We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
ZenHotels.com
US$181
View deal
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (651)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (476)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/07/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hope Street Hotel
Updated 21/07/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 114 in Liverpool
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hope Street Hotel is an independent 4 star boutique hotel. 147 rooms are divided between Standards, Deluxes, Studios and Suites all with an urbane and fresh, cool style. Plum in the middle of Hope Street, the epicentre of the fashionable Georgian, Knowledge and Cultural neighbourhoods - with two iconic Cathedrals as bookends it has two successful theatres, the Everyman and Unity, the Victoria Museum and Gallery, Philharmonic Concert Hall and a plethora of independent restaurants, University departments and infamous ale houses - all within minutes of each other. The interiors combine the original Victorian warehouse structure of pitch pine beams, Cheshire pink bricks, iron pillars with bespoke cherry wood furniture, solid birch and oak floors, sea grass corridors oversized beds draped with bright white Egyptian cotton. The care and quality of the chosen room amenities include; REN toiletries, complimentary mineral waters, slippers, Nespresso Coffee makers, Sky and BT sports and high speed Wi-Fi. Complimentary services include guest office, 24-hour gym, shoe shining, and ironing and very helpful and informative 24-hour reception and room service. A full English and continental breakfast is available at £15.50 on a bed and breakfast rate when requested on booking and is served in our brand new restaurant - 1931. Our new neighbourhood restaurant is in the heart of Hope Street, serving pizza, international breads, pasta and meatballs, salads and sharing boards - enjoy the open kitchen and watch your order being prepared by our Head Chef, Vijay. 1931 takes inspiration from the trade routes that came through Liverpool in 1931, alongside some of our favourite travels. It may be an international menu, but all of our delicious ingredients come from local suppliers. The hotel’s award-winning restaurant since 2004, The London Carriage Works, serves modern British dishes using regional and seasonal produce alongside a perfectly balanced wine list of over 200 bins. Open from lunch to nightcaps it is advisable that our guests book dinner with reservations to avoid disappointment. We are a child and dog friendly hotel – staff will advise on how to entertain and exercise both!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Wifi
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Light therapy
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 10 more
2783Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 814
  • 614
  • 225
  • 87
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
StDomingos1878 wrote a review Yesterday
Warrington, United Kingdom4 contributions
From the very start of booking our weeding at Hope Street, we both felt in very capable hands. We booked about 4 years ago, and it was moved due to the pandemic. The hotel; actually made a few improvement through that time, with the extension of the fantastically airy reception and the addition of the spa. We held a number of meetings with the team to ensure that all our thoughts and ideas were noted and met, with us regularly changing our minds, making additions etc.... nothing was too much trouble. We had a tasting evening, going through the foods and were treated really well by the London Carriageworks staff who made us feel really special. On the day, we really couldn't have asked for more, there was genuinely nothing that could be faulted, everybody had a smile, every little thing was catered for. Chelsea and her team were beyond amazing, a genuinely incredible team who had everything running like clockwork allowing us to simply enjoy being together with each other and our family/friends. The venue itself was a standout performer as well, with stunning views of the city as a backdrop to the ceremony, the wedding breakfast and then a slight change of angle for the evening, where we made full use of the huge terrace. Nearly everybody who attended has since commented on the location and the views. We were treated to a particularly beautiful sunset that night, with Hope Street Hotel being the perfect place to view it from. We were planning to return on our first anniversary, but I reckon we'll be retuning well before that. Honestly, I was blown away by it all. Great memories cherished forever.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
hhpy wrote a review 26 Jun
Edinburgh, United Kingdom64 contributions65 helpful votes
It's a very nice hotel with good service and great breakfast. The best part was the bathroom, massive bath and face cloth (that tells you that they know their stuffs!). Breakfast was good too. The only minus I had experienced was that it was too warm for the night. I could hardly sleep. It was a warm weekend and I was given a full thick duvet with over mattress warmer (which is difficult to remove without a huge effort). Think there might be air-conditioned but think we shouldn't need it (environmental reason) if the duvet wasn't a 15 tog. No spare blanket as an alternative. If I had a good night sleep, it would be undoubtedly 5/5.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: My room faced the back, there's some morning noise due to emptying bins.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
higvin wrote a review 25 Jun
Australia1498 contributions484 helpful votes
Having stayed at two other Liverpool hotels (the Britannia Adelphi and the Holiday Inn at Albert Dock), the Hope Street Hotel was clearly the best, and judging by other reviews may be the best place to stay in Liverpool. Our room was very comfortable with a king-size bed, was quiet, and had an enormous smart bathroom and air conditioning - the last a big plus not offered by the other two Liverpool hotels we’ve stayed at, which makes them very uncomfortable in warm weather. Very good, friendly service at the front desk, too - when we couldn’t get the aircon to work in one of the two rooms we were initially offered, we were immediately given another room where it did work, plus an upgrade for the inconvenience. The Hope Street Hotel doesn’t win any prizes for antique charm - the style is modern and sleek, though it’s on the same scale as its old neighbours. But the position is terrific, next to Liverpool’s fine Georgian quarter, and very close to other treasures including John Lennon’s favourite pub, the magnificent Philharmonic, and Liverpool’s Anglican cathedral. Parking was easy at the cathedral, 10 minutes walk away. The one pity is that the hotel doesn’t throw in breakfast into the room price. Nevertheless, highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Laura G wrote a review 23 Jun
Ormskirk, United Kingdom11 contributions
Hi hope street my name is Laura and Best friend Caroline came last night to one night highly recommended especially rosa on reception very helpfully much Is very much appreciated 😁😁especially one of the guests having cerebral palsy thank rosa see you in September for our next girls night
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear lauragerrard, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback following your stay with us and I am very pleased to hear Rosa was able to assist you in making your stay memorable! We look forward to welcoming you and Caroline back again in September. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
stevehuison wrote a review 21 Jun
Robin Hoods Bay, United Kingdom3 contributions
This hotel has a reputation for being a top of the range boutique venue, often frequented by footballers etc. 1st floor corridor had faint aroma of stale urine. No toiletries in the bathroom on arrival. Had to ask for some, then given one bar of soap. Bathroom taps were loose. Noisy air conditioning unit outside bathroom window, resulting in 3 hrs sleep. Overall I'd say its passed its prime as a boutique hotel. To be honest I've had better night's sleep in Travelodges and lower budget hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Chloe I wrote a review 21 Jun
London, United Kingdom128 contributions51 helpful votes
Good location for walking to the main restaurants, docks etc and the parking at the cathedral is a short walk which is really handy. The constable lodge just by the entrance to the car park is easy to find and sort the reduced ticket. All the staff at the front desk and spa reception are friendly and helpful. Hannah in particular spent a lot of time with us recommending some great places to go and visit and eat for lunches, dinner etc. and they were all spot on! Room was very clean and what we needed for a short city stay. Highlight of the hotel - I definitely recommend to try and go to the spa in the hotel whilst you are there - the pool outside is a good temperature and the saunas etc are great. I don’t think the website does it justice for how nice it is!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear chloei84, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your lovely comments - and it's wonderful to hear Hannah's recommendations helped you have a great time here in Liverpool! We agree the spa is a lovely facility we are very lucky to have here at Hope Street Hotel and really is a highlight of ours. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future! Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Drdavidwr wrote a review 20 Jun
London, United Kingdom81 contributions72 helpful votes
This hotel is one of the best in Liverpool without doubt and it delivers in terms of the view (from the roof top Suite) and in terms of the food in the main restaurant the London carriage works. The roof top suite is quirky to say the least but it does deliver amazing views over Liverpool and the Mersey but don’t think this has a rooftop hot tub spa. It’s a rather shallow spa bath on the balcony. As I said a bit odd. But the description is accurate. The chef produced a Sunday roast by evening room service that was top quality and the carriage Works al a carte menu delivered some “interesting” dishes but they fully delivered on taste and that is what you pay for. The wine selection from the sommelier was also good. And lets be honest the prices are very reasonable. I am impressed that the featured English sparkling wine is nyetimber. One of the very best English wines produced. The service in the hotel and restaurant unfortunately don’t Match the quality of the product. It’s as if the staff don’t realise they are delivering top quality product. They could sell it better. They should be proud of their product. If they were to experience the service in a 5 star hotel in the south of England they would appreciate their product for the excellent value it provides rather more. Will we Be back ? yes of course. !!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Drdavidwr, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautiful rooftop suites - they really do have amazing views! I will of course pass on your comments to our head chef and kitchen team along with our sommelier as they will be delighted to hear your feedback. We really appreciate your feedback regarding our team too - and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Jai sehmi wrote a review 11 Jun
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Our booking was originally made with another hotel in liverpool. On arrival we found out our booking was totally messed up by the hotel and they were unwilling to cooperate. As frustrating as this was we thought it would be best for us to book elsewhere..this is were The Hope street Hotel and staff played a huge role in turning our whole experience around! Firstly they accommodated us at such notice. Upon arrival they could see how stressed out we were and not only listened and showed concern regarding our disastrous start to the day, but then upgraded us to a bigger room which was such a lovely gesture. Throughout our two day stay here, everyone went above and beyond to look after us and made sure we were happy and comfortable during our stay. Highly recommended! We can't thank the staff enough..from check in to check out they were absolutely amazing. Unfortunately we didn't get names, but every single person we spoke to was so friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!! This was the best spa break we've had by far!! Thank you all so much. We hope to book again with you in the future. Jai & Sharan
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear travellermarch22, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We are delighted to hear what a wonderful stay you had with us after cancelling a near by hotel. I will be sure to pass on all of your comments to our team who will also be thrilled to see your review! We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Caroline Doran wrote a review 07 Jun
Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived on early flight to Liverpool got to hotel at 9am, we knew we couldn’t check in until 3pm so just wanted to drop our bags. Told the receptionist we would love a cup of tea and toast as it was raining outside and we had such an early start, he told us the dining room was very busy and we would be better to wander around and find somewhere ourselves to get our tea and toast as they were to busy. Not a good start. …. We booked standard room, which was clean but very small. We kept hitting of the timber legs of the bed when we around the bed. For us there was no wow factor to this hotel. We had a meal in the bar on our night and found the service quiet poor. Left with empty plates after we had finished our meal for over a half hour and they were not that busy. So that is why we won’t be rushing back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear GoPlaces05155617617, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. I'm sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with your stay on this occasion. Our restaurant does get very busy especially the last hour of breakfast with guests on a bed and breakfast package, so I am sorry this was the time you arrived meaning you were advised it was very busy. Our standard rooms are the smallest of our 8 room categories - but we are certainly surprised you were hitting the side of the bed as they are still spacious. We do really appreciate your feedback to help improve our guest experience and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
kdc680 wrote a review 06 Jun
Mill Valley, California14 contributions17 helpful votes
Our room was very comfortable, quiet, chic. Brick walls complemented by hardwood floors and modern design. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The philharmonic hall is right across the street and good restaurants are nearby. We walked to the waterfront and had a delicious lunch at Lyrpwl. Would stay here again and recommend it highly.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for corner room.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha T, Guest Services / Front Office at Hope Street Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear kfc680, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Hope Street Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback following your stay and we are delighted to hear you had a lovely time with us! We do hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Natasha
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hope street liverpool, hotel hope street
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
147
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hope Street Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Hope Street Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Quirky Quarter (0.4 km), Liverpool Arts Bar (0.2 km), and CoverStar Experiences (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hope Street Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hope Street Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hope Street Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hope Street Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cowshed, Fogo Brazil bar & grill, and La Finca Eivissa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hope Street Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Liverpool.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hope Street Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hope Street Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.