We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Traveller (411)
360
Panoramas (11)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:10% off room rate

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
46Restaurantswithin 0,5 km
10Attractionswithin 0,5 km
1 036Reviews
651Photos
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 440
  • 342
  • 145
  • 55
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is an old hotel but has been modernised,the functions room and bar area were nice . We were so lucky with our room 231 amazing views new carpet and looks like not long renovated. A Lovely chaise lounge so we could lie relaxing enjoying the most stunning room.a few negatives
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Stayed the night as was having a night out with friends in Newquay so decided to book a room and stay over , found friendly helpful staff, excellent food , great service, fantastic views from restaurant , comfortable clean rooms . Would highly recommend.
Read more
I hate to leave a bad review cause the staff were so so so lovely however was quite disappointed with my stay. The room itself was clean but very cold, ordered from the hotel restaurant not only was there £7 fee on top of food price for room service but the foods itself left
Read more
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded today
Dear Natalie, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am sorry that you were unhappy about some aspects of your visit. The hotel is centrally heated throughout, with individual thermostatic valves on each radiator, our reception team would have been able to advise or provide a secondary heater if the room was not warm enough. As is the case with the majority of hotels there is an additional charge when ordering room service, I am sorry if you were not made aware of this when you ordered. Our restaurant food is freshly cooked to order and our kitchen has a 5 star food safety rating, it would be helpful if you could email me details of the food you ordered and the date of your stay so that I can investigate the concerns you raise. My email address is gwmanager@staustellbrewery.co.uk. Finally, I am pleased that you found our team to be welcoming and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Didn't know what to expect after reading the reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised. Despite the hotel being old it is obviously undergoing a face lift. Car parking was secure and easy, reception was friendly and helpful and despite the stairways being a little tired
Read more
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded today
I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we managed to surprise you with the standards of service. The Great Western is an older building but we are continually redecorating and refurbishing throughout. Our premium and superior rooms do have some very special views over the hotel gardens to the harbour and coastline. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Read more
There was quite alot disappointing with this hotel. When walked in we didn't get a welcome we had to wait 5 minutes to get the receptionist attention even though there was 2 of them. Once in the room it was dirty. The carpet and walls had stains on them. The wall had a whole in
Read more
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel
Responded today
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, please accept my apologies that on this occasion we did not achieve our usually high standards. If you had spoken to the duty manager during your stay we would have ensured we addressed the issues you raise.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGreat Western Hotel
The Superior Room at the Great Western Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGreat Western Hotel
The Bridal - Honeymoon Suite at the Great Western Hotel
Photo provided by managementGreat Western Hotel
Premium Room
Photo provided by managementGreat Western Hotel
Standard Plus room
PreviousNext
12345648
It does have a lift on one side of the hotel which serves quite a few rooms, however alot of the rooms are via stairways. They are very good at accommodating wheel chairs etc so if restricted I'd ring and book or state you need access to avoid disappointment.
1 vote
Show all answers
Does this hotel have evening entertainment?
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi there, Prices are for room only. Breakfast can be added on for an additional £8.99 per person per day. Many thanks Reception
0 votes
Clean and spacious really enjoyed our stay there
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Choose a room with a view!"
"get a sea view room on a nice day its prob worth it but get the best deal you can"
"Book a car parking space"
"dont take 221 unless the guttering is fixed"
"Don't expect good views with the basic rooms, go for the premium room although it may cost a little more"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$43 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
great western hotel newquaygreat western newquayhotel great western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing