Mercure London Bridge

Mercure London Bridge

Traveller (219)
Bed met dikke aangename matras
Room & Suite (86)
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#269 of 1 144 hotels in London
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 9 more

Location

71 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
10.4 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
Southwark
6 minUnderground
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles616 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Mercure London Bridge hotel garners appreciation for its spotless cleanliness and friendly staff, with the modern amenities and comfortable bedding adding to its charm. However, guests feel that the value for money falls short, noting high prices and discomfort in the snug rooms. While the hotel's prime location near key attractions is a highlight for many, the experience is sometimes dampened by service inconsistencies and rooms with temperature control issues.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
616Reviews34Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 381
  • 138
  • 50
  • 28
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
angelomichel wrote a review Mar 2020
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very convenient hotel for Tate modern and the Globe. Overall the reception staff and breakfast staff are absolutely fantastic and really cannot be faulted in any way. However when it comes to servicing the room it is a totally different matter. On our recent stay there was continuing problems every day. We stayed for over a week and the floor was never cleaned or surfaces wiped even where we made the tea or coffee unless we complained about, which we had to do continually. The front desk staff took it seriously and communicated with the room staff - they would do it after a complaint but the next day would be just the same. They also made the bed so it looked good on top, but the bottom sheet was always rucked up so we had to remake it every night. Not really good enough for a 4 star hotel. One night we came back to the room and couldn’t find the remote control for the television. We looked everywhere and couldn’t find it, but when we came to go to bed they had thrown the covers over it! Such a shame that for such a friendly hotel the cleaning staff let them all down. Think overall they need a refurbish as everything in the rooms was a little tired and the carpets seemed quite old and stained in several places. For some reason they have stopped leaving face flannels in the bathroom which was a disappointment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EastAnglianwanderer wrote a review Jan 2020
East Anglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a king privilege room on 5 floor on a Saturday night. Overall the hotel gets 4* due to age and design but it was really good vfm in a great location just behind the Tate Modern and in an up and coming area with plenty of nearby restaurants and coffee shops etc. Check-in staff were very accommodating providing early access to our room. Size-wise the room was a bit bijou but was clean and nicely equipped with Nespresso machine and a selection of complementary soft drinks. Breakfast was very good. Overall highly recommended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard P, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear guest, Thank you so so much for your amazingly complimenting feedback. What a joy for us at Mercure London Bridge to read such words of praise. Thank you for that! We all look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention. Kind regards Bernard Panisse General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
115heike wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff in this hotel are simply amazing. The location is excellent, however the bus (A7) which took us from Victoria Station to the vicinity of the hotel did not accept the Oyster Card nor cash, only Credit Card. Thanks to the wonderful, hospitable, multi-lingual people working here every breakfast and contact with the reception was absolutely pleasant and something to look forward to. We felt we were treated like good friends, not simply hotel guests. Highly recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard P, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your very nice and spontaneous comment. Our teams actually do their best to make their guests feel at home in their hotel and I can confirm to you that all of them are very proud of their job. Your feedback is a very nice reward for all of us and we sincerely hope that you will choose the Mercure London Bridge for your next stay in London. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, Bernard Panisse General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard G wrote a review Jun 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There certainly isn't a shortage of hotels in the London Bridge/Blackfriars area, even within the Accor brand itself. So, when I arrived at this Mercure hotel, I was initially quite impressed, as the lobby and bar area looked to be very well designed and classy.

The man who checked us in though was at best apathetic and there was clearly some sort of miscommunication on the booking as he had the cheek to ask if I wanted to pay for breakfast (which was included- this wasn't the first time I'd be asked this either).

The room was weirdly small for what was supposedly an "executive privilege", in fact I'm not sure if this was even supposed to be one! The desk clearly hadn't been cleaned as there were various sticky looking stains on it, with the fridge being empty too (no "complimentary soft drinks" then!)

What genuinely saves this from being a scathing review from top to bottom is the excellent location, the bed itself (no different to other Mercure hotels, mind you) and the restaurant staff, particularly the very chirpy chef at breakfast. It was also good to see the breakfast offering move more towards a pre-COVID selection with hot food being available.

This isn't a cheap hotel by any stretch of the imagination, but as a Gold member of Accor, I would encourage this hotel to look at the Novotel around the corner on how to run a £100+ per night establishment in the London Bridge area. I certainly wouldn't bother returning to this Mercure again unless there was some sort of major change.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard Panisse, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to know that our hotel did not match your expectation; I am pleased however to see that you liked our breakfast offer. Sincerely Bernard Panisse General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
M K wrote a review May 2021
Kyiv, Ukraine
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed there with my partner for a night. It was our first travel tour after a long lockdown and my disappointment with this hotel reached beyond the limits. Everything was filthy, dirty and cheap there. Doors and wardrobe were covered with some kind of oil imprints like some bunch of kids tried to wipe out their hands after eating fish and chips barehanded . I am glad I took my own slippers with me as the hotel doesn’t provide those and I think chances are very high to catch some kind of fungus from their filthy old carpet covered in stains. Even going to the toilet/bathroom was not a pleasant experience as there was black fungus in there and the toiled had some kind of yellow plaque inside which could be easily taken off using some bleach. So why was that so dirty?
There also was a nespresso coffee machine in the room but no nespresso capsules provided at all. So why is that in the room I don’t understand. The hotel kindly provided some tea bags and instant coffee but only one paper cup per person and no spoons to mix it. So you have to save your paper cup for the next drink after using it.
And the final disappointment were old sheets with multiple stains on them. They smelled fresh to be honest but looked like they were saved from the past century judging by the amount of stains on them.
On the other hand staff were very pleasant and nice so I gave 1 star for very good staff there, especially at the breakfast point but we will never return to this hotel ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard Panisse, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 01 Jun 2021
Thank you for your feedback which is clearly disappointing to read and for which I offer my apologies for the experience you had at the hotel. We just re-open the hotel and this feedback is invaluable in helping us focus on areas we need to look to improve upon. Sadly, due to the anonymity of your response I am unable to check further the room you stayed in so that I can discuss this with the team so we can learn from our shortcomings. It is my hope you will give us or the Mercurel brand a chance again in the future as although I know there are areas we need to focus and improve upon many of our guest do testify that we are a good hotel with over 87% of our Trip Advisor ratings being very good or excellent. Sincerely Bernard Panisse General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chantal v wrote a review Mar 2020
Antwerp, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lets start with the best things about this hotel: Jessica and Davide. They both made us feel more than welcome and added a personal touch to our 4 nights in London. I was a bit apprehensive about staying in a mercure again as I have recently not been treated as a Platinum member should be during several stays in Mercures in Germany. This hotel however had our room key ready, along with the drinks vouchers, a map of the city and a lovely welcome card with a little chocolate gift. They had upgraded us as well. The hotel is located in Southbank with so many great bars and restaurants you won't know which one to choose! Public transport is nearby and you can easily walk to many sights as well. The hotel has done its utmost to add special touches to the standard mercure interior and they have succeeded in creating a cool bar, restaurant and lobby area. We had a spot of lunch in the hotel - good food! - and found they had a large selection of good wines. Breakfast is also good, a standard selection of fresh food and a choice of about 5 hot dishes to be ordered with the staff. The coffee is good and the breakfast staff are very efficient. The rooms are slightly outdated with small beds, but comfortable nonetheless. Bathrooms are a little odd in their set up but clean and with a good shower. I can't really fault this hotel and will for sure return in the future. Thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jb1972 wrote a review Mar 2022
Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The positives: great location, cleanliness
But ... room was way too hot to sleep in. 24°. We had a very uncomfortable 3 nights of no sleep. Very friendly reception offered to get an engineer to check the air con, but didn't change anything - we returned to find an enormous and very noisy fan.
The single use paper cups in the room are ridiculous and wasteful. What is wrong with proper mugs that can be washed and reused? Mercure should be ashamed of this policy - choosing laziness over the environment.
Breakfast was nothing special.
Breakfast coffee is horrible. Recommend using the sachets of instant provided, instead of the filter machine.
Staff were friendly but didn't seem very happy. Hotel lacks atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard Panisse, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 06 Apr 2022
Dear guest, I thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry to hear about your experiences as they do not reflect our normal standards. We usually do our utmost to please our guests and we are very attentive to their needs. I will therefore pass on your feedback to the relevant teams in order to avoid any future re-occurrence. Again sorry for the inconvenience caused and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Bernard Panisse General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
George B wrote a review Oct 2021
Farnborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Following a major incident at Waterloo Station cancelling all the outbound trains at the end of the night, Network Rail put stranded customers up in various nearby hotels, as cabs were unavailable (fuel shortage issues).
I ended up here, and it was a pleasant surprise. The staff were ready and willing to assist at 0100 in the morning. My key was handed over without question of why I was there. The shared space and bar all spotless, with good bar service.
My room was spotless. A very comfortable bed, with good temperature control and an excellent shower. The morning breakfast was well-presented with helpful staff

When I got home after this unexpected stay, I checked the going rates and consider this a very good value hotel for central London. Its the sort of place you dont really notice - Im glad I discovered it, in an unexpected way. A real silver-lining to a challenging situation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard Panisse, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 04 Oct 2021
Many thanks for your very nice and spontaneous comment. Our teams actually do their best to make their guests feel at home in their hotel and I can confirm to you that all of them are very proud of their job. Your feedback is a very nice reward for all of us and we sincerely hope that you will choose the Mercure London Bridge for your next stay in London. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards, Bernard Panisse General Manage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arnie_the_armadillo wrote a review Jan 2024
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a 3 night deal via Secret Escapes on a B&B basis and couldn't have been more delighted.

From the welcome at reception to the bar and breakfast staff nothing was too much trouble and we felt like valued customers.

Our room was spotless and very comfortable, we were at the front of the building overlooking the road however were never disturbed by any noise.

The hotel is located behind the Tate Modern and close to Borough Market and is in a perfect location to explore central London and close to London Bridge tube station for exploring further afield.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting London and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard Panisse, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear Arnie_the_armadillo, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay with us at Mercure London Bridge! It's heartening to know that you felt welcomed from reception to the bar and breakfast team. Ensuring our guests feel valued and well taken care of is a top priority, and we're delighted that we succeeded in providing you with a positive experience. We're pleased to hear that your room was spotless, comfortable, and that you found our location convenient to explore London. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we can't wait to host you again. Kind Regards, Chloe Delattre Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CreativeCopy wrote a review Apr 2022
Yorktown, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm on night #3 here, and two to go. I've really found it to be an excellent value, it feels much more expensive than it is. There's a great coffee shop right next door (breakfast here was too pricey for us), the lobby of the hotel is chic and modern yet has some fun Londony quirks. The rooms are a bit larger than standard European. Only drawbacks were the odd placement of outlets (none in the bathroom!?) and low bathroom lighting. But the front desk has been so helpful and friendly, and they even left us a plate of fresh fruit and a welcome card for the first time we returned back from siteseeing. They additionally put complimentary sodas in our fridge! Grabbing some quick food for the room is easy, with an Amazon convenience store on the same block, and two small food markets around the corner. I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernard Panisse, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge
Responded 06 Apr 2022
Dear guest, Thank you so much for some a wonderful review! I am so happy to hear that you had such a great time in our hotel. Your messages of praise have been seen by the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Bernard Panisse General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve Riley wrote a tip May 2024
Macclesfield, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"About 10 min walk to southwark station and 10 min from borough. Well placed for a lot of sight seeing attractions."
Read full review
Sandip P wrote a tip Oct 2023
Uxbridge, United Kingdom36 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come early for breakfast "
Read full review
Asch wrote a tip Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are celebrating anything, let them know in advance. They have a Marco Pierre White's in house."
Read full review
Michelle M wrote a tip Aug 2023
Peterborough, New Hampshire3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taking the stairs was often faster than waiting for the elevator, esp. if you’re on a lower floor."
Read full review
Jane K wrote a tip Aug 2023
19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No more than 10mins walk from London Bridge Station, Borough Market, Tate Modern. M&S Food opposite is handy. Buses from outside or just around the corner"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,250 - R 5,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure london city bankside hotel london, accor london city bankside
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Mercure London City Bankside
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonSouthwark
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE LONDON BRIDGE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure London Bridge
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure London Bridge?
Nearby attractions include Immersive Gamebox - London Southbank (0.3 km), Londra Culturale (0.4 km), and Shakespeare's Globe Theatre (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure London Bridge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure London Bridge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure London Bridge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure London Bridge?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure London Bridge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lord Clyde Southwark, Oxbo Bankside, and Lord Nelson.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure London Bridge?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure London Bridge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure London Bridge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure London Bridge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Mercure London Bridge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire