Travelodge London Farringdon

Travelodge London Farringdon

10-42 King's Cross Road Between King's Cross And Farringdon Stations, London WC1X 9QE England
Traveller (255)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#513 of 1 140 hotels in London
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Modern Hotel situated close to King's Cross Station & a short drive from West End, British Museum & other attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Separate dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Latvian

Location

10-42 King's Cross Road Between King's Cross And Farringdon Stations, London WC1X 9QE England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
London City Airport
11.8 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
24.5 km
See all flights
Russell Square
11 minUnderground
2,423Reviews68Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,127
  • 584
  • 280
  • 198
  • 235
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Magic K wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this Travelodge when I would normally go to a premier Inn or better in London however I paid £200 for 2 nights and it stated all rooms had been recently refurbished so I booked this hotel. Unfortunately when I arrived our room was very tired and dated there was clumps of dust and dirt in the corner of the rooms and along high surfaces and the bath was stained. The shower curtain had also seen better days. I wouldn't have booked this hotel if I knew I wasn't getting a new room as advertised on the website.
The hotel is walking distance to kings cross but it wasn't an easy walk with a pram it felt further and the closest tube station was closed while we were there so had to walk to the next one.
Staff were pleasant and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Zack from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Farringdon
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn you were pleased with the Hotels location, however we are sorry to hear of the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we can confirm this will be used to improve the service we offer. We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason wrote a review Feb 2020
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 1 night with Evening meal and All you can eat buffet Breakfast.

Twin room with tv, bathroom, clothes hanging space and tea and coffee making facilities

Very typical travelodge. Clean, Comfortable bed, clean lines, minimalistic Everything you need while away from home.

Not the best location if want to be in central London (30 minute walk/15 minute bus before you start) I booked it thinking it's close to train station which was my mistake.

Evening meal 2 courses for £12.50
I had pizza and ordered fudge cake but got given chocolate ice cream sundae, the waitress plonked them on the table and ran off before I could even say anything then never saw another member of staff again. Pizza was good but sundae the cake was old chocolate muffin and was dry but for price we paid cant complain.

Breakfast was buffet with cereal, cooked breakfast, tea and coffee, fruit and croissants. All tasted good
It was nice to be able to sit and enjoy it and not feel rushed.
Breakfast staff were alot more friendly and asked if everything was ok. Felt full and satisfied.

A good nights sleep, good stay. Just too far out of central London.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stefan359 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed this weekend Friday till monday am. 10/1/2020-14/1/2020. A superroom with own coffee maker and extras. The cleaner didn’t come once until I protested at reception twice and to try supervisor. Then she cMe around 5pm Sunday and said only be 10 mins to service room. She never left any more coffee capsules or tea or water. No change of sheets either and it didn’t smell refreshed like it had even been hoovered just the same old sheets since Friday am .
The breakfast closed before 11am on Saturday morning and the supervisor did get an Apology from the lady in charge of service that day for being dismissive and not allowing me to get food at 10:55am!
Sunday’s breakfast was nice and so was the service.
At the cafe Sunday evening the service was slow and the fish fingers 4x with chips was tasteless. The guy at the counter at cafe did warm up some Sainsbury’s veggies for me which I was grateful for. Over all it is a budget hotel or lodge and no where near as good as premier in or park plaza but the rate for 3 days was okay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Farringdon
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Farringdon Hotel. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helenb1975 wrote a review Jan 2020
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay here at the end of December 2019 for one night, wouldn’t return to this one. Travelodge, in general, you tend to know the standard and what to expect and I’m quite happy to use them, this one was a let down!!! Bed was comfy as usual and shower was hot! That’s it. The bar on our return from sightseeing was limited and the most expensive we’d seen all day, so don’t drink there. The person behind the bar (after waiting ages for someone to appear) didn’t have a clue what she was doing, other people came in the bar and had a very long wait for staff to re-appear (even after we informed rec they were waiting)After getting in bed we realised The bright ceiling ‘down lights’ above our pillows wouldn’t turn off. Went down to rec in my pjs (cos there’s no phone) to be told someone would be up in approx 5 mins to turn them off from outside the room. (After our wait at the bar I wasn’t expecting a quick response) When staff did come up they turned them off at the fuse box along with all other lights in our room, it was bedtime anyway and promised a free breakfast so we went along with it. However, showering by phone torch in the morning wasn’t the best experience. We then went and asked for a hair dryer that didn’t appear so decided to go for our complimentary breakfast with wet hair. Reception asked if we still needed the hair dryer 😂 to which I asked for it to be put in our room. Breakfast would of been ok if all items were ready at the same time enabling us to have a hot breakfast together. 10 mins we waited for sausages to come out then a further 5 mins for bacon, at this point the scrambled eggs had then been emptied by people who didn’t wait for the meat items. The bacon didn’t come out freshly cooked so don’t know why it took so long. Bare in mind ours was ‘complimentary’ so couldn’t really complain, after being in the restaurant for a good hour or more we realised neither us or anyone else got asked for room numbers (incl friends) meaning everyone potentially got their breakfast free!! On returning to the room there was still no hair dryer. Not a great hotel at all and probably the worst travelodge I’ve experienced. Location however was good
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, James from the Social media Team at Travelodge London Farringdon
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Farringdon Hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. As your experience was not up to our usual standards, could we kindly ask you to contact our Customer Services Team via our website help form, with a copy of your review, so that we can look into this further for you. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather H wrote a review Jan 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
SO it was my first time staying at this side of London and I have to say the location was perfect. 10 mins walk to Kings Cross Tube so you are within easy access to everything!. When we booked this hotel we were going on Travel lodges claims of newly refurbished rooms, this is not the case. Only certain rooms have been done ours was not one of them. The room was dated and not entirely clean (I'm not a fussy person) but the thought of standing on the stained shower tray was not very appealing. By stained I mean it should have been white but was a rusty orange colour. There is tea & coffee facilities in the room and on reception is the tray so you can get more teabags/coffee etc. Our room was not cleaned on the Saturday in fact no one had been in our room at all.
We did have breakfast the next morning which for just under £10 was great, nice choice of hot & cold food and was very tasty.
Now this is my down side, on a couple if occasions at night when we had got back to Kings Cross we had taken a taxi down the road, only £5 on all 3 occasions which after long days was a god send. On the Sunday morning before we checked out we asked reception to phone us taxi, no problem said the gentleman and used his mobile to order a taxi, but told us that is was a cash only taxi. Ok I thought its only a fiver.
When the taxi arrived it had no taxi plates just a private hire vehicle in the from twindow, I was very sceptical but he showed us the booking on his phoned with our names & room number. When we arrived at the station 2 mins later he charged us £10!!!!
this is daylight robbery, we phoned the hotel to complain and they put the phone down on us, when we tried to phone the taxi company (Kings Cross Taxi's) they could speak english. So i would be very dubious and advise all customers to arrange your own taxi's or go outside and flag one down.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher the floor the better away from the traffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Zack from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Farringdon
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn you were pleased with the Hotels location and that you enjoyed the breakfast provided at the hotel, however we are sorry to hear of the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we can confirm this will be used to improve the service we offer. We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Niel D wrote a review Aug 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have given this review 5 stars for 1 reason and 1 reason only otherwise it would have been ziltch.
My 5 stars goes to Nathan who is a management trainee, he was the only person we found helpful polite and lovely and we missed him on the days he wasn't there.
The restaurant is a shambles especially on a breakfast time there was never any buffet items and what was there was never worth £9.95.
The bar staff Antonio was rude and mannerless and told us to get our dog out of the bar when we was waiting to buy 2 waters as the hotel has no vending machine, then on our 3rd day of our 5 night stay our cards stopped working to open the doors and by bad luck we got him on the reception and he didn't even know the day he told us we had to check out that was why the keys didn't work we said no we are here till wednesday and he replied yes that was today, I had to explain no today is monday and tomorrow is tuesday then the day after we go home.
Now to the housekeeping, the rooms are filthy the carpets are stained and grubby and all have a tide mark around the edges. As for the housekeeper well the one in the red apron is just pure ignorant, 2 days she ignored our request to top up our room, the first day we told her the shower gel dispenser was broken so she plonked an industrial sized anti bac hand wash in the bath for us to use, on the monday we ask for toilet roll and clean towels and she said toilet roll was finished gone, and something about no towels so I took them of the trolly and she began shouting, I just went into the room and shut the door, as for toilet roll we had to buy it from a shop as one of the biggest travelodges had none it was finished.
As for the robotic hoovers they need scrapping because they obviously don't work.
I would never stop in this one again it would be Royal Scot next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isabelle Lily wrote a review Jan 2023
Loughborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I booked online for an intended one-night stay, and are now (reluctantly) leaving 3 nights later.

This Travelodge is beautifully located just away from the hustle and bustle of Kings Cross & St Pancras station (about a 10 minute walk), close to both fast food and authentic high quality restaurants alike, and within walking distance from Euston, Camden and Islington. Just behind the hotel, up some short steps, is a small park with a play park and basketball court, which we found to be an added bonus!

Because there was only a small difference in price, we stayed in “super double rooms” (generally located on the 2nd floor), which were well designed and clean, with soft sheets and pillows, ample power sockets, great lighting, a spacious bathroom, and even a coffee machine which made surprisingly good coffee. The views from the rooms are nice and overlook the high street; but the blackout blinds and the height of the rooms prevents the road from being too loud. In a previous stay we also experienced the standard rooms, which were equally comfortable and spacious. The biggest difference is the location of the rooms, modern lighting design and the additions (such as hairdryers, irons, coffee machines and modern decor).

The hotel overall is modern, and the staff are friendly and efficient - they were constantly eager to help, and customer service is very clearly an important priority for this hotel! In particular we found Homayun very helpful, efficiently and generously organising our late check out, and helping us with directions and other queries gladly.

I’m terms of value for money, my partner and I are extremely pleased with the quality and service provided for such affordable prices.

All in all my partner and I had a brilliant experience with Travelodge Farringdon, and we will definitely be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert H wrote a review Feb 2020
Oakville, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have usually stayed at the King’s Cross Travelodge but felt that location lacks in a number of areas. I tried this location at Farringdon and was very pleased. It is quieter, cleaner and friendlier. Since it is only a 2 minute walk from the King’s across location, the distance to the King’s across underground and train station is really the same.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The front rooms are quiet considering they overlook a street. The back rooms are really quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brogrammer wrote a review Oct 2021
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stephen I was there sitting at the bench table near the window when you both came down, I noticed the same from Polish lady? She is not usually staff at this hotel and I too felt tension from her once she realised that I was gay.

Otherwise it’s a lovely hotel, I’ve had my runnings with managers here on a couple of occasions unfortunately before they got to know me (since I’ve been here a few times now).

I would specifically recommend rooms on the higher floors for a better atmosphere as they are modern, clean and bright where as on the lower floors the house keeping wasn’t done very often I found.

Breakfast is really good whenever ROSE is on shift but if she is not there it just all goes wrong and the food will be cold and dry and on two occasions I have skipped breakfast until ROSE returns despite paying £9 per meal.

Staff on reception very helpful and extremely professional at all times which can create a disconnect between you as a guest but it’s a hotel with a corporate feel despite the holiday maker and tradesmen clientele - it just feels slightly too formal for me personally.

Aircon in room only blows out cool air so I purchased a space heater to use on cold nights.

Once again the staff are amazing on front desk and they even take in parcels from Amazon or ASOS etc and look very handsome and beautiful in their smart uniform.

As for location is really good - Islington Angel / Farringdon is a 10 min walk away if you go up the stairs in car park & kings cross station is about 15 min away; this hotel is especially great for dog owners as so many places to walk the dog and try to get a big room ending in X40.

The view from 5th floor is quite rewarding, be sure to take a ride in the lift to check it out.

Thank you to the lovely Cleaning Lady (Auntieee) who is always asking me how my dog is and who is saying hello to me all the time and restocks my room and who even when I bump into her outside of work will give me her time and ask how I am doing or how my day went :)

Lastly travelodge advertise the breakfast as truly unlimited, I can tell you right now that it is not because most of the time food is not replaced when it runs out for at least 30 minutes and they stop cooking hot food quite some time before closing.

PS
I’m sorry management (you know I like you), I wish I was able to leave a more positive review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pwaaa wrote a review Sept 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been visiting this Travelodge for a number of years now but I think this will be our last visit. As value for money at the moment you couldn't complain as demand and prices for rooms is at an all time low. You still expect the room to be clean and to not have to constantly return to reception because of issues.

The spare pillows in our room had no pillow cases. It is only when you see them without pillow cases you can see how stained they are! The carpet in the room was stained and your feet are black if you walked around in bare feet. The rooms are in general need of updating. The air conditioning didn't work so the room was hot. It is too noisy outside to leave the window open at night.

There was no bath plug so it was not possible to have a bath. Rather than queue at reception for a third time I ended up buying my own bath plug whilst out and about during the day. Who knew there were was a DIY store in the West End 😊 To cap it all we were woken at 3am on our first night by chavs screaming and running up and down the corridors between their various rooms on our floor.

In summary then London hotels are at a bargain price at the moment but if our experience is anything to go by the big chains are compromising on standards. The lack of cleanliness is a particular worry during Covid. If you don’t mind a rather tired hotel, where you may or may get a clean room, you don’t need air con because you like it hot, don't need much sleep and you can bring your own bath plug, towels and pillowcases then this could be the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bicesterpete asked a question May 2023
6 contributions
What is the nearest tube station
Answer from mojomac2
Dubai, United Arab Emirates92 contributions63 helpful votes
10 mins walk from Kings Cross / St Pancreas stations
Bicesterpete asked a question May 2023
6 contributions
Nearest tube station
Answer from mary m
Cranleigh, United Kingdom376 contributions247 helpful votes
you are virtually mid way between farringdon and kings cross
민주 김 asked a question Aug 2022
3 contributions
Is there a fridge in room?
Answer from ladybird
5 contributions2 helpful votes
No.
Charlie C asked a question Oct 2021
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Can two people ages 17 and 16 stay in this hotel on their own ?
Answer from TraceyPockers
Hereford, United Kingdom1 contribution
Pretty sure one would have to be 18
mistermarkhelen wrote a tip 08 Jun
Bradford, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No fridge in rooms. Rumbling from Underground on frequent basis - we were on floor 2 so maybe less of a problem on higher floors."
Read full review
Nicola wrote a tip May 2024
8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No 63 bus stops right outside "
Read full review
nikkib1987 wrote a tip May 2024
Aughton, United Kingdom207 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 540 is end of the hall and so nice and big and quiet although the AC is noisy"
Read full review
Alipet558 wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom109 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room at the front of the hotel is quieter than the back which has underground tube noise."
Read full review
Jane wrote a tip May 2024
Sheffield Green, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice cafe/bar meeting area at reception if you need somewhere to meet as a group. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,601 - R 3,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge london farringdon hotel london, london travelodge, london travel lodge, travel lodge london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonClerkenwell / Islington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
211
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE LONDON FARRINGDON - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge London Farringdon
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge London Farringdon?
Nearby attractions include Charles Dickens Museum (0.4 km), The Postal Museum (0.3 km), and The Water Rats (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge London Farringdon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Travelodge London Farringdon?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge London Farringdon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge London Farringdon?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge London Farringdon?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anilo's Kitchen, Union Tavern, and Mildreds King's Cross.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travelodge London Farringdon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge London Farringdon?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (3.1 km), Tower of London (3.4 km), and Churchill War Rooms (3.0 km).
Is Travelodge London Farringdon accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Travelodge London Farringdon
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire