court
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire