Epstein House

Epstein House

27 Anfield Road Stanley Park, Liverpool L4 0TF England
das Haus von Aussen
Traveller (13)
Double Room
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#11 of 40 guest houses in Liverpool
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Epstein House their guest house of choice when visiting Liverpool. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Epstein House makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

In addition, guests can enjoy a lounge during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While staying at Epstein House, visitors can check out World Museum (1.8 mi) and Williamson’s Tunnels – Friends of Williamson’s Tunnels (2.0 mi), some of Liverpool's top attractions.

While in Liverpool be sure to experience local shrimp favourites at Panoramic 34, Hanover Street Social, or 60 Hope Street.

Liverpool is also known for some great architectural buildings, including St. George's Hall, Liverpool Town Hall, and Port of Liverpool Building, which are not too far from Epstein House.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Epstein House as you experience all of the things Liverpool has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range

Location

27 Anfield Road Stanley Park, Liverpool L4 0TF England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Liverpool John Lennon Airport
12.4 km
See all flights
Chester Airport
29.8 km
See all flights
138Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 39
  • 15
  • 10
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
anfiwyn wrote a review Dec 2013
Couva, Trinidad1 contribution11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Epstein House for the Merseyside Derby in November. We had a little hiccup with the rooms, but Andy assured us the new room was one of the best. Lovely views of Stanley park and the room was very clean.

There were tea and biscuits and after a five hour trip this was really welcomining indeeed. Purchased breakfast which was lovely and got our Sunday breakfast at no charge, since she's vegetarian. Really good customer service as we didn't indicate our meal preference.

We'll definitely return in 2014 to Epstein House to see a game at Anfield. Thanks Andy and everyone for a memorable weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
margaret b wrote a review Mar 2013
Plymouth, United Kingdom1 contribution10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having booked my sons into this hotel for two nights i feel the facilities that were advised was not available,the 24hour bar and the games room was both closed due to the lack amount of people staying in this 8 room hotel,also no breakfast was available because it wasn`t booked,surely when booking in they should of been told breakfast had to be booked the night before,when paying for these facilities as well as room they should have been provided.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian B wrote a review Sept 2017
Carlisle, United Kingdom51 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
there are a lot of bad reviews about this hotel but I found it to be a good hotel. stayed there in September to go to an everton game. the manager was polite and advised us on were to go in Liverpool for a night out. the room was clean and had a comfortable bed. did not book a breakfast so cant comment on them. good hotel if your going to an everton or Liverpool game as its right next door to the both. would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
poshlad40 wrote a review Nov 2013
hailsham2 contributions113 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My girlfriend and I was due to stay two nights here,the view from room was lovely of stanley park,the room was average but the biggest turn off was the irish owner who was arrogant,argumentative and his behaviour was shocking to my girlfriend and I,we won't ever stay again that's for sure,I don't think I have ever met a more obnoxious and arrogant person in my life
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tom69james wrote a review Feb 2014
Chard, United Kingdom1 contribution57 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner was arrogant, he made a racist comment to my black friend (who I was staying with). I was shocked when he mixed up our breakfast order THREE times! And then the breakfast was served as cold as ice! The rooms stank of fish and no real cleaning had been done for some time. Overall an absolutely awful experience. I will not set foot in that "Hotel" Ever again and I highly recommend that you look somewhere else if you are considering staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
j9jxr wrote a review Feb 2012
Swansea, United Kingdom1 contribution49 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
WARNING VERY LONG REVIEW BUT PLEASE READ SO THAT NO ONE ELSE HAS TO GO THROUGH WHAT WE DID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Stayed 10months ago but due to a police incident & the advice of a solicitor i've not been able to write on here, until now!!!!
Stayed at the hotel for my husbands 30th birthday, along with my 2 young children ( 2 & 1 year old) also my mum and dad who are both in their 60's. When we arrived we found the hotel to be in an ideal location as My husband and dad were going to watch Everton play. Hotel itself was by no means a 3* but it was ok for a two night stay.
We first met Patrick as he came out of his office/bedroom in his dressing gown!!!! Yes dressing gown. He came across as a VERY confident and loud man but quite friendly all the same. It took some time for them to get our two rooms ready so we were having a look around the SMALL house/ B&B (minus the breakfast as you have to pay for this - NOT worth it) 30 minutes later we were given rooms next to each other. Not the two i'd previously booked online as i'd booked 2 x double bedrooms and had to pay more as they only had a double bed and a bunk bed room left! But, having travelled from South Wales with two young children we were just happy to get in our room & sort the children out!!! Within an hour the next guest arrrived ( a HEN WEEKEND) very nice and friendly group of ladies and to no falt of their own, 8 members of the party were placed in a room right opposite ours ( you can hear everything through the walls) we left them to it and went out for some food. early that morning, the party arrived home (as you would expect a hen party to be, loud, drunk and having a good time). We were not very happy and felt that as i booked the last two rooms at the house, i should have been infored that the rest of the SMALL house would be occupied by a hen party!!!
We left early the next morning and seen the sights of Liverpool. On arrival back to the hotel Patrick was ready for us and I was asked to do him a favour and in return he would give us free drinks. My dad being a dad told him kindly no! He wanted me to confront the hen party and then put in a complaint so that he had an excuse to get rid of them as he felt they were a pain!!! What we saw was a lovely group of ladies trying to enjoy themselves but felt they had to keep the noise down due to us! Patrick is a very eccentric man and his language is foul and at one point my dad walked away as he does not feel it right a man should talk the way he does in front of myself, my 62 year old mum and two young children.
The following day we packed up the car ready for our journey home, we said thank you for our stay ( not to Patrick, but a lovely lady who did work there at the time) we filled in the book full of positive things as Patrick kept telling us he wants his house to be a 5* house, paid the bill and were on our way home when the NIGHTMARE began. Having not very good signal in the area i recieved an answerphone message from Patrick full of bad language, shouting and screaming asking me where his 'sheet' was!!! I had no idea what he was talking about and rang him back straight away. He firstly acused us of putting an iron mark on the carpet to which i told him to check with his staff as we made him aware of this when we arrived for just that reason, being accused of doing it!!!! Then the best was yest to come, he then accused my parent both in their 60s of STEALING a bed sheet!!!!!! I could not belive what I was hearing. He would not listen to me at all and put the phone down. I tried to phone hi back but each time he heard my accent he just but the phone down. On the 3rd attempt he shouted down the line that this is his busness line and that i was stopping customers phoning him. An hour had passed and rather shacken we went oun with our day at Chester Zoo. I then noticed I had another answer phone message saying / screaming, " i am very p****d off about this and to cover the cost i have taken £100 out f your account" I phoned him straight away but again he kept putting the phone down. I phoned my bank and indeed he had taken the money for the stay plus the £100 for his lost 'sheet'. As i used my direct debit card the money came straight out and there was nothing i could do about it, so i contacted the police.
I have since contacted him twice by recorded delivery with the letters coming straight back to me. I've sent 2 letters to him in the first class post and still there is no reply from him. The police were very good but could not do anything as it was a civil matter and due to his business he has 'the right' to do the same thing to anyone if he thinks you have stolen or damaged his property. With my friend being a solicitor we have been down every path and to tae him to the small claims court I would have to spend a further £480 which i didnt want to do. It has taken untill now for me to accept that i will never see that £100 again but I really do feel that he has done this on more than one ocasion and it's also what the police were telling me, but due to the law he has the 'right'!!!!!!!
If you do decide to stay here DO NOT PAY BY DIRECT DEBIT AS ONCE HE TAKES THE MONEY THERE IS NOTHING YOU CAN DO ABOUT IT!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick_EpsteinHouse, Manager at Epstein House
Responded 13 Feb 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Epstein House. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I welcome you to email me at Stayinliverpool@gmail.com were I can carry out a thorough investigation of your stay in Liverpool and act upon the issues you have raised. Kind Regards Natalie Epstein House
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
john wrote a review Dec 2015
Barry, United Kingdom1 contribution45 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife booked this hotel as a surprise Birthday gift along with other Beatles themed activities. On arriving Friday night 10pm we were greeted by a young man Kristof who asked us for full immediate payment and a £10 payment (refundable) for the key. I enquired about breakfast was told between 8-10am, so we retired to our room. Directly outside our room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke and strangely also a strong smell in the bathroom. The television was not plugged in and we had to move a large bed to do so then there was no batteries in the remote, so I went downstairs and was reluctantly given batteries from Kristof's remote because there were none available. We fell asleep around midnight but was awoken at 1.00am by very loud music, on investigating we found out the Kristof had decided to accommodate late arrivals with drink and music. In the morning we went down to breakfast at 09.10 which was situated in the bar around one large table, which was full and my wife and I had to squeeze past to try go and sit in the conservatory but that was locked. Then we were blanked by Kristof serving breakfast on two occasions, eventually we had to shout to attract his attention upon which he said we couldn't have breakfast as we hadn't paid upfront 'But you didn't ask for any money' I replied 'yes I did' he said. On checking later there is information on display in the lobby and breakfast times are included but no mention of prior payment. Then to our absolute horror came the reply 'I can do you a breakfast at 10 o'clock some 40 minutes away or if you're hungry now there is a B&B down the road which will do you one for £4.00' worst of all it was pouring with rain and then Kristof walked out so I followed to question about not asking for money the previous night and he shouldn't be telling guests to go down the road.
Before we left for out first activity we received a call from the manager Mr Duggan who arranged to meet the both of us later that afternoon. We arrived back 90 minutes late due to an enthusiastic tour guide Peter who loved his job. Mr Duggan walked up and strolled around the taxi as we said goodbye to Peter then he marched back to door wedged it open and stood impatiently there like a headmaster. On greeting Mr Duggan we shook hands but he turned his head as we did as though he was reluctant to meet us. He offered us both a drink but then every comment that came out seemed to imply that we were lying on everything we said. Mr Duggan's body language was nothing short of appalling, he would ask a question and when we replied he would look away and at one point he actually as we started talking he got up from leaning on the bar and went down the other end of the bar as we started to speak. We said that at breakfast we tried to get in the conservatory but it was locked, Mr Duggan said it was locked due to it being to cold in there(Reports say it is warmer this year in December than in July) but it was also full of memorabilia. When finally established the truth about breakfast he kindly offered a breakfast on Sunday morning but my wife and I couldn't decide on what time, he offered a bottle of champagne which we both don't like, after constantly offering we finally took the champagne and we enquired about breakfast Mr Duggan said 'You can't have both' but kindly gave us directions to the local Wetherspoons but he didn't ask about paying which we would have done, again his comment put us off. Kristof had made a mistake but Mr Duggan had said this was due to the stress of work, yes Mr Duggan stress brought about by getting just one person to run your hotel and to deal with twelve plus guests. Mr Duggan asked to come to our room and lo and behold no smell of tobacco, obviously cleaned, he had left the music on in the bar and we could not hear it in the room so it goes to show I told him how loud it was in the early hours, Mr Duggan wouldn't have it and insisted that we must have slept with the window open and that is how we heard the music, not so! There was cigarette butts on the conservatory roof outside our bedroom window, they must have from a room on the third floor......isn't this illegal?
Mr Duggan likes to think he is smart and his comments towards his PAYING guests are sly and full of one-upmanship which he gets away it to start with as you just don't expect to be treated this way. The building is full of history, charm and character sadly the manager isn't (Google the Hotel Inspector,s visit to The Epstein House)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TAB16v wrote a review Sept 2014
2 contributions41 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start! Arrived and there was no-one was there. Took 2hrs to get into this place. When we did get inside the "owner" was totally lost and confused as to what I was there for. Didn't know where to park our car so he told us we had to help him move a car that had been there for 8 months with no keys just so we had a parking space. The bar was only open on game night. Asked us to pay a bill for him on our credit card so he had tv for the game night. If it wasn't so close to Anfield I wouldn't have even thought of this place and I really wish I hadn't stayed here. Please rethink of staying at this place, Liverpool city centre is only a £6 taxi fare away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
greavsie80 wrote a review May 2016
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom11 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arriving we were told to sit in the lounge as Alex was attending to another couple whose booking was wrong the room smelt of dog and on inspection dog hairs all over the rug which would only have taken 2 mins to hoover we were asked for immediate payment and a £10 key deposit as were shown to our rooms we asked if we could get a drink at the bar but was told no the first impression of our room was good looked clean and tidy then I notice a large lump of plaster missing my husband went to wash his hands then came the horrendous smell like raw sewage we went to tell Alex who came up and told us quite calmly that 3 models had stayed in the room the night before and it was the smell of their TURDS what kind of models these were I don't know but sound like the kind you rent by the hour it clearly was a drainage problem he asked if we wanted to move rooms but then proceeded to say it would be on the top floor and didn't really look very enthusiastic about moving us so I just said we'd put up with it the couple who were with us had a slightly smaller room with the shower in a cupboard on one side and toilet and sink in what can only be described as a hobbit hole couldn't close the door as your knees were in the way they then tried to use kettle which only part boiled and the extension started sparking all these complaints were told to Alex whose attitude to customer service is disgusting I have to rate this place as a one star but it is really not worthy of this
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucyintheskyr wrote a review Apr 2013
Preston, United Kingdom12 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid! The rooms look ok on first inspection but they are not!! The beds are awful you can feel every spring! It's just not a nice place to stay at all! Their was a big dog barking and lots of loud men downstairs. it was just like faulty towers! We won't be returning!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lexi P asked a question Apr 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is Patrick still the owner??
djwBrisbane asked a question Jan 2017
Brisbane18 contributions3 helpful votes
Why have the photos not been updated after the renovations
Liverpool
Thank you for your query, our place is constantly updating been refurbished and improved.
Alan G wrote a tip Jul 2017
1 contribution26 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"our romm had a lovely view over the Stanley Park but you would be better just nippind into park and not this run down B+B"
Read full review
Maz A wrote a tip Sept 2015
Birmingham, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free parking on the grounds. Rear rooms have a great view of Stanley park."
Read full review
Debbie G wrote a tip Aug 2015
Belfast, United Kingdom6 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms have lovely view at back of hotel"
Read full review
MorrisseyAJ wrote a tip Jun 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom9 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you love The Beatles this is the place for you."
Read full review
yakkety-yak wrote a tip Mar 2013
Farnborough, Hants4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 3 is fantastic and has great views. Apparently so has Room 5"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Liverpool area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
epstein house hotel liverpool
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpoolAnfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EPSTEIN HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews (Liverpool, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Epstein House
Which popular attractions are close to Epstein House?
Nearby attractions include Anfield Stadium (0.3 km), The Isla Gladstone Conservatory (0.3 km), and Taggy's Bar & Beer Garden (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Epstein House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Epstein House?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Epstein House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Epstein House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georgie Porgy Cafe Anfield, The Boot Room Sports Cafe, and Homebaked Anfield.
Are there any historical sites close to Epstein House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Cavern Club (3.4 km), Williamson’s Tunnels – Friends of Williamson’s Tunnels (3.2 km), and Western Approaches HQ Museum - The Battle of the Atlantic Experience (3.5 km).
All Liverpool HotelsLiverpool Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LiverpoolHotels near Epstein House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire