We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hope Anchor Hotel

Save
Share
Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (287)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Rye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! We have a traditional bar and vintage tearooms plus an excellent bar menu serving reasonably priced food.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Windsurfing
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian
1046Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 666
  • 281
  • 82
  • 14
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Diptych wrote a review 13 Jun
Hampton, United Kingdom962 contributions407 helpful votes
It was great to stay over at the Hope Anchor - and still better to have Rye to ourselves after the hordes had departed at close of play. This is a quiet unassuming family-owned hotel with great bedrooms and a decent enough breakfast. The atmosphere is friendly and the location could not be bettered, a three moinute walk down Watchbell Street from the statuesque Parish Church. We will certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
K C wrote a review 08 Jun
1 contribution
We had one night at the Hope Anchor and really enjoyed our stay. We were in the characterful Nook and Cranny - very comfortable and clean with lovely quirky sloping ceilings and its own bathroom. All the staff were helpful and pleasant, the breakfast was well cooked, generous and delicious. The hotel itself is wonderfully placed to enjoy the town. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Bradley H wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions
Decided to come to rye to relax and unwind for a few days before a second lockdown. Living in London, Rye was the perfect distance. We stayed at the Hope Anchor hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly, welcoming & couldn’t do more for us. We’ll definitely pop back soon
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back :)
Read more
Becky wrote a review Oct 2020
Kent, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked a night away as a little treat after a strange few months. Decided to upgrade to a suite having seen the pictures on the web site. Was a little disappointed when we were shown into our room as it was not like the pictures or what I was expecting. It was a nice room with a four poster bed and a couple of arm chairs in a small area opposite the bathroom !!! Personally I would not have classed it as a suite. We knew there was no breakfast as such and what we had was very nice and certainly a good selection. We enjoyed our stay and would come back but probably not pay the extra money for a room that was not up to expectations
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for your review which we really appreciate. We advertise the room you stayed in as a suite as it has a separate seating area, two televisions a fridge and a four poster bed. I am not sure what else you would expect in respect of a suite. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have two suites and they are very different so maybe the suite you chose was not the one you were looking at online. We are upset that you were disappointed as we pride ourselves on guests having a lovely experience did you mention to reception that you were disappointed with the room? Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
937jacqueline wrote a review Oct 2020
Ramsgate, United Kingdom62 contributions27 helpful votes
Again this fantastic hotel and staff were superb. We brought our doghies loved the biscuits in the bowls! We diden't want to come home and our son loved it. It really is home from home xx They very provided a parking permit aswell ehich gave us great piece of mind. A lovely continental breakfast was wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandy Highfield, General Manager at The Hope Anchor Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast, we are a small family run hotel and are delighted you felt so comfortable during your stay.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hope anchor rye, hope anchor hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexRye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hope Anchor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Storymaster's Tales Interactive Theatre (0.1 km), St. Mary's Parish Church (0.1 km), and Kino Rye (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a view of a nearby landmark, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rye Waterworks Micropub, Knoops, and The Grapevine Champagne & Piano Lounge.
Is The Hope Anchor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Rye.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hope Anchor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a banquet room and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hope Anchor Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Portuguese, Polish, and Romanian.