We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Maritime Club & Hotel

Save
Share
Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (233)
360
Panoramas (65)
Room & Suite (157)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#17 of 41 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a quiet hotel in Portsmouth, look no further than Royal Maritime Club.

While staying at Royal Maritime Club, visitors can check out HMS M.33 (0.3 mi) and Portsmouth Cathedral (0.8 mi), some of Portsmouth's top attractions.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Royal Maritime Club offer a flat screen TV.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and baggage storage. Guests of Royal Maritime Club are also welcome to enjoy a pool and free breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Portsmouth has plenty of Chinese restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Kam Too, Chilli Padi South East Asian Kitchen, and Real China, which are serving up some great dishes.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular history museums, such as Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, HMS Warrior 1860, and Boathouse No 4.

The staff at Royal Maritime Club looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1037Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 286
  • 397
  • 228
  • 67
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Catherine H wrote a review 26 Jul
Cardiff, United Kingdom19 contributions20 helpful votes
Do not bother....thought we would go a little more special for graduation celebrations. Room was shabby, like a sweat box, tv didnt work and needs a good revamp. 2 nights of not being able to sleep as no air con. Brilliant location though but a better known 'guaranteed a good nights sleep'hotel next door. Fraction of the price. Big regrets.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lauren wrote a review 12 Jul
13 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is in a great location for Portsmouth; however, my overall trip was ruined on the last morning when I was made to pay for breakfast even though I had paid extra when booking through expedia to have breakfast included. I understand that the hotel blame expedia for sending through a booking as room only, however on going to reception they made it clear that it was a known fault with expedia but fail to let people know when they check in and give no sympathy when asking you to make payment even though the price already paid for the room was a higher rate to include the price of the breakfast. Effectively meaning that the hotel benefits by receiving payment for breakfast twice. Management not great in customer service and not a lot said other than we need to pay and we should have booked direct through them so our error for using expedia. Rooms were ok, but we found the shower very temperamental and once it gets too hot very hard to cool it down again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry to hear about your experience during your stay with us. We have passed your comments regarding the 'extra breakfast payment' on to the General Manager and Reception Manager for them to investigate further. It sounds like there was some element of mis-communication and for that we can only apologise. Perhaps we can entice you back to try us again - with breakfast included this time?! Kind regards RMC&H
Read more
186338Cher wrote a review 05 Jul
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
We only stayed for one night but were very pleased. Our room was clean and bright and the bed was extremely comfy. Everything worked well and we were impressed by the sparkling bathroom and fluffy towels.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
So glad that you enjoyed your stay and all was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards RMC&H
Read more
roff wrote a review 05 Jul
Northampton, United Kingdom112 contributions30 helpful votes
I've given this 5 stars because I want to entice people here rather than the chain hotels however I do have some things that I think need improving if they're to be more successful than the new Premier Inn that's opened around the corner. I have been coming here every year and so this place means a lot and I know it means a lot to many other people. It has such maritime history and it just can't close. Most of the rooms have been refurbished now and so has the lovely dining room. However for us, the food needs to up it's game now. Staff are lovely and efficient but the food lets it down. I think if money was to be spent on the place now, it would be on better produce. I think they have good kitchen staff that know flavours and it's nicely presented but feels like they are skimping on quality. One of the number ones things that people come back for is memorable lovely food. Hasn't got to be fancy, just good quality home cooked food. We were with a group of people and a few of them were saying the same thing. A couple of for instances were, the Seabass meal tasted good, looked good but my fish was nearly non existent. it must have measured about 10cm's in length and was gone in one mouth full and wasn't of very good quality. The salmon and prawn dish was nice but again, they were like small frozen shrimps and some of the salmon was inedible as it was very chewy which again normally means low quality, The egg in the morning was like powdered scrambled egg. Just these little things, I think speculate to accumulate. It was great to see the place busy and I hope it remains that way as It's the only place you should stay if you're coming to Portsmouth due to the history of the place. The location is superb. Secure parking across the road is great. We have parked here every year since it opened and always found lots of spaces. very Secure and clean. £12 for an overnight stay however it is worth it. Always manned. Go for a chain hotel and you could be anywhere. All staff are lovely. Thanks for a lovely memorable stay and long may you stay open and thrive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for all your lovely comments and advice. We are pleased that you chose to return to stay with us, and pleased that you will look to come again. Thank you for your comments regarding our food service, these have been passed on to the General Manager and Head Chef for their review. We have always prided ourselves on great service and the provision of home comforts; we, too, believe that we are better than a chain hotel and you should always receive a personal service when you stay with us. We very much hope to see you again soon. KInd regards RMC&H
Read more
Khadija E wrote a review 01 Jul
2 contributions
We booked the deluxe room, the decor was old and over priced, tiles in bathroom we're dirty. We paid £155 for a night not worth it, the Jacuzzi was very noisy so didnt use it sounded like it was going to explode. The hotel is very old with old fixtures, had to keep asking for water, breakfast was horrible ended up going to a cafe. Only good thing was the reception Katherine who had only been there a week.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Royal Maritime Club , Marketing at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We would like to hear more about your experience, so please do email info@royalmaritimeclub.co.uk, for the attention of Marketing Manager, so that we can improve upon our service and offering. Kind regards RMC&H
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal maritime club hotel portsmouth, royal maritime hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Maritime Club & Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Mary Rose (0.4 km), HMS Warrior 1860 (0.2 km), and HMS Victory (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ship Anson, Bar + Block Steakhouse, and Frankie & Benny's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Royal Maritime Club & Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Maritime Club & Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (7.0 km), Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (0.4 km), and Portsdown Hill (4.9 km).
Is Royal Maritime Club & Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.