We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Heywood House Hotel 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
US$84
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
getaroom.comUS$98
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (327)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (220)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#20 of 114 in Liverpool
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in the bustling heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Our hotel has been carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, blending old with new. The hotel is surrounded by a vibrant restaurant, pub & bar scene making this hotel the perfect place to stay, enjoying great evenings out within Liverpool city center. Heywood House is a 5 min walk from the beautiful world heritage site; The Albert Docks and waterfront. Only a 5min walk to Liverpool One shopping center and a 3min walk from Matthews Street & the famous Cavern Club.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Breakfast available
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2123Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 236
  • 647
  • 172
  • 44
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Debster1962 wrote a review 05 Jun
Thundersley, United Kingdom240 contributions106 helpful votes
What a little gem. Great central location, clean rooms, friendly staff. No breakfast facilities but a very good grab and go breakfast is available. Hotel is near loads of bars and restaurants and a 5 minute walk to the docks do close to the ferry and all the museums.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: No parking.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Debbie W, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
Nicola R wrote a review Jul 2021
18 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
This lovely little hotel is based in a former bank. The staff is amazing, very knowledgeable and really helpful. A stone throw away from Liverpool James Street station it’s a great base to explore Liverpool. Will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Heywood House Hotel Management, General Manager at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 20 Jul 2021
Dear Ms Nicola, Thank you for staying with Heywood House Hotel and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you were particularly impressed with our central location and affordability for such spacious and high quality rooms. We are also pleased to hear that the impeccable standards our staff are trained to was demonstrable to you. We will pass this onto the team to ensure we keep delivering high standards of customer service. We thank you for your custom and hope to welcome you again at Heywood House Hotel. Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
John M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
I travel a lot for work, constantly on the lookout for Hotels with the X Factor! doesn't have to be posh or expensive but does need to provide exceptional value. This hotel is one of the best, right in the centre, my room is beautiful and homely but the helpfulness of the reception staff has been incredible. Great local knowledge and customer service you probably wouldn't get at a bigger place. I heard a receptionist laughing and joking with some foreign visitors ( in their native-French tongue. Its quiet too! You won't regret it, stay here!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Very quiet and air conditioned everywhere.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Johnnyboy236, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
HaraldF wrote a review May 2022
Lier Municipality, Norway191 contributions97 helpful votes
This is a hotel we keep coming back to. Not because it is fancy but because it is a nice, clean and very friendly place. Rooms are, perhaps, basic but has all you need and are spacious and clean. Bathroom as well. Staff is always very helpful and smiling. 4 of the rooms are balcony rooms, slightly bigger with a nice, little balcony where I enjoyed my morning coffee. I recommend paying the little extra. Location is excellent as well. As a extra plus, there are nice pubs/restaurants next door, inluding our favourite waterhole «the slaughterhouse», said to be Liverpool´s oldest pub.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear BrutusOslo, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
Julie M wrote a review May 2022
Blackpool, United Kingdom8 contributions
Highly recommend great value for money and super location for city centre. Had evening meal and breakfast both meals were superb. Many thanks to our cheery server frpm the Emerald Isle excellent service .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Julie M, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
Molly Doe wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Really good value. This hotel has got all the basics right for a good price. It's not a 5star plush hotel but it gives you a good night's sleep and everything in the room was in good working order. Would stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear MollyDonut, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and amenities of your room. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
camilleje wrote a review Mar 2022
Derby, United Kingdom1 contribution
Lovely, quirky hotel in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff who replaced our broken kettle and looked after our bags for the day while we explored Liverpool. The hotel is noisy at night due to proximity to a bar but it wasn’t a problem for us. A buffet style hot breakfast would be a nice addition, although guests can get 25% off the cooked breakfast at the neighbouring bar.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear camilleje, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
john h wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
We stayed for 3 night in a standard room and it was great. The staff are all very helpful and friendly. Everything you need to see in liverpool especially if you are a Beatles fan is on your doorstep. Take in the vast high street or go for a stroll around the Albert dock and Mersey . What ever takes your fancy. Lots of local pubs too including a wetherspoons. We had such a great time we are going back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear G7974TNjohnh, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our high standards of customer service and central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
IanStHelens wrote a review Feb 2022
St Helens, United Kingdom21 contributions22 helpful votes
Hotel is very clean and well situated. There is no parking on-site but there is a car park just around the corner. Not being able to have a cooked breakfast is a bit of a let down but this is clearly stated on the website. We visited on a Sunday so the price was a lot lower but I’m not sure it would be worth paying the Friday/Saturday prices for it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Reception Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ian StHelens, Thank you for choosing us for your stay and for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were particularly impressed with our central location, close to all main tourist attractions and shopping areas. We thank you for your custom and feedback once again and hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, Heywood House Hotel
Read more
jennyk174 wrote a review Feb 2022
Yorkshire, United Kingdom31 contributions34 helpful votes
Breakfast grab bag, paid for not received even when we asked about breakfast at reception. Noise until about 2am from pub below. Never mind the couldn’t give a toss receptionist on Sunday 20th morning!! Never mind having to pay for the second night when we checked out. Best Western boutique hotel, I’ve stayed in better hostels!! They used to be a trustworthy chain of hotels it’s a shame they’re gone downhill.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Heywood House Hotel Management, General Manager at Heywood House Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Dear jennyk174, Thank you for choosing Heywood House Hotel for your trip to Liverpool and for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologise you experienced some issues with your stay. Regarding the breakfast, our breakfast arrangement is specifically detailed to all guests both in our descriptions and even explained through an email after booking. There is also a photograph on the listing of the travel agent that you booked through which clearly shows your breakfast contents. Please do ensure you read our descriptions before booking to avoid disappointment. Please also note that you did not pay for the breakfast; you refused it as you expected a cooked breakfast and were immediately issued a refund. Regarding the noise, we have been unable to identify any complaints submitted relating to this. Was this something you reported to reception? We would have been happy to offer you a room move to a quieter location within the hotel. Unfortunately our exceptional location does come at a price, in that weekends may sometimes be noisy. We recommend booking outside the city if you are looking for tranquillity, as all city centre hotels experience this issue. Of course, we regret to hear you felt that you could not stay another night with us. Unfortunately we do not accept on the day cancellations, which is why you were liable to pay for the second night. Had you made reception aware of your reasons for leaving, we may have been able to arrange a fee waiver, however sadly as we are only finding out about your concerns in hindsight there is little we can do. We do apologise that you were dissatisfied with your stay and hope that you were still able to enjoy your time in Liverpool despite the issues you experienced. We thank you for both your custom and your feedback and hope we may be able to welcome you back to Heywood House again soon. Kind regards, Iona
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandMerseysideLiverpoolCentral Liverpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Heywood House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Heywood House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Cavern Club (0.2 km), Breakout Liverpool (0.4 km), and The VRVE - Liverpool (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heywood House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free internet access, reduced mobility rooms, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Heywood House Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Heywood House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Heywood House Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heywood House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include A Small Fish In A Big Pond, Rudy's Pizza Napoletana - Castle Street, and Lucy in the Sky Liverpool.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Heywood House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Heywood House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Cavern Club (0.2 km), Williamson’s Tunnels – Friends of Williamson’s Tunnels (2.2 km), and Western Approaches HQ Museum - The Battle of the Atlantic Experience (0.2 km).
Does Heywood House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Heywood House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.