We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TLH Leisure Resort

Save
Share
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (345)
Dining (147)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average18%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“derwent hotel”(41 reviews)
“carlton hotel”(27 reviews)
“arcade games”(8 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
167
107
71
19
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
167
107
71
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsderwent hotelcarlton hotelarcade gamesten pin bowlingstarlight loungeentertainment teamballroom dancinggames roomsoft play areahalf termsteam roomself cateringgreat facilitiesindoor poolleisure facilitiesevening entertainmentkb sounds
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was dated, the food was okay but thats about it, the entertainment was poor. The staff were helpful, Liked Torquay but wouldn't stay there again :-( For what we paid we expected a lot better.More

Thank Daryl P
Response from gbrueton, Manager at TLH Leisure ResortResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review, I’m sorry that you felt this way regarding your stay. Although your room may have been dated I would hope that you found it clean and well appointed, the vast majority of our rooms have been refurbished. Our nightly entertainment...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Derwent which was the hub of the holiday. With my disabled mum we had issues of parking which were soon resolved and offered a disabled parking space from Clara outside the hotel. She was just so helpful and accommodating. The outdoor...More

Thank Kitti_Lancashire
Response from DT-GM, General Manager at TLH Leisure ResortResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I will make sure the whole team get to see them. Hopefully,we can order up the same again regarding the weather!!!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Once again, our annual return to Torquay, and once again our visit to TLH. 20+ years of visiting this resort, and it is still rather great. Always phone the hotel, you get the best rates!! Firstly on arrival, the lady receptionist (Clara) was very efficient...More

Thank Mathew K
Response from jgarside, General Manager at TLH Leisure ResortResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Matthew K Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. Your comments are really useful. Please be assured I have extracted all of the points that we can review. Again thank you for taking the time to give your feedback,...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018

I was here with a Conference and we booked in just as a coach party arrived. Arggh. Rooms are adequate but my bed was poor. It is rather a warren but typical of old houses knocked together with a new frontage. The staff were very...More

Thank Michael C
Response from DT-GM, General Manager at TLH Leisure ResortResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Michael, Sorry your check-in was held up by a coach arrival. It was nice to read your kind comments regarding the food, and particularly our staff. We do pride ourselves on customer service which is not always easy with such a busy operation, we...More

Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We were a party of 40 from a retirement club together with extended friends and this visit we stayed at the Victoria Hotel. We were all very pleased with the hotel which is smaller than the Derwent which we stayed at previously. The bedrooms were...More

Thank Cherylwelshgirl
Response from DT-GM, General Manager at TLH Leisure ResortResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Cheryl, Thank you for your wonderful comments, particularly regarding our team here, as they all try their best to ensure everyone has the best holiday possible, and it is not easy during this heatwave! We would all love to see you return here in...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Laundry Service
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$139 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$139 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#4 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (345)
Dining (147)
Pool & Beach (72)
Amenities (179)
Family and Play Areas (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kevmaxthom
28 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from buzz7763 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can go to any of the hotels and use all the facilities 😁
1
Vote
pinkspireites
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Stevedon10 | Reviewed this property |
Swimming is free to use if you’re a guest but there is a charge for the gym. Not sure how much it is going though.
0
Votes
wayheyhey81
19 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from tigalily23 | Reviewed this property |
Don’t know if you’ve already been but I’ve stayed at the Derwent, Carlton and Toorak as a couple. Personal preference was the Carlton for couples. Right by the spa, large rooms, easiest parking and feels a little more... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Stay somewhere else."
Read review
"higher floors are accessible by lift but it is very small,most the time its easier to use the stairs."
Read review
"corridors and stairs are very narrow so pack small bags not large ones"
Read review
"4th floor at back overlooking car park ."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing