We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Wheelchair Access
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Public Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Suites
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews (2 894)
Filter reviews
2 824 results
Traveller rating
794
1 044
616
220
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
794
1 044
616
220
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front lovely hotel car park box of chocolates noisy at night public areas third floor short break superior room brighton seafront two night stay lovely room breakfast was excellent comfy bed stayed for one night full english
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 2 824 reviews
Reviewed today

I only stayed one night but couldn’t fault my stay at all. My son had a surprise birthday party and the staff went out of their way to make it perfect, and a surprise We truly couldn’t have asked for more Customer service was excellent-...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Karen A
Reviewed today

We saved $200 a night by coming down to Brighton from London. The Old Ship was a lovely old hotel right on the coast with great views! The location right off The Lanes was perfect for walking around and seeing Brighton.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank eliciae2015
Reviewed today

I had a deluxe sea view room which was'nt cheap ! Nice reception and bar area, however the rest of the hotel is very tired. Broken tiles in the bathroom, badly repaired, a poor shower which was either freezing or boiling. Filthy windows you cant...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank victormX8143XL
Reviewed yesterday

Stayed here for 4 nights on business, it's very traditional and it's on the sea front. If the wind blows, it did every night I stayed, you will hear it. However saying that, the bed was nice and I slept well enough. The staff were...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank buckshee72
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I stayed here on Friday 14th December 2018, the hotel was busy with Xmas parties etc. The hotel is lovely staff are friendly and the rates are very reasonable. My only complaint is the creaky floors in the corridors and in my room but it...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Malcolm W
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Minicooper59
13 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from CriticalCritc | Reviewed this property |
We took our two dogs who were made more than welcome by the hotel staff.
1
Vote
James M
4 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jodiedavis100 | Reviewed this property |
we didn't park in the hotel car park, we parked in the car park next door and it cost us about £38 for 2 nights
0
Votes
Rebecca x
28 August 2018|
Answer
Response from hillagnes | Reviewed this property |
Yes and nice biscuits. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Pay the extra money and stay at the Grand"
victormX8143XL
yesterday
Read review
"Get a room as far from the lift as you can, no passing traffic outside your room."
buckshee72
2 days ago
Read review
"Choose a room without a sea view for a quieter stay"
7TJay
1 week ago
Read review
"We had a basic room and it was perfect. There is no view from the sides"
alan7056
3 weeks ago
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old ship hotel brightonbarcelo brighton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing