We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Romneys Apartments

Save
Share
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (8)
Overview
Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HG England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
4 Star accommodation
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
155
58
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
155
58
20
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunken bathbedroom apartmentexposed beamsjug of fresh milkstair caselake districtlarge flat screen tvmain bedroombunk bedsself catering apartmentcheck in was easybeer gardenhot wateron arrivaldining tablelounge area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as a last minute booking for us and our 2 children, I wish we had stayed for 2 or even 3 nights. The lodge was immaculate and well presented. It was only 2 minutes walk into Ambleside. The breakfast...More

Thank Leighann G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a ground floor 2 bed apartment although there were only two of us. The shower is fine, separate from the toilet and sink which are fitted under the stairs. This makes an adequate cloakroom wc but is no good as the main washroom....More

Thank Lee Y
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Our stay at Romney's was very disappointing from our arrival we were asked to pay before we had even seen the room, (I now know Why!) It was tired,small and dusty. The worst thing about the room was the fact we could hear every noise...More

1  Thank 65irenej
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The apartment is well decorated, well prepared to receive families or couples. The welcome package was excellent and friendly staff. The pub has indoor and outdoor table and it serves nice ales and great food. The bathroom is a bit small and no place to...More

Thank Samir Z
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We stayed for one night in the Lodge, a two bedroom apartment. It was beautifully clean and well-equipped. You have the best of both worlds in that you can self-cater or walk across to the pub for your evening meal. The apartment is nicely furnished...More

Thank brutonmary
View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$103 - US$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$103 - US$199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Photos
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (8)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Kendal
Stonecross Manor Hotel
789 reviews
.33 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1 376 reviews
1.73 km away
Riverside Hotel
1 244 reviews
1.76 km away
County Hotel
335 reviews
1.88 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 163 restaurants in Kendal
The Moon Highgate
705 reviews
1.06 km away
Romneys
1 358 reviews
.01 km away
The Union Jack
121 reviews
.88 km away
Comida
75 reviews
1.19 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 72 attractions in Kendal
Kendal Castle
399 reviews
1.38 km away
Brewery Arts Centre
358 reviews
1.07 km away
Museum of Lakeland Life & Industry
118 reviews
.92 km away
Kendal Parish Church
49 reviews
.88 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
honestgirl66
I have read someone else's review about the so called email informing your booking guests about the Oven not working. Bit of a coincidence that I was told exactly the same thing! As I also had no email stating this upon booking your accommodation . Also that they had no hot water either.! Seriously you need to sort your snugs accommodation out. It is not fair the price you are charging for such an untold lack of quoted facilities I read you gave a partial refund to the customer...I think I should of made my voice more heard when I complained, and got a deduction on the price too instead od being fobbed off with a toaster to borrow whist staying the 2 nights. Sort it out management!. These things could be easily rectified and fixed with the money you charge for your accommodation. You would then have happy customers in the snugs giving good reviews instead of complaints.
23 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Samira K | Reviewed this property |
Ironically the ovens not working has now been added to their online website! I think you should've got a refund, although a refund still doesn't compensate when you've driven over 4 hrs for a trip and when being over tired... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid snug unless you are profoundly deaf"
Read review
"Book Elsewhere"
Read review
"Lodge 1 - on the doorstep to the restaurant and car park"
Read review
"Avoid if you hear or read "snug" or "suite" in the room description."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing