We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Montecasino Boulevard, Sandton 2055 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$170
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/20
Booking.com
US$162
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/17
Hurb
US$128
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/20
TravelocityUS$170
PricelineUS$171
Destinia.comUS$173
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (611)
Room & Suite (109)
Dining (59)

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Fourways
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1683Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 160
  • 335
  • 111
  • 49
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Candace wrote a review Jun 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
We celebrated Father's day with a lunch at Medeo, the food was great! I loved the attention to detail and overall beauty of the hotel. Nice and close to shops and entertainment. A lovely clean room. My family slept so well. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast. I would recommend the Palazzo for your next visit. We look forward to visit again in the summer to enjoy the pool side and spa! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 23 Jun 2022
Dear Candace, Thank you for taking the time to complete a such a great review on the Palazzo Hotel. Thank you for choosing the Palazzo hotel to celebrate such a special day with your family. We are delighted that the team were able to meet your all requirements and that you and your families stay was a memorable one. We will most certainly pass these kind words on to our colleagues as it proves to be highly motivational. We hope that your next stay is planned and that you get to spend a little more time at he pool side in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Julian Joubert Rooms Division Manager The Palazzo
Read more
Nalini G wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Terrible service…booked two rooms with family. We had bought food from a nearby well known resturant and looked forward to eating in our rooms. We called room service and asked for plates and cutlery and then the drama began… we told hotel policy is not give guests any plates cutlery etc unless ordered from room service ( which ends at 10pm). I enquired from “ management” as to why is this not on hotels website or house policies etc as normally hotels usually accomdate guests requests and will give them plates and cutlery etc on request so if guests choose to eat in the comfort fo their room. One person acceded to our request and sent us the cutlety only to have the food and beverages manager call the room and intteroagte us as which employee etc did this . It was terrible . To add insult to the injury the second room On check HAD a huge clump of human hair on the shower floor! Which begs the question of the level of cleanliess. The towel rails were broken off the wall. The toilet roll holder was broken as well . The Palzzo is suppose to be a five star hotel , but it is far from a five star experience . Rooms are in dire need of maintenance . Service is hugely lacking . Especially at management level. There was NO hotel manager or duty manager on duty except the food and beverages manager who was the only person in charge of the entire hotel staff and was clearly out if his depth in resolving guests complaints . Simply not worth the five stars . I was fortunate to be refunded one room and was accomdated at the Four star Sun internationl hotel within the Montecasino Precint. This four star was so worth it and far superiour in service and standards than the Palazzo. This hotel has sadly lost its charm and appeal and i attribute it to poor management , as i have seen over years how the service has detoriated . Simply not worth the price tag!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not worth a stay here at all . Staff are disinterested . Poor standards. Birds eating out of...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 17 May 2022
Dear Mr Nalini, Thank you for your review below regarding your stay at the Palazzo hotel. The hotel policy has always been that cutlery and crockery is only supplied when the hotel provides the food and beverage. The hotel cannot be supplying these items when items are bought externally. We apply the same policy when we are requested to reheat food purchased outside of our premises. For clarity your request for the cutlery and crockery was in the afternoon and not after our room service had closed. The hygiene and maintenance issues were brought to our attention in the evening and my Food and Beverage manager (Michael) was on duty on the evening. He engaged with the occupants of the 2nd room and offered a complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive rooms. The couple did view the room and after discussing the room upgrade amongst themselves they opted to check out and move to our sister 4 star property on the complex. All efforts were made to remedy the situation and Michael apologised for the issue that had been brought to his attention. Michael is our Food and Beverage manager and a senior member of the team and quite capable of dealing with complaints. All efforts were made on the evening to remedy your complaint and very unfortunate that the guests decided to check out and into our sister property. Kind Regards Catia Viegas General Manager
Read more
Colleen R wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
1. The family rooms are quite disappointing, parents sleeping in the same room with a 12 and 8 year old is not an ideal situation. Moreover, everything was in two's (cups, glasses, cutlery, gowns, slippers) but it's a room for 4 people. We asked for two more cups and glasses, twice, but they never came. 2. The staff. I had sent an email 3 days before arrival requesting for an early check in (12pm), so that we can get ready for an event that started at 2pm. I didn't get a reply. Upon arrival we're told we have to wait for 2pm, the front desk lady confirms that she can see my email but says there's nothing she can, without even trying. I tell her had someone replied to my email I would've made another plan to get ready elsewhere. Fortunately a gentleman who seemed like the manager was able to assist us. Also, during the stay, the staff on the switchboard line were just not keen to help with anything. Zero effort. Zero customer service. The only staff keen to help seems to be concierge and managers! 3. We were put on a waiting list at breakfast the following day because we were late for the slot we had booked, which I called beforehand that we were going to be late. Of which the lady on the phone replied "well, we're just going to put you on a waiting list because breakfast is a very busy time." Cool. We arrive and stood in a queue to eat for 30 minutes! When we are hotel guests. I've never had that happen anywhere in the world. Needless to say we left without eating breakfast. Oh and we had nowhere to put our champagne because you have to pay a deposit to have the fridge unlocked, that was a first. Great hotel, not so great customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Dear Colleen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel. Guest feedback is Vital to our success. Please accept my sincere apology for the concerns raised in this review, it is never great to receive a negative review however we use these constructively to improve on the service and product we offer. I hope this does not deter you from choosing to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore you faith in us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Palazzo Hotel. Kind regards Julian Joubert Rooms division manager The Palazzo
Read more
Bren B wrote a review Feb 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a short two night stay. The rooms are great, although slightly compact in the family room. The staff are brilliant. The reception staff make you feel like a part of a family. The pool area is gorgeous too. Would love to stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 26 Feb 2022
Dear 698brenb, Thank you for taking the time to complete a such a great review on the Palazzo Hotel. We are delighted that the team were able to meet your all requirements and that your stay was a memorable one. We will most certainly pass these kind words on to our colleagues as it proves to be highly motivational. We hope that you do stay again and that your next stay is planned for the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Julian Joubert Rooms Division Manager The Palazzo
Read more
Priven wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions
The Palazzo is a great hotel. The service is good. We are regular visitors to the hotel and we normally have a great time in this upmarket hotel. However I noticed something very disturbing, Guests are now taking music boom boxes to the pool areas and other areas within the hotel. This is very un-classy, noisy and very disturbing. So if you looking for a relaxing outing at a classy hotel I DO NOT recommend this hotel. Its lost it's Class! it is now a sub standard Hotel with no or little respect regarding guests privacy or our personal space.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 04 Jan 2022
Dear Mr Mudaly, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo hotel, Management is aware of the guests that brought a sound system down to the pool and were asked by the Food and Beverage manager to turn it right down as it was disturbing other guests. We do not allow guest to behave in such a manner and disturb other guests who are trying to relax. It’s unfortunate that you believe that we do not respect all of our guests however we can assure you that we do and where other guests are infringing on others we immediately act. Regretfully with the volume of guests that stayed at the Palazzo over the festive season it is difficult to police each and everyone’s actions however we do intervene immediately if untoward behaviour is noticed. Kind Regards Catia Viegas General Manager
Read more
Greg F wrote a review Oct 2021
Chicago117 contributions101 helpful votes
Stay here two nights in October. This is a very nice hotel. The staff were super friendly, the breakfast offered plenty of choices and the service was good. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food and service outstanding. Room was nice, bed super comfortable and the hotel responded quickly to special requests. I will absolutely stay here again when life brings me back to Jburg.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 02 Nov 2021
Dear gregfY1101AZ, Thank you for taking the time to complete a such a great review on the Palazzo Hotel. We are delighted that the team were able to meet your all requirements and that your stay was a memorable one. We will most certainly pass these kind words on to our colleagues as it proves to be highly motivational. We hope that your next stay is planned for the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Julian Joubert Rooms Division Manager The Palazzo
Read more
vimnaidoo54@gmail.com wrote a review Sep 2021
Durban, South Africa36 contributions36 helpful votes
This was our second trip in 2 consecutive months. would rate the breakfast area superb.hard working.efficient men and women..my checkout was hurtful and disappointing.my husband is a frequent guest member.its the first time that our integrity was questioned. We had paid the full amount at check in.at checkout I was told that we owed R178 for items we had taken from the mini bar.we had not...most definitely .I was asked to sign a form stating that we had not consumed any item.upon questioning I was told by the manager that a sensor could have been triggered even if the door of the fridge is opened.How then did they arrive at the amount of R178.00.why was the person cleaning my room not questioned.l will think twice about visting this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 28 Sep 2021
Good day vimnaidoo54, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel. Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for the great comments regarding the breakfast area and the staff that service this area. Your feedback will be shared with the team as it proves to be very motivational especially in these difficult times. With regards to the minibar. The minibars in the rooms have sensors which identify items removed from the bar, once removed the bar it shall automatically charge to the room account even if the item is placed back. This is the reason you were asked to check the bill on your departure, it was never a question of your integrity, if fact the items were removed without question. The amount of R178 was made up of 4 items from the minibar. I hope this does not deter you from visiting us further and hope to welcome you back to the Palazzo hotel. Kind regards Julian Joubert
Read more
5StarSimi wrote a review Aug 2021
Roodepoort, South Africa142 contributions53 helpful votes
Disappointed about the stay, we booked 5 rooms - the toilet in 1 room was not working and we had to call for it to be fixed. There was no tea or coffee in another room. We booked breakfast at 9:30 for 10 people but when we got there the response was “sorry reception didn’t tell us” and they we refusing to make up a table for 10. The we complained and said that was not acceptable then only did we get a table. Breakfast took over an hour to come to the table and we only finished after 11am. We returned to the rooms to find that we we locked out of the rooms with all our luggage still being in the room. Because of the inefficiency of the hotel we we delayed and then locked out of the rooms likes criminals. The last at reception asked us how was our stay and when I told her she asked me “did you tell anyone” I said I am telling you … she simply dismissed me. During this horrific time of COVID and the impact it is having on the hospitality industry these hotels can’t afford to have crappy service …. We will simple chose some other place to spend our money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 30 Aug 2021
Good day 5StarSimi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at he Palazzo hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for the errors found in the rooms, this is certainly not the high standard to hold ourselves to. Unfortunately during the weekends we do not hold large tables due to the capacity of the breakfast room and as I'm sure you saw how busy the restaurant was. This however should of been explained on check-in. The room keys are automatically programmed the cut off at 11am, This is standard practice and in no means made to make to feel untoward. The receptionist that checked you out should have called the manager on duty to discuss your concerns and again I must apologize for this. Please rest assure that these concerns will be take up with the respective heads of departments in a constructive matter so that we can improve on our services. I hope you give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Palazzo Hotel. Kind regards Julian Joubert
Read more
Raul B wrote a review Aug 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa76 contributions26 helpful votes
So disappointed, this used to be my beest hotel in Gauteng. Sadly it is now one of the worst I have ever stayed at. Needed to move to 2 different room last night (10hr30pm) with my little one due to noise and terrible smell of smoke from down stairs. Tjis is my 3rd time that is happening to me and my family, so much to go and relax, a waste on money. The manager were good to move us but my stay was a waste of money and we did not have a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Good day 138raulb, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Palazzo Hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for having to move your rooms, unfortunately it is extremely challenging to control the action of every guest in the hotel. I am pleased that the team acting immediately to remedy the concern by moving your rooms. We have updated your profile and should you give us the opportunity to be of service again we shall endeavour to allocate your rooms on the quieter side of the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Julian Joubert
Read more
Logan Naidoo wrote a review Jun 2021
Durban, South Africa134 contributions65 helpful votes
I have stayed here many times over the years and always gave excellent reviews, however this hotel is going down fast and at most can be classified as 3 star hotel. Poor service all round. Very poor housekeeping and no checking of staff or if customers are satisfied. Would never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Dear Mr Naidoo, Thank you for the review regarding your current stay at the Palazzo hotel, The management team is aware of the issue that you spoke to us about pertaining to fresh towels and additional waters for your room. Both items were supplied timeously and delivered last night. We are not aware of any further issues that you have encountered during your stay or been brought to our attention. Please could you provide us with more feedback in order for us to address and remedy the issues. Kind Regards Julian Joubert Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$154 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the palazzo montecasino hotel fourways, palazzo montecasino johannesburg, palazzo montecasino hotel johannesburg, montecasino hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgSandtonFourways
NUMBER OF ROOMS
246
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Palazzo Montecasino
Which popular attractions are close to The Palazzo Montecasino?
Nearby attractions include Fourways Farmers Market (0.4 km), The Teatro (0.5 km), and Parker's Comedy & Jive (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Palazzo Montecasino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Palazzo Montecasino?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Palazzo Montecasino?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Palazzo Montecasino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Palazzo Montecasino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Bella Montecasino, FireRoom Sushi & Grill, and Salsa Mexican Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Palazzo Montecasino?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Palazzo Montecasino have airport transportation?
Yes, The Palazzo Montecasino offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Palazzo Montecasino located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Fourways.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Palazzo Montecasino?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Palazzo Montecasino offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.