We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marquis Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (7)
Overview
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HQ England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Description
The beautiful Marquis Hotel was built in the 19th century as a holiday home for the 3rd Marquis of Bute. Around 1920 it was converted into a fine hotel and retains many of the original features a number of sea More facing rooms.In 2013 the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The hotel has a private entrance to the Riviera Conference Centre with access to tennis, bowls and 9 hole pitch and putt. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
44
Price range
US$48 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Photos
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (37)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (4)
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
163
122
67
31
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
163
122
67
31
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room roof terrace sea front family room buffet style breakfast car park between courses coach party on arrival ground floor patio doors mid week break fried bread lovely hotel flat screen tv clean hotel coach trip
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

small outside entrance unkept fag butts all over the floor very dated in side really needs to be modernised room had dirty stained walls tatty net curtains and curtains , bed very hard and was itchy all night ,,,breakfast very basic but ok ,left early

Thank 670ann
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a two night break with a couple of friends. We had our dog so had a garden room with patio doors onto a car park. Our friends were in one of the modernised rooms upstairs. Pros.. free parking on site Short cut out...More

2  Thank ceri93
Reviewed 3 September 2018

When I arrived there was no one in Reception and a Family waiting to book in, there was a bell push to summon attention which worked after about 10 minutes. Booking in was easy and I had my Door Key Card in minutes. I walked...More

Thank Gary D
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I sometimes wonder if some of the reviews left on this site are written by people that actually stay at the hotels about which they type and sadly TA does not require verification. Our stay at the Marquis however can be verified...! We stayed at...More

Thank Paul R
Response from MarquisHotel, Manager at Marquis HotelResponded 30 August 2018

Hello Paul, Thank you very much for all your kind comments the staff & Henry will be very pleased when I pass this on. We are a small family run team & we all do our best to help guests have the most enjoyable stay...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

Very poor management. Staff seem to be retained at a low number. Meals, although edible left much to the imagination. WiFi and TV reception poor although the brochure intimated that this was provided. Hotel on the whole was rather run down.More

Thank majorian
Response from MarquisHotel, Manager at Marquis HotelResponded 30 August 2018

Hello, I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. Unfortunatley, during your stay we had some staff members leave and some were off sick. We do not 'retain staff at a low number' but if staff choose to leave it of course takes some time to...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sdowling101
18 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Z3818HIpeterr | Reviewed this property |
No, nothing "offsite" is free of charge.
0
Votes
mark c
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from DaveHWirral | Reviewed this property |
The hotel front door is locked about 22:30, but an entry key code is given on checking in.
1
Vote
daveynew26
1 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John S | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Room Tips
"X rather run down. Towels changed once in a week. WiFi very poor. TV in the room not working nothing was..."
majorian
27 Aug 2018
Read review
"We stayed on the ground floor so cant say about other floors"
annej189
24 Jul 2018
Read review
"higher floor and a refunished room"
pamcyril47
24 Jul 2018
Read review
"Not sure, ours was on ground floor , no air-con but window opened. It was so hot."
829audreyt
04 Jul 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing