We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Green House

Save
Share
4 Grove Road East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AX England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$138
View deal
PricelineUS$149
Hotels.comUS$150
Prestigia.comUS$154
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (447)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (321)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Green House
Updated 20/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 65 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the 2AA rosette and Michelin Plate, Arbor restaurant. Our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference. Winning the Environment award from the Food Made Good awards 2 years running says it all. Don't miss out on our homebaked afternoon tea or experiencing Arbor for yourself.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English
1229Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 777
  • 305
  • 88
  • 40
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alec Bromley wrote a review 19 Sep
Bolton, United Kingdom96 contributions69 helpful votes
Love the Green House Hotel, the room, the service and the food. What else do you want do you want from a hotel. I would recommend to anybody. Thank you much indeed for looking after us. Mr and Mrs Bromley.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katrina W wrote a review 03 Sep
Wokingham15 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night and thought the location was just perfect with free parking on site (rare these days) and room was clean and bright. The biggest complaint would be the lack of sound insolation between rooms - so bad that we could hear laughter and even mobile text notifications! Thought the breakfast was very nice (prompt service too). Didn't manage to eat dinner at the restaurant as it was fully booked (as some other reviews mentioned ). Can walk into town in around 10 mins so very central location but on a nice peaceful road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
jackandemmacurry wrote a review Aug 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom30 contributions9 helpful votes
Visited twice in a week:- 1. Afternoon tea was a joy - well presented (although asked for earl grey but got breakfast tea). 2. Dinner on a Wednesday - not enough staff on, those available abrupt - a real shame food was super tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia O'Sullivan, Owner at The Green House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for noticing how much potential we have too. On the whole this summer has been challenging with the ping-demic. As we are such a busy hotel and restaurant we were having quite a few of the team off isolating at any one time. Add Brexit to the mix and staff in general were slim pickings. Of course this is not new news and you were paying for a service but this summer it was unfortunately out of our control. Having two members of the team pinged a couple of hours before service meant we were behind. Hopefully when all this madness is over you can find your way back to us and get the serivce you deserve and the service that we are known for!
Read more
Tracy E wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Although this is a lovely hotel with a fine restaurant (in which we ate dinner the night we arrived), we were informed, unapologetically, that it will not be possible for us to eat in for the rest of our 11-night stay. We always stay in charming hotels with well-known restaurants, and when it’s relevant the staff will alert us when booking that we will need to reserve dinner in order to avoid disappointment. In our 33 years travelling together, we have never encountered a hotel who seems hostile to accommodating its guests with dinner reservations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you hope to eat in the hotel restaurant, make sure you have dinner reservations before you...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia O'Sullivan, Owner at The Green House
Responded 2 weeks ago
In my many years of hospitality it has always been important to me that our guests are always catered for in our restaurant regardless of how busy we are we must put them first. This summer has been a whole different ball game. Staff shortages due to isolating and Brexit has meant that we never knew how many of the team would be available to work. Adding to this the demand for dining out from the staycationers was high. Before we even opened our doors in May be were already fully booked for the whole summer. I am so sorry that we weren't able to accommodate you for additional nights. We do say on our confirmations that we get busy so book as soon as you can. I do appreciate that we were probably already booked up at the point of your reservation so apologies for this. When things start to return to normal we would love to see you back and we will be delighted to hold space in our Arbor restaurant for you too.
Read more
Derek K wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Just returned after a one night stay at The Green House. The standard double room was quite small but clean and tidy. We had breakfast at the Arbor restaurant which is described as ‘award winning’ but my avocado with scrabbled egg was anything but ‘award winning’… a tasteless lump of avocado had been dumped on to a dry piece of sourdough and sloppy spoonful of scrambled egg chucked on the side. One word…. Yuk!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t order the avacado for breakfast!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivia O'Sullivan, Owner at The Green House
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. This doesn't sound good at all and not what you can expect from us on a normal day. In fact we have had guests stay in the last few days that questioned this comment as they had such a good experience. I must apologise for this. We have been encountering a lot of issues with staff shortages due to isolation this summer.(As has everyone, I know) On occasion we had to improvise with our junior chefs and managers jumping in to help in the kitchen as "the show must go on". We are sorry that this impacted on your stay. I'm happy to see that you did award us 3 of the 5 points so hopefully the rest of your stay was pleasant.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the green house hotel bournemouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Green House
Which popular attractions are close to The Green House?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.1 km), Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.3 km), and Laser Quest Bournemouth (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Green House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Green House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Green House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Green House?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Murrino, Turtle Bay - Bournemouth, and Agora Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Green House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Green House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Green House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.3 km), Christchurch Priory Church (6.6 km), and Red House Museum & Gardens (6.6 km).
Is The Green House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.