President Hotel

President Hotel

Room
Traveller (1442)
Room & Suite (591)
Breakfast Room at the President Hotel
Dining (92)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#379 of 1 129 hotels in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

President Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting London, offering a quiet environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as President Hotel London offers guests free internet access.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, Hotel London President offers breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting London, President Hotel London is located a short distance from Coca-Cola London Eye (1.3 mi) and Big Ben (1.5 mi).

While in London, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from President London, including Flat Iron Covent Garden (0.8 mi), Sketch Gallery (1.0 mi), and Flat Iron Beak Street (0.9 mi).

Should time allow, The British Museum, Covent Garden, and St. Paul's Cathedral are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in London!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech, Filipino and 4 more

Location

56-60 Guilford Street Russell Sq, London WC1N 1DB England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
12.3 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
23.7 km
See all flights
Russell Square
2 minUnderground
5,363Reviews172Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,128
  • 1,986
  • 1,456
  • 496
  • 297
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
2012Excavator wrote a review Mar 2020
Singapore, Singapore50 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The President Hotel is one of a group of Imperial hotels located just east of Russell Square. The location is ideal: the nearest tube station is a block away, on the Piccadilly Line which provides a direct connection to Heathrow (1 hour). The British Museum, University of London, and other attractions are within walking distance. The hotel is a bit old and could stand some refurbishment, but the standard of cleanliness is very high, and the bathroom was in excellent shape, with good water pressure and availability of hot water. The included breakfast is standard Old English: toast, eggs, beans, tomatoes, ham, bacon. No fruit
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chrissiecross wrote a review Jan 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom72 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed here a few times. Location is good just a few minutes from Russell Square Tube, and a shopping centre with Waitrose Boots etc less that 10 minutes walk. Check in was smooth. As a single traveller you may be lucky enough to have a double room to yourself( like most hotels) or be unfortunate enough to be allocated a 7th floor single room . These are small rooms with single bed that are accessed by their own lift... which is definitely not a mod con. Rooms are clean and complimentary shower gel and shampoo supplied. Breakfast is buffet style and I like the “olde worlde “ charm of being served tea and coffee by the waiters at your table. The downside to this though is trying to get a refill!! It’s not my first stay and each time I’ve experienced waiters obviously avoiding eye contact when I want to signal for a top up. Would stay again due to location but some of the waiting staff need customer service updates.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveller60London wrote a review Jun 2022
London78 contributions95 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We first stayed at Hotel President well over 30 years ago and had a very pleasant stay.

We now wanted to do a trip down the memory lane and booked it for a one night minibreak.

It was still an OK hotel in many ways, but in some other ways it had gone downhill a bit. The check-in was quick and efficient. We checked in at noon and our room was already ready, even though the official check-in time is at 14:00.

The room was big, there was a kettle, tea, coffee and milk, but no minibar. There is also a desk big enough to be able to work on a laptop. The room was equipped with triple glazing which isolated any noise from outside very efficiently. The bathroom had a bath. The shampoo and the shower gel were in in big bottles bolted to the wall. The towels were of good quality, soft, fluffy and plentiful.

The hotel is very busy, there were people checking in the whole time, often in groups. I got the impression that the hotel is popular among travel agencies which organize package holidays. The queue to the reception was long for most of the day.

The breakfast was not very good and for £16.50 it did not provide good value for money. The quality of the items of offer was average at best and the choice was not very big. The queue for bread, pastries and jam was long the whole time. It was far quicker to get the items for an English breakfast. The bacon was chewy but the sausage was OK.

In spite of all this the breakfast room was full and very busy the whole time. I went to breakfast at 8:15 and the room was nearly full already then. It got even busier after that. The majority of the customers seemed to be in their sixties, seventies and eighties, i.e. the typical clientele for organized bus tours.

The location is excellent, with British Museum close by and Russell Square underground station a couple of minutes walk away. There are lots of restaurants and cafes close by so finding a place to eat is a doddle. The area is well equipped especially with Japanese and Korean restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Assistant Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel
Responded 02 Jul 2022
Dear Traveller60London, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your t experience at the President Hotel. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to start to apologize for the inconvenience that you had during the breakfast and its quality but your valuable suggestions have been passed on to the appropriate department so that they may be addressed. As a volume hotel in central London, we always have guests for leisure as well as business guest, individually or sometimes in a group but I am glad to hear that our team delivered an exceptionally quick and efficient check-in upon your arrival. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible and I hope you will give us a chance, by staying with us again, to show you that your experience at our restaurant during breakfast was an exception and not our usual standard. Thank you for choosing to stay at the President Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again for a much better experience. All The Best, Manjinder Singh Asst. Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Efrat N wrote a review Feb 2023
Mazkeret Batya, Israel15 contributions12 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting President hotel this weekend . We had a booking for 3 nights for a twin room + breakfast. rooms and breakfast was superb.
Unfortunately my friend fell on the street and broke her leg on our first day in london.
We want to thank the President hotel staff for the warm treatment and understanding.
Everyone was so attentive and trying to help. It was really moving for us to feel such empathy and generosity.
The reception staff changed our room to one that is closer to the elevator. They helped us make phone calls for local help in london and arrange our early flight back . They even packed us breakfast that helped us through all day we were in flight ,airports and in our local hospital after we arrived back home.
The hotel can be proud of the great people that are working there with great service and allways with a smile and good word.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Assistant Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel
Responded 14 Feb 2023
Dear efratnw, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great experience at the President Hotel. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for rating us 5/5! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team and we will be sure to thank them for their continued high standard of service. It is always rewarding for our hard-working members of staff to receive such positive feedback! Thank you again for choosing the President Hotel. All The Best, Alice Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine T wrote a review Mar 2020
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom31 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the president hotel for two nights as we booked a package theatre hotel and rail travel.
The hotel reception were welcoming and attentive. We were soon in our room which was ready before offical chech in time. The room was very clean with tea and coffee facilities. Plenty of hot water when needed. The room was kept clean throughout our stay by pleasant housekeeping staff
The restaurant was well staffed with attentive waiters. The hot food was hot and you were served by a chef.
The only niggle we had was that the housekeeping staff walked straight into our room without knocking, twice maybe something that the head of housekeeping could sort out.
Check out was easy and the offer to ring for a taxi for us was a nice touch.
We would certainly recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay again hopefully when the theatres re open as we had booked to see only fools and horses on Monday evening when BoJo pulled the plug
Thank you to all the dedicated staff who helped make our stay a very pleasant one
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen N wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom145 contributions97 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a good location in terms of access to both the City and West End as well as British Museum and Covent Garden. Room prices are reasonable. Reception staff were friendly and did their best to be welcoming. However, my room smelled of damp on entry, the bed was small and I found it uncomfortable. The plumbing worked well with plenty of hot water available swiftly (no need to run the tap for a minute or more to get hot water). On the face of it, breakfast was very good with an unlimited buffet available including bacon, sausages, eggs (fried and scrambled), tomatoes, baked beans as well as the usual continental options such as croissants, cheese and ham. However, I found that the hot food was no more than warm and the coffee really not good. Staff in the dining room seemed lacklustre - although I accept it was first thing in the morning. I would not rush to go back here: I'd prefer to pay a few pounds more for a better experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room go for a high floor and a room at the back of the hotel overlooking...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dar142 wrote a review Apr 2022
Falkirk, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was fantastic room was cosy clean with tea coffee, freeview TV, hairdryer bathroom had shampoo body wash and soap the room was cleaned everyday and all toiletries tea coffee restocked staff where all very friendly and were more than happy to help with anything the restaurant was open for breakfast till 1030 plenty food to choose from full hot breakfast continental to with lots of choice food was very good you could have both hot and continental if you wished the waiters and waitresses were very friendly and attentive enjoyed have a chat with them at breakfast. Reception staff were friendly and happy to help with anything .the hotel was situated in a fantastic central location with the underground just 2 minutes from hotel we stayed from 28th of March until April 1st 2022 would definitely return to hotel for another stay 5 star service from a 3 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohammad Khan, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel
Responded 13 Apr 2022
Dear 302darlenej, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves in doing our utmost best to ensure all our guests leave with a smile on their face by providing the highest level of service from all departments. We are privileged to be centrally located and I am a glad this was convenient for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another 5 star stay! All the best, Mohammad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GrandadCheshire wrote a review Feb 2022
cheshire8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed five nights at the President - had originally booked for 4 but Storm Eunice made another night necessary. All of the staff, reception, breakfast room, bar staff, we're unfailingly polite and cheerful and eager to help. My room with bath was spotlessly clean and even though it faced directly onto Russell Square the triple glazing kept out the London noise so I could sleep well, even though I am usually very sensitive to outside noise.
An English breakfast, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, with tomatoes, beans, hash browns + cereal and juice is more than enough to set you up for the day's exploring of London. In my opinion, much better value than nearby Premier Inns or Travelodges!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohammad Khan, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Dear GrandadCheshire, Thank you for finding the time to review your recent stay with us. The hotel team are very happy to read your comments on the service they provided and the quality and standard of the room. We do our best to make sure all our guests have an enjoyable and experience, I am happy to see we achieved that with yourself. We have a great offering at our breakfast to start your day well, I am pleased to see you enjoyed this during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again as your preferred London location. Wishing you all the best, Mohammad Khan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David_Dean wrote a review Apr 2022
Lancaster, United Kingdom30 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is second to none, 10 mins to Euston/Kings Cross, Oxford Street, 15 mins to theatre land and a2min walk to Russell Square tube.

We had breakfast included and being Luke warm was the only reason for 4 star rather than 5 star.

We were in room 630 which is situated on the top floor and on the Guildford Street side and was very quiet.

The room was adequate for the 2 nights and bath was too small for me but my wife, who is petite, it was an ideal size, the shower was fixed so not able to move easily as a long reach is required to move the head.

Overall this is an ideally placed hotel with all locations reachable by foot or tube.

Lety on reception made checking in and out an easy procedure and we were even asked which floor we would like, exceptional and friendly staff at an exceptional hotel.

Would we stay again, wouldn’t go anywhere else in London.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohammad Khan, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel
Responded 06 Apr 2022
Dear David_Dean, Thank you for finding the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had a great stay and experience whilst at the President Hotel. I have passed on your comments to Lety about her exceptional service and she is thrilled to read she left a lasting impression on your stay. The kitchen team have also been informed about your comments on the breakfast, which is not of the norm, however it is something that the team will look at to ensure it doesn't happen again. I am delighted to read that we are your preferred London hotel and we cannot wait to welcome you back again in the near future, I'm sure we will turn that 4 into a 5 next time :) Wishing you all the best, Mohammad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarlWadeEricsson wrote a review Dec 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The President Hotel is located very conveniently next to Russell Square underground station in Central London. It is excellent value for the location and provides very decent ensuite rooms and breakfast in the very safe and interesting area of Bloomsbury. The staff try hard and it is a very good choice for business or leisure visitors to London. I would recommend the hotel - it is considerably better than many other hotels in London in this price range. The Imperial Hotels group is very reliable in my experience and any visitor to London should consider staying in one of their hotels.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mohammad Khan, Guest Services / Front Office at President Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2022
Dear CarlWadeEricsson, Thank you so much for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us at President Hotel. I am pleased to see that we met your expectations during your time at our hotel, your feedback has been passed on to the team who are grateful to see their service being recognised. We are privileged to be located in a great area of London with easy access to the tube to allow our guests to explore this great city and visit various landmarks nearby. We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to London! Kind regards, Mohammad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 5avy0
Tromso, Norway12 contributions3 helpful votes
I would book the room with no worries. I stayed there a few weeks ago, and even wrote a review which included shabby areas and ongoing renovations. But these won’t affect you at all, and the staff are incredibly service minded. I had no issues with plumbing or heating, and left the establishment happy and satisfied.
Answer from zdravko226
Bulgaria3 contributions
Hi, the best way is to use Piccadilly line of the subway (tube) from Heathrow to Russell Square Station. President hotel is lacated less than 200 m from the station. Enjoy London!
fiona m asked a question Sept 2023
CHARMEDFEE116 contributions65 helpful votes
We will arrive at kings cross advice on taxi or his to hotel please
Answer from Faith4
Leeds75 contributions56 helpful votes
Hello, it is a flat, safe and pleasant approximate 20 minute walk from The President to King's Cross. However if you have more than hand luggage you could try the tube. The tube station is round the corner from the hotel.
Answer from yvonne c
2 contributions
I didnt have any USB portals in my room I just used an adaptor that I brought with me
Answer from Aris Z
1 contribution
Well, as far as I am concerned the hotel was quite good. Some problems could occur everywhere so the most important thing is the human reaction. In President hotel the people in the reception and the service were excellent.
David M wrote a tip Yesterday
Encinitas, California30 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No AC, No Room safe!"
Read full review
Quest04677370009 wrote a tip 25 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes Sure "
Read full review
Ann wrote a tip 22 May
Long Island, New York2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"PS… If you love The Beatles ( doesn’t everyone? ), they stayed here! Also The Abbey Road crossing is close and easy to get to."
Read full review
SimonSR2 wrote a tip 19 May
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very handy to Russel square station"
Read full review
Rajib C wrote a tip Apr 2024
Chennai (Madras), India133 contributions81 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please avoid 7th floor, you need to take a 20th-century elevator to reach there, it takes 5 mins to reach to the 7th floor. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,991 - R 4,514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
president hotel london, hotel london president, hotel president london, president london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
523
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PRESIDENT HOTEL - Now R 2 899 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶9̶8̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (London, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about President Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to President Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.4 km), Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.02 km), and THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at President Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at President Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at President Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to President Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Swan, The Shell Holborn, and Choppaluna.
Are any cleaning services offered at President Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at President Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Czech, Filipino, and Slovak.
Are there any historical sites close to President Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (2.5 km), Tower of London (3.7 km), and Churchill War Rooms (2.2 km).
Is President Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near President Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire