We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wateredge Inn

Save
Share
Borrans Rd Waterhead, Ambleside LA22 0EP England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (474)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (40)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#53 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
If you’re looking for a quaint inn in Ambleside, look no further than The Wateredge Inn. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Ambleside, Wateredge Inn is located a short distance from Galava Roman Fort Ambleside (0.2 mi) and Wansfell Pike (1.3 mi). Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and a desk, and Wateredge Inn makes getting online easy as free wifi is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the inn, including outdoor furniture, a sun terrace, and baggage storage. In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular historic sites such as Bridge House. The staff at The Wateredge Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
967Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 556
  • 240
  • 69
  • 56
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Big Ry B wrote a review 20 Nov
preston lancs20 contributions5 helpful votes
Stopped at the inn last Sunday as a winter treat . The inn was great very dog friendly, room was a good size and in great condition . I looks like a lot of money has been spent in every area i could not fault one bit of it . The staff from check in to check out where great ,they had time to chat and have crack with you . From previous reviews the inn seems to get a hit . Well my food which was the beef was very good and also my wifes food ., a tad expensive but this the new post Covid world . Lets get onto the more serious stuff the beer. The beer was great with a good mix of lagers and real ales , again if i remember a pint of Blonde was £4.80 this is expensive for a Blonde beer its travel miles are only 15 .opposed to Italian lagers Breakfast room was lovely a open fire on a wet Monday whats not to like . One waitress came over explained how breakfast worked ect and 5 mins later took our order . The food was again excellent, the only slight niggle was a sullen waitress who hovered about hoping we would finish a go . Again checkout was all good and will be back as soon as i can get a good deal again or a freebee for my excellent review Ryan Angela and Bentley the dog .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Wateredge Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your feedback It is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. :)
Read more
Lynne wrote a review 14 Nov
Yorkshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
A very nice pub, however our meal was very disappointing. We ordered the pan fried chicken , cooked in a rich stock, finished with tarragon beurre blanc with winter greens fricasee. What came was a bowl, almost full of runny stock, a very large portion on vegetables, more or less submerged with the chicken pieces . No sign of beurre blanc.It was unappetising and almost impossible to eat with a knife and fork, it was really runny soup. Is this what it should have been? My mistake was , when asked was the meal ok, I replied hesitantly, yes . It wasn’t and I should have had the courage of my conviction and sent it back. Lesson learned.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Wateredge Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. I apologise if we were unable to meet your expectations on your recent visit. Guest satisfaction is a top priority of ours, we always encourage guests to notify us of anything they may need so we have the chance to correct it. We hope to see you again and provide you will our true experience.
Read more
andrew b wrote a review 14 Nov
1 contribution
So dropped in on Friday 12th for a spot of food, wasn’t looking for anything amazing just a good feed. Menu sounds great, chose their scampi and handcut chips, all worded to sound made in house. And for £15 you would certainly expect such. No such thing. Frozen chips, peas and scampi. Brought it to the attention of the floor manager and he simply said ok, sorry, yes the menu does say that, but yes it’s from frozen. And with that left. And so did we. No offer of a coffee or dessert, or any sincere apology. More a we know were serving cheap frozen at bistro made prices. Shame as it’s a great spot but would never give a penny to them again. Lots more worthy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Wateredge Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Please accept my apologies for the bad experience, I fully understand your frustration. The service you received was obviously not our usual high standards. All our menus are cooked to order. I can only apologise if this is not the treatment you received. I can assure you the issues raised will be addressed. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.
Read more
Carol H wrote a review 07 Nov
Darlington, United Kingdom4 contributions80 helpful votes
Hotel was very welcoming and staff very kind and helpful. The best dog hotel we’ve been to - extremely dog friendly and Dylan loved it. Beautiful location with lovely park next door for dog walks. Food was good and although we were unable to get a ground floor room had great view of lake from first floor bedroom. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Wateredge Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We could not be happier you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Andrea D wrote a review Oct 2021
Cambridge, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
We arrived at the restaurant, you couldn’t book, just had to turn up, it wasn’t the most welcoming reception, we sat down and the menu wasn’t brilliant not lots of choice and not great value for money, the waitresses serving the food were much more welcoming and friendly, will not be rushing back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Wateredge Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team. We hope to see you again and give you the customer experience we pride ourselves on.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$101 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wateredge hotel ambleside
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictAmbleside
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wateredge Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Wateredge Inn?
Nearby attractions include Ambleside Cowhides & Sheepskins (1.2 km), Ambleside Climbing Wall (0.9 km), and Waterhead Pier (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wateredge Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Wateredge Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wateredge Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wateredge Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresher's Cafe, The Old Stamp House Restaurant, and Kysty Ambleside.
Are pets allowed at The Wateredge Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wateredge Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (3.3 km), Rydal Mount & Gardens (3.6 km), and Bridge House (1.0 km).
Does The Wateredge Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Wateredge Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.