Sopwell House

Sopwell House

Spa in the evening
Traveller (1496)
Mews Suite
Room & Suite (215)
Lovely afternoon tea
Dining (176)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 9 hotels in St. Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the Best Independent Venue at the 2018 CHS Awards (Conference & Hospitality Show) recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Aerobics
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
3,628Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,075
  • 790
  • 365
  • 208
  • 190
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
debbie_roxanne wrote a review Jan 2020
St. Albans, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Club at Cottonmill facilities are beautiful, it's well worth upgrading because the main spa is TOO busy, can’t believe how many people were crammed around the swimming pool on Friday afternoon. I liked the entry system to the facilities which you access via a rubber wristband - you just touch it to open doors / use the lockers & it welcomes you by name.

I wanted to buy a drink but it was hard to find a member of staff to serve me. When it came to payment staff didn’t understand that I didn’t have my wallet with me as I was in my robe - I assumed I would be able to pay with my wristband or tell them my name like every other spa.

The treatments themselves are the usual from ESPA, Elemis, etc., & if you're not planning to use the facilities then you can find them cheaper at other spas in St Albans with similar levels of service. My treatment was scheduled to start at 2.45pm, I got picked up by my therapist late & then had a 10 minute consultation before the treatment actually began, so it didn't last 60 mins as advertised.

The food in the restaurant is excellent & better quality than what you typically expect as part of a spa package, but seems off not to include one glass of wine / soft drink as part of the price.

Disappointing - the facilities are excellent but staff need to match that in order to deliver a more premium experience (Management go spend a day at Armathwaite Hall!). You get a much better experience spending this kind of money at a 5 star hotel spa in London.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 04 Jan 2020
Dear Debbie, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent spa experience. I am disappointed that there were a number of service issues at the Spa that did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback on board as an opportunity to improve. We do have a number of packages that include a glass of prosecco which is quite popular with our spa guests and Chef is always happy to know that guests appreciate the food that he and his team create. If you would like to speak with us about your visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. I hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DonE wrote a review Aug 2020
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom84 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in the family suite with our 2 children. As we entered the hotel all our temperatures were taken, all the receptionists wearing masks, hand sanitiser available to use and protective screens at the desk. I immediately felt that the hotel were taking the virus situation seriously.



Our room was a perfect size for a family of 4. The lounge area with a sofa bed plus a TV and space for the baby cot. Our bedroom with a 4 posted bed was a great size too, lovely views and another tv loaded with Sky TV. The rooms and bathroom were cleaned meticulously and also a minature bottle of hand sanitzer for us to use.



We ate in the brasserie for breakfast each morning the menu was fantastic with ample choices for all. Again, very clean and all staff wearing masks. We also chose to eat dinner in the evening one night in the garden which was lovely, all the tables were sanitized and spread far apart. We ordered room service on our last nights stay which was relaxing and so easy to do. We all thoroughly enjoyed our food even our picky 5 year old.



My husband booked in for a full body deep tissue massage which he would recommend and the relaxation room after was perfect. I used the swimming pool with our 5 year old and it was the cleanest pool I've ever used including the changing rooms.

We had the most amazing time staying at this hotel and cannot wait to re book in the future. Thank you to all the staff for being polite, friendly and helpful throughout our time staying.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 03 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave you review of your recent family stay with us at Sopwell House. My team and I are delighted that you had such an amazing time with us and that you all felt at ease with the new safety measure we have implemented due to the COVID-19 situation. I have shared your feedback with the team who all thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nomad06387287702 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The grounds are very nice as is the new conservatory and breakfast is ok ,.The reception is grand and staff very helpful but it’s a chocolate box with not many chocolates in side .I have travelled a lot and this is the ist place where after a treatment I am told I have to pay £100 upgrade to use the new spa .The old spa pool and facilities were very small and over crowed and we could not even find a vacant lounger .For a Hôtel with all these bed rooms the old spa is too small .
The bar was good but the main restaurant was shocking .For our main meal we had fish and the portion was so small and tasteless .it was over priced and we were starving afterwards .This was not fine dining it was just taking advantage of the customer
The wine list was sad and when we did find a good Whire wine it arrived warm .
The bedroom were dated and no better than a very average travel lodge .
I think the hotel needs to decide on who their customer is and focus .
While the reception areas are uplifting and new the bedrooms are shabby so instead of disappointing the customer with that overcrowded spa you should show goodwill and uplift their experience by allowing them to use the new spa .My treatment was fine but being charged extra for the Spa is the reason I would not go back again . I would rather pay extra and go to the Grove and get a solid good quality Luxury experience .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 21 Jan 2020
My team and I are very disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Our 2 AA Rosette restaurant receives many compliments about the choice, quality and value. The Chef in the 2 AA rosette Restaurant that you have dined in, designs his menu for guests enjoyment of a three-course meal and therefore the portions are reflected to ensure that diners enjoy not only every course but the complimentary canapes and amuse bouche. The Restaurant Manager and his team are happy to explain any dish on the menu in more detail to our guests when asked. The Spa is very popular with our guests and we do carry out regular poolside checks to remove towels from loungers that guest who have left the area but still be reserving a lounger. Guest can of course choose to upgrade to the inner sanctum of The Club and this is clearly detailed on our website and on the email confirmation you would have received. It is regrettable that you did not find your room to your liking and that we were not given a n opportunity to rectify this during your stay. As Sopwell House is not a purpose built Hotel the rooms are all individual in size and presentation. I am sorry that you have chosen not to stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sgt wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I booked in for a spa afternoon and afternoon tea.

We were already aware that the sauna and steam room would be out if service because of Covid, which was understandable. Prior to making the booking I called and asked what would be available and I was told two jacuzzis, a pool and relaxation room. I had requested access to The Club in light of there being less amenities, but this was very abruptly denied.

Upon arrival we were told to walk through the changing rooms and we would then access the facilities. To our disappointment one of the jacuzzis was out of order. I was then told by another club member that it had been closed for some time now. I am very annoyed that when we booked the day you did so knowing that we would only have access to one jacuzzi.

We were not shown a relaxation room and only upon insisting on being shown where it was did the receptionist allow us access.

The afternoon tea is served in the absolutely soulless Brasserie, it looks like a cafeteria, not what you imagine when you think about afternoon tea. However, the food and service for afternoon tea was very lovely.

I do not feel I got any value for money. The experience I had paid for, less than half was delivered. They made no attempt whatsoever to compensate for all the shortcomings. They seem to assume that I should be grateful for what I get. Quite frankly I can go for a swim anywhere and probably in a hotel with a far better spa experience. All that was avalable was a pool and one jacuzzi (and a rlaxation room only if you put up a fight. I was not at all impressed by the spa experience or staff I encountered in the booking process and on the day itself.

The waitress that served afternoon tea on the hand was excellent.

I sent the above as an email to Sopwell House and got no response.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 10 Sept 2020
I am very sorry to note that you did not enjoy your spa afternoon and afternoon with us. All our spa days are available and subject to availability. I am sure had a Club Spa day been available for the day you were interested in, we would have accommodated you. Perhaps my reservationist should have explained it better and I do apologise if this was not done so; any misunderstanding is much regretted. There is sometimes opportunity to upgrade to the Club for a fee on the day, again subject to availability and I am sure if we were able to accommodate the access on the day, we would have explained the price and facilities to you. I understand that you booked a spa day for use of the facilities without treatment - due to the size and capacity, we only limit access to the Rose Relaxation Room to those who have also booked treatment with us. Nevertheless, my team did accommodate you on the day at your insistence rather than disappointing you further. We do have a communal Sitting Room to relax and purchase light refreshments for all our Spa guests’ enjoyment. I am very surprised to read that one of the Jacuzzis were not working. We have had all our available facilities open for our guests’ enjoyment, although we do regular checks every day to ensure that chlorine levels are maintained and stop access to a jacuzzi for a brief period until the levels are re-calibrated, then re-allow access again during the same day. If the closure is for a prolonged period for any reason, we communicate that to all our guest that are currently on the premises as well as to contact the guests prior to arrival where possible to arrange alternatives. On a positive note, I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. Please be assured that we respond to all our guests and I have asked my team to look for your email. Please accept my apologies if your emails has been missed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ESA wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had a one night stay at the hotel and have been left extremely disappointed by the experience.

Firstly, after check-in we went immediately to our room, only to have another couple gain access to our room as they had also been allocated the same bedroom. Worrying to think another couple could have had access to our possessions.

The bedroom itself did not smell particularly pleasant (like old smoke) and in a very noisy location. Until very late in the evening you could hear another room’s television. Our disturbed sleep was made worse by house keeping knocking twice, on separate occasions, in the morning. Which was completely unnecessary when we were only on a one-night stay and therefore would not require their services.

The stay was made worse at breakfast when the service was appalling. We had to constantly ask for things, rather than them being offered (like sugar or sauces) and things that were ordered didn’t arrive despite reminders. We were placed tucked round the corner with no staff looking after that area.

The whole experience has left us extremely disappointed as a stay at the establishment is not cheap and the stay was actually for my husband’s 40th birthday. The matters were made worse when we complained and received a less than satisfactory response. Would not recommend if you are looking for good customer service and care.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 10 Sept 2020
We are of course naturally disappointed that despite our best endeavours at the time of your visit and in our communications with you after departure that you have left this review and felt unable to accept any gesture we made to you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goonerboy_10 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom135 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited sopwell house on New Year’s Day as a Christmas present from my wife because we had been to another spa previously which was my first time and I had enjoyed it she thought I might like to try sopwell as she had been a few times and I know this place is pricey.
On arrival I expected some grand entrance but was confronted by what looked no more than a shopfront.
We tried to check in but our room was not ready so we went off to have lunch which was very nice lots to choose from although the restaurant was very basic.
We went back to reception after lunch to find our room was still not ready so had to sit around losing our spa time but nobody seemed to care.
Once we finally got our room at gone 3pm the official check in time, we found it to be ok very dark in the entrance area which doubles as your wardrobe area which you literally have to step partially inside the wardrobe to see yourself in the mirror and then the kettle has no socket where it is positioned so have to move everything to the other side of the room to make a coffee totally pointless and the nice big curtains were torn really not good enough.
We went down to the spa which was very basic a sauna/steam room and a couple of hot tubs oh and a little pool BUT if we paid £60 each we could go into the all new spa well we were only there for 4 hours and we had lost 30 minutes of that by being checked in late so no we was not paying that but was nice to spend a few relaxing hours with my wife could have done that anywhere really.
After the spa we got ready for dinner went down to the bar to be confronted like anywhere a massively overpriced drinks menu £42 for a bottle of £6 Prosecco don’t make me laugh.
I bought a round of drinks as wasn’t really drinking due to a heavy night before but thought we would have one to take into dinner so after my wife decided what she wanted I went to the bar got a pint and a glass of Prosecco to then be charged 10% service charge ??????? For an overpriced drink that had to be poured into a glass anyway when I questioned it the very rude girl with glasses ( Eastern European) asked me if I wanted to remove it and I said yes to which she sarcastically gave me my change all in coins which was fine because the very fine young British waiter in the restaurant got all of that as a tip.
At breakfast in the morning we like to get some coffee to wake up before we get our food there is no coffee machine you have to ask the already under pressure staff who could be getting on with so much more to fetch you a simple coffee which took for ever by the time my coffee came I had nearly finished my breakfast really not impressed at all and will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AngelinaChua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Naturally I am disappointed to read your review as we have received lots of positive feedback from over the festive period. Please do be reassured that our service charge, which has been in place for a number of years, is entirely discretionary. We are transparent about our policy, printing this on every menu, however it is not a compulsory charge at all and I am glad that this was quickly removed for you upon request. I am sorry that you will be not be returning.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explorer_SHD wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom50 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately this hotel is not up to scratch anymore. The hotel is trying to be like an exclusive limewood or four seasons and sadly it is not there. The new executive rooms are okay, not worth the price tag. The bathrooms are very small and barely functional. The shower is not big enough for a tall person. Room service is horrifyingly bad - 2 hour wait for breakfast one morning, 30 minute wait for coffees one afternoon. The hotel is very understaffed, especially when there is an event on. The real icing on the cake is: no children allowed in the swimming pool, not even during set times AND you are not allowed to use the spa facilities after checkout. Keep in mind, checkin is 3pm and checkout is 11am… there isn’t a lot of time for anything really. Food quality is sub par. Staff at reception are extremely arrogant, uptight, rude and sadly extremely stuck up. I can understand if it was the Ritz but it’s Sopwell house so the attitude needs to be taken down a notch. The hotel needs new management, they are not prepared for the hotel to be fully booked. We had housekeeping knocking on our door from 8.30am… plus a fire alarm drill at 11am. Definitely will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid going with families, if you have £800 for a mews room stay there if you have to. Otherwise...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 18 May 2022
I am naturally disappointed to read your review and it is regrettable that we were not made aware of any of our comments during your stay or given an opportunity to be of assistance at the time. I am confident that our website clearly details our check in and out times and that Cottonmill is adults only, this is also on the confirmations that are sent to all guests once a reservation has been made. We take Health and Safety very seriously at the Hotel and we are required to carry out weekly tests of our fire alarms to ensure these are functional should they be required in an emergency for the safety of our guests and my staff. Your feedback regarding the Front of House team is much regretted and is not typical of the many great reviews received about my teams and I am sorry that you will not be recommending us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BFrik wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom8 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent 2 nights at Sopwell House with my partner which we booked as a treat given that we were unable to go abroad this year. We booked a deluxe room which was quite pricey but did include breakfast. I was impressed by the grounds of the hotel and the spa facilities looked great- it is worth noting that booking a room at the hotel only allows you access to the Cottonmill spa and not the Club which is where all the fancy pictures on the website seem to have been taken. The staff were helpful although at times it was hard to get hold of them for example I had to ring 3/4 times on the phone to get through to the room service line and when we arrived there was no one at reception or the temperature check station and so we had to wait for someone to come back. The room itself was nice and the decor was well done however there were definite areas of the room that needed improvements such as dirt/mould round the shower and taps and peeling wallpaper. For the price I expected a bit more from the room e.g fridge/mini bar and better WiFi. The robes and slippers were a nice touch however. The hotel has a number of places to eat although not all of these are open in the week and you will need to book in advance if you want a reservation at a decent time as no tables are reserved for hotel guests. You do have the option of ordering room service if the restaurant is booked however this will cost you a £5/6 service fee on top of the price of the food. The food itself was pretty standard no real complaints but I have definitely had better elsewhere. Overall I enjoyed the stay but I don’t feel that it is worth the price charged when I compare it to other spa hotels I have visited. If I was to re-visit it would just be for a spa day rather than to stay at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the lovely grounds but am disappointed that you felt some areas needed improvement. We always recommend at the time of making a Reservation to pre-book any additional meals as the outlets are very popular and at the moment have a reduced capacity to comply with social distancing. All our guests receive complimentary access to Cottonmill Spa and can choose to upgrade to access the inner sanctum of The Club. This is clearly detailed on our website and on the confirmation that you were sent. I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Sopwell House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cass K wrote a review Aug 2020
Manston, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited for an afternoon spa with afternoon tea on one of the hottest days of the year.

Spa
There were no outside sunbeds available and the staff promised they’d check for empty beds and remove towels. This didn’t happen once in the 4 hours we were there. Some guests had reserved beds and didn’t use them for hours. This was a real shame. They’ve spent a lot of money expanding the spa so there’s now an exclusive spa section (the haves and the have nots). It’s £100 to upgrade to the Cottonmill spa. It’s a shame they didn’t spend any extra money extending the outside space for the have nots as the grounds are lovely but you can’t see them if you’re inside!

Afternoon tea
We’ve had tea at sopwell numerous times and it’s always been lovely. This time it was disappointing. We ate in the pantry on our own, and were largely ignored. Once the tea was served no one asked us if we wanted anything, we weren’t offered drinks or sandwich refills (which would normally happen at the tea). I don’t know if it was different because it was part of a spa package but it wasn’t what we were expecting. The tea was lovely, the service wasn’t.

Covid
We had our temperatures taken on arrival. Staff were all in masks or visors. Staff were constantly cleaning the door handles. No one was wiping down sunbeds between guests sitting on them. Steam and sauna can’t be used. And only guests in ‘bubbles’ can go in the jacuzzi at the same time.

All in all it could have been better. I wouldn’t bother with the afternoon delight package again but I would do a day package and get there early to get a bed outside. Especially if it’s really hot.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 10 Aug 2020
We are naturally concerned to read of your experience and it is regrettable that ir did not live up to your expectations or your previous visits. We have implemented several new safety measures due to COVID-19 which has mean that some capacity in Cottonmill and the outlets has been reduced to aide with social distancing. Guests can of course choose to upgrade on the day to access the inner sanctum of The Club, subject availability on the day. The Spa attendants carry out regular checks to ensure that sunbeds are not being reserved by guests that may have left the area and all public areas are regularly disinfected as part of our new safety procedures. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea but would like to apologise that you found the service not as expected. I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth A wrote a review Nov 2021
Barnsley, United Kingdom42 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just come home after spending a night at Sopwell house Hotel.
My husband booked it as a surprise for me as I have't been very well, it was to spend a relaxing time for me and for us to be together as he works away a lot.
Driving up it is very impressive, the reception are is really nice, as is the bar.
He booked a Junior suite, after seeing the room on there web page he thought it was lovely, after checking in, at this stage we hadn't been asked if we had booked a meal at either of the 2 restaurants,
We went to the room, my husband and i must admit for £400 plus we were a little disappointed, it was very tired looking, the carpet needed to be changed or relayed it had about 3-4 rolls where it was rising in the middle of the room, we went down to the Brassiere Rest as soon as it opened at 6.30pm to get a table for 2, we were asked if we had booked we said no, sorry we can't help, try the lounge bar or your room service ( which we ended with ) both with a very limited menu, if we had been asked this question as we checked in we would of booked a table at that time, we were asked what time we wanted to go down to breakfast the next morning so why not that?.
Also after having tea in the lounge bar and also at breakfast I asked at both times for skimmed milk and was told they didn't use it only semi skimmed milk, for a hotel that prides on the spa side why not?
Sorry but very disappointed on the whole, certainly not worth all this money my husband spent. he said It was a choice between Sopwell House or the Grove my husband regrets not booking the Grove.
Our room was 255.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Just don't choose room 255
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angelina Chua, General Manager at Sopwell House
Responded 14 Nov 2021
I am naturally disappointed to read that you were disappointed with your stay and we would always recommend speaking with a Duty Manager at the time rather than leave us unhappy as it would have been our pleasure to have been of assistance. Our outlets are very popular and advanced bookings are always recommended as we cannot guarantee availability on the day and I have shared your feedback about not being asked at check-in with our Front Office Manager. I do hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back for a stay more commensurate with the name of Sopwell House.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Albans area.
PRICE RANGE
R 5,897 - R 8,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sopwell house country club hotel st. albans, sopwell house country club and spa, sopwell hotel country
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireSt. Albans
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOPWELL HOUSE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (St. Albans, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sopwell House
Which popular attractions are close to Sopwell House?
Nearby attractions include Locked Escape Rooms (2.0 km), The Odyssey Cinema (1.5 km), and De Havilland Aircraft Museum (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sopwell House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Sopwell House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sopwell House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sopwell House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Abbots Tandoori, DavVero, and HATCH.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sopwell House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sopwell House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sopwell House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sopwell House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Sopwell House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Albans South Signal Box (1.5 km), St Albans Hertfordshire England (2.5 km), and The Wallingford Screen (2.0 km).
Does Sopwell House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All St. Albans HotelsSt. Albans Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AlbansHotels near Sopwell House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire