Travelodge London Central Waterloo

Travelodge London Central Waterloo

Traveller (348)
Room & Suite (46)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#548 of 1 140 hotels in London
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting London, offering a quiet environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of London's most popular landmarks, such as Sky Garden (1.3 mi) and Buckingham Palace (1.5 mi), Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

Paid internet access is offered to guests, and rooms at Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning.

Guests of Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel are also welcome to enjoy breakfast, located on site.

While visiting London, you may want to try some lobster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, Sketch Gallery, or Aqua Shard.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular historic sites such as Tower of London, Churchill War Rooms, and Westminster Abbey.

Enjoy your stay in London!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Taxi service
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

195-203 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UX England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
London City Airport
10.9 km
See all flights
Heathrow Airport
24.4 km
See all flights
Southwark
5 minUnderground
2,573Reviews107Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,368
  • 616
  • 240
  • 145
  • 205
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Neil B wrote a review Mar 2020
York, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This branch of Travelodge is only a few hundred metres from Waterloo Railway station, so it's convenient in that respect. There are enough cafes and restaurants in the vicinity but the in-house restaurant at this hotel proved very handy; especially when it was raining. There is also a bar area just off Reception and adjacent to the lifts and restaurant. My room was equipped with a tea & coffee facility, an ironing board ( irons available from Reception) and towels were changed during my 3 night stay. The only small fault I found was in one of the "public" toilets on the ground floor where some paper had found its way onto the floor and the hand drier wasn't working - but that was fixed the next day. The decor throughout is plain and utilitarian but that suits the style of hotel. I was pleased I chose this one.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Young retired couple wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelodge Waterloo was refurbished last year and is now of a far superior standard to other budget hotels. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and we were very pleased with the general appearance of the hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean with attractive decor and tea making facilities well stocked with known branded tea, with extra supplies readily available at Reception. The breakfast room was kept tidy and the food was of a high standard with a good choice of cereal, fruit, pastries and full English cooked breakfast. The Reception and bar staff were very welcoming and helpful. In fact all the staff were friendly and seemed to be very happy in their work! Can definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adi B wrote a review Mar 2020
Lechlade, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel, comfortable and clean throughout. Our room was in good order, with everything we needed for a couple of nights stay. Although a few extra clothes hangers wouldn't have gone amiss but we managed and lived out of the suitcase for the rest which was fine and anticipated. Good comfortable bed too.
Tea and coffee is complimentary in the room and if you run out there was a basket at reception with additional supplies which you could help yourself to.
Food was good quality in the dining area, a fairly basic lunch and dinner menu but good value, a two course deal for an evening meal cost £12.50, single courses were around the £10 mark. Although we didn't have lunch I think courses were roughly between £6-£8 and a little more for a full buffet breakfast.
The staff were all efficient and friendly, a special mention to Lindsay who was like a whirlwind, here there and everywhere. bubbly, always smiling and chatty. Also Khadija, who i believe is fairly new, she handled the busy bar area very well we thought.
Good location, less that 10 minutes walk from Waterloo Station and about 15 minutes walk to the London Eye/South Bank.
Happy to recommend, we both enjoyed our Stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nigel E wrote a review Feb 2020
Penyffordd, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a while since I've stayed in a Travelodge as the last one I stayed at felt a bit basic, tired, and was too hot. Not the case here though, perhaps it's the Travelodge Plus standard, and we also went for a "Superroom", but it was all as good as many hotels costing a lot more. The £9.25 breakfasts were also as good as some upmarket hotels and well worth the price. And the hotel's location was good too, some of the main areas of central London are walk-able, but nothing was more than 5-10 minutes on a Tube.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fahmid A wrote a review Jul 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is at a very good location, being in Waterloo and a 4 minute walk to the tube station. Waterloo in my opinion is a very good location for tourists as the journey to most major attractions is very short which made planning the trip very easy.
However the services provided by the hotel were not the best. I stayed in the super double room and there were many issues. The window was tiny and in the corner the bed sheets were very uncomfortable and the air conditioning was ultimately useless. Even at the coldest setting the room would not cool down making sleeping very uncomfortable. Also I acknowledge due to COVID kitchen and bar services were not open but I couldn’t even obtain simple amenities such as cutlery for food and ice for water.
Also the lift and corridors almost always smelt terrible which meant that they were not cleaned very often. Finally cleaning staff would not knock before entering room. Though they apologised it happened twice within an hour so something as simple as knocking shouldn’t be disregarded. All in all not the most pleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James from the Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge London Central Waterloo
Responded 08 Sept 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel. We're happy to hear you were pleased with the location of the hotel during your stay with us but we're sorry to hear of the issues experienced with the service during your stay as well as with the cleanliness issues. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vix20124 wrote a review Jan 2020
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is by far the best Travelodge I have stayed in and it even beats some Premier Inns. Very modern and clean. Every single member of staff was friendly and happy to engage in conversation. The evening meal was good quality and excellent value. Breakfast was also impressive with plenty of choice and it was permanently being replenished. Although it is a large hotel there was hardly any noise in the rooms and very little noise could be heard from outside. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Railo wrote a review Aug 2020
Finchampstead, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Agree with other reviews that this is a great location for exploring

I booked for my wife's 40th birthday with a voucher given to us by Travelodge from a cancelled trip during lockdown. As was a special birthday, paid extra for super room for our family - 2 adults, 2 children.

Arrival fine and pleasant. Opened room and was surprised as looked like a normal Travelodge room. None of 'luxuries' as stated on website for Super room. Went to reception and spoke to supervisor. She checked on system and said there was an error with my booking and I should have had a super room but there were no none avaliable for our 2 week stay. I asked if we could just have the coffee machine that a super room would have. Was told no. Was informed I would receive a 20‰ refund and, as we were going out for a meal, on our return there would be a selection of hot chocolates and kit kats in our room. More to worry about in life right now so satisfied with this.

Returned to room after meal... No one had been in there. Went to receptionist who spoke to supervisor and said they had forgotten (clearly am feeling very valued by now) but she did give me some hot chocolate sachets there at reception with kit kats. Asked about coffee machine again, still no. Asked for ironing board as needed something for morning and was told something would be sorted (it never was). Was told all buttons had been clicked, we confirmed my email address and refund on the way.

Day 2 of returning home, no email, no refund. Called main customer services... Asked to ring hotel.. Called hotel, no answer. Tried several times and spoke finally in evening. Was told that would have email by Friday and refund. Said as I had paid by PayPal (I always use this method for card methods) needed head office to refund. Its now Sunday, no refund, no email, no follow up. Looked for an email address to complain, can only find address to write letter to.

Pretty shocked at this level of poor service...if I was complaining about a dirty room, noise, hair on bed sheet then maybe could understand delay. This is purchasing a super room, not being given it and not being refunded for not having the 'product' I paid for!

Would be 1 star but will give second for location as despite, thank you travelodge for given us something negative to reflect on for my wife's birthday weekend, it was in a decent place for exploration.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sherpa241712 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the best Travelodge sites in this very well managed hotel, clean, tidy and noise free. Stayed on several occasions and the service has always been excellent. Well sited hotel and room was available before 3pm and luggage can be left when checking out early so you can return for it later.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
billyaylesbury wrote a review Mar 2020
Aylesbury Vale, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here 2 nights while walking the Thames Path .
5 minutes from Waterloo station with great bus ,train and tube connections.
The room was clean and every member of the staff we encountered were happy and helpful.There are cafes and restaurants nearby and the area felt quite safe to walk around.
When staying in Travelodge's we always takes a few extra tea bags with us as you only get a couple every ,milk sachets are available from reception.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Isabel wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a weekend trip to London, hotel is located a few minutes walk from Waterloo train and underground station, and is only a 5 minute walk to the London eye and Thames.
We stayed here once before about 5 years ago so decided to come back this time. Our room was a bit smaller and the bathroom was very compact but it did the job and for the price we paid it was more than enough.
We had the buffet breakfast which was also great for the price paid, lots of hot food of a good quality, and nice fresh fruit also available.
Would definitely come back again when I next visit London.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy W asked a question Dec 2023
Kibworth Beauchamp, United Kingdom154 contributions34 helpful votes
Is there a 'left luggage' facility at this hotel? Thanks
March, United Kingdom468 contributions231 helpful votes
Yes both for early arrivals and returning for luggage after check out.
Answer from happyhom
berks109 contributions42 helpful votes
If you just ask me on this forum I can answer you -
Answer from KENLIMSC
Singapore, Singapore80 contributions26 helpful votes
Not in the room. But if you request, they will be able to provide. Staff at the reception is quite friendly.
Roebank asked a question Jul 2022
Udon Thani, Thailand21 contributions25 helpful votes
Nearest tube station?
Answer from Joanne P
Hanham, United Kingdom147 contributions53 helpful votes
We only used Waterloo for the 02 arena as Mike the other comment it’s a lovely walk
Dawn M asked a question Mar 2022
1 contribution
Can you store luggage before or after checkout?
Answer from philitco
Coventry, United Kingdom24 contributions13 helpful votes
yes you can store luggage
Sarah L wrote a tip 16 Jun
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here"
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip 13 Jun
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try for 8th floor"
Read full review
Alejandra D wrote a tip 04 Jun
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here!! "
Read full review
Naomi M wrote a tip May 2024
Gloucester, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Air conditioning not working quite right, but fans provided"
Read full review
Noha H wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"NEVER HAVE PARCELS DELIVERED TO THEIR RECEPTION "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,175 - R 4,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
279
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE LONDON CENTRAL WATERLOO - Now R 1 866 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶5̶6̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge London Central Waterloo
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge London Central Waterloo?
Nearby attractions include Immersive Gamebox (0.5 km), South Bank (0.5 km), and The Old Vic (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge London Central Waterloo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge London Central Waterloo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge London Central Waterloo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Franco Manca Waterloo, Paladar, and Flat Iron Waterloo.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge London Central Waterloo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (1.2 km), Tower of London (2.3 km), and Churchill War Rooms (1.5 km).
Is Travelodge London Central Waterloo accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LondonHotels near Travelodge London Central Waterloo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire