We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wykeham Arms

Save
Share
75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$137
Expedia.comUS$138
Hotels.comUS$138
CheapTicketsUS$138
TravelocityUS$138
eDreamsUS$137
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (252)
Room & Suite (91)
Dining (58)

About

#5 of 12 hotels in Winchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are delighted to announce that we will be open from 17 May. It's been a long time coming and we can't wait to see you.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary instant cofffee
Show more
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1205Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 643
  • 296
  • 139
  • 75
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard G wrote a review 24 Jul
1 contribution
What little was left on the menu for a Saturday evening was at best disappointing. A lovely old place, full of atmosphere but badly let down by the cuisine and with woefully inadequate justification when queried. Sadly upper range prices for low to barely middle range food.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
WayneEls wrote a review 24 Jul
Plymouth, United Kingdom48 contributions20 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights for a graduation. Very friendly and helpful staff, all of them! Good rooms, nespresso, fresh milk. Great breakfasts with a wide choice. Central location and free onsite parking. Super helpful as our group size changed a couple of times allowing us to change rooms to fit in additions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Jadef88 wrote a review 23 Jul
Hassocks, United Kingdom7 contributions8 helpful votes
Just returned home after staying 2 nights at the Wykeham Arms. Having read some of the reviews I really do have to wonder what some people expect, especially given the last few months! People just need a little patience and understanding whilst places find their feet again. We stayed in a superior room in the building over the road and had a lovely stay. The room was clean, and I loved the decor, very on trend! The room included a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch. Toiletries such as hand wash, body wash, shampoo and conditioner were provided, as were ironing facilities and a hairdryer. The room was very hot (even with a Dyson fan), but we were on the top floor in a heatwave in a very old building so there’s no much anyone can do about that! The building itself is beautiful with so much character, but probably isn’t suitable for anyone with mobility limitations as the stair case is very narrow and very very steep! Breakfast was delicious! A good variety, all cooked to order to a very high standard, and caters for veggies and vegans also. We had dinner at the pub one night, the food was amazing! The service was a little slow, however I do appreciate the difficulties the hospitality sector is facing at the moment with staffing etc. so I wouldn’t expect this to be a true reflection of the usual service offered. The location of the pub is ideal. Right behind the Cathedral in the historic quarter, such a beautiful part of the city. It’s our first time visiting Winchester but I know if we were to come back we’d definitely look to stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
hannah917 wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom61 contributions27 helpful votes
Beautiful stay at the Wykham Arms. Had a lovely quirky room overlooking a peaceful courtyard. Room was a bit hot but there was a fan. Huge comfy bed. Staff are great, friendly and chatty. We had a roast and while it wasn’t the best we’d had (cauliflower cheese and roasties were quite hard) the meat was excellent with lots of gravy, and the sticky toffee pudding was seriously good. Breakfast the next morning was very nice with good choices and high quality ingredients. We’ll definitely be back for a stay at here when we’re next in Winchester.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Howard, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks and Best regards Jon Howard GM
Read more
Bob P wrote a review Jun 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom192 contributions124 helpful votes
Invited my niece and her fiancee to dinner as it was always a great restaurant but alas no more. Service was ok but the little choice of meals was poor and the quality of the food served to us was awful. Such a huge disappointment and what was known as a great gastro pub has been serious damaged It'll be a long long time before we come back, if ever
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Howard, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms
Responded 3 weeks ago
I'm sorry you feel that way. We are doing our best in the face of some very serious challenges with staff and supply as per the media is reporting. How disappointing that in an uncertain and very difficult to manage world, some people cannot have a little more patience and understanding but to render us permanently damaged. This is not the case I might add. Regards Jon Howard General manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wykeham arms winchester, wykeham arms hotel winchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireWinchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wykeham Arms
Which popular attractions are close to The Wykeham Arms?
Nearby attractions include Incognito (0.5 km), Winchester Cathedral (0.2 km), and Winchester College (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wykeham Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Wykeham Arms?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Wykeham Arms?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wykeham Arms?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wykeham Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forte Kitchen, Palm Pan Asia, and Chococo.
Is The Wykeham Arms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Winchester.
Are pets allowed at The Wykeham Arms?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wykeham Arms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hospital of St Cross (1.3 km), Winchester Cathedral (0.2 km), and Winchester City Mill (0.5 km).