Miarestate

Miarestate

Benny Masekwameng, Justin Bonello and Pete Goffe-Wood sitting near the pool
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Haga Haga
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated on 740 hectares of wildlife estate, Miarestate gives guests a panoramic view of sea and untamed bush. The hotel has private access to a small secluded beach on the rocky shore of the Wild Coast.Miarestate has a variety of accommodation, from deluxe hotel rooms to rustic self-catering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Spa
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Iron
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Bosbokstrand Road, Haga Haga 5272 South Africa
Getting there
East London Airport
48.1 km
See all flights
Port Elizabeth Airport
278.1 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
93Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 20
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
damien1972 wrote a review May 2015
London, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just had our wedding here about a month ago. I could not compliment the hotel enough! They went the extra mile on every possible dimension - form the welcoming bottle of champaign, to the 'just married' on the game drive land rover, to the roses in the bath after it all. The chef was as good as anybody I have every eaten with and the whole day was way beyond anything we had hoped for. We could not recommend this place more....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascale H, Function Coordinator at Miarestate
Responded 19 May 2015
Thank you Damien for your wonderful review - Miarestate feel privileged that you and Sally chose us for your special day! It was a truly beautiful event! All the best for the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Miarestate soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaxUnds wrote a review Mar 2015
3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had such an amazing day and night at Miarestate to celebrate a friends upcoming wedding. Such attention to detail, the best food ever, a beautiful spa and attentive staff. A little secret hideaway to be experienced.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yorkshirewife wrote a review Feb 2015
Yorkshire3 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Miarestate yesterday for spa treatment and lunch. This luxurious hotel and spa is, without doubt, a stunning place and probably the best I have visited in the Eastern Cape. From the welcome on arrival I was spellbound by the beauty, attention to detail, fabulous food, perfect accommodation and efficient, friendly staff. I know that I shall be taking all my international visitors there and can't wait to return myself. A true gem in rural South Africa with 5 star standards.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pascale H, Manager at Miarestate
Responded 13 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely words! It was great having you back again yesterday. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica Schultz wrote a review Mar 2016
Middle Dural, Australia26 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There's no doubt that Miarestate is in an idyllic setting. Sitting on their terrace, watching the sunset is breathtaking but other than its location, the rest just misses the mark.

We had the Executive room and could hear the conversations happening in the office on the other side of the wall. The other rooms have no privacy at all as the path to the restaurant is directly in front of all the rooms.

I think the thing that sums it all up for us is that we were dropped off at the beach which can only be accessed by the estate's 4x4 quad and then forgotten about. Thank God we had our phones on us to call the hotel and remind them to come collect us.

This places saving grace is Speech. Not sure why they employ anyone else as he does everything - he answered the phone call and rescued us from the beach as the ranger had forgotten about us. He served drinks behind the bar and then waitered during dinner and breakfast. He also checked us out! And did all of this with a smile. What a lovely, shining star.

In comparison to another 5 star establishment we stayed at further down the coast, Miarestate seriously needs to up their game if they want to justify their prices and their star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent_Buxley wrote a review Sept 2015
East London, South Africa112 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
To be fair I could have spent longer than the night I was there but then I was not happy with the rooms. The setting is ideal on the top of hill overlooking the ocean in the middle of a well stocked game park but then the main building, spa and most of the rooms are placed together and end up being claustrophobic and boxed in where there is such opportunity to experience the views and wildlife.
The restaurant was great and the food really good prepared by a chef who clearly knew what he was doing. I enjoyed the stay and especially the setting in the game park but if I visited again would be sure to stay in a separate room or chalet. I felt the price was not locally competitive but the setting within a game park warrants this cost.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If staying here try one of their individual chalets as the rooms clustered together have no...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TonyFrog wrote a review Apr 2014
15 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Miarestate, the greatest spa resort in South Africa's Eastern Cape, is less than a hour's drive from East London airport.
You'll find the accommodation excellent and luxurious and the staff friendly. The food is amazing. Perfect family getaway for a few days or weeks. Check out the zebras and giraffes that roam the resort's grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gavin H, General Manager at Miarestate
Responded 12 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review following your recent visit to Miarestate! It is always rewarding to hear that the friendliness of the staff (and the animals!) is appreciated, as we pride ourselves in striving towards that perfect getaway. We know that you will return sometime in the near future, and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back home soon. Our warmest wishes!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy G wrote a review Apr 2017
Empangeni, South Africa5 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The dirt road leading to the hotel was bad but that was the only bad thing
An Ideal place for a romantic getaway, faultless service and excellent food, a beautiful location where we were able to walk amongst the wild animals and with a pristine beach close by
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
grantputt wrote a review Jan 2017
Yokohama, Japan1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A very disappointing experience on all counts. The setting was lovely, the rooms alright, though smaller than we usually experience at comparable five star establishments. The staff were friendly and certainly seemed eager to please, sadly, they were in desperate need of quite intensive training. The food was exceedingly average, bordering unpleasant.

We have left detailed constructive feedback for the management of Miarestate, and hope that this will be taken into consideration, as the potential is there, but sadly, run as it currently is, I fail to see how Five stars were awarded.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 03 Mar 2017
Hi grant Thank you for your feed back and we will look into all the issues you had its just a pity you never spoke to me when you were here. I could have sorted out most of you problems. Travel Safe Leon Bruigom GM Miarestate Hotel & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey F wrote a review Aug 2016
Haga Haga1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Miarestate as part of our honeymoon and were very happy with the luxurious experience that we were given. The staff were all incredible and so helpful. They really made us feel spoilt and that our every need was looked after. The Spa facilitates were fantastic and we can recommend the couple's therapy - it was so relaxing! The venue itself is beautiful and the decor is really chic. Very much a five star experience. The venue itself is top notch - the views across the area are unparalleled. This is by far the best experience along the Wild Coast and I would strongly recommend this hotel to friends and family who want a special, luxurious experience. Thanks team for a fantastic stay - we'll be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MiarestateRes, General Manager at Miarestate
Responded 29 Aug 2016
Hi Stacey! We are so delighted that Alistair and yourself had a great time celebrating your honeymoon at Miarestate. It was a pleasure hosting you both and look forward to welcoming you back for an anniversary treat. Our our very best wishes for the future. The Miarestate Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andre84_13 wrote a review Jun 2016
Dubai, United Arab Emirates59 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Luckily i phoned before coming as they did not know of our booking for four ppl. They had to call in staff but could only accommodate 2 of us at a time and wanted to make this 4 hour spa day to a 8 hour spa day! Not acceptable. We had to give them solutions as they were happy for 2 of us to sit and wait for 4 hours till the others are done. So now we have to split our spa session over two days as none of us is willing to sit around for 4 hours just waiting. This is really poor service and we feel like we done in with paying R5500 and this is what we are given. Would not recommend this place to friends from Jhb.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MiarestateRes, Operations Manager at Miarestate
Responded 15 Jul 2016
Dear Andre We would like to apologise for the inconvenience and how the information was handed over. Our spa has recently gone through a change in Spa Management and the information was handed over incorrectly by the previous Manager. Our new team will be working towards insuring that these incidents wont happen again. We hope that the rest of your stay was satisfactory and would love to welcome you back and provide you with the spectacular service you deserve. Regards Miarestate Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
ultimatebraaimaster wrote a tip Nov 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa19 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Anywhere is a good room!"
Read full review
Lisa_H wrote a tip Mar 2017
31 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All 9 rooms (or suites!) are incredible it won't matter which one you get"
Read full review
LilaKCS wrote a tip Mar 2017
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom49 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms face outwards onto the pool and grass area where the giraffes come up to say hi!"
Read full review
Sarabi08 wrote a tip Feb 2016
Cambridge, United Kingdom100 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the twin rooms are very disappointing compared to the double rooms. The double rooms were stunning truly stunning"
Read full review
Nolitha M wrote a tip Nov 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa49 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 9 & 10 are the best!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Haga Haga area.
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeHaga Haga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MIARESTATE - Hotel Reviews (Haga Haga, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Miarestate
Which popular attractions are close to Miarestate?
Nearby attractions include Haga Haga Beach (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Miarestate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Miarestate?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Miarestate?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Miarestate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Miarestate?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Miarestate have airport transportation?
Yes, Miarestate offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Miarestate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Is Miarestate accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.