St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge

St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge

161-165 Borough High Street, London SE1 1HR England
Traveller (64)
Dining (12)
Private Capsule Room
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#108 of 204 hostels in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
St Christopher’s Inns at The Oasis is a modern hostel in London Bridge, exclusive for girls looking for a safe home away from home in the British Capital. Located on the second floor of our unisex ‘Village’ Hostel on Borough High Street, this floor (made just for you ladies) can only be accessed using special key cards making it very secure. Situated in the ultimate area for sightseeing and exploring, our hostel is within walking distance to some of London’s major sights and attractions. The Shard, Borough Market, Tower Bridge, St Paul’s Cathedral, the London Bridge Experience, the Houses of Parliament and Shakespeare's Globe Theatre can all be easily reached from our prime spot in London Bridge. London Bridge tube station is just a 5 minute walk from the hostel so you can access other parts of the city in minutes. The Oasis offers a mix of dorm rooms and private rooms with a 24-hour reception so you can go in and out as you please. With women in mind, we’ve equipped the female-only floor with comfy pillows, fresh bed linen, towels, hair-dryers and full length mirrors in rooms and bathrooms. The hostel also benefits from 24 hour security on the premises. You can make the most of the hostel party bar downstairs which is available to all hostel guests on the premises. We regularly host live DJ’s, bar crawls, free walking tours and other sociable hostel events which makes meeting fellow travellers super easy. Enjoy 25% off food in the hostel bar and restaurant (only eligible those who are guests at the hostel). Serving up tasty burgers, bar snacks, salads and an incredible line-up of cocktails, the hostel bar has you covered if you ever get peckish!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
24-hour front desk
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

161-165 Borough High Street, London SE1 1HR England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
Heathrow Airport
25.5 km
See all flights
London Bridge
6 minUnderground
100Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 25
  • 32
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sss wrote a review Mar 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good stay, rooms maybe a little bit cold. bed sheets and blankets could be of better quality. Close to big and famous Borough food market. You can eat breakfast by prepaid billing on your stay price which is cheaper. The hostel is close to public transportation.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book through hostel website to get food discount and free drink at hostel bar&restaurant. Visit...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chloé B wrote a review Oct 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. Very noisy and unclean but good for people who want to party all night long. I definitely do not recommend if you wanna rest and sleep as you can hear the loud music from the club and the doors banging during the night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media, General Manager at St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge
Responded 02 Nov 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please could you email feedback@st-christophers.co.uk as we would like to discuss further your stay at St Christopher's Inn? Thank you x
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice wrote a review Apr 2024
Glasgow
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great base for a few nights stay in London. Would recommend a private pod, they were really comfortable and all you need for that extra bit of privacy. Shared facilities were fine, no lengthy wait for the bathroom or shower. If you’re looking for an early nights sleep be aware Belushi’s Bar downstair can get very noisy and the music goes on quite late but it wasn’t really an issue.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alisonmurph wrote a review Feb 2004
dublin, ireland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok, so Londons expensive but we found the rooms at the Orient Espresso were more prison cell like in their appearence. Also, there was the hastle of going further down the road to check in and have breakfast!
Some rooms didnt have electrical sockets and even in the depths of winter were really stuffy so cant imagine what it would be like come summer ! On the plus side its really quiet - if thats what you want!
Security is good with swipe cards on doors. Its about 5 min walk from London Bridge tube station.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
annlu2015 wrote a review Mar 2016
Trondheim, Norway
4.0 of 5 bubbles
To come to Oasis felt like coming to heaven, after I had spent some nights before at one of London's cheapest hostels. Oasis is a very good hostel. I stayed in a 14 bed dorm, the room is large it even has a table and chairs. When I arrived around 10 in the morning I got the key to my room immediately and had access to all the facilities except the bed. There is no kitchen, but they have tea and coffee making facilities a microwave and a fridge. The hostel is clean and new. Showers are good. Every bed has a reading light, many sockets and a big locker under the bed (take with you your own padlock). Fast and free wifi, that also worked in the dorm. The breakfast is free and better than the average hostel breakfast. Oasis is a place where you really can relax after a long day as a tourist.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STCHostels, Manager at St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge
Responded 27 Mar 2016
You forgot to mention we also have awesome guests;)!! We're so glad you took advantage of all the things we implement to make your stay at St. Christopher's the best! We hope to see you back in our hostel soon:D Safe travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda W wrote a review Jul 2015
Skjolden, Norway
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were seven girls who rented a room with eight beds at St Christopher's Oasis. We were placed at the one closest to the London Bridge underground, and not the one where they served breakfast etc. We knew it was a bed and breakfast and did not expect a lot, but I guess we did expect some more peace and quiet. Our room was headed against the road outside, and during the whole night it was noisy and loud from outside. It actually felt like we were LYING ON THE STREET, yes it was THAT noisy. Drunk people were screaming and shouting outside as well. The bathroom was in bad shape, but it worked fine because we were only doing our make-up in there. The shower was so tiny it almost felt claustrophobic and the water was TOO WARM. If we wanted breakfast we had to walk over to another place. The first place (I do not remember the name) was horrible, and there was hardly any food left when we came. The other place was where the reception was, and it was overcrowded. After a while we got a table and set down. We ate white bread with ham on, that was everything we got.

It was cheap, but I feel that we paid too much for such a bad place. Well, luckily we were close to an underground, and we sure got to try out bed and breakfast. A thing on our bucket list. We are never going back there that is for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
road2cairo wrote a review Dec 2013
Salt Lake City, Utah
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the reception is several blocks away from Oasis, it wasn't really a problem. Once you've checked in and have your key card, you are literally steps away from the London Bridge tube station (exit at Borough Street), you get free wi-fi at Oasis and The Village, you can do your laundry (between 7-10 am and 4 and 10 pm), store your stuff (bring your own padlock for the room), and get free breakfast (toast, cereal, juice, tea, fruit, yogurt). I met some really interesting people while staying there. Earlier comments about the entrance to Oasis being down an alleyway is a bit misleading...yes there is an alley to go down, but it isn't very far down that alley-it is very close to the sidewalk. It also has good lighting, especially being on top of a noodle house. I didn't notice the smell of noodles in my room, but it did smell a bit like noodles in the hallway on the lower level. I was on the very top floor, so wasn't very close to their kitchen. The Oasis has no lift, so be prepared to walk up a narrow staircase (pack as light as you can!) and possibly several flights of stairs if you are on the top floor. If you get a room on the street side you get a great city view (though its a busy street and can be noisy, so bring those earplugs or MP3 players & earbuds with you). You are also right across the street from the Borough Market, which is fantastic :) Being so close to a main tube station, you can get just about anywhere very quickly. The Post Office is just up the street, and you will get the best rate on a money exchange if you need one (don't bother with the places that advertise the best exchange rate-they lie). You can't check in to your room until 2 but you can store your stuff in lockers until you can check in (£3 for 12 hours for a big locker; less for smaller lockers or for a shorter period of time)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: It was easy to find Oasis; finding reception took a bit longer because the address is a bit...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thoroughly_honest wrote a review Jan 2013
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst. I wouldn't pay £5 for a night in this place. It's on such a loud busy street, entrance in a small alleyway took ages to find. Can't change water temperature in the shower and have to continually press the tap because it turns off every 10 seconds. There are 2 toilets, 1 shower and beds and that's it. No lounge, no tv, nothing. The reception is even down the road! The only half decent thing is the wifi, which I don't find too great either! Defiantly DO NOT RECOMMEND. I have stayed in hostels for the same price and have had much much better experiences. Not worth the money. Finding somewhere else asap. I don't want to spend any more time than I have to here. No atmosphere at all. Totally un sociable and uncomfortable. Hate it
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
liselex wrote a review Oct 2019
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there for two nights.

One day when I was getting changed a Male member of staff walked in. While I have no problem with Male staff servicing female only dorms although even that is debatable, you would expect them to at least knock! Or walk straight out if they see you are getting changed. Bu none of that hapened.
I emailed the manager to complain but she was argumentative and put the blame on me as apparently I shouldnt get changed there and it can make other females uncomfortable too and even accusing me in being naked...

I dont know what made the manager assume that I was naked
While everyone may have different values but you dont have to be naked in order to be uncomfortable to change in front of a man you dont know. Getting changed is a rather intimate process and despite wearing a top and an underware I was trying to change my trousers which isn't something you do in front of a man if you chose to stay on female dorm.

It was unpleasant and embarrassing but I'm most cross about how it was handled when I emailed them. Really just assuming I didn't wear any underware ? That's the only reason to be uncomfortable? Like even if I was how is that relevant ? Would that therefor make it ok for the member of staff to walk in without a knock and not walk out or what?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin C wrote a review Jan 2016
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: fairly friendly staff, central, cheap, big lockers under beds
Cons: very loud, tons of young drunk kids (massive bar downstairs), dirty bathrooms and rooms

I would definitely not stay here again- but it was cheap for central London.. You get what you pay for
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from STCHostels, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge
Responded 29 Jan 2016
Hello there, thank you for your feedback.As advertised we are a party hostel, sorry we are not everyone tastes. But our staff is always here to help, next don't hesitate to ask one of them if you find an issue. We still hope you will visit us in the future. Take care and safe travel ;)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sss wrote a tip Mar 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book through hostel website to get food discount and free drink at hostel bar&restaurant. Visit Borough food market."
Read full review
Emily R wrote a tip Sept 2017
19 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I'd imagine the higher up the better to avoid noise from the bar, if you're allowed to pick."
Read full review
LizzaHademi wrote a tip Apr 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia196 contributions61 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for room/bed far away from the window or the road."
Read full review
CupcakeBatgirl wrote a tip Oct 2016
Waterloo, Canada27 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Private rooms were so nice, and really not that much more expensive. If you want the privacy, it's well worth it."
Read full review
hwilliams225 wrote a tip Jun 2016
Austin, Texas12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
""female-friendly" "safe" "good for sports games""
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 657 - R 3,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St Christopher's Orient Espresso
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouthwark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST CHRISTOPHER'S INNS OASIS LONDON BRIDGE - Now R 1 833 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶2̶4̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge
Which popular attractions are close to St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge?
Nearby attractions include Borough Market (0.3 km), The View from The Shard (0.4 km), and Escape from the Golden Hinde (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mallow - Borough Market, Lord Clyde Southwark, and The Bermondsey Bierkeller.
Are there any historical sites close to St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (2.3 km), Tower of London (1.2 km), and Churchill War Rooms (2.6 km).
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near St Christopher's Inns Oasis London Bridge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire