We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Riviera Lane Featherbrooke Ext 8, Krugersdorp 1739 South Africa
E-mail hotel
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Expedia.com
US$196
Fully refundable before Sat, 16 Dec
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
US$182
Agoda.com
US$180
No booking fees
Hotels.comUS$196
PricelineUS$182
TravelocityUS$196
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (17)
Videos (6)

About

#8 of 29 hotels in Krugersdorp
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in a leafy valley in Johannesburg, near the Cradle of Humankind, home to our earliest ancestors, experience a hotel that is anything but standard and a healthy lifestyle becomes part of the daily routine. Its 48 rooms and suites blend into the natural surroundings where guests can enjoy convenience and respite, surrounded by completely original, creative and unexpected spaces. We love our planet, its wildlife and people. We embrace environmental change to enhance – not compromise – the quality of the guest experience. Enjoy unique “farm to fork” cuisine where every ingredient holds its own story at our signature Brambles Restaurant whilst indulging in exquisite rooftop cocktails and watching mesmerizing sunsets. Whether you put in 40 hours this week or barely made it into the office, find your bliss in our award-winning signature spa where we offer personalized treatments to heal the mind body and soul. If you are planning a corporate retreat, launch party or big business meeting, we have the perfect venue for you. Our recent awards include Africa’s Best Day Spa 2021 and 2022. We have been nominated by the World Luxury Hotel Awards 2023 for Best Luxury Small Hotel, Best Luxury Spa Hotel and Best Luxury Wellness Hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Patio
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate
18Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 2
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Traveler_Man_UK wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia24 contributions10 helpful votes
The hotel and grounds are great. Rooms are modern and clean, fast Wifi and include in room Netflix. The "jogging" track is possibly oversold as it is effectively a 1km loop around the 500m of fencing running parallel to the river. The hotel caters more to conferences rather than the holiday or business traveller. It has a fantastic spa the grounds and pool are lovely, serene and very zen-like. The staff are what shatters the peace and quiet of this beautiful place. They shout, constantly, from one end of the restaurant to the other, from the bar to the restaurant even outside rooms in the hallways. Checking in I thought there was a party in the small reception area. There were 4 staff members engaged in a rowdy "discussion" - I felt like an inconvenience, the noise was defining when entering. Perhaps the single biggest disappointment was the extortionate food and beverage costs. Two SINGLE gin and tonics (standard gin nothing special) were R420!!!!. Meals in the restaurant are similarly outrageously priced, meal are ok but not Micheline standard yet prices are right up there while service is nowhere near the price point. My recommendation for food and drink is to grab an Uber and a 5 minute trip to either Silverstar Casino or Cradleston Mall will provide a plethora of tasty well well-priced options.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get rooms as far away from car park as possible
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Departure45929812988 wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
I had an amazing afternoon at this Spa. Thank you to Happiness the therapist her massage was a 10 out of 10. A Spa is as good as it therapist is. I will definitely book another massage with Happiness Thank you to Noni the Spa manager for making my afternoon at the Spa special
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 21 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to rate the Vivari Spa as being AMAZING! We sincerely appreciate you mentioning that our therapist provided such an excellent treatment experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vivari Spa in the future and will to exceed your expectations. Management Vivari Hotel and Spa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nivan M wrote a review Jul 2023
Doha, Qatar10 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic hotel - designed to perfection, excellent service from all teams (spa, facilities, restaurant). Amazing massages, and delicious lunch and snacks. 5 star accommodation and facilities. Will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 10 Aug 2023
Dear Nivan Moodley, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vivari Hotel and Spa by Mantis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Management Vivari Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nikhil_Advani wrote a review Jul 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia544 contributions183 helpful votes
This is a very modern hotel, with great architecture and furnishings. Staff were all very friendly, and the food was very good. The hotel definitely has some teething issues though. Room was freezing because there were gaps between the door and door frame, so the heater couldn't cool the room properly. Water spilled out from the shower into the bedroom carpet. In the morning there was a just a trickle of water, couldn't take a shower. This happened all morning until I checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 30 Jul 2023
Dear Nikhil Advani, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Vivari Hotel and Spa by Mantis. We will review the points mentioned with regards to the door and door frame, water spilling onto the carpet and the water issue with the operations team and have all addressed. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will see the points mentioned resolved. Sincerely, Jegie Padmanathan General Manager Vivari Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nalsin wrote a review May 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa194 contributions98 helpful votes
Wow. What an exquisite and exclusive Boutique hotel and spa within close proximity to Johannesburg. From the moment we arrived to the time we departed, we were treated like Royalty. The Service was outstanding from each and every staff member at the hotel. Compliments to all the Chefs as the cuisine was superb throughout our stay. The indoor and outdoor dining area to the spa, to the pool area are all surrounded by beautiful gardens, landscapes and greenery and set in a very tranquil and serene environment. The Rooms are luxurious and comfortable . The hotel and all the rooms are uniquely and beautifully decorated. We had a a special occasion and we were extremely well taken care of with nothing to fault on. A very Special Thank you to everyone at Vivari Hotel and Spa for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable. What a Wonderful experience! I highly recommend this Exquisite and Exclusive Hotel & Spa.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 29 May 2023
Good Day Nalsin, Thank you for taking the time to give us such excellent feedback about your experience at the Vivari Hotel and Spa by Mantis. We are proud to have made your stay a truly memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind regards, Management Vivari Hotel and Spa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Curiosity25270572853 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
Still a bit of a construction site, but it’s a lovely establishment. If you are looking to get a deep massage this is not the place. The therapists are lovely but they just aren’t skilled. I let the front desk lady know and she just said “oh”
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The jacuzzi needs a clean, there were bugs in it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on our Spa facility. We would like to sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations in terms of the standard of the spa therapist. We will ensure that this is addressed with the relevant staff involved and ensure the standard of service is addressed. We truly believe that we offer a place and standard that sets us apart and that you did not experience this in this visit does not mean that you should give us another opportunity to show you what we can truly deliver as a world class experience in our award-winning spa. Management Vivari Hotel and Spa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Madame_XYZ wrote a review Feb 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa1303 contributions76 helpful votes
The rooms are great. Spacious. I stayed in the luxury room it’s balcony. Aircon works perfectly. Bed huge and firm. Like the decor. Bathroom great. Shower good. The spa is incredible. The therapists and manager brilliant. The wet area was private and comfortable. The issue here was the sauna. Not hot enough. Luke warm. Jacuzzi and steam room great. Our treatments perfect. Dinner was awful due to extremely noisy function above the dining room. I wanted a tranquil experience with my husband instead got a room filled with so much noise it was unpleasant. Please notify your guests beforehand. Food was good but not worth the extravagant amount they charge for it. The prices are Michelin Star but quality just above average. The music from the dining room area is loud and you cannot keep your balcony open. At 6am they start with the Elevator Music which is most unpleasant when all you want to do is hear some birds and silence with the door open. Husband and I wanted to shower at 9am Sunday morning. No hot water! Breakfast was average. Some tables not clean. Dirt still under the tables. The continental offerings are ok. Eggs Benedict was underwhelming. Did advise one of the staff. This hotel could be exceptional and had potential!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask whether there are any functions before you have dinner!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anushka Reddy, Guest Services / Front Office at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 08 Feb 2023
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your hotel stay. We appreciate all the constructive comments. We will review all the shortcomings highlighted such as the sauna not being hot enough, the noisy function, quality and value for money of the food and the music around the hotel complex which was meant to give the areas some atmosphere and character not to annoy you in anyway. Unfortunately, the hot water issue was as a result of the persistent load shedding which did not allow the generator enough time to heat the water in the geysers in the morning. We are looking at alternative sources of power to ensure there is electricity available 24 hours a day at the hotel. We intend to address all the points raised, recognize the need to improve and ensure that we always do the very best for all our guests. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the property and appreciate the positive comments that you had also mentioned. Management Vivari Hotel and Spa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lara R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Firstly the facilities at the hotel and spa are first class and beautiful and clean. Our room was exactly same. But more importantly it was the service and attention to detail that stood out. Your staff went out of their way to be so accommodating and nothing was ever too much. This includes the ladies at the spa as well. The entire atmosphere is one of absolute calm and relaxation, and we spent the entire weekend commenting how absolutely blessed and privileged we were that this was on our doorstep. Every single detail was cared about, thought our and so zen-centric. A special mention must be made of Pule who was just the most professional and helpful person. He organised everything needed for specific dietary requirements and constantly went above and beyond. The effort did not go unnoticed. Everything from the background music throughout the day, the facilities to the service and attitude of the staff was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Everything is spectacular
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wikus Lubbe, General Manager at Vivari Hotel and Spa
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Dear Lara, Thank you so much for all your kind words We hope to see you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kelebogiledew1 wrote a review Jun 2022
Rustenburg, South Africa
Excellent service...love it,the staff was very friendly, food at the restaurant was also good i really cannot fault the service i received from vivari hotel and spa by mantis❤❤❤❤❤❤will definitely come back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nav88 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Such a beautiful hotel and what struck me most was the sense of calm when you enter the premises. My husband and I had a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and we were treated to a personal touch. We will definitely be back for more R&R.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$145 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgKrugersdorp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIVARI HOTEL AND SPA - Now R 2 829 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶5̶2̶3̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Krugersdorp, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vivari Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Ster-Kinekor Cradlestone Mall & IMAX (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doppio Zero, Cowfish - Silverstar Casino, and Saddlewoods Steak Ranch.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Vivari Hotel and Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Vivari Hotel and Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Vivari Hotel and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Vivari Hotel and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Vivari Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Vivari Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boer War Blockhouse (5.8 km).