We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
49 Schreiner Street, De Aar 7000 South Africa
eDreams
StayForLong
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 9 in De Aar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Winner of the Sanlam Top 20 Award for best 3 Star Lodge and winner of the Lillizela Award for Best 3 Star Guesthouse in Northern Cape. We offer fully serviced, well equipped, private rooms with en suite bathrooms. Our restaurant is open during the week and has a wide variety on our menu. We offer good food at good prizes. Safe parking and personal service is available at no extra costs. Come and enjoy the tranquility of our gardens and stoep. We proud ourselves in excellent service delivery and our guests keep returning. It is our goal to make each and every guest as much at home as possible. We strife to offer as much as we could to ensure they do not lack what is needed for a comfortable stay. Our family units are very popular and very well equipped need to be booked well in advance to avoid disappointment. We also deliver very efficient, professional services to all travel agents to ensure hassle free bookings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Free shuttle or taxi services
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Safe
Separate dining area
Separate living room
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
80Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
597admin wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Good experience. If i MUST nitpicking, I would like if there was more dishes. Sy perhaps four of each item. The pillows was very hard (to firm) and a last thing is, there were also only two coffee sachets, 1 rooibos and one five roses teabags. However, I asked the cleaning lady and she brought us some for the following morning as well. The place was neat and clean and overall a good place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
louisjansen2022 wrote a review Mar 2022
Bloemfontein, South Africa1 contribution
Our experience of The Herberg was amazing!! The food was exceptionally good, presentation of the food & vibe was excellent. Will definitely stay there again!!! Reception was professional and the staff & managers came to meet with guests !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Constance wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
Our stay was for 7 nights and it was amazing. It was self catering with all amenities at our need. Communication from the host was superb. Much thanks to everyone who contributed to our pleasant stay!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCONETTE SWANEPOEL, Owner at De Herberg Lodge
Responded 28 Mar 2022
This is heartwarming. Many thanks from all of us at De Herberg Lodge
Read more
Felicity wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
My experience with the place was very bad, the owner kicked us out because of the hear says from the son who helped us the previous night, about the food. They lied about me saying something I never..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCONETTE SWANEPOEL, Owner at De Herberg Lodge
Responded 28 Mar 2022
As owners we still have the right to choose whether we are willing to accommodate people on our premises after experiencing abuse. We would like to remind you although your agency booked you for one meal only, we did accommodate your group by serving a second meal late Sunday evening although the kitchen was closed. I am sorry you chose the public domain to raise your unhappiness instead of discussing it with us in a more professional manner.
Read more
veronicabanks2 wrote a review Feb 2022
Cape Point, South Africa8 contributions3 helpful votes
If this guest house was actual user friendly (and SAPS) friendly, I guess they would have more feet through their doors; but instead they bad mouth SAPS due to one or two people who booked and never pitched up. When I wish to confirm my booking, I was told it was canceled due to the fact that I never completed the forms and never sent it back - well, I never received the email. The person in charge replied - that is what police officers do, they don't listen - seriously! I am proud to be a police officer
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from FRANCONETTE SWANEPOEL, Owner at De Herberg Lodge
Responded 28 Mar 2022
We are sorry you felt we are discriminating against members of the SAPS. We have regular SAPS members that have been with us for years. Like most business and companies we also have terms and conditions guests must comply with. It is a pity you did not contact us again after noticing you did not received the documents. You also did not contact us about not receiving the mentioned documents after we warned you of our plans to cancel your booking. Maybe you could check your spam folder as we did send the documents to the same address we sent the first ones. Maybe you should book with us again as we would love you to experience our hospitality.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaNorthern CapeDe Aar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about De Herberg Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at De Herberg Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at De Herberg Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at De Herberg Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at De Herberg Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to De Herberg Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Schreiner Huis, Pringles Pub, Restaurant and Take-aways, and Upstairs Restaurant.
Does De Herberg Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, De Herberg Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is De Herberg Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of De Aar.
Are pets allowed at De Herberg Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at De Herberg Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.