We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (20)
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good23%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
127
45
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
127
45
8
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic hosteldecent towelsvending machine for drinkscommon roomsmall extra chargedorm roomquiet residential streetshower and toiletshared bathroomcity centrebudget accommodationnice loungewell equipped kitchenlovely gardenfilter coffeefresh towelstoiletries provided
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We booked late but they had availability when others did not. Despite paying more than other reviewers, it was still reasonable value, particularly considering late booking and location. The room was reasonably equipped with a comfortable bed. The toilet and shower room (no bath available)...More

Thank Stephen M
Response from kippscanterbury, Manager at KippsResponded 28 June 2018

Hi Thank you for your rating and comments Glad you enjoyed your stay, Unfortunately as the bathroom is shared, if we had a bath, people would take ages enjoying a relax and soak, so the next guests would never be able to use the facilities....More

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

I didn’t really know what to expect for such a low price but when attending a conference in Canterbury I knew £35 was as far as my budget would stretch. My sense of direction isn’t great but a friendly local pretty much escorted me to...More

Thank Jenoire
Response from kippscanterbury, Manager at KippsResponded 28 June 2018

Hi Glad we exceeded your expectations Thanks for your comments and rating. Hope to see you another time, on your next conference in Canterbury Regards Kipps

Reviewed 12 June 2018

Warning: You must have Photo ID to be allowed to check in. They are very strict about this. It's a hostel with a number of single rooms. Breakfast is excellent value (ask for the yoghurt if it's not visible) and includes cereals, juice, crumpets and...More

Thank MKMapman
Response from kippscanterbury, Manager at KippsResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Thank you for your 4star review We ask for ID ( we do email before and is on all booking sites) for all guests security. Otherwise we could have anyone staying if we do not know who they are . We assumed all guests...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

I was in Canterbury, for an one day job, but I prefers to stay in and travel back the next day, I DID NOT REGRET it at all, the staff was friendly all the areas were spotless and the room (28) was perfect. If they...More

Thank Παναγιώτης Μ
Response from kippscanterbury, Manager at KippsResponded 21 May 2018

Hi Thank you for your nice comments and 5 star rating. Glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Kipps

Reviewed 28 February 2018

I have stayed at Kipps several times previously but not for a few years prior to my recent trip. I found it similar to previous visits but that many small changes have been made adding up to a positive improvement. The house remains much the...More

1  Thank oriondruid
Response from kippscanterbury, Manager at KippsResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Thank you for your great review, and detailed decription Glad you enjoyed your stay at Kipps Canterbury Hopefully see you again Soon Kipps

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$22 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$22 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (20)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kipps staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Back may be quieter"
Read review
"Possibly a room at the back may be quieter. I could hear a bit of traffic noise from my room at the front..."
Read review
"I had a double room so no experience of the dormitory accommodation"
Read review
"You may find a room next to the toilet/shower rooms more convenient."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing