The Z Hotel Trafalgar

The Z Hotel Trafalgar

The bed
Traveller (63)
The bathroom sink.
Room & Suite (11)
Cafe Area
Dining (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#534 of 1 139 hotels in London
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nelson's column, lions, fountains, street artists and a stepping stone to the finest museums. What's not to love about London's most recognised landmark. Our 141-bed hotel let's you explore, shop, entertain, eat, party, work, and when you're done, sleep.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English

Location

53-59 Chandos Place, London WC2N 4HS England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
12.2 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
23.3 km
See all flights
Leicester Square
4 minUnderground
158Reviews9Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 33
  • 14
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KP3604 wrote a review Feb 2020
Derbyshire, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I could not fault the hotel at all, this was our first weekend in London and we couldn’t have picked a better location, it’s just 2 minutes from the nearest tube station and only a few minutes walk to Covent Garden. First impressions were excellent, warm, welcoming and inviting, the reception area with cafe/bar was lovely and everywhere was fresh and spotlessly clean. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful when we dropped our luggage off in the morning until we were ready to check in. Our room was just perfect, modern, immaculate, well thought out and comfortable and very quiet. They may be small but they’re perfectly formed with plenty of soft towels, toiletries, hairdryer and water/tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was slightly hard for my liking but still a good nights sleep and pillows and duvet were nice and comfy. The complimentary cheese and wine in the evening was a really nice touch and was excellent. We were able to leave our luggage when we checked out until we were ready to go home. The staff were all fabulous and friendly and we will certainly stay in a Z Hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MirunaHarpa, General Manager at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 03 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a nice review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed the style of Z Hotels, our location and our facilities. The cheese and wine buffet in the evening is our way of thanking our guests for choosing us and a chance to get to know our guests better. We think a good night sleep is vital when it comes to having a great hotel stay. For this reason we emphasise a lot on the quality of our mattresses and bedding, which are all hand made in Devon. Please leave a comment next time you stay with us and we can put a topper on the mattress in order to make it softer. It makes me really proud to hear the staff looked after you and provided such a great service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Miruna Harpa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe B wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom65 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I visited the Z Hotel Trafalgar having visited the Soho branch of the hotel a few years back.
The rooms are small but modern, clean and comfortable - exactly what you need when you just need somewhere to sleep whilst you explore the city! They include all the facilities you might need including tea and coffee, water and a brilliant shower.
The staff we’re really friendly and check in, and even told us about a free cheese and wine evening they were running that night. This was such a perk and lovely to enjoy a glass of wine before going out for dinner.

The location was brilliant, walking distance from many of London’s west end attractions.

I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stop over on their visit to London.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MirunaHarpa, General Manager at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Chloe, Thank you for your lovely review. I am really happy to hear that you stayed in Z Hotels before and decided to return and book a room in our newest property. We believe that the some of the most important aspects when booking a hotel room are a comfortable bed and a powerful shower and it's great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. I will make sure to pass your lovely review to our team members. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Miruna Harpa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrstraveller1 wrote a review Jun 2022
York, United Kingdom2,090 contributions1,314 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great stay. The location is excellent for theatreland & the bars & restaurants of Soho, Covent Garden etc, ideal if you want to pack a lot in to your London trip. Check-in was warm & efficient, 10 out of 10 for the young, helpful team on reception, & the lovely lady who mans the all day cafe/bar in the lobby. The hotel has a modern, functional design with few frills, but they do a damn good job at this level, offering funky affordability. Rooms are compact, with frosted glass doors into the bathroom, so only really suited to solo travellers & cosy couples. Some rooms are windowless, which I personally would hate, & thus paid a tad more for one with a window. Despite the very central location, good soundproofing mitigated much of the noise from the busy streets.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel T wrote a review Apr 2022
Cowfold, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first time at Z hotels and actually was an extremely good experience.

My partner was doing the half marathon on the Sunday so originally we book another hotel for the Saturday night and last minute decided we would stay on Sunday for logistics but choose this hotel instead of extending our stay at the previous property due to its location.

Check in was at 15.00 but my partner finished far earlier than expected and we headed to the hotel, in the vein hope of an early check in or just to drop of bags. 3 hours early they had a room ready and allowed us to check in without any difficulty, I don’t know if this would be a regular thing but I could have hugged that woman for seeing the need to shower and change after a 13.1 mile run.

All the staff we encountered were friendly and professional and the room was very clean.

We had a room without a window, and although we initially didn’t like the idea was actually really nice to have our small sanctuary in a fabulous location.

Only 4* as I did love the almost Japanese theme small rooms it did mean it lost some practically elements like somewhere to dry a towel or to really unpack so it was a little chaotic finding things.

That been said the faculties they had were amazing, the ability to control different lights from the bed and the AC unit meant even without a window the room still smelt fresh.

I would definitely stay here again for a short stay.

Thank you to all the staff at the hotel, especially for letting us check in early- you have no idea how much that meant
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pack Light USB charging sockets Great shower Wonderful location
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly the hotel is in the prime location, there’s a lot of bars/restaurants nearby and the hotel itself was very clean and tidy. Me and my partner booked the standard room that sleeps 2 people, and when we were checking in we were told that really only sleeps 1 person and there is only enough space for 1 so they upgraded us to the next size up which was an additional cost, fine - we were happy to pay this. After payment was taken we were advised that the room had a window and the one we originally booked hadn’t… which didn’t bother us at all hence why we booked that room & it was also a room with disabled facilities. The window is frosted glass so you cannot see out of it anyway and the window did not open so this was completely pointless. The shower/bathroom space was very open as expected and you could see through the glass, plus being as it had disabled facilities the shower head would not stay up, it kept constantly sliding down.
Wasn’t happy with the choice of breakfasts and was not worth the money, there could have been more of a selection and a better range of food.

Overall it was a lovely hotel but we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lina Freitas, General Manager at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Barnzy18, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All our hotels are situated in great locations, to make it easier for our guests to find the station, shops, and nearby restaurants, as well as being in central locations. In Z Hotels we have a unique concept offering luxury compact rooms. I am sorry to hear that our concept did not meet your expectations. I would like to mention that some of our windows are indeed frosted, however this is only to offer privacy to our lovely guest, due to location of the rooms. Please note that the windows are close for our guest’s safety only. I am sorry to know that you did not like the room allocated to you. Kindly note, that our reception is open 24h, therefore our staff is always happy to assist you whenever required. I f we would have known, we would have done our best to offer you a room move, according to your preferences. I appreciate that you would prefer more variety in our breakfast selection, however we would like to inform you that due to COVID, we had to do temporary adjustments in our Menu. We are looking forward to bringing back our previous Menu. We truly Thank you once again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Lina Freitas Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ana S wrote a review Nov 2021
Ayr, United Kingdom186 contributions124 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst back in London on business, I stayed at Z Trafalgar. Having stayed at Z Glasgow many times I was hoping to experience a similar standard of service, especially paying £117 for the night.

The hotel's location is literally 2 minutes from Trafalgar Square and a stones throw from Covent Garden. The reception/bar area is spotless, clean and minimal in design - so a good first impression. The lady who checked me in was lovely, and kindly showed me a room that was ready before checking in to see if I'd be happy with it which was a nice touch.

I was allocated room 021 at the back of the building which didn't have a window. It was spotless, there was a free jug of water in the room, great air con, a powerful shower and a very comfortable bed. I'd strongly encourage you to check out the pictures before booking as the space is quite tight and might feel quite claustrophobic for some.

Considering the hotel was full, I was surprised how quiet it was. For £117 a night, the service was great, and I left feeling refreshed the following morning. I'd highly recommend Z trafalgar if you're looking for a reliable place to base yourself whilst exploring the city.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms online before booking as they're very compact and quite small.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Luke R wrote a review Feb 2022
57 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in 2 different branches of hotel Z in the area this is the third as I like to try them all. We are well aware the rooms are very compact and essentially just for sleeping and a base for quick London trips and this is why we love them and you can get for a great price. This branch is definitely the weakest of the three and needs to step up the game to meet the standards of the other two branches. We had a queen inside room so literally queen bed and bathroom no window not a problem. However in this branch the room was literally backing onto the bar and reception area it was so close in fact that the whole room shook and vibrated every time somebody used the lift which didn’t stop till 3am and started again around 7.30. Also directly outside our room door was the main cleaning cupboard for the whole cleaning team so very early was open getting supplies talking and general work so even if you had tried to have a lay in you wouldn’t have had a chance. Even worse was some sort of coffee machine or drinking machine connected to the wall at the foot of our bed that when used made the most awful beeping sound so loud that I jumped out of bed and thought the fire alarm was going off which happened again at around 3am when the last guest arrived for the night used this then the lift afterwards. Room was clean but shower head was damaged and wouldn’t stay upright you literally had to hold it over yourself to have a shower. Lots of work needed and a bit of TLC to bring up the standard. Positives room clean staff polite and friendly and great location. Negatives all off the above especially not being able to get a good sleep which is the main point of the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lina Freitas, Owner at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 03 Jul 2022
Dear Luke, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us on your last stay at Z Trafalgar. I am afraid we do have rooms closer to the lift, however please feel free to ask for a quit room on your next stay and we will do our best to fulfil your request. I would also pass the feedback to our Team members, avoiding the noise situations in the future. We are hoping to welcoming you in the future, giving us the opportunity to turn your experience around offering you a better stay. Kind Regards, Lina Freitas Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moleseyboy wrote a review Oct 2021
London, United Kingdom386 contributions220 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at 11pm and left at 8am after one night at the hotel. For this sort of stay, the Z Hotel is great. I chose a windowless room, which sounded horrendous but in central London ensured a quiet night! The room was small but had all the necessary elements: effective and quiet airco, good & firm bed, good shower, free water. Compared to nearly every other hotel, it is excellent value for money. The service was friendly and efficient and is in a central location for tourists or business people on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lina Freitas, General Manager at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Dear Moleseyboy, Thank you very much to taking the time to leave us a review, I am very glad that our concept met your expectations. As you have mentioned, our aim is to provide good night sleep in cozy and modern rooms in the prime located properties. Our rooms are very simply designed, however very tidy and with everything you need for a short business trip. It is also great to see that you mentioned our staff, as we strive to improve on our customer service at all times. Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the nearest future. Kind regards, Lina Freitas, Cluster Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MoxT wrote a review Jan 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark130 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Seemingly new hotel where it is hard to find out where they are heading. Location is just perfect. A calm street close to Covent Garden. Nice offering of wine and snacks for free in the afternoon. Rooms are very, very small, air conditioning is noisy, windows can’t open. On the other hand a strong smell of perfume/detergent all over, hotel staff are more efficient than friendly (except for the lovely older women working in the restaurant).

And please don’t ask guest to pay on forehand in a restaurant!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MirunaHarpa, General Manager at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear MoxT, Thank you for your review. We opened the hotel in November and we are still working really hard to complete the works. Hopefully we should be fully open by the end of February and we hope to welcome you again. The cheese and wine offer is our way of thanking our guests for choosing Z Hotels and I am really happy to hear you enjoyed the buffet. The concept of the hotel is to have compact rooms in very central locations. Our design team ensures we make good use of all the space in the room and increase the functionality (such as space under the bed for suitcases). Next time you make a reservation, please add a note in regards to the chemicals used in the room and we can speak with the housekeeping department to prepare a room using chemicals without a strong fragrance. We are training the staff at the moment and thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. Hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Miruna Harpa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matandsabs wrote a review Feb 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom115 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an overnight stay and went to see a show on the west end. The location of this hotel is walking distance to Covent Garden and very close to Charing Cross station, 3 min walk.

The staff here are very friendly and accommodating. The inside rooms are small and we upgraded for £10 to a window room.

Really nice stay and would definitely come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MirunaHarpa, General Manager at The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in London. We always seek to have very central and convenient locations for our guests, in terms of touristic attractions and public transport. It's good to hear that you liked our location. We offer both rooms with or without window and I am glad to hear that the team helped you find the one most suitable in order for you to have a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Miruna Harpa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Stuart Rich
Rye, United Kingdom95 contributions70 helpful votes
It was £13 a person and it’s a continental tykes breakfast buffet
Giuls asked a question Mar 2023
Genoa, Italy597 contributions228 helpful votes
La colazione offre opzioni vegan? Se si, cosa avete? Latte di soia? Pane marmellata e frutta?
Answer from Ali M
Calgary, Canada10 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, fruit, yogurt, cereal, buns or toast, jam
Ali M asked a question Oct 2022
Calgary, Canada10 contributions1 helpful vote
Are there blowdryers
Answer from ChrisDebbie12
Ipswich, United Kingdom158 contributions75 helpful votes
Yes there are
Lepnor asked a question Jun 2022
Tel Aviv, Israel33 contributions15 helpful votes
Is breakfast included or served?
Answer from Adriana P
6 contributions
No, is not included, but you can have it for cheap, is a buffet, quite basic, but cheap as well
Haliaeetus Pelagicus wrote a tip 10 Jun
Petionville, Haiti141 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a special cheese and wine tasting on Tuesday at the reception!"
Read full review
omm987 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Brighton, United Kingdom27 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack minimally, not much space for luggage or yourself"
Read full review
PaulCharluke wrote a tip Jul 2023
Ipswich, United Kingdom197 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They happily take your bags at anytime. Always bring the Card,you booked with. If you are over 6ft,it might be tight. "
Read full review
Tanya wrote a tip Jul 2023
Chatham, United Kingdom55 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don’t like small contained spaces with no natural light. I wouldn’t recommend. Ideal for location."
Read full review
littlemissholiday wrote a tip Jun 2023
Dublin, Ireland17 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid breakfast in the hotel. Plenty of choices in the surrounding area of the hotel to eat."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,337 - R 4,969 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonCovent Garden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
141
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE Z HOTEL TRAFALGAR - Now R 2 001 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶1̶9̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (London, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Which popular attractions are close to The Z Hotel Trafalgar?
Nearby attractions include National Gallery (0.2 km), Covent Garden (0.3 km), and The Lion King (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Z Hotel Trafalgar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at The Z Hotel Trafalgar?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Z Hotel Trafalgar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chop Chop, Leicester Square Kitchen, and Americana.
Are there any historical sites close to The Z Hotel Trafalgar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.2 km), Tower of London (3.4 km), and Churchill War Rooms (0.9 km).
Is The Z Hotel Trafalgar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near The Z Hotel Trafalgar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire