We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canterbury City Centre Premier Inn

Traveller (72)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Ideally located within walking distance of the historic sights of this stunning cathedral city and Canterbury East train station, our Canterbury hotel features our new generation bedrooms, each with a freshly-updated bathroom with large shower head, and a brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. After a great night's sleep, head out and discover the impressive Canterbury Cathedral, St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church (an UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less) or enjoy a little punting on the River Stour. Nearby shopping areas include the King's Mile and Whitefriars Canterbury. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: There is no on-site parking available at this hotel (only disabled parking available). The nearest car park is Longport Car Park (CT1 1TU), charges apply 7:00-21:00 Mon-Sun.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Paid Internet
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know


Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
53Restaurantswithin 0,5 km
24Attractionswithin 0,5 km
1 272Reviews
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 562
  • 459
  • 142
  • 58
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Weekend in Canterbury. Staying at the Premier Inn. Nice, clean hotel slap bang in centre of town. Restaurant, what to say you have a star worker there! Makes all the difference. Great food: rare/medium rib eye steak: perfect! Asked for baked sweet potato fries, got them! Well
Read more
The hotel delivered what you expect from a Premier Inn, a good quality, comfortable stay at a competitive price. It is in a good location about 5-10 minutes walk from the city centre so we’ll located for business or pleasure. I have stayed there twice and would recommend it for
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
As business card holders or company have used Premier for some years, however in the last year or so we have almost stopped using them due to the many failings and also from discovering that Travelodge has a far better service and better value too. Premier Inn have a very
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Well, the location is pretty good, the car park is a short walk from the hotel. A handy Tesco’s underneath for bits and bobs. Unfortunately, that’s where the good stuff ends. The room I had was filthy in places, and before anyone says you should have come and spoke to us and
Read more
We have stayed at many Premier Inns over the years and are usually satisfied with the visit and value for money. Not so this time.. On arrival to our room we found it to be less than clean. We went out for dinner. On returning we asked if we could have some tea bags and milk and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
Response from WhitbreadHotels, Guest Relations at Canterbury City Centre Premier Inn
Responded 4 days ago
Hi, Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. It is disappointing to hear that the cleanliness of your room was not up to the standard we would expect. Our Housekeeping team complete a full service before every check-in and so should be fresh and clean when you arrive. We're also sorry there was not enough tea/coffee and pillows in your room. Please be assured I've passed your feedback on to the Manager of the hotel to look into with our Housekeeping team to ensure our high standards are constantly being met and your experience is not repeated. We hope you've since been able to speak with our Guest Relations team regarding this experience and this has now been fully resolved for you. Once again I apologise for the disappointment caused and hope to welcome you to one of our other hotels again in the future. Kind regards, Rebecca
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
The bog
The bed
View of Canterbury from the restaurant
Not much of a view!!!!!!
There is a few rails available at the back of the hotel, underneath the CCTV, where you can lock your bicycles. Alternatively, you can take them up to your room. Lucia :)
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, Premier Inn is about a 5 minute walk from Canterbury bus station (you won't be able to miss it). If you're looking at the University of Kent, then look for either the Uni 1 or Uni 2 bus and they will take you straight up to campus. Once on campus, all buses run back to the bus station.
1 vote
Show all answers
No sorry it doesn’t we were lucky to have a friend that’s works nearby that let us put our car in his work premise
1 vote
Show all answers
The restaurant stops serving food 11pm and the last order is 9.45pm everyday
0 votes
Do you allow dogs in rooms?
Only guide dogs are allowed in premier inn hotels
0 votes
Show all answers
"Call in advance about parking - you may be able to save a fair bit of money"
"Some top floor rooms have nice cathedral views."
"Use another hitel"
"I was on 1st floor which was great for me."
"If you use the carPark and park at 5pm, pay for 6 hours, it takes you to 9am next day,it's free from 9pm to 7am the 2 hours Carry over."
US$80 - US$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandCanterbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing