26° South Bush Boho Hotel

26° South Bush Boho Hotel

Traveller (122)
Dining (25)
26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 hotels in Krugersdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Just because you’re in the bush, it doesn’t mean that you have to skimp on creature comforts. Our creative and quirky 76 luxury rooms, as well as four spacious luxury suites, redefine African bush accommodation with a modern, bush-boho twist.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
Hotel links
Special Offer:Mid Year Getaway for 2
228Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 58
  • 13
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shikar wrote a review Oct 2023
Fourways, South Africa3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're looking for breathtaking views, trails, activities and conferencing, it is just a stones throw away. The staff's service is beyond applaudable. Don't forget to try the braai at the boma!!!
Hard to believe these places exist.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2023
Good day Shikar, Thank you for the fantastic feedback. We are very lucky being in Gauteng and having such an amazing property. The team is also great support. Kind Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony S wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner decided to stay at 26 Degrees South for a relaxing weekend getaway and we couldn't have chosen a better spot! The location is really convenient from Joburg, but when you are there feels like you are far out of town with the amazing views and wildlife. The hotel itself is very stylish, with great rooms and the service was outstanding with delicious food and drinks. Would really recommend staying here to anyone looking for a convenient getaway!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Good day Anthony S, Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback with us. We loved having you both join us in our little gem. We look forward to welcoming you back "home" again in the near future. Regards, 26D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Logan N wrote a review Apr 2021
Brakpan, South Africa74 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was great to find out about a modern and beautiful hotel relatively close to home. Just over an hour away from the East Rand, situated in a scenic area surrounded by mountains in a peaceful valley, lies this modern gem. The dirt road of about 4km to the property was a challenge although the views made up for it. The check-in process was painless and all COVID protocols were strictly adhered to. The bar area was spacious and beautiful, with excellent service from bartenders and waitrons. The restaurant served a careful selection of gourmet meals to cater for all tastes. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. An excellent choice for a getaway!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 01 May 2021
Good day logann295, Thank you for the fantastic review. We have taken the property over in December 2020. One of our first areas to do an upgrade will be the road leading to hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again very soon. Regards, 26D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany C wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Eish where to start….the grounds are lovely but the staff is a hassle. They do not inform you at check-in that you need a gate pass to leave the premises. We told them when we checked in that we had a wedding to go to and would be leaving in 30 minutes. Not one mention of a gate pass. We had to argue to be let out of the gate. Legitimately were holding us hostage bc we didn’t have an armband.

Reception informs that the hiking trail is right outside the first gate. It is not. It is about 1km down the main road with no signage until you are upon it. We walked about 3/4’s of the way before turning around not knowing if we had passed it or not & when back at the gate asking personnel where the trail head was NO ONE could tell us.

The WiFi in the rooms is terrible and connectivity is extremely spotty. Not normally a big deal when on a mini getaway but we actually needed it several times and it was very frustrating. The rooms are nice, bathrooms could definitely be updated but not completely gross.

Overall will not be coming back or recommending this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 02 Mar 2022
Good day Tiffany, Thank you for your feedback. We will reserve our comments on this review, as you actions at property is less diserable from what is expected from a guest. Coming in with a diplomatic vehicle does not warrant you driving recklessly in the conservancy or being rude to our staff, when in actual fact you were told at the entry gate and by hotel security of procedures but choice to ignore this. Have a lovely day. Regards, 26D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
prani2016 wrote a review May 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa48 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The reviews under this hotel below were very deceiving. Firstly, the gravel road here is horrific! It was a very long, bumpy ride. I honestly wouldn't have booked here if I had known. Non 2 x 4 and 4 x 4's would struggle. You have to drive really slowly!
We are well traveled and we stay at lots of hotels. For us, this hotel was ok.
A 3 star hotel feel.... nothing modern or eye catching and you don't say, oh wow, look at that or wow, look at this view. No wow factor!
Our room had a mountain views and the suites on the other side had a view of the mountain and the pool area together. The bathroom has a tub with a shower on the wall. The water switches from tub to shower and while showering, it suddenly switches to tub and it's so tough to switches it again. Then the water either runs too hot or too cold- yet you had already set it perfectly when you started showering! Epic nightmare! There is no bar fridge and no basic cutlery,
The air conditioning system is from another planet. It is as huge as a chest freezer and takes 2 hours to lightly heat up a room! The walls are paper thin and we could hear people on the phone next door to us! The TV is really small. It is really neat and clean at least.
The passage is extremely dark, no lights on and you struggle to even open your door. Yes, key system, not card system.
Asked for assistance at reception and maintenance never arrived!
Wifi network is absolutely pathetic!
The food at Chow Baby was not tasty either. The fish was ok and the creamy chicken pasta was dry- not creamy at all! The churros were great though.
Breakfast was a great variety although no chicken sausages, just beef and pork and not ideal for people who don't eat that.
Not a great overall experience and for the first time in our travelling lives, we checked out at 8.15am!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 08 May 2022
Good day prani2016, Thank you for sharing your feedback. The hotel has noted your concerns. We however do not agree on some of the points you raised. The feedback has been shared with the team and we have addressed all the points we agreed with. Have a lovely day. Reards, 26 D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ddtucker89 wrote a review Sept 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a few issues with our stay. I booked online and enquired about early chrck in but didn't receive feedback. I called reception and was advised that we can just arrive at 11 and pay an additional fee at the desk. We arrived at 11h30 as we needed to get ready for a wedding that started at 14h00. No one knew about anything and we had to wait for 1.5 hours for our room to be made available. We were let into our room shortly after 13h00 and I had no time to get ready properly. The aircon was old and very loud so we could not sleep with it on. The carpets were stained and we had no hot water in our shower. The rooms are also do not block out any noise as we could hear everything in reception and the restaurant from our room on the 3rd floor the next morning
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 23 Sept 2021
Dear ddtucker89, Thank you for taking the time to complete the feedback about your stay at 26 Degrees South Bush Boho Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. We would appreciate some more information on the points raised so that we can address and train accordingly. Please may you share your feedback with willem@26dsouth.co.za. Kind regards, 26D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sonikavdw wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The vibe is amazing. The venue is very nice. Natural African artistic feeling with a modern touch. A great surprise and not what you would expect after a bit of a drive into the bush. The food was not quite what was expected for the steep price of R395pp on new years eve. It could be better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JoanneJScott26DGM, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear Sonkia, Great to hear you enjoyed the uniqueness of our venue. We strive to be different. Thank you for the review and comments. We will strive to improve in the food department and hope to welcome you back to 26° South during 2020. Warm regards, Joanne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthea b wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was slightly expensive given location and the fact that you had to pay an additional conservancy fee - family of 4 cost R1755 which was a bit high as we really only did an overnight stay - ie sleep, eat and go.
Also, TV channels were limited and reception poor.
A caveat, we were only looking for an overnight stay not an experience, so in all likelihood, we probably should have looked for a B&B as i imagine the experience must be great - in nature and all
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 05 Oct 2021
Good day Anthea, Thank you for the feedback. Dissappointing to read the review as we were not really able to give you the full experience at the hotel. We have numerous other activities such as hiking, game drives, mountain biking, hot air ballooning and more. We have shared your feedback about the TV with the maintenance team, and the matter has been addressed. The conservancy levy is also marked on our website and all online booking channels, including the channel you made your booking via, which does make guest aware of the charge, which is a R50 once off per person during their visit. The conservancy levy is standard across most national parks, private and public conservancies and is also charged by all the properties within the Cradle Moon Conservancy and surrounding. The levy also offers you the chance to do hiking, walking and mountain biking within safe and secure natural area without needing to pay anything extra for these activities. This levy is not for our own benefit but rather to the benefit and protection of the animals which we have on and above in the skies in the conservancy, this includes some endangered species, which without our support will not be able to be available in the area. 26 Degrees Team strives to give 110% and we will work harder to ensure that we provide the best possible service we can to all, whether it is a quick "in and out" or a "weekend away". Kind Regards, 26D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arianminnie wrote a review May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all when booking, i booked a luxury room however I was never asked if i wsnted a ground floor unit or one upstairs.

That had to be requested on arrival so my partner could be comfortable.

When booking for my stay I was advised to select my activities and their time slots, we did that however on Saturday morning when we went to reception for our quad biking activity which was booked for 9am we were told it's been changed to 10h00am this was done without our knowledge or consent. We went back to our room which had not been attended to by house keeping and we waited till 10h00am eventually we went back to reception at 10h00am and went on out quad biking activity.

On return our room had still not been attended to by housekeeping and I had to go ask at reception for someone to assist with housekeeping then only the lady came .

At 12h00pm we headed downstairs again for our picnic at 12h00pm we weren't asked where we wanted our picnic we were taken to the back of some building and when we asked to be moved outside our room which was better in our view and the ground leveled instead of slanted we overheard staff saying I like to complain.

We had chosen our game drive time at 16h00pm however we were told it's at 15h30pm again changed without our consent or knowledge.

When we cane down to reception for our game drive the car was full other guests were sitting as couples with gaps in between them .

I was told to sit at the back and my husband in front when I asked who I'm supposed to interact with they nicely told me there's nothing they can do .

There was a white male manager standing outside who said he will not call another driver to drive the other jeep because he won't start another car just for two people . When I asked for a refund he said he doesn't do refunds.

That was the end of our very sour trip .
This was meant to be an outing for my birthday and mother's day and it was a horrible experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good day Arian Minnie, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We have done an internal investigation on the points raised, we will however waive our right of reply, although we do not agree with your observation shared online. The hotel does not use online forums to call out guest where we disagree. The hotel will however arrange a refund on the missed activity booking which you were late for even though hotel contacted you 30 minutes prior to remind you of the time, which you also confirmed on arrival. The hotel will make contact with you to arrange the refund on your game drive. Have a lovely day. Kind Regards, Willem Schaap - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacques d wrote a review Mar 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful, value for money stay. Excellent staff and service all around. Dinner was well worth it, one of the best pizzas and chicken burger sliders I have ever had. The morning 10km was hike was also great, I recommend doing it early in the morning though.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Willem Schaap, General Manager at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Responded 16 Mar 2021
Good day Jacques, Thank you very much for the feedback. We are were happy to welcome you and your wife to the hotel and sharing are beautiful property with you as well. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Regards, 26 D Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Willem
Fourways, South Africa
Good day, All our prices vary depending on how busy the hotel is. Please contact hotel direct on to do a quote for a specific day.
Voyage828074 asked a question Oct 2018
Do you have a Jacuzzi ?
Answer from simone92todd
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions3 helpful votes
Dear Nwabisa, thank you for your message. Please note that we do not have a jacuzzi at the hotel. Kind Regards
Passport07800322807 wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the Riverside Spa well ahead of time. "
Read full review
Rachelle E wrote a tip May 2023
99 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to pay extra for the Romantic turndow and game drives."
Read full review
Alby-K wrote a tip Jan 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Brilliant mountain views from morning til evening. Great food and service from staff. Enjoyed it. "
Read full review
Adam wrote a tip Jan 2023
Bryanston, South Africa3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get a room facing the pool if you want any peace and quiet !"
Read full review
Montjos wrote a tip Oct 2022
Midrand, South Africa42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please carry cash for the tip to the waiters as they prefer that than paying when you leave. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Krugersdorp area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,244 - R 1,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgKrugersdorp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

26° SOUTH BUSH BOHO HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Krugersdorp, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rhino and Lion Nature Reserve (4.4 km), The Shooting Range (5.8 km), and Kromdraai Gold Mine (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Roots Restaurant, Bellgables Country Restaurant, and Carnivore.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does 26° South Bush Boho Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to 26° South Bush Boho Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kromdraai Gold Mine (6.8 km).
Is 26° South Bush Boho Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Krugersdorp HotelsKrugersdorp Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KrugersdorpHotels near 26° South Bush Boho Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire